Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is concise,clear and easy to understand.
I have a good chance to study this course with Prof. Wilkes at Petroleum and petrochemical college, Chulalonkorn University in Thailand. This book is very useful for me because it's easy to understand and clear in every step. For example,some part of the fluid mechanics, I think it's very difficult for me to understand in the past(in bachelor's degree) but when I...
Published on November 8, 1999

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Fluid Mechanics for Chemical Engineers
This is a simple basic book about fluidics. Not complex equations.
Not a heavy mathematics. Contain useful information about technology process with fluids - bubbles and two phase flow.
Published in 1998 has relatively old information about everything.
Positive side - has a small chapter (20 pages) about
MatLab PDE Toolbox for solving fluid mechanics...
Published on February 21, 2008 by C. Christoff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is concise,clear and easy to understand., November 8, 1999
By A Customer
I have a good chance to study this course with Prof. Wilkes at Petroleum and petrochemical college, Chulalonkorn University in Thailand. This book is very useful for me because it's easy to understand and clear in every step. For example,some part of the fluid mechanics, I think it's very difficult for me to understand in the past(in bachelor's degree) but when I study this book, it make me clear and easy. I think this book is suitable for the beginner than the others that I met before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definitive fluid mechanics book for Chemical Engineers, November 4, 1999
By A Customer
Here is a book that is concise, comprehensive and to the point. The authours are meticulous with the math and present a wide variety of chemical engineering applications of fluid mechanics. The book is surprisingly easy to follow and is highly recommended for any systematic study of the subject. The language is clear and succinct and the layout is pleasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compatible with any classroom text, February 24, 2002
By 
I think that this book is an indispensable guide for fluid mechanics. It is easy to understand and it lets you progress with your pace with its solved examples. And one can excel in fluid mechanics by solving the suggesred problems of the book. This book not only helps you to understand the concept mathematically but gives the physical meanings of the problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Fluid Mechanics for Chemical Engineers, February 21, 2008
This is a simple basic book about fluidics. Not complex equations.
Not a heavy mathematics. Contain useful information about technology process with fluids - bubbles and two phase flow.
Published in 1998 has relatively old information about everything.
Positive side - has a small chapter (20 pages) about
MatLab PDE Toolbox for solving fluid mechanics problems.
No connections with COMSOL at all or any kind of simulation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lacking Examples, November 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fluid Mechanics for Chemical Engineers with Microfluidics and CFD (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
This was the required text for my Fluid Mechanics course. Two big complaints. First, It was written too technically. Now, I don't expect any Chemical Engineering book to be an easy read. But this book takes the cake for being one of the most unreadable texts I've ever used. I struggled with understanding the course concepts when using this book. Second, which coincides with the first, is the lack of examples in each chapter. For a complex subject such as this, more worked out examples from each chapter should be provided. Some examples seemed to skip many calculation and derivation steps which didn't help. Finally, as others have noted, There was no solutions manual to be had. Overall, It ranks as one of my least favorite Chemical Engineering texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book is good, October 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fluid Mechanics for Chemical Engineers with Microfluidics and CFD (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
I mean who is excited about books for school? but this one gets the job done. book is in good shape, and has all the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, October 2, 2013
By 
Nicole (Houston, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fluid Mechanics for Chemical Engineers with Microfluidics and CFD (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
The book arrived in pristine condition and covers the material in an easy-to-follow way. The examples are helpful as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fluid Mechanics Textbook for class, January 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book came as described but the edition was not the one for the class I'm taking. The class requires the newer edition. Thanks though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good so far, January 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fluid Mechanics for Chemical Engineers with Microfluidics and CFD (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
So far the book is okay for my class, but some of the descriptions are a little confusing! It definitely compliment's my professor's lectures and it's sometimes even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice book, February 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fluid Mechanics for Chemical Engineers with Microfluidics and CFD (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
This is a text book for me. But I would say this book may need more examples or provide a solution manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fluid Mechanics for Chemical Engineers with Microfluidics and CFD (2nd Edition)
$160.00 $126.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.