Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book
This Book helped me allot on deciding the classes i needed to take in college and try to pick which medical school i wanted to attend thank you,
Published 24 months ago by trace1776

versus
84 of 87 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An unfortunate necessity
The MSAR is the official, authoritative guide to all of the allopathic medical colleges in North America; it would be unwise to apply to medical school without using it as a guide. In the past it presented an overview of each school on a two-page spread complete with admissions statistics, selection criteria, pre-requisites, and curriculum information. The best part of...
Published on July 1, 2011 by M. Troy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 87 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An unfortunate necessity, July 1, 2011
This review is from: Medical School Admission Requirements (MSAR): The Most Authoritative Guide to U.S. and Canadian Medical Schools (Paperback)
The MSAR is the official, authoritative guide to all of the allopathic medical colleges in North America; it would be unwise to apply to medical school without using it as a guide. In the past it presented an overview of each school on a two-page spread complete with admissions statistics, selection criteria, pre-requisites, and curriculum information. The best part of the MSAR was this easy-to-navigate layout with quick access to all of the information needed to make application decisions. Apparently, that was too convenient and logical.

With the new MSAR, the AAMC has published 286 of the most useless pages ever written on the topic of medical college admissions, ranking them above forest fires in the list of tragedies befallen by trees. All of the important information and data is now accessible only through the MSAR website, where you will find it (maybe) buried under a frustrating mountain menus and sub-menus that have been optimized for inefficiency. You'd be forgiven for suspecting that AAMC employs an army of watchmakers and cryptographers whose sole task is to uncover new and exciting ways to obscure two pages' worth of information. That's the only logical explanation.

Hopefully, the website will be improved next year, and they will return the printed edition to its previous form. In the mean time, I would recommend purchasing last year's edition on amazon, despite the inflated price (probably caused by the swarm of people seeking refuge from the horrors of the new format).

Disclaimer: The content of this review rests on the assumption that the AAMC intends the 2012 MSAR to be used as an aid to medical college admissions. I would feel quite silly if they were actually trying to market an exotic firewood substitute, as the MSAR performs admirably in this respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worthless!! Where are the negative ratings??, October 3, 2011
This review is from: Medical School Admission Requirements (MSAR): The Most Authoritative Guide to U.S. and Canadian Medical Schools (Paperback)
The newest edition eliminated all of the useful information that was in the previous versions. It doesn't even list the require and recommended undergraduate courses!! This book is not worth consulting much less buying!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lack of statistical information, August 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Medical School Admission Requirements (MSAR): The Most Authoritative Guide to U.S. and Canadian Medical Schools (Paperback)
My only qualm is that the statistics for each school are not given in the book. Instead you are given a free one year accesss to AAMC online. Personally if you work well without having a physical book in front of you I would save the 10 dollars and just buy the subscription to the online information because it has everything in the book PLUS all of the statistical information about each school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What the F*** is this?, November 24, 2011
This review is from: Medical School Admission Requirements (MSAR): The Most Authoritative Guide to U.S. and Canadian Medical Schools (Paperback)
If I didn't know better who ever published this book was obviously stoned. For your sake DONT PURCHASE THIS BOOK! You will be disappointed. The only people who would rate this 5 star is if they never seen how will informed the previous edition. Why do you think they are selling this book for less than $20 and the older editions more than $40 duh! I am returning this ASAP!!!! Shame on you MSAR to claim this as the most authoritative guide SHAME SHAME SHAME. You guys better get your act together!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waste of money and trees, July 30, 2011
By 
DPac (Connecticut) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Medical School Admission Requirements (MSAR): The Most Authoritative Guide to U.S. and Canadian Medical Schools (Paperback)
Terrible book, complete waste of money, packaged it to return within 5 minutes of opening. The information in the book can be found online for free, some of it at the AMCAS website or just go to individual medical school's websites to get information. If you're looking to compare schools easily, this is not the book. It just gives a brief description of each school and statistics such as application deadline date. The online AMCAS database is almost useless, almost identical information as the book. Deserves zero stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wow, what a complete waste., January 19, 2012
This review is from: Medical School Admission Requirements (MSAR): The Most Authoritative Guide to U.S. and Canadian Medical Schools (Paperback)
Everything that made this book great in the past is completely lost in this edition (2012-2013). Less than half the book is dedicated to the same type of information you had in the previous years. The most useful per school information is gone completely: accepted MCAT scores (broken down by section), accepted science vs. overall GPA scores, required vs. recommended course work, and graduate specialty choices by percentage.

You can access most of the missing information with your supplied MSAR website code (generally lasts 1 year). However, that information isn't as accessible and easy to find compared to it being printed in the book you bought. Do yourself a favor and save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete waste of money!!!, January 6, 2012
This review is from: Medical School Admission Requirements (MSAR): The Most Authoritative Guide to U.S. and Canadian Medical Schools (Paperback)
Do not buy this book!
Get the 2011-2012 version if you can.
Not much has changed since then and you won't get the information you need anyway from the 2012-2013 edition.
Only parts that was marginally helpful were the first 10 pages where they show some of the statistics (MCAT and GPA average etc) of the overall applicants.
BUT (and that's a big BUT) you don't get the usual score breakdown for each school like they used to in each school's page. You have to go online and navigate through all these BS pages to find those numbers, and even then they are only marked as a range, like a 29-35 MCAT score range, but no mean score. Maybe they have it hidden somewhere, but I am yet to discover such a page that shows these numbers.

*****TL-DR: AVOID THIS BOOK AND GET THE OLDER ONE******
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Less detail than previous editions, September 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Medical School Admission Requirements (MSAR): The Most Authoritative Guide to U.S. and Canadian Medical Schools (Paperback)
We were disappointed with this book. We had looked at a 2 year old edition. Much more information. Not sure if they are trying to push their on line service, but there is far less detail per school about admission statistics in this book than before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, July 18, 2012
This review is from: Medical School Admission Requirements (MSAR): The Most Authoritative Guide to U.S. and Canadian Medical Schools (Paperback)
This Book helped me allot on deciding the classes i needed to take in college and try to pick which medical school i wanted to attend thank you,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get the facts quickly, May 13, 2011
By 
J. Jarrett (The Biggest Little City in the World!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Medical School Admission Requirements (MSAR): The Most Authoritative Guide to U.S. and Canadian Medical Schools (Paperback)
I was thrilled to receive this book because I was collecting information in MS Word and compiling the data. I like this book because it also came with an access code to the online version. The first five chapters prior to the State and Private Medical schools had helpful information about how to get in to medical school, how to do well on the MCAT, and other tips that I generally found on StudentDoctor.Net forums. I was able to get the facts for each school quickly and I appreciated that. Excellent book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Medical School Admission Requirements (MSAR): The Most Authoritative Guide to U.S. and Canadian Medical Schools
Medical School Admission Requirements (MSAR): The Most Authoritative Guide to U.S. and Canadian Medical Schools by Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) (Paperback - April 1, 2011)
Used & New from: $1.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.