Truck Month Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Bob Dylan Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery The Baby Store Shop now Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation SnS

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 26, 2011
This is a very interesting & great CD release by the blues maestro Tab Benoit, titled 'Medicine'. Tab Benoit himself reports a magical production of this 7th solo CD release : a great collaboration with guitarist/songwriter Anders Osborne who plays/uses blues legend B. B. King's famous 'Lucille' Gibson guitar on six tracks in this great new album, most of the tracks being recorded at first takes & Tab Benoit being very completely at ease with the services of David Z, a former original Prince and the Revolution band member (at engineering & producing this album). The result is a defining album yet released by Tab Benoit (described by his recording company as a 'hipper & groovier' album than anything he has done thus far!) This great new CD (11 tracks with 7 new tracks) & opens with the title track "Medicine" : a great blues track, very rich guitar sound that is reminiscent of guitarist Lindsay Buckingham of Fleetwood Mac's solo sound). Other great tracks include "Sunrise" (a slow track with a wonderful guitar & great vocals reminiscent of that of Joe Cocker's), "A Whole Lotta Soul", "Come And Get It" (great up-tempo track with great lead guitar overdrive), "Broke And Lonely" (a 'staccato' blues sound, quite melodical & great vocals), "In It To Win It", "Can't You See" (up-tempo track with great guitar/violin/vocals combination) & "Mudboat Melissa" (great duet/harmony & violin). My favourite tracks/stand-outs/gems are "Long Lonely Bayou" (a slow beautiful track characterized by great guitar/violin combination with great vocals to match), "Nothing Takes The Place Of You" (a wonderful ballad, beautiful guitar/vocals & great melody) & "Next To Me" (great guitar/vocals building to a beautiful 'cresciendo'). There is no weak track on this great CD to really talk of. On overall, this is a fantastic CD release by the talented blues musician Tab Benoit, a highly recommended CD listening.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2011
Guitar licks that can cut diamonds, stories that can break your heart and rythmns that can heal your soul....
What else can you ask of a true Blues-man??
I love this latest work of Benoit's. He gets better with every album. His love of the Gulf coast land and the people who live here shows in the words of his songs, and the pain and pleasure they live shows up in the melodies and rhythmns. A Louisiana treasure!!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2011
Almost nobody can beat Tab Benoit for playing raw, dirty-sounding roadhouse blues. There is something about when he gets to rocking that gets everybody going in the way the best blues and rock `n' roll should. Even his guitar tone has that slash-through-your-speakers/earbuds psycho tone that everyone from Travis Wammack to Johnny Guitar Watson to Earl King perfected in the middle of last century. Benoit's new record, Medicine, is his latest entry to a great body of work. It's got some great rockers and shuffles and all-out, shake-what-your-mama- gave-you boogie tunes.

Benoit was lucky to get Anders Osborne to produce, play guitar, and co-write seven tunes. Anyone who has seen the Voice of the Wetlands All Stars knows how simpatico these two musicians are. Osborne is no stranger to great guitar as his latest CD attests, but where his presence is definitely felt is in the slower and quieter songs. On previous CDs from Benoit, the slower numbers have been good, but not as intense as the louder cuts. Here tunes like "Long Lonely Bayou" (augmented by the beautiful violin of Michael Doucet) maintain the heat that the uptempo songs have in the same way that such dynamics contrast on Osborne's recordings. And the gritty South Louisiana bayou soul that is Benoit's voice adds a little extra to this recording, whether it's the edge of the angry accusation at those who have ruined the wetlands in "Whole Lotta Soul" or the raspy sweetness of his take on the subdudes' comforting "Next to Me." All combined, Tab Benoit's new CD is good medicine indeed.--David Kunian, OffBeat Magazine, May 2011 issue.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2011
We get off to a great start with the title track, this is really tough, deep blues with great guitar from both Tab and Anders Osborne and heart-felt vocals from Tab, 'Medicine' is one of the outstanding tracks on this CD. Anders has co-written seven of the songs here with Benoit and also co-produces the record with David Z. Toussaint McCall's "Nothing Takes the Place of You" is another wonderful track, probably my favourite, it's pure 60s soul blues like you've heard a 100 times before but more great vocals from Tab and superb guitar from Anders raise this high above the average. "Long Lonely Bayou" was a nice change of sound, with Tab on acoustic and Michael Doucet of BeauSoleil on fiddle and the uptempo, rocking "Come and get it" was a nice change of tempo from the mainly mid tempo numbers on the rest of the record. Tab and Anders are backed by Ivan Neville on keyboards, bassist Corey Duplechin and Brady Blade on drums (I was amazed to learn that heavy-hitting Brady plays in Emmylou Harris's band!)

Overall I thought that the album sounded a bit samey - I would have liked to have heard Ivan Neville featured more, plus a few extra instruments for variety and Anders contributing harmony vocals. I also felt that some of the songs weren't up to scratch but the high points here are very high and drag the rating up to four stars.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2012
Funny story... I heard this cd being played on a sidewalk shop in Blue Ridge Mts Georgia while on vacation and stopped in my tracks. It had a soulful funk that I love. Went inside to find out that the music was that of Tad Benoit, a Louisiana Blues and country funkster. The funny part is that I am from New Orleans and came to Blue Rige GA to find homegrown music. There is a longing bluesy throw-back to this offering, pepperd with enough up-tempo soul to keep you gettin your "head-bopping" on. My favorite cut it the title song "Bring Me My Medicine", but I enjoy the entire cd and have played it multiple times since the purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2011
Tab is back! Great songs and musicianship. A must buy for the Tab Benoit fans. I'm not dissing Joe Bonamassa, but his stuff has been too polished, distorted tone-wise. Tab's tone keeps getting better with age. Clean tones with some dirt on top.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2011
I became a Tab Benoit fan after I heard his voice singing the Blues on the Wetlands IMAX movie about Katrina and have seen him live every time he comes to my town, that's about 6 times and counting. Every time his show is fun, different and always awesome!! He is truly a talented musician and enjoys it!! His guitar playing is memorizing and at times so amazing, it's hard to believe that it's a guitar making those sounds! If you love great music, Blues, and Rock and Roll, with a Cajun twist, you need Tab's latest CD, and then you'll want all of his CD's.....and you must check him out when he's in your area, so you can catch him live, the best way to enjoy Tab!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2011
I read an article in the USA Today after a music festival in New Orleans. The small note did enough to gain my attention but this disc is outstanding. If you enjoy pure bluesy folk music, you must purchase this CD. The music is great as background music, or cranked up. Kind of like a heavier early days Blues Traveler.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2013
Every song on the Medicine CD premium. I saw Tab in concert a few months after buying the CD and he played several songs from Medicine. Truthfully, there isn't a song on Medicine I don't like and Tab Benoit is a premier guitarist and vocalist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2012
There's real music out there and real people are making it. This man is the REAL DEAL. My wife and I caught the Ziggy's show in December-- WOW! Tab was on fire. Some of the best playing I've heard since the too early passing of Stevie Ray. If you are lucky enough to get Tab any where close to home, don't miss the chance to see him!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.