Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent display of the Move's capabilities in a fun, action-packed game
Medieval Moves: Deadmund's Quest was developed by the same studio that developed Sports Champions, which to this date was one of the best Playstation Move game developed. Question is, can they continue their success with this game? I'm happy to say the answer is yes.

To play the game, you can choose to use one or two Move controllers--I definitely recommend two...
Published on November 15, 2011 by Nutwiisystem.Com

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If only this game had more of an open, sandbox feel...
This game really shows the potential of the move controls. All of the actions work perfectly - the sword in your hand, the shield, your throwing stars, bow and arrow, grappling hook. I was really impressed by the move controls in this game. However, much like arcade shooting games like House of the Dead, the game does all the walking for you, and the pace you progress is...
Published on December 3, 2011 by Travis Dougherty


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent display of the Move's capabilities in a fun, action-packed game, November 15, 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medieval Moves: Deadmund's Quest - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Medieval Moves: Deadmund's Quest was developed by the same studio that developed Sports Champions, which to this date was one of the best Playstation Move game developed. Question is, can they continue their success with this game? I'm happy to say the answer is yes.

To play the game, you can choose to use one or two Move controllers--I definitely recommend two for the most natural gameplay (for example, as with Sports Champions, with two controllers you can hold a shield in one hand and a sword in the other; with one you're constantly switching between the two). You can also choose whether you're right-handed or left-handed. For purposes of this review, I'll be speaking from a right-handed point of view, but just reverse everything if you're left-handed.

The first thing the game does is take you through a little training session so you can get used to all the tools at your disposal in the game. In a nutshell, here they are:

Sword: You swing the sword with your right hand. As with Sports Champions, the controls are one-to-one, and by far the best, smoothest, and most precise on any platform.

Shield: You hold your shield in your left hand and press the Move button to activate it. You can use it to block attacks or to deflect objects that are thrown at you.

Ninja Stars: You can throw Ninja stars with either hand by holding the controller horizontally and flicking your wrist while pressing and releasing the "T" button. It's essentially the same motion as throwing a Frisbee in Disc Golf on Sports Champions.

Bow and Arrow: The bow and arrow are also similar to Sports Champions. You hold the "bow" with your left hand, make a motion to take the arrow out of your quiver with your right hand, and draw back and shoot by aiming with both hands, pressing the trigger button with your trigger finger of your right hand while aiming, and releasing the button to shoot the arrow. It takes some getting used to the motion, but once you get it to work it's very natural.

As the game progresses, you'll pick up other gadgets and tools, including:

Grappling Hook: There will be certain times in the game where you need to scale walls or use grappling hooks to swing your way from place to place. Hooks will be marked on the walls. When you see one, you point your right-hand Move controller down, hold the trigger button, and point the controller forward towards the hook, and release the button.

Milk Bottle: As you withstand attacks from enemies, your health will go down. You need to collect and drink milk to replenish your health. To do so, hold your right Move controller over your moth like it's a bottle of milk, press the Move button, and make a "drinking a bottle of milk" motion.

Dynamite: Later in the game you'll be able to use your Move controller as a stick of dynamite; you'll be able to carry three at a time. To "light the fuse" you cup your hand over the light ball. Then you throw it. It is an absolute blast (no pun intended).

Throughout the game you'll see objects to collect like more Milk and Coins which you shoot or strike with your sword. As the game progresses, there will be certain times when you need to use the controllers to do other things, such as pull down a drawbridge, turn a lever, or pick a lock.

As with other games of this type, you'll reach milestones called "bookmarks". If you lose your life, you go back to the last saved bookmark within each chapter.

The one thing that some people may find constraining is that you don't control your character's movements as you do in other FPS games; in that sense the game itself is more like a rail shooter than an open world game. In other words, your character will run automatically through the world and will automatically turn to face whatever "action" is going on at the time. The reason they chose to do this is obvious: with two hands controlling the weapons, you would need a third one to hold a Navigation controller. Where this becomes most frustrating is when there are objects in the room you need to collect; the game will pause for a few seconds and you need to frantically try to shoot whatever you can before it automatically moves you on. But overall, I think they made a good decision: the game was plenty fun and busy enough just handling all the weapons you have at your disposal.

Now that I've finished the game, I do have a little gripe about the boss battles. Here, the motion controls got a bit gimmicky and tedious. At some point it felt less like a realistic simulation and more like the game developers were thinking, "hey, we have cool motion controls--how can we stuff them in over and over and over again". As such, they made the boss battles very, very repetitive, with a ton of emphasis on archery. Yes, the archery mechanics are pretty cool, but not when you have to repeat them a hundred times for no particular reason. Worst of all, there will be times when you think you're doing the motion correctly, but because of the nit-picky game mechanics the game will say you've failed and penalize you accordingly. In some cases you may die a thousand deaths before you finally can get past these levels.

I don't mind clever use of their innovative controls nor tough boss battles, but these felt terribly contrived. It was as if you were contending with both the motion controls and the game. A little moderation and perhaps something a little more clever than just archery practice would have made the game more enjoyable (that said, there is some interactivity to finish off the big boss at the end of the game which is pretty cool).

Overall, the best way to summarize Medieval Moves is that it feels very much like an extension of Sports Champions. It takes many of the same mechanics and tools and applies them to an adventure story. I tested the 3D on the new Playstation 3D Display, and it really enhances the game play tremendously.

As for the story itself, my best advice would be to come with the right expectations. Don't expect anything like Resistance or Uncharted. The storyline and cut scenes is definitely more geared for kids and families. It's a fun but not-too-deep story about how a young prince is attacked by an evil creature, which disfigures him into a skeleton and turns all the subjects of his kingdom into evil skeletons. The game is the prince's quest to "free" the subjects (by doing away with the skeletons), find the villain and restore his kingdom. You don't really get too much of a chance to get too emotionally attached to the hero nor to his friends. Also, when I reached the ending I found that it was very anticlimactic--for all the work I'd put into the game, I would have preferred a much more satisfying end.

Aside from the story mode, there are two mini-games; one where you fend off waves and waves of attackers, and one where you stand in a sniper's position and have to defend a royal statue from being destroyed. These are fun, and allow for multiplayer play, both using the same system and online (when sharing the same system, each player will see the action on a split-screen, and can choose either one or two Move controllers, depending on how many you have).

There's a tremendous amount of customization in both the story mode and the mini-games--you can adjust everything from the difficulty level (squire / knight / champion) to the language used (both spoken and in optional subtitles) to the vibration, handedness, and number of controllers. Oddly, in my version the voice-over narration didn't work at all so I had to rely on subtitles. Hopefully they'll fix this in a future patch.

Overall, the novelty of being able to wield various weapons and gadgets in a realistic way makes this one a game a positive step forward for Move games. While the storyline and premise may be a little rudimentary for some, what more than makes up for it is that you're actually wielding a sword and shield and throwing ninja stars by just making natural motions. This ultimately provides an experience that goes way beyond old-fashioned button mashing, and one area where the Move definitely outshines the Kinect (in general, I find the Kinect stronger for "full motion body detection" games like dancing games, while the Move is definitely more powerful for any game which requires you to hold and manipulate an object like a sword or a bat).

As they did with Sports Champions, I think Sony is sending a message here to game developers--start developing games that don't treat motion controls as a mere gimmick and stop just trying to ape the Wii or the Kinect. Instead, develop games which really enhances game play and really takes full advantage of the strengths of the Move platform. Medieval Moves does this with great success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, the kids love it, November 28, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medieval Moves: Deadmund's Quest - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
My kids absolutely love this game. My 12 year old son was playing it, and I wanted to kick him off the PS3 to play Uncharted 3. He loves Uncharted 1 and 2. He told me "This is more fun than Uncharted." I was floored. So I had to wait for my turn and see what this game was about. It was a lot of fun to play and family friendly. How can you go wrong with sword fighting, bow and arrow, and skeletons?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If only this game had more of an open, sandbox feel..., December 3, 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medieval Moves: Deadmund's Quest - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This game really shows the potential of the move controls. All of the actions work perfectly - the sword in your hand, the shield, your throwing stars, bow and arrow, grappling hook. I was really impressed by the move controls in this game. However, much like arcade shooting games like House of the Dead, the game does all the walking for you, and the pace you progress is established by the game itself; there's no diverting from the linear progression here. I just kept thinking how cool it would be if the game was more open ended and felt more like a role playing game along the lines of zelda. They could create a totally immersive experience. In the end though it feels like a shallow arcade game despite the awesome controls, because of how linear it is. I wish they would have used the navigation controller and made this game more open ended and given it more of a sandbox feel. They could've knocked it out of the park with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Game I've Played on the PS3, September 19, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Medieval Moves: Deadmund's Quest - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This is the single best game I've played on the PS3.

Other PS3 games are actually kind of a chore to finish, but this one is a real delight.

It is skill based, simply, while everything else even shooters are more stat-based than you might think. You have to draw a bow and arrow and every little movement of your move controller is reflected on screen, meaning that you have to hold it steady. This is unlike most shooters which have a rock-solid reticule.

The move controls are a delight. They really add in the immersion because I'm actually doing the actions as opposed to pressing a button and having my avatar do it.

It's also a decent workout.

The story is and artwork are charming. It doesn't take itself too seriously like other games.

And it's one of the few games that I actually feel better after having played.

Pick it up I recommend. at current prices under 10 bucks it is a steal. This game is worth a lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Use Two Move Controllers, January 3, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Medieval Moves: Deadmund's Quest - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I had a tough time with the archery portion this game at first. I followed the instructions carefully, using a Move controller in each hand, but I found it very awkward trying to aim the arrows. Each of the controllers independently influenced the position of the target circle that indicates where the arrow will land, in unpredictable ways. Often I found that I could only get the target circle to point to the correct part of the screen by crossing my left arm awkwardly over my right. This was true even after I had re-calibrated the game.
Then it occurred to me to restart the game and reset it so that it uses only one Move controller. This made all the difference. It is much much easier to aim the arrows when you only have one Move controller to worry about. It is also pretty easy to use a shield, following the instructions, with only one Move controller, so there is really no big downside to giving up that extra controller, as far as I can see.
After I stopped using two Move controllers, the game became quite a lot of fun. It is possible to lose oneself in this game to a degree, suspending one's disbelief and fighting monsters with a sword, or shooting them with arrows. Doing this for awhile feels like healthy exercise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best Game for PS Move, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Medieval Moves: Deadmund's Quest - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I really enjoyed this game, it s the best game for PS move in my opinion, but it lacks from more content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish there were more games like this, October 18, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Medieval Moves: Deadmund's Quest - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Really puts you in first person charge of your character.
Utilizes the motion controllers very well.
Not the most high tech or amazing graphics but that is not why I bought it.
Purchased it for 3D and the use of the motion controllers for my son and I and we love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very fun to play.., August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Medieval Moves: Deadmund's Quest - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Well, only first 1 or 2 chapters are something new (for noobs: the player moves itself , you just wave the sword to kill the enemies), only 4-5 weapons are there, poor story line, I won't recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars super goood game, January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Medieval Moves: Deadmund's Quest - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
i recommend this game for ps3 move users never get tired of it so yeaaaaaaaaaaaaah good game buy ittt ohh yeah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the Hardest, But..., March 6, 2012
By 
jlc1261 "enterpriser2151" (Knoxville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Medieval Moves: Deadmund's Quest - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
It's a simple, fun game for the PS Move. I would be lying if I said it was the most entertaining game in the world but it isn't nearly as frustrating as many others. Children would really enjoy this game and it has some funny characters and a simple story that parents don't have to worry about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Medieval Moves: Deadmund's Quest - Playstation 3
Medieval Moves: Deadmund's Quest - Playstation 3 by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
$19.99 $7.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.