Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Coloring Book For Adults.
Adults who enjoy coloring will like this coloring book very much. It has some beautiful tapestries to color, and it gives historical information as well. I suppose that kids might enjoy it, but I doubt they'd truly appreciate the historical aspect of what they were coloring.
Published on September 8, 2005 by K. Mallory

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun tapestries to color
Medieval Tapestries coloring book has cute renditions of medieval tapestries like the one on the cover of The Lady and the Unicorn. You can find the real woven tapestry reproductions at TapestryBiz.com in the Classic and Museum catagory.
Published on August 15, 2008 by Roxie Boyd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Coloring Book For Adults., September 8, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Medieval Tapestries Coloring Book (Dover Fashion Coloring Book) (Paperback)
Adults who enjoy coloring will like this coloring book very much. It has some beautiful tapestries to color, and it gives historical information as well. I suppose that kids might enjoy it, but I doubt they'd truly appreciate the historical aspect of what they were coloring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your run-of-the-mill coloring book!, December 30, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Medieval Tapestries Coloring Book (Dover Fashion Coloring Book) (Paperback)
Omg, this one is incredibly challenging...so much so it could probably take several months (or years depending on how often you color) to do every design in it. Some of the tapestries are so intricately detailed I have to keep my pencils sharpened to a fine point just to stay inside the lines.

Normally I don't like already inked in parts (fashions are a no no), but in this case, I'm actually grateful that a few of the design backgrounds are blackened in.

All in all an excellent adult style coloring book that will keep you occupied for many, many, MANY hrs. It's a great value considering how much time and effort it takes to do each design.

With informative dates and descriptions printed below each depiction, it's educational as well as fun.

Get your pencil sharpener ready (you'll need it!) and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detail high and imagery excellent!, April 18, 2008
By 
CLG "Carrie Herbel Greenwald" (Flitting here and there...anywhere...everywhere) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Medieval Tapestries Coloring Book (Dover Fashion Coloring Book) (Paperback)
As a history buff of what is often referred to as the Dark Ages, this Medieval Tapestries coloring book was a joy to find and to have. Marty Noble has done it again - provided adults with a quality coloring book full of images to color and to use as clip art, if desired. I am extremely pleased with the variety of tapestry selections and will enjoy using colored pencils in it as I recall that time period often forgot. The only minor negative is that the images are back-to-back, but luckily printed on quality thick paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grab some colored pencils and have your own Ren Faire!, May 22, 2008
This review is from: Medieval Tapestries Coloring Book (Dover Fashion Coloring Book) (Paperback)
The beauty of the pictures in this Dover Coloring Book will provide you with hours of relaxation, fun and a touch of history!

The paper is of good quality, the pictures are lovely -- this is what you can expect from Dover. You might even want to frame some of your finished creations.

I highly recommend this Medieval Tapestries Coloring Book for adults and teens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully artistic coloring book for adults, February 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Medieval Tapestries Coloring Book (Dover Fashion Coloring Book) (Paperback)
This is definitely not your child's coloring book (or the coloring book you had as a child). From "Death on his Pale Horse" to "The Griffin Protects His Lady" there's something here for everyone, except maybe young children. It's a very detailed book. In fact if you have problems with your vision or hands -- you may want to pass. I have occasional hand troubles and will be skipping coloring in it on those days. It's also probably far too detailed for young children. Not to mention that death, unicorns in captivity, and Trojan war scenes may be a bit much for them (not that there's violence portrayed, there's not).

You'll want to break out colored pencils or very fine tipped markers for most of these. There are some rare areas that are wide open, but for the most part these are highly detailed pieces that will test your coloring skills.

An intro note in the book gives a brief history of tapestries and each page gives us the name / country of origin / year of the tapestry on the page we're coloring.

A must for older kids who are too old for traditional coloring books and adults who love to color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Coloring Book, December 19, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Medieval Tapestries Coloring Book (Dover Fashion Coloring Book) (Paperback)
This is a great coloring book for older children and adults. You need good, fine motor skills for this one, and colored pencils or markers are going to be best, though really sharp crayons might be adequate.

There are thirty different drawings of tapestries to color. At the bottom of each page it tells you the title or description of the tapestry, where it came from, and the year that it was completed. This is nice if you want to look for pictures of the real tapestries, or find out more about them.

The pictures are not much to look at when plain, but once they are colored in, they are quite stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great purchase, October 13, 2007
This review is from: Medieval Tapestries Coloring Book (Dover Fashion Coloring Book) (Paperback)
I'm glad I purchased this tapestry coloring book for my daughter when we studied Medieval times. She enjoyed coloring the detailed tapestries and has since noticed the real tapestries every time we go to a museum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Hit!, December 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Medieval Tapestries Coloring Book (Dover Fashion Coloring Book) (Paperback)
Bought this for my daughter, who is very creative. She is entranced with the tapestries and is even researching them on the internet! She is anxious to color them - either authentically, or in her own creative version. (I gave her Prisma colored pencils, as well) I had not realized these were authentic tapestries. How much more fun!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Reproduced!, July 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Medieval Tapestries Coloring Book (Dover Fashion Coloring Book) (Paperback)
My only complaint is that there is some slight "bleed thru" when coloring the pictures with markers. However, coloring with pencils or crayons presents no problem. If you have access to a copier and want to keep your books pristine, copy off the page you wish to color...and no, that's not intended to say, "Commit copyright infringement"...lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, December 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Medieval Tapestries Coloring Book (Dover Fashion Coloring Book) (Paperback)
Bought a bunch of these for my grown up daughters to have fun with..just perfect..they were delighted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Medieval Tapestries Coloring Book (Dover Fashion Coloring Book)
Medieval Tapestries Coloring Book (Dover Fashion Coloring Book) by Marty Noble (Paperback - September 10, 2004)
$3.99 $3.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.