Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meditation is not just "Sitting in the Lotus Position", April 20, 2005
By 
Mr. David W. Gillard (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have always thought that I 'should' meditate... but who has the time? "Super Calm for the Super Busy" has taught me that you don't need to be in a quiet space looking like Buddha in the Lotus position for an hour a day, to achieve calm and awareness.

This is the perfect book for those with hectic schedules to learn techniques that can be used anywhere, anytime, to achieve Super Calm. Since reading this superb book I have felt so much more in touch with myself, and everything around me...

The simple techniques create total awareness, inner calm and a quiet confidence.

I have just felt much happier with the world in general.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practrical & inspiring - a must read for today's busy lives, October 20, 2004
I found this book to be a very useful and easy to digest guide to meditative practices for calming the mind, nurturing creativity, rejuvenating the spirit, and nourishing the soul. Thornton's "Meditation in a New York Minute: Super Calm for the Super Busy" is the kind of book that's well worth reading, whether you are an experienced meditator or one who is exploring meditation for the first time. I wish I had learned these techniques as a child. Simple to practice, the exercises in this book are of use to everyone. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meditation - could it help you?, September 11, 2005
I have been involved with meditation and metaphysics for the past 20 + years. When I first heard about "Meditation in a New York Minute," I was very skeptical.

Being in the metaphysical field I have seen some pretty flaky theories presented by some even more out-there people. But because we can only learn when we stay open-minded, I took a chance and got myself a copy of Mark's, "Meditation in a New York Minute."

Let me tell you I am impressed. "Meditation in a New York Minute" is just what we need in the western life-style. The levels of stress are hitting all time highs. Stressors not only from the outer-world but from the internal world are everywhere.

When was the last time you had a vacation from your thoughts? Or were able to have a moment of emotional peace? A time when you could truly feel safe and at ease? Most people have been under so much pressure for so long they think it is normal. They have been numb for so long they no longer even know what they feel.

The good news is that there is a way out -- a way back to a more balanced life. "Meditation in a New York Minute" will give you back your life. So do not delay, get yourself a copy today.

Bryan Hood, author of "A Moment With Eternity"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, November 20, 2004
By 
Nicola (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
A great read. I highly recommend it, especially to anyone who is super busy and desperately needs to de-stress. The book contains a wealth of practical tools and great insights on meditation. If you want to learn how to meditate but have no idea where to begin or you just want to be calmer and get a better handle on your hectic life then this is definitely the place to start. "Meditation in a New York Minute" gives you lots of simple, easy to understand tips on meditation, as well as a bunch of highly effective meditation techniques that will help calm even the most frazzled person. I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Find!, December 1, 2004
By 
Lisa (Waldwick, NJ, USA) - See all my reviews
Mark Thornton's book, "Meditation in a New York Minute: Super Calm for the Super Busy" is easy to read and absolutely inspiring. I never imagined that I'd be able to meditate and be in touch with my calm center in the midst of hectic daily activity. Thank you Mark Thornton for sharing these techniques! When I finished the book, I had to call the Oprah Show to let her know she needs to have Mark Thornton share his valuable secrets with the world. He can provide a great service to many people who need to find ways to become more centered and stress-free in their busy daily lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imagine a world where...., January 22, 2012
This review is from: Meditation in a New York Minute: Super Calm for the Super Busy (Paperback)
Quote of the book: "Imagine a world where you could: De-stress effortlessly, Feel centered no matter what, Easily create an oasis of calm anywhere in your day, Feel powerfully connected to life, Begin to perceive stress as optional. All without changing anything from your busy schedule!"

I was a bit skeptical but the author actually delivers on his promises, with this small (140 pages) but well structured book.

This book is perfect for the absolute beginner, the very busy people and the more advanced meditation student. What I especially liked here is a good description of the potential pitfalls and the most likely "problems" you might come across while learning to meditate or while meditating.

The book is structured around 3 parts: the journey, the essentials, and the techniques. This again makes it very useful to read through as beginner or advanced meditator.

There are 20 meditation techniques illustrated in this book (each covered in 3-4 pages). Each meditation technique description starts with a background, benefits, description of the technique itself, tips and common problems some might experience learning or using the technique.

I understand the author wanted to cover 20 techniques to show you can practice meditation anytime and everywhere. Still if you happen to start with meditation I would suggest to start with 2-3 techniques max, as you probably get overwhelmed when attempting the 20 techniques shown here from the start (the author mentions this risk though). Less is more.

This is a really nice small book to get you started. Excellent done!

Techniques covered are:
1. Power breath
2. Breathing energy
3. Breath of Life
4. Chi Gung Breath for Calm
5. Body awareness
6. Total awareness
7. Eating with awareness
8. Walking with awareness
9. Showering with awareness
10. Commuting with awareness
11. Total awareness at the gym
12. Anchors I
13. Anchors II
14. Magnify Heart Energy
15. Magnify Wisdom
16. The Open Body
17. Chi Gung for Calm
18. White Light
19. Seeing the Good in All people
Bonus technique: Dealing with Anger

Similar books I recommend are:
- Full Catastrophe Living, by Jon Kabat-Zinn (more body/mind mindfulness related, still a great read)
- Anger: Buddhist Wisdom for Cooling the Flames, by Thich Nhat Hanh (on mindfulness and dealing with strong emotions; search also for Plumvillage, France or EIAB, Germany)
- Other books by Thich Nhat Hanh (as he has a great way to cover mindfulness with great empathy).

Table of Contents:

Introduction

Part 1: The Journey (Chapters 1-2)
1. Why Meditate....and Why Now?
2. Journey to your Heart

Part 2: The Essentials (Chapters 3-7)
3. The 8 Laws of Meditation
4. The 5 Secrets of Super Calm
5. The 11 Thieves
6. Seven sages for your Journey
7. Take time for Calm

Part 3: The Techniques (Chapter 8-15)
8. The path of 13000 steps
9. The path of the present
10. The path of remembering
11. The path of heart
12. The path of focus
13. The path of open body
14. The path of visualization
15. The ideal day: putting it all together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, January 7, 2007
By 
Paul Lappen (Manchester, CT USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meditation in a New York Minute: Super Calm for the Super Busy (Paperback)
In this hectic, 24/7 world, meditation is one of the last things for which most people have any time. This book shows a number of easy ways that anyone can do "mini-meditations" at any time during the day, and that take only one minute at a time.

Everyone has an area of calm deep inside themselves. Accessing that area will decrease stress, re-energize yourself, and enliven the spirit, without closing your eyes and sitting in a lotus position for hours.

Among the techniques are: breathing energy, ChiGung breath for calm, eating (or walking or commuting) with Awareness, magnify heart energy, magnify wisdom, seeing the good in all people and dealing with anger. Start with just one technique, and practice until it becomes second nature. Don't expect to "get" all of these techniques the first time.

This book also mentions quick things that can also be done by anyone at any time. Change your screensaver or cell phone display to CALM or PRACTICE CALM. Breathe in for four seconds, hold for one second, and breathe out for four seconds. Check the muscles in your forehead, and around your eyes, to see if they are relaxed. Massage them if needed. On the subway, imagine your spine is a tube of pure white light, growing brighter and more intense.

This is intended for busy people who don't want to read a lot of spiritual theory; they want to get right to How To Do It. The author is a former executive at JPMorgan, so he understands workplace stress. He has done a fine job with this book. It's simple, effective, and best of all, it's fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxation and Meditation Techniques, July 28, 2006
Calm Centered Relaxed Grounded Peaceful Open Be Delight

"Your mission is to stop thinking." ~Mark Thornton

How can you access a state of bliss in the middle of the day when you are stressed and under time constraints? Can meditation be incorporated into the busy workday by using techniques from the world's wisdom traditions?

Mark Thornton draws on his teachings from corporate seminars and condenses his lessons into the 8 laws of Super Calm and the 8 Golden Keys for flipping on compassion and insight in any situation. He explains how to withdraw from distraction and painful thoughts

Mark Thornton's relaxing and welcoming voice leads you through a number of healing techniques including power breath, breathing energy, serenity on a street corner, white light and magnifying wisdom.

Meditation in a New York Minute is a highly accessible collection of relaxation and life enhancing techniques with modern appeal.

Calm Centered Relaxed Grounded Peaceful Open Be Delight

~The Rebecca Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meditation in a New York Minute, March 28, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meditation in a New York Minute: Super Calm for the Super Busy (Paperback)
If you are looking for the benefits of learning meditation without the need to find a new spiritual path, this is a great book. The author assumes you will read through the book quickly and writes in a way that allows you to skim quickly while identifying places where you need to slow down and read thoroughly. He has a practical style and a wide variety of techiniques that allow the busy person to engage in meditation without a radical change to his or her daily schedule. Mark Thornton clearly has knowledge of the topic, so those who already know some forms of meditation will recognize his experience. This is a great find for anyone with a high stress job or who is just curious about the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!, July 14, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meditation in a New York Minute: Super Calm for the Super Busy (Paperback)
Although I am relatively new to meditation, I was encouraged to purchase this book by a caring individual who recognized my lack of time for a more traditional approach. The concise, bullet-pointed, style of writing really gets to the heart of the matter and I very much appreciate that. I am working on several of the techniques in the book and already I have noticed a difference in my level of calm (I am working towards much higher goals, but this is an excellent place to start). If you are short on time, but can at least read this short book, you will reap the benefits of that investment. I highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Meditation in a New York Minute: Super Calm for the Super Busy
Meditation in a New York Minute: Super Calm for the Super Busy by Mark Thornton (Paperback - February 1, 2006)
$12.95 $9.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.