Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mediation Plain & Simple
Gentle prying apart of common preconceptions of meditation. Practical explanation of what meditation is and is not, what you can discover there, how to get started and how to keep coming back every day.
Published on April 7, 2008 by deb

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rigid and opinionated
I found this book somewhat helpful and informative, but the bias toward "my way is the right way" that I get from it can be distracting. It is slightly negative or discouraging with it's "you're doing it wrong" attitude. The bottom line I got from it was: "There is no benefit to meditation, other than just to meditate. If you expect anything from mediation, you're not...
Published on August 30, 2012 by Frank


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mediation Plain & Simple, April 7, 2008
By 
This review is from: Meditation Now or Never (Paperback)
Gentle prying apart of common preconceptions of meditation. Practical explanation of what meditation is and is not, what you can discover there, how to get started and how to keep coming back every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nuts and bolts of meditation, August 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meditation Now or Never (Paperback)
"Meditation Now or Never" strips down the misconceptions of meditation and gets down to the "nuts and bolts" of the practice. A wonderful book that stesses what meditation is and not what it does. A must for anyone who wants to understand the here and now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zen for Americans, October 19, 2008
This review is from: Meditation Now or Never (Paperback)
This book is broken down into the most american understanding of meditation of any book I have read so far. My power of "here and now" has advanced by leaps and bounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's never too late, May 8, 2008
By 
Johanna (Adelaide, South Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Meditation Now or Never (Paperback)
It's never too late to get back to basics and put one's meditation practice on a firmer foundation. This book by Steve Hagen is succinct and an invaluable resource for the beginner meditator and a timely revision for those who have been meditating for some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rigid and opinionated, August 30, 2012
By 
Frank (Seattle, WA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found this book somewhat helpful and informative, but the bias toward "my way is the right way" that I get from it can be distracting. It is slightly negative or discouraging with it's "you're doing it wrong" attitude. The bottom line I got from it was: "There is no benefit to meditation, other than just to meditate. If you expect anything from mediation, you're not doing it for the right reason. Just meditate."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meditation Now or Never, October 13, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meditation Now or Never (Paperback)
Steve Hagen, the author of Buddhism: Plain and Simple,
is the best introduction to Zen and Buddhism you can find.
Written in language we regular folks can understand,
yet carrying the full meaning and experience
of the more ancient/esoteric writings.
Meditation is the bedrock
of fully experiencing the Zen and Buddhist message.
Meditation Now or Never should be a jewel in your personal tools pack.
I can not overly praise this man's works.
And he is a practicing monk as well.

Gene Reynolds
www,personal-recovery-tools.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review: Steve Hagen - "Meditation Now or Never", November 8, 2011
By 
Barry Snyder (BROOKLYN, NY, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meditation Now or Never (Paperback)
An excellent guide for the new 'student' as well as a timely reminder for the experienced zen Buddhist student - about what the 'whole' thing

is really about...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, April 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a meditation teacher, I find it hard to find a book I can recommend to
beginners. I now have one. The book does extoll the far end of the
meditation spectrum in the west for those who are really looking for
a new approach to their life and leaves little room for a "lite" version
for those who only have interest in a transient reduction in stress,
visualization, or "trance-like" trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, February 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meditation Now or Never (Paperback)
Steve Hagen presents with a rare clarity. No obscurity or mumbo-jumbo. Along with another of his titles, Buddhism Plain and Simple, a fine introduction to Zen Buddhism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, I love how Steve is getting to the core of meditation, January 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have played around with meditation for too long. Finally, Steve explains how simple it really is. His teachings are always taking complexity to simplicity. What a relieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Meditation Now or Never
Meditation Now or Never by Steve Hagen (Paperback - August 28, 2007)
$14.99 $12.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.