Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to meditation
This is a solid introduction to the practice of meditation. The first disc features Weil and Kabat-Zinn giving background information about meditation. The second disc features guided meditations. Like any spiritual practice, the more information an individual gets, the better he or she becomes at that practice. This set of discs is a good starting point that will get a...
Published on March 28, 2005 by CE Johnson

versus
123 of 124 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very basic introduction
This CD would be useful to a beginner with little or no previous introduction to the subject. I had hoped it would have more in the way of guided meditations, but the few guided meditations provided are really too brief to be of much use beyond, again, a most basic introduction to the concept. It's worth borrowing from the library.
For a really good foundation in the...
Published on April 28, 2002 by AfroAmericanHeritage


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

123 of 124 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very basic introduction, April 28, 2002
This review is from: Meditation for Optimum Health: How to Use Mindfulness and Breathing to Heal (Audio CD)
This CD would be useful to a beginner with little or no previous introduction to the subject. I had hoped it would have more in the way of guided meditations, but the few guided meditations provided are really too brief to be of much use beyond, again, a most basic introduction to the concept. It's worth borrowing from the library.
For a really good foundation in the process, I'd suggest Jack Kornfield's THE INNER ART OF MEDITATION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to meditation, March 28, 2005
By 
CE Johnson (Lakewood, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Meditation for Optimum Health: How to Use Mindfulness and Breathing to Heal (Audio CD)
This is a solid introduction to the practice of meditation. The first disc features Weil and Kabat-Zinn giving background information about meditation. The second disc features guided meditations. Like any spiritual practice, the more information an individual gets, the better he or she becomes at that practice. This set of discs is a good starting point that will get a person going into meditation immediately, which might lead the listener to pursue additional materials about spirituality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fundamental information about meditation, November 15, 2003
By 
Rupert Valentino (Denver, Colorado United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Meditation for Optimum Health: How to Use Mindfulness and Breathing to Heal (Audio CD)
Anyone who is looking for a way to relax, and to just get the basic rundown of what meditation is all about, this recording will give you just that. Sit for awhile and listen to Dr. Weil's kind voice and that alone will have you feeling relaxed. John Kabat-Zinn is a little odd, I really respect his vast knowledge and practical advice, but his take on things seems a bit surreal. I recommend this for anyone who is in need of a practical, if basic guide to meditation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Beginners, November 5, 2005
By 
Donna Grayson "Donna G. Grayson" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meditation for Optimum Health: How to Use Mindfulness and Breathing to Heal (Audio CD)
I am just a beginner at Meditation, and I am trying to learn this for my health.

I think this is a good CD to listen to if you are just starting out. I got some good ideas from this recording, and I am sure I will be able to use what they taught.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars helping hand, June 7, 2007
This review is from: Meditation for Optimum Health: How to Use Mindfulness and Breathing to Heal (Audio CD)
this is a great cd. you just listen to it and follow the instructions and can actually learn to meditate. great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars breathless, April 12, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meditation for Optimum Health: How to Use Mindfulness and Breathing to Heal (Audio CD)
This CD was recommended to me and I have heard good things about Dr. Weil, but I have to say the CD's were a let down. The lecture was too long and i thought it would have been better to simply be text. The actual breathing exercises were not that inspiring and quite short. Although it was instructional to go through the breathing exercises along with the CD it would have been better if that part was expanded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and highly usable, February 24, 2006
By 
Angie (Madison, Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meditation for Optimum Health: How to Use Mindfulness and Breathing to Heal (Audio CD)
Terrific 2 CD set - enjoyable to listen to, highly informative, short and sweet. You are on your way to using the techniques immediately. Nice addition to my "arsenal" of self-healing techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exceeded expectations, December 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meditation for Optimum Health: How to Use Mindfulness and Breathing to Heal (Audio CD)
I bought this CD thinking I'd have something to meditate to. Honestly, I haven't even listened to the second CD yet (which has guided meditations on it) because I've been so satisfied with the first CD (in which the two guys talk about the theory behind meditation and how to meditate). I've listened to the first CD over and over, because their soothing voices bring down my distress level. I'm very satisfied with my purchase and would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Team!, October 4, 2008
This review is from: Meditation for Optimum Health: How to Use Mindfulness and Breathing to Heal (Audio CD)
Dr. Andrew Weil and Jon Kabot-Zinn are two of the best in their fields. They make a great team!! The information continues to help me keep my focus and grow in awareness of myself and my world. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to mindfulness and meditation, June 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Has some great teaching about mindfulness and some great beginners meditations. I definitely recommend this product if you are trying to find out more about mindfulness/meditation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Meditation for Optimum Health: How to Use Mindfulness and Breathing to Heal
$24.95 $17.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.