Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read for Kids!
I discovered this book while browsing for quality literature to bring to my classroom. I read this book because it fits my third grade curriculum and has a low reading level. Meet Christopher Columbus is an excellent introduction to biographies and explorers. The format of the book allows for less experienced readers to read small parts of his life without being...
Published on June 20, 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps acceptable for some
I wish current children's literature would take a note from times gone by. How can we expect students to have a fair grasp on grammar when the first page of a book begins no less than four sentences with "But"? While this book coincides with my student's reading level, it contradicts our efforts in writing class. We cannot expect a higher standard of education to...
Published 3 months ago by M. Miller


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read for Kids!, June 20, 2000
By A Customer
I discovered this book while browsing for quality literature to bring to my classroom. I read this book because it fits my third grade curriculum and has a low reading level. Meet Christopher Columbus is an excellent introduction to biographies and explorers. The format of the book allows for less experienced readers to read small parts of his life without being overwhelmed. The language is simple enough for children to comprehend the main idea and details presented without difficulty. The history is accurate and presented in a logical fashion. I recommend this to parents and teachers to help students learn about Columbus as well as improve their reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for young readers, May 26, 2006
By 
Keith "kc31824" (STAMFORD, CT, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meet Christopher Columbus (Landmark Books) (Paperback)
My 7 year old really liked this, and more generally this whole Landmark series is very good for young readers. Vocabulary and sentence structure are age appropriate. Content is good solid history. As opposed to much of the stuff for this age which is "silly" reading, this series lets them learn something while improving their reading skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book!, September 20, 2012
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Meet Christopher Columbus (Landmark Books) (Paperback)
This review is written by an 8 year old girl. She was working on a written review of the book and wanted to rate it on Amazon. "I love this book! I liked that it had a lot of information about Christopher Columbus."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps acceptable for some, June 3, 2014
This review is from: Meet Christopher Columbus (Landmark Books) (Paperback)
I wish current children's literature would take a note from times gone by. How can we expect students to have a fair grasp on grammar when the first page of a book begins no less than four sentences with "But"? While this book coincides with my student's reading level, it contradicts our efforts in writing class. We cannot expect a higher standard of education to prevail if we do not set a consistent example of that standard from the start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Home Schooling, May 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meet Christopher Columbus (Landmark Books) (Paperback)
We are always in search of reading materials since we are home schooling. We like the non-fiction books that teach as well as being an interesting book to read. This book fills both requirements. Written in words that the child can understand and read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christopher Columbus, May 21, 2014
This was a great story. I loved the book. It was an amazing adventure. Thank you!!! I am looking forward to reading many other "Landmark" books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christopher Columbus, May 11, 2013
By 
Carol Reed (Phoenix, Arizona USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meet Christopher Columbus (Landmark Books) (Paperback)
This Landmark book on Christopher Columbus is a wonderful source of information about this explorer. My grandson really loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Meet Christopher Columbus (Landmark Books)
Meet Christopher Columbus (Landmark Books) by James T. De Kay (Paperback - July 24, 2001)
$4.99 $4.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.