Customer Reviews


365 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (67)
2 star:
 (42)
1 star:
 (47)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So nice to have her back where she belongs...
I'm a big Barbra Streisand fan, but to be honest, even I lost patience with her last few movies. She seemed to play into this lofty image of herself as this sophisticate whom no man she meets can live without or is worthy. In The Prince of Tides, I thought that if she wasn't careful, Barbra the actress was going to do in Barbra the director. That was borne out in her...
Published on April 19, 2005 by L.A. Sam

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Streisand and Hoffman Lend Buoyancy as Mother and Father Focker in a Minor League Comedy
It shouldn't be too big a surprise that this movie is a fairly mediocre Hollywood confection, but I did have a whimper of a hope that this was going to be an edgier social commentary given the comedy potential of the situation. Alas, it would be too much to expect director Jay Roach to be in the same league as David O. Russell or Alexander Payne given that his track...
Published on April 9, 2008 by Ed Uyeshima


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So nice to have her back where she belongs..., April 19, 2005
By 
L.A. Sam (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
I'm a big Barbra Streisand fan, but to be honest, even I lost patience with her last few movies. She seemed to play into this lofty image of herself as this sophisticate whom no man she meets can live without or is worthy. In The Prince of Tides, I thought that if she wasn't careful, Barbra the actress was going to do in Barbra the director. That was borne out in her last movie, The Mirror Has Two Faces. Happily, in her return to the screen here, she goes back to the kind of comedy that she does so well, that a lot of younger people have never seen. (Check out The Owl and the Pussycat and What's Up,Doc? kids.) Yes, some of them can't believe that they are enjoying her (it must be killing Mssrs Parker and Stone!), but Barbra hasn't been this loose and in over 30 years. And as if she isn't good enough, she works for the first time - at long last - with BOTH Hoffman and DeNiro! I will even committ an act or heresay and say that I think Hoffman stole the picture. However, his chemistry with Barbra is wonderful and a treat to watch. What the hell took so long?

The rest of the cast does fine, considering what they are working with. Yes, DeNiro has been slumming, but it is fun to see him and Babs have a couple of scenes along together, though one of my favorites was seeing Barbra reunited with Blyth Danner whom she directed in Prince of Tides, coaching her as a sex therapist!

OK, so maybe Babs, Dusty and Bob should have done something more topical and serious with Scorcese instead of this silly fluff with Jay Roach, but I'll bet it wouldn't be anywhere near as fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Streisand and Hoffman Lend Buoyancy as Mother and Father Focker in a Minor League Comedy, April 9, 2008
It shouldn't be too big a surprise that this movie is a fairly mediocre Hollywood confection, but I did have a whimper of a hope that this was going to be an edgier social commentary given the comedy potential of the situation. Alas, it would be too much to expect director Jay Roach to be in the same league as David O. Russell or Alexander Payne given that his track record is mostly made up of Austin Powers movies. I never saw the original Meet the Parents, so luckily I don't have that point of comparison, but one can easily fill in the blanks with this soft-centered sequel. Written by Jim Herzfeld and John Hamburg, the plot seems ready-made from an instant pudding mix. Having given permission to Gaylord Focker to marry their daughter Pam, the white-bread Byrnes family from Oyster Bay now prepares to meet their new in-laws in Florida (of course).

Simple enough, but the big surprise is that Dustin Hoffman and Barbra Streisand (third and fourth-billed, no less) seem to be having such a great time playing Bernie and Roz Focker that you can almost overlook the script deficiencies. Each had auspicious film debuts over 35 years ago (he in The Graduate, she in Funny Girl), and they have known each other since their struggling New York days in the early sixties. That history is helpful in explaining their natural chemistry here, and you're left wondering why these two never worked together before. Streisand, in particular, seems relaxed as a free-wheeling, caftan-wearing, opinionated sex therapist, which seems like a send-up of her self-important psychiatrist in her own The Prince of Tides. For once, she's not bathed in candlelight in some Harlequin romance with a blonde gentile unable to commit. Rather, she lends credibility to a grounded character in an often hilariously passionate marriage to a physical and intellectual equal, and at certain moments in this film, I don't think I've liked Streisand more onscreen.

If Hoffman seems less surprising, it's only because he has already proven to be a masterful comic actor with Tootsie and Wag the Dog. Even when the running gags (a passion for capoeira, overzealous displays of affection) get tired, he still imbues his caricature with a zestful spirit. The remaining elements of the film seem tired in comparison, and unfortunately I have to include the original stars. Perhaps it's because they are recycling behavior that would be hard to refresh a second time. Robert DeNiro's tiresome portrayal of Jack Byrnes, the intimidating ex-CIA spook, is particularly disappointing and not so much because the actor is slumming (which he is) but because his character works on only one motivation, to humiliate and eventually eject his future son-in-law from the "circle of trust". There are hints that the summit meeting of Hoffman, DeNiro and Streisand would turn into something more substantial, but the sitcom dimensions of the script quickly extinguish the possibilities. Ben Stiller, who is the actual protagonist of this comedy, seems to be sitting back as his character, Gaylord, recedes into the background. He has exactly one funny scene on his own, when he spouts his honest feelings after being injected with a "truth serum".

The whole subplot with Gaylord being accused of fathering his former family housekeeper's son seems tired and superfluous. I like Blythe Danner as Jack's wife, Dina, looking to resuscitate some spark in their marriage, and Teri Polo, who actually seems sharp and worthwhile as the fiancée at the center of the story. But neither is given much to do except a funny scene where Roz uses hand puppets to teach Dina how to get sex out of Jack. If seeing DeNiro wearing a homemade rubber "manary gland" sounds hilarious, by all means go see this movie. For me, it just made me think how it would be great to see Hoffman and Streisand re-team in a James Brooks comedy, how DeNiro should go back to Scorsese for career guidance and how Stiller may want to take a break before he plays yet another nebbish character. By the way, I'm guessing Streisand's "A Star Is Born"-era hairdo is an in-joke to her partner since her character's name was Esther Hoffman. Now that's the kind of subtlety this comedy needed.

The 2005 DVD features two versions of the film - the theatrical cut and a completely unnecessary extended cut, which edits in several deleted scenes. Like the DVD treatment for Ray, the additions are announced to the viewer through a blinking gimmick and consequently inhibit the flow of the narrative. It's better to see these understandably excised scenes separate from the film. Roach and editor/co-producer Jon Poll provide a so-so commentary track, and there is also a fitfully funny blooper reel. Several disposable shorts are included, among them "Fockers' Family Portrait" featuring brief snippets from Hoffman, Streisand and Stiller; a behind-the-scenes look at Jinx the Cat ("Inside the Litter Box"); another behind-the-scenes look, this time at the infant ("The Adventures of a Baby Wrangler"); a five-minute featurette on "The Manary Gland"; and a Today Show interview with the entire cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YES - A BIT CRUDE - BUT AFTERALL THIS IS "PG-13" ENTERTAINMENT, January 13, 2006
By 
Dr. Luther Wolfgang Polaris "LWP" (orbiting within the Oort Cloud) - See all my reviews
TWO-HOUR SITUATION COMEDY AT ITS FINEST!

This is a terrific modern comedy with a classic theme. Dustin Hoffman and Barbra Streisand brought added chemistry and welcome diversity which really helped this character-driven sit-com. Whereas "Meet The Parents" had numerous funny "gags" and a lot of comedic tension, "Meet The Fockers" takes embarrassment to a new level for Greg Focker. Although this movie is 115 minutes long, there is hardly a dull moment. I have already viewed this DVD about 15 times.

Yes, the film does resort to some cliched, overused themes, some of which are a bit vulgar and may even be offensive to some viewers. However, the enormous credibility that the all-star cast brings, and delivers, to this sprawling situation comedy, more than makes up for the predictable silliness, and occasionally irksome crudeness that sometimes gets tiresome.

ABOUT THE DVD:

The sound and visual quality of this widescreen DVD is about what you would expect from a new big-budget release ... about perfect. It does contain quite a few features that I found interesting, but the extended version option was by the best of them. Although it does make the movie 150+ minutes, it adds some new insights into the characters and their motivations. One such extended scene depicts Greg with the father of the boy that Jack wrongfully believed was his Greg's son. Of course, Ben Stiller played the very odd, minor league baseball coach meeting Greg [himself]. Sure it's a cliche, but it was funny. There were also deleted scenes and bloopers. They were mostly okay, but some seemed contrived.

There are three behind-the-scenes featurettes: one about the baby wrangler's role (pretty interesting), another about the mammary gland prop, and the third was titled "Inside the Litter Box" and was of course about that darn cat, "Mr. Jinx". The featurettes are a little over the top as features go, but it is, after all, a comedy.

BOTTOM LINE: ENTERTAINING, BUT OFTEN AT THE EXPENSE OF GOOD TASTE!

Is "MEET THE FOCKERS" as entertaining as "Meet the Parents"? I believe so, but unfortunately, in many instances, it is done so at the expense of good taste. After viewing the movie and all the features only one question remains in my mind (as well as in the mind of many others, I'm sure.) ... Will they all return in yet another sequel, "MEET THE LITTLE FOCKER"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment...but nothing original, April 25, 2005
By 
Bill Garrison (Oklahoma City, OK USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Meet the Fockers is a solid sequel to the Ben Stiller starring Meet the Parents. In the sequel, Greg (Stiller) must bring his future wife and her family to Florida to meet his parents played by Dustin Hoffman and Barbara Streisand.

Meet the Fockers is more of the first movie, with Greg trying to keep his parents from totally embarassing him in front of his conservative, uptight future inlaws. With so many stars in this movie, Striesand and Blythe Danner don't get as much to do. De Niro's character does the exact same things as the first movie.

Dustin Hoffman is really the star of this movie. He is the focus of almost every scene and is definitely the acting equal of DeNiro. And am I the only one to notice...What happened to Teri Polo. In some scenes, she looked kind of creepy, not anywhere close to the cute girl in the first movie.

Meet the Fockers is a fun movie to watch, but is basically an extension of the first movie and offers nothing new except solid laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better!, November 3, 2005
By 
L Gontzes (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Meet the Fockers, was a bit of a disappointment considering how wonderful Meet the Parents had been. The film picks up from the cliffhanger that the first movie had left behind; meeting the in-laws.

Ben Stiller, Robert De Niro, Dustin Hoffman, Barbra Streisand, and the rest of the cast, do a very good job considering that the plot and most importantly the dialogues are not that great.

There are quite a few unnecessary flaws with the movie, such as the extreme "weirdness" of the Fockers, which does not make them likable or cute in the least, and the little baby, which was totally unnecessary, not to mention the plot jumping around all over the place.

In short, far from being a masterpiece, it is a movie worth watching, though you might not want to go so far as to purchase it. 3˝ Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Had me laughing the whole way through, June 10, 2005
Its hard for me to believe that so many people here gave this movie bad reviews. I for one really enjoyed Meet the Fockers- maybe even more than I enjoyed Meet the Parents.

The Byrnes family is off to Florida to meet the Fockers, in their RV and grandson Little Jack in tow, as well as Mr. Jinx the cat, who by now has learned to flush the toilet, among his other accomplishments.

"One of your parents is a doctor, and the other is a lawyer," Jack Byrnes says to Greg Focker, "what could go wrong?" Well, a lot of things. The two families are polar opposites. We of course met Jack and Dina Byrnes in Meet the Parents, where Jack was (and still is) the no-nonsense ex-CIA agent. On the other hand, Bernie Focker (Dustin Hoffman) is a former peace protester and Roz Focker (Barbara Streisand) is a sex therapist for the elderly. What ensues is a comedy of how two families about to be joined by a marriage get along (or don't get along). In fact, some scenes in Meet the Fockers were so funny that I almost cramped up laughing.

This movie has tons of extras, though I recommend that you don't watch the movie with the deleted scenes added in (this is an option that you can choose on the menu)- it detracts from the movie as a whole. Otherwise, the bloopers and deleted scenes (which explain further what Bernie Focker does for a living and give the redneck cop more screen time) are hysterically funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kind of overrated, January 30, 2005
Seems to me that the extent to which "Meet the Fockers" is seeing such great box office success and popular acclaim is because of the all-star cast. An all-star cast can get you in the door, but the performances have to earn their pay. Since I saw this as a $5 discount matinee, I think they did. Granted, the movie is funny, and for my money, better than its predecessor, "Meet the Parents", but merely funny does not a blockbuster make. I'm not a Ben Stiller fan so maybe that's why I was underimpressed, and he doesn't do much for me here, either. DeNiro easily carries this flick for me, as he did in "Parents".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funnier Than the First, April 25, 2005
It's rare when a sequel to comedy turns out to be better and funnier than its predecessor, but Meet the Fockers is exactly that. With the addition of Dustin Hoffman and Barbara Streisand as the parents of Gaylord "Greg" Focker there are some truly hilarious moments in this film and they are just perfect as the parents of Ben Stiller's character. The only funnier choice could have been Jerry Stiller and Ann Meara, Ben Stiller's real-life parents. Regardless, Hoffman and Streisand are very funny as caricatures of former-hippy, bleeding-heart, Jewish liberals -- and they play it to the max. Back, of course, are Robert DeNiro and Blythe Danner as Jack and Dina Byrnes who just have a fantastic chemistry together. The one weak link in the cast in Teri Polo as Pam, but she was also the weak link in the previous film. She is just not funny. She should stay with The West Wing where she has excellent chemistry with Jimmy Smits. Overall, this was just a very funny film, and there were times when I actually found myself laughing out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good laugh!, April 17, 2005
Granted, we all know that #2 is never as good as #1 - but this one is worth getting. Barbra Streisand is fantastic - as she always is when doing comedy. Dustin Hoffman is his usual "out there" self. Robert Deniro is up to his old 'spy' tricks. And, there's a plot twist (which I identified in the first scene - woman's intuition). Enjoy this movie for what it is: another chapter in the lives of a cute couple with strange families!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Zero stars, May 13, 2005
A Kid's Review
PLEASE, please LISTEN to the people WHO HATED THIS MOVIE AND RIGHTLY! It is like eating a lemon with a thin candy coating--pleasant for a moment, and then you hit the bad parts. This movie is upheld by a cheap framework of sick jokes, and jokes with more than one meaning, and gross baby jokes. IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN RATED R, this cheap fodder. There's ways to make comedy without resorting to sicko s*x jokes. (...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Meet the Fockers [Blu-ray]
Meet the Fockers [Blu-ray] by Ben Stiller (Blu-ray - 2010)
$19.98 $9.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.