Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Meeting and Event Planning For Dummies
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 10, 2008
While a bulk of the book is filled with helpful (if not common sense) tips on planning an event... the truly important section, the resources section, is horribly out of date.

Many of the publication, speaking society, portal, and technology company links are not functional.

I've never tried to plan an event without having resources. If you don't want to be in that situation either, I'd suggest skipping this book.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2011
I truly enjoyed Meeting and Event Planning For Dummies because the information is simple and to the point. This book gives alot of websites to help with event planning. Also, it gives information of things that you would never think about when planning an event. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes to plan events or who does event planning for a living.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2013
I liked this book because I didn't want to pay to take a class on this topic, but I wanted to learn the tricks of the biz. I love the helpful tidbits this book offers. a great start to my collectionl
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
Great book. I graduated from as an Event Planner and the book has been a great help in my planning of events.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2007
This book is perfect for the meeting planner who is just starting in the field. It's filled with helpful hints and lists valuable web sites.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2008
I feel this book offers a lot of great tips and it's definitely a big help for new event planners and serves as a refresher for veteran event planners.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2009
I purchased "Meeting & Event Planning for Dummies" by Susan Friedmann because I am researching ways of marketing and attracting people to such public events as fan conventions. Unfortunately, Friedmann's book has little to say about such matters. It does contain a lot of information for businesses who wish to schedule more specifically targeted events (such as consortium meetings) for clients or potential clients. One particularly interesting section discusses methods of identifying and scheduling appropriate speakers for such events. The book also contains information on how a business' representatives can optimize the effectiveness of their appearances at trade shows. I found the book a good starting place for such information. It is current enough to have a variety of references to useful Websites, most of which appear current. (I have not reviewed them all.) But it is most appropriate for specialized types of events (such as businesses who have a targeted and/or more or less captive audience) rather than for groups attempting to schedule more general public events.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2013
i ordered this book because i have seen this kind of planning on tv and wanted to do it. i just didn't' know where to start. this helped out tremendously.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2013
Don't let the dummies and paperback fool you. Great ideas may come from anywhere, and you can find some right here in this little advisory book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2013
This book broke down the steps and made it very understandable. Great reference book for anyone in event planning, Would recommend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse