Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly flawless in every way
Being a huge Megaman fan for the past 16 years, it's easy for me to appreciate everything that an awesome game like Megaman X has to offer. Megaman X was my first ever Megaman game. I still own it today and play it regularly. I've completed over 20 different Megaman games, and while I didn't think that any of them were bad at all, none of them can compare with this...
Published on July 30, 2005

versus
3 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good at the start, but...
Very good for the first 4 stages, but, after stage 4, you will be in Sigma's Fortress to defeat Vile, and believe me, this is the most frustrating stage I have ever played on any game! If you thought the first 4 stages were hard, you are in big trouble, because, after you defeat Vile, you have to go through hell just to make it to Boomer Kwanger and after Kwanger, you...
Published on August 26, 2005 by Mike Harris


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly flawless in every way, July 30, 2005
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mega Man X (Video Game)
Being a huge Megaman fan for the past 16 years, it's easy for me to appreciate everything that an awesome game like Megaman X has to offer. Megaman X was my first ever Megaman game. I still own it today and play it regularly. I've completed over 20 different Megaman games, and while I didn't think that any of them were bad at all, none of them can compare with this one.

As the first installment in the popular X series, MMX does a pretty damn good job at getting you hooked after the first 5 minutes of gameplay. Honestly, this is one of the greatest games of this gameplay style around. There are so many different features to this game that make it near perfect.

First off, the music is flat out awesome. The tunes rock hard and sometimes you will pause right in the middle of a level just to enjoy the outstanding music.

The gameplay is also perfect. X's running animation is VERY detailed for a 16-bit game. Overall, the gameplay is very easy for anyone to get used to, even if you've never played a game of this style before.

And of course, where would a great game like this one be without its breathtaking visuals. Seriously, the graphics in this game are top notch for an SNES title. The backgrounds are extremely detailed, and the enemy sprites are very colorful as well.

Basically, if you're considering getting this game, don't wait. Get it now! Don't wait another 4-5 months for X Collection, you must play this game now! You will be addicted to it, and the difficulty level is appropriate enough for anyone to enjoy the game. If you don't at least try it, you're dead inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good start for the first next-gen MM spin-off series, February 5, 2003
This review is from: Mega Man X (Video Game)
Mega Man X (1993). The first part of a seven episode spin-off series, and the first one to appear on the Super Nintendo.
By the time 1993 came around, the NES was almost dead and everyone's favorite series' of games had to be ported over to the then-next-generation system, the SNES. Many companies pulled it off quite nicely with new-port sequels of games like Mario, Castlevania, Metroid, and others. Obviously, Capcom heeded the calls of their devoted fans and decided to give their most successful series an innovative upgrade, and a new darker look. Thus the Mega Man X series was created. Although a bit cartoony looking (compared to say, X3 and X4), it took the MM series to a whole new level in terms of story, gameplay, and features. Well, here's my synopsis:
PROS:
-COMPLETELY ORIGINAL IDEAS. Most every X game hereafter would re-use this game's general formula of "find the armor, beat the bosses". The biggest difference gameplay-wise from the original series is the armor feature. By collecting parts of it, X becomes more able to take on the levels and the bosses (the levels themselves were designed with the dash feature in mind).
-The idea for the "power/animal" bosses is alot more clever and original than the repetitive "power/man" type bosses used in the older games. For instance, Storm Eagle sounds quite a bit more threatening than say, ... Bright Man.
-GOOD MUSIC IMPROVEMENT. Well, the old games had good tunes, but these sound more like upbeat hard rock in terms of quality, than the buzzing NES midi. The loud sound effects are especially fitting for an action game like this.
-STORYWISE, A NICE CONNECTION TO THE ORIGINAL SERIES. It starts out with X being built by Dr. Light. He is very unsure about his new prototype model, so in order to make sure all of X's systems will function properly, he (X) must be locked in a capsule for about thirty years. Light realized that he won't be alive when X awakens, so he buries X for another scientist to find. 30 years later, Dr. Cain finds X and starts to build numerous creations based off of X's design. One of them, Sigma, goes haywire and threatens to destroy all of mankind, so X is sent to stop him. I won't spoil the rest.
-Great balance of gameplay. The action is tough, but not too hard to the point of impossibility. There is plenty to shoot at, and enough great weapons to do so with. I like the new idea of CHARGING UP BOSS WEAPONS. At the cost of more w-energy, a little flame attack can turn into a giant wave of flame pillars. Simply a phenominal idea.
-I LOVE THE IDEA OF BEATING A STAGE IN ORDER TO ALTER ANOTHER ONE. For instance, if Chill Penguin is destroyed, then all the lava in Flame Mammoth's stage will freeze, enabling X to make it through the stage easier and to obtain more powerups. Sadly, this idea was completely ignored for the next 4 sequels until X6, where it returned in the form of a crudely put together Nightmare system.
CONS:
-This is the first MMX game, and it shows. Many ideas haven't been brought to their full potential yet, which would happen later in the next few games. A perfect example of this is the ram-helmet upgrade. There is one place where you can use it, but otherwise it's only function is to make X look more fancy. LIKE I SAID, THIS WILL IMPROVE IN THE UPCOMING SEQUELS.
-The levels are decently designed and reasonably long, but like X4, there are hardly any extras to find (however, this IS the first game). Powerups are easy to find for the most part (the dash-boots upgrade IS DIRECTLY IN YOUR PATH). Still, there are more secrets to find here than in any other MM game up to that point.
-Zero and Vile are introduced, but they don't really explain each of them here (Zero would be in X2, and Vile sort of would be in X3). The reason I complain about this is because originally, this was going to be the only game, and it would have been pointless to introduce close characters that wouldn't get a chance to evolve.
All things said, I can't really find anything bad about this game. It's a great step up from the old series and has some of the best 2D action gameplay you will ever find on the SNES. Its only slight drawback comes from the fact that the X series is at its concept stage at this point, giving off ideas that will only continue to improve in the next several X games. This game gets 4 stars for good gameplay/sound/story/innovation, all put together into an overall great package. I heartily recommend this game to beginners of the series. Many long-time fans find this to be their all-time favorite X game. While it's certainly not my favorite, it does everything that an oldschool 2D action game should do: deliver pure nostalgic gaming bliss. Besides, isn't that all that MM games need in order to be good? If you haven't played this game yet, either you're too young to care, or you've been living in a hole for the past decade. In which case, go get yourself equipped with Time Stopper, and track down a copy of this game before they all disappear. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The start of something great, July 17, 2004
This review is from: Mega Man X (Video Game)
Megaman X was Capcom's megaman spinoff and the first MM game on the SNES(some would say the first game for SNES was MM7, but that was released in the same year MMX2). Anyways, for one of the earlier SNES games, MMX has great graphics, great gameplay and great music. The stages are designed with great skill, as there are pits and spikes everywhere, with plenty of walls to climb. The music in the game is really good, too, not necessarily being top notch, but being good enough that you can remember most of it. With the start of a new series, there are new features. In this game, you start with the ability to climb walls. Then you have to hunt down the hearts(to expand your health bar), the capsules(to upgrade your armor), and the sub-tanks(like the energy cans from the originals, except these are permanent and you fill them up yourself with excess health).
An interesting feature in this game that was (unfortunately) not featured in any others is that you can affect other bosses' stages by defeating a certain boss. For example, you kill Chill Penguin, and the lava in Flame Mammoth's stage freezes. Stuff like that...it's really neat-o.The only thing that this game is lacking is plot. Sure, if you sit through the annoying sequence in the beginning with the type writer and the alarm noise, you see that X is a new kind of robot that can think and act for himself and that if he was to make a wrong decision the effects could be disastrous. You would also see that a man named Dr. Cain discovered X in a capsule 100 years after he was made. But after that, there wasn't much to the plot, except "Let's go find Sigma!" and "I'll take him, X!" and then "Crap, I'm dead!" and finally, "You've killed me, X, but we'll meet again!" The plot is the only minus in this game. Had this game had a better developed storyline, it would've gotten the full five stars. However, it's still a great game, and I would recommend it to anyone who was new to the series and interested in which game they should play first, and it's not expensive, so anyone can easily buy it without getting a hole in their wallet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mega Man Grows Up!, July 2, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mega Man X (Video Game)
I first spotted this title at Blockbuster Video on sale brand new, unaware that there was even such a title. Needless to say, I harriedly scooped it up and walked steadfastly to the counter to pay. Got it home, and I was pleasantly surprised with the new direction.

At first, I thought that the "X" was roman numeral for 10, thinking that 3 other titles had been released sinceMM6 without me knowing it and then I realized that X is simply the name given to this new MM model. Anyway, enough minutae...this title is solid. X introduces the ability to acquire different armors and varios vital upgrades such as rocket boosts for X's feet, an improved mega buster, and helmet. In fact, some ares in specific stages cannot be accessed unless you are in possession of one of these advanced upgrades. This series also introduces the ability for X to scale walls, a necessary new twist for some areas.

The other major departure from the original series is that your main antagonist is no longer Dr. Wily: this time, it is a sinister "reploid" named "Sigma", as in, the last letter of the greek alphabet. Also, the robot masters no longer have the "man" suffix (ex: Flame Mammoth, Chill Penguin), which is actually cool. The battles are also varied as opposed to the initially predictable battles of years passed: most of the bosses have two different types of attacks that they use (ex: Storm Egale dives from the sky and shoots a horizontal tornado-like wind gust when he is land bound. This game also marks the first appearance of the dynamic ally Zero as well as the new "ride armor", which allows X to pilot a headless robot with huge arms and hands allowing him the ability to break stuff and access areas that the normal X couldn't.

Another great addition is the incorporation of heart containers. These containers serve to increase your vitality ever so much (about 4 bars). There are 8 to find in all and locating them only adds to the fun factor and advanced gameplay. There is a secret power up familiar to those of you who are street fighter fans, but...I won't spoil it for you here. It's a secret!

Anyway, just go get this game if you don't already own it. Or, pick up Mega Man X Collection for the 5th generation systems. It's a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Capcom started the series out with a boom, August 15, 2004
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mega Man X (Video Game)
I've had this game since 1994 and this is probably one of the best Megaman games I have ever played. I have beat it about 7 times, each time having fun and enjoying the game.

Story 4/5

The plot of the game is very interesting and pretty exciting. There isn't much talking in this game though, but it's still easy to understand the plot.

Graphics 4/5

For 1993 these graphics are pretty good. This is the only Megaman X game for the SNES that didn't have a special chip installed in it. The backgrounds and artwork are really nice for Chill Penguin and Storm Eagle's level.

Music/Sound 5/5

I loved the music in this game. It really went good with the environment of the levels. It seems some of the levels have this dramatic coming from them. The sound was great too, like in Spark Mandrill's stage, you could hear the sound of the thunderbolts very good when it struck during the fight with the mini boss.

Gameplay/Control 5/5

The gameplay is really fun in this game. Most people who have played other Megaman games before should get an idea how this game is and will recognize how to use the weapons and trying to get the sub tanks and the heart tanks and the capsules and everything. Alot of people have trouble making long jumps, if you are having trouble, all you need is to press >+Dash+Jump.

Difficulty 3/5

This one can be hard at times. Alot of the bosses are easy, then again if you don't have the right weapons you can be in for a challenge. Another thing that affects the gameplay is the Sub Tanks and the Heart Tanks. They can be a big help for bosses, especially the final boss, whom is really hard.

Overall 5/5

I loved this game, and the values are great. It doesn't cost much here on amazon, or at least not as much as Megaman X2 and X3. I recommend this game if you want to purchase it, I suggest you do this, because SNES game are already out of business, and as the years pass by, these will be harder and harder to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AAAAUUUUUGGGGHHHHH!!!! YYEEAAAHHHH!!!!!, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mega Man X (Video Game)
This game is so HYPE! The controls are super smooth, the story is cool.(for a SNES game) And The graphics are so colorful and clear. Anyone with a SNES should have this game, along with Mario and Zelda. A SNES gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mega Man=Mega Game, October 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mega Man X (Video Game)
One of the best Video games for SNES. The look and game-play is great. (Jump and shoot) Suggest buying this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among the Greatest Platformers of the Generation, September 3, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mega Man X (Video Game)
I have written a review about this game years ago in bad taste, so I have come back to give this game a fairer review.
Mega Man is a series that has begun in 1987 with its self-titled entry, and has progressed to the SNES in 1993. This game
is amazing in many different aspects. The soundtrack is very beautiful, especially the Chill Penguin stage, I cannot fathom
how any composer can be capable of creating such a beautiful soulful soundtrack. The sound effects are amazing, and the controls
are very responsive. However, this game is very difficult, but with enough practice you can beat it. I've beaten it after
20-30 tries on the final boss, but I have defeated him, and its worth it for the ending! The graphics have aged very well,
considering its release in 1993, the sprites are very colorful, and the backgrounds are extremely detailed to the core, which
keeps the player going. Overall, I very highly recommend this game to any Mega Man fan, you will not be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, September 3, 2013
By 
jeff chavez (New Milford, New Jersey, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mega Man X (Video Game)
Purchased this game because a friend recommended it, and holy cow this game is great! Even though Spark Mandrill is pathetically easy I still had a ton of fun throughout the entirety of the game. If anyone is reading through the reviews, please stop and just purchase the game because it's 100% worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mega Man's New Adventue!, June 7, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mega Man X (Video Game)
Mega man was good. Mega man 2 was great. Mega man X is....... AWESOME!!!!!
One of THE best SNES titles ever released! This is the SNES game us Mega man fans have been waiting for ever since the SNES was released in 1991! It wasn't until 1993 when we finally got a Mega man game on the SNES. But this isn't just Mega man on SNES, it's Mega man X! X is the Mega man of the 90's! Mega man X launched on the same year that the Sonic TV series on ABC launched.
Mega man X was much more darker and edgier than the NES classic series. Mega man 6 was the last Mega man game on NES in 1993, but Mega man X was the 1st ever SNES Mega man game ever made. There's now an ALL NEW story, all new characters, all new boss battles, a sub-tank system, vertical scrolling, BIGGER stages, an intro stage that teaches you all the basics, a new bad-guy (Sigma) replacing Dr. Wily and a mentor for X (Zero) as he journey's his way to save mankind from Maverick tyranny. Capcom did a FANTASTIC job of giving the blue bomber a make over, a new persona and a new turf! Much like Yoshi's Island where Mario is given a new turf (even though Yoshi's Island was a prequel to the Mario series) but Capcom did this to Mega man first. This game brings back memories of X's first battle against Vile. The SNES is the true home to the X series before it was moved to the Playstation due to SNES retiring in 1997. Mega man 7 on the SNES is okay, but MM7 had big sprites and is not on par with Mega man X. If you want to play this game and relive this adventure from the year 21XX, you can get a SNES and play it on this system or get it on PS2 with the X Collection or get it on Wii Virtual Console for 800 Wii points.

If your a fan of Mega man but want something fresh and new, try Mega man X! You won't be disappointed!

Gameplay = *****
Sound = *****
Music = *****
Controls = *****
Replay = *****

Overall = *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mega Man X
Mega Man X by Capcom (Nintendo Super NES)
Used & New from: $27.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.