Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My dream come true
For the longest time I wanted to play MMZero especially after ZX and ZX Advent came out. Now this collection is out and it collects all of the Zero saga. I never finished Zero3 and never played Zero4 at all so this is just what i could have asked for.

Easy mode isnt really easier, you just get all the elfs maxed out which is a huge help but the game is still...
Published on June 11, 2010 by JAL

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great but flawed collection
its a great collection, and it has a very neat feature that makes all the games play in a row, but there's one downside to that mode: you can only play it in "easy" for the first playthrough, and easy mode doesn't just make the game easier, it makes all your powerups fully leveled-up and unlocked from the start... which ruins the fun of finding them in the game...
Published 4 months ago by Allisonaxe


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My dream come true, June 11, 2010
By 
JAL "Asimity" (San Bernardino, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mega Man Zero Collection - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
For the longest time I wanted to play MMZero especially after ZX and ZX Advent came out. Now this collection is out and it collects all of the Zero saga. I never finished Zero3 and never played Zero4 at all so this is just what i could have asked for.

Easy mode isnt really easier, you just get all the elfs maxed out which is a huge help but the game is still difficult nonetheless. you do get infinite continues though, always helpful.

The games are there intact, some slight fuzziness on the screens sometimes, im guessing not cropped right when transitioned but nothing big, did notice it though, other than that, just the games i loved and remember.

Its better than hunting down the 4 games separately and a lot cheaper, I highly recommend this to any fan and any person looking for a great megaman game

it is hard though, definitely one of the hardest megaman games, but definitely fun and best storywise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Blast to Play, August 21, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mega Man Zero Collection - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
In 2002 fans were becoming disgruntled at the direction of the Mega Man X series. Mega Man X4 had taken the series to new heights but the actual reception of each X games to follow was always mixed. In 2002 Capcom began a new Mega Man series called Mega Man Zero where the protagonists wasn't X... but rather his ally Zero. For some this was a great change as Zero had become a very popular character, especially with making him a fully playable character with his own style. The original GBA games became extremely popular among fans. But they were all only given limited releases as well. Given the popularity the games have, they've been given a second chance on the DS in this collection. The games are pretty much unchanged from their original iterations.

The Mega Man Zero games begin one hundred years after Mega Man X. In this world reploids are being hunted by a Government Faction run from a place called Neo Arcadia. A haven that was pretty much made for humans to protect them from evil reploids. The irony, of course, is that it isn't paradise. Ciel, a lone human has allied herself with the reploids, believing not all of them are evil. This is what we're introduced to in the first game. Mega Man games have not usually had fantastic stories. The focus is usually in the gameplay department. Mega Man Zero is no different. While the story has its moments, it is definitely not the focus, although it spends a lot more time on its plot than other Mega Man games in the canon have.

Here, you'll get all four game in the series, watching how they progress. Each game has much of the same simple gameplay. As Zero you'll begin by having usually a Z-Saber and Blaster before getting an assortment of different weapons. In the games, each weapon levels up. First you'll have one slash with your Z-saber for example... then two... then three and then adding charges and faster charges. This happens in the first two games but afterwards the game takes away this mechanic for just opting to give you the full range with the exception of fast charge times.

The basic structure of Mega Man is the same but Mega Man Zero changes things up a little by having a few more levels and bosses. In most Mega Man games you fight eight robot masters and then go to three fortress levels. This is still true in Mega Man Zero but in between the first four master and the second four there are levels inserted in between. It doesn't change the familiar formula much, but it is a little different. And each boss still has a weakness to other bosses weapons. Once you figure out the order to defeat the bosses in, each Mega Man Zero game becomes a cakewalk of sorts.

The games also have cyber elves that give you extra abilities such as being able to increase your health, survive touching spikes, run faster, turn into sub tanks etc. This is something unique especially given that each game grades you on how you do in the missions. If you manage to go through missions without taking too much, using too many elves, do it swiftly while finding the necessary items and killing enough enemies, you'll often get a good ranking. It's cumulative, though so getting an A in one mission may be alright if you get a B in another (you may still have an "A" overall). In the first game the "grade" isn't a big deal, but in the second entering missions with an "A" or "S" ranking will grant you EX-Skills to use against bosses, giving you incentive to actual strive for the best rankings. The reason this is actually kind of nice is that it rewards the player for challenging oneself... or you can make things easy for you (and believe me, Cyber-Elves make the games incredibly easy).

There are certain differences between each game, but each game would require their own review. The only thing of note is that each one does change, adding something with each new entry. Not always enough to make a huge difference. The only jump that seems huge is from the first to second game. Where as the first allows you to progress the story even if you fail a mission the others do not. The first also has a different way of letting you tackle the missions. The first game is certainly the weakest of the entry, but to say it is the weakest because it's the first is unfair. However, it may be true. The second game fine tunes the formula which is used throughout the rest of the series. The first game, for example, may be the most challenging. The other games begin to provide balance despite still being relatively challenging. My personal favorite of the bunch is Mega Man Zero 2. It isn't the easiest but it's inviting from the outset.

As I noted a few times already, these games are notoriously difficult. They're not for casual gamers. If you've been playing Mega Man since its outings on the NES you'll know some of the pitfalls to expect, but you'll still need pattern recognition to really grasp the game. Getting the EX-Skills in Zero 2 and Zero 3 will especially test your mettle. They don't require perfect runs but they do require truly skilled players to get them. Most novices will not survive long enough for that. Some gamers are likely to get frustrated to the point of quitting outright.

The collection itself actually doesn't ignore this. You can either choose to play each game individually or you can go through all four in a gauntlet. If you choose the gauntlet option the game assumes you're in it for the story and gives Zero EVERYTHING. It's basically playing all four games in an "Ultimate Mode." You get all Cyber Elves, EX-Skills, sub tanks and any other individual power ups the other games give you (for example you can't use the goodies of Zero 2 in Zero 3 if they didn't exist in Zero 3). The game might still present a challenge for new players but it at least makes the challenge more than manageable. Aside from that the games are unchanged. You CAN, however change up the controls to suit the DS. Meaning if you really want to set up the game to mirror the controls of the SNES Mega Man X games, you can. You can assign L and R to one of the face buttons (A, B, X or Y). This makes playing the games much easier.

The collection might've benefitted from more, however. There's artwork to unlock, but aside from that you basically just get the four games. If you want to relive the adventures of Mega Man Zero or if you've never experienced them before then this is a great collection to get. Four games for the price isn't really so bad. Obviously if you've still got your GBA games there's not much reason to invest here. For those who don't it's a good chance to experience these games. All of them in one package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Challenging Compilation, June 12, 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mega Man Zero Collection - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
I want to start off by saying that I am not a huge mega man fan. When i was younger I remember barely playing the first mega man game on my older cousin's NES. When i was about twelve or so I got a gameboy advance and accidentally bought a battle network mega man game, and that was not at all what i had hoped it would be. I recently saw an advertisement for the Zero Collection and i wanted to try it. Please keep in mind i am new to the series.
I'm sure for hardcore fans this is a decent collection, yet it might seem a bit lacking. It doesn't really have extras in it that make it worth the thirty dollars if you might already own the GBA versions. From my point of view, though, this is a wonderful collection. I'm not familiar with the story, i'm not a fan of anime, etc., so i didn't want a lot of extra features anyway. I wanted to try a good 2-d sidescrolling mega man game. And this includes four great full length titles to play. So for that alone, since i didn't own any previously, this is an awesome bargain. For anyone wanting to know if this is monetarily worth it, just check the prices of what the used copies of atleast the first two or three titles are going for on the GBA. It is quite expensive.
This series seems good because it pays homage to the more old-school kind of gaming, and it is very well done. The most similar game I have played to this for the ds would have to be New Super Mario Brothers because they are both 2d platformers. The difference in the two games, though, is the level of difficulty. These four games are extremely hard. I am working on the first one right now, but i have messed around with each one just to test them. If you are like me and you want to experience these games for the first time, do yourself a favor and try the easy scenario before playing the game for real. I tried playing the game for real right off the bat and I failed very quickly. The value in this is that there is another truly challenging game to pick up for the ds. I feel frustrated by all the childish games that are out for the ds, and even the more adult-friendly games don't take long to complete. I'm glad to have something that will last me a good while. I'm very much into the game, and i plan on continuing until i beat each game in the standard mode.
To sum this all up, if you enjoy a 2d platformer with good, challenging action, order this for yourself. From what i can tell, it has a decent story and it plays very well. When looking at it, there aren't too many huge differences in this and the way Mega Man zx looks for the ds. This will keep you going for a long time, and it will definitely test the skills of any gamer. I'm sure there are many fans that could zip right through this collection, but I'm enjoying the initial difficulty and i welcome the challenge. I recommend this to players that want to try any of these games for the first time or for the gamer that just wants a good single-cartridge collection of the ZERO games to play on the ds/dsi. Just don't buy this strictly for the extras. Have fun and good luck!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mega Man Zero Collection, August 8, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mega Man Zero Collection - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
Anyone who's ever played the original GBA version will love this game. This game was made for the fans and it doesn't disappoint. Even if you've never played the zero series before this game is the perfect place to start. With all 4 games in one you get the full experience of the epitome of the megaman games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A game for Megaman X fans, May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mega Man Zero Collection - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
If you're a fan of Megaman X, you absolutely must buy this collection of Megaman Zero 1-4. I never had the chance to play them individually as I didn't even really know much of their existence but... this collection is made of win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zero's compleate saga in one game!, August 31, 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mega Man Zero Collection - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
Mega Man Zero Collection is a game that compilates all the Mega Man Zero series that weare originaly released in the Gameboy Advance.This collection contains all the four games of said saga, that follows the events of the Mega Man X series, the games have been ported in their original state, with the same graphics, music and gameplay.One can chose any of the four games separatedly, each tittle from beginig to end just as they weare in they original state, or chose the all new easy mode option, witch allows to play through all the four games in succession and with most upgrades and power ups for each game, allowing newcomers to get ahold of the game mechanics with ease. The game also contains a special gallery feature, that contains several original artworks of the characters and wallpapers of each game, that can be unlocked by progresing through the game.Mega Man Zero Collection is an excellent copilation of one of the best game sagas, it's a tittle that any Mega Man fan should miss, and is good game become one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The most difficult Mega Man games out there!, April 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mega Man Zero Collection - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
This game is a great follow-up to the Mega Man X series, but it is also extremely difficult, with the first game in the collection being a bit unfair at times instead of just challenging. New to this collection is an easy mode, but it makes the games too easy, giving you all the upgrades right from the start, max lives, and placing platforms over spikes.

If you are a fan of the Mega Man games, I would give this one a try, but if you are a first times, I would start elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, September 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mega Man Zero Collection - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
I had considered picking up the individual titles in this collection for quite a while, but by the time I got around to picking them up, I'd already sold my GBA and boxed up my Game Boy Player along with my Gamecube. Picking up this collection was a no-brainer. I especially like the added feature which allows you to play through all 4 titles as one cohesive (mostly) game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect compilation of the Mega Man Zero series., March 4, 2014
By 
jdealy999 (Carson City, Nevada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mega Man Zero Collection - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
Ah, how I can never get enough of the Mega Man games. After 25 years of success, I continue to get stoked whenever I play a new Mega Man title or series. This is an exact import of Mega Man Zero 1 through 4 -- each game was respectively released on the Game Boy Advance from 2002 to 2005. It looks even greater on the Nintendo DS because of the dual screen capability. I also love the new theme song that you hear when you see the title screen. The Capcom designers did such a wonderful, superb job to a "T", with ALL of the graphics, backgrounds, and soundtracks being intact. You can even change the jump/fire buttons to suit your own needs -- unlike Mega Man Anniversary Collection for the GameCube.

I've already beaten the first installment, so I'm already working on Mega Man Zero 2. Be sure to also get Mega Man ZX and Mega Man ZX Advent for the Nintendo DS; also, please download Mega Man 9 and 10 for your Wii/Wii U. Lastly, I do hope that Capcom releases even more Mega Man titles for the Nintendo 3DS or Wii U. After all, we wouldn't want to experience a Mega Man shortage, now do we, folks?? :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is an "X"?, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mega Man Zero Collection - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
I'm still in the process of playing through this collection. I can already say that I wish I had followed this series from the beginning. I can't imagine there are too many people out there in the same situation but, if you have never played any of these games and you are a fan of the X series then you absolutely have to complete these games. I don't want to give away the story details but know this; the mavericks that you fight will make you think harder in order to stop them. At least that's what I thought. But I don't want to document any of that information here because once you know the tricks the games become easier. So far I've completed two out of the four Megaman Zero games and it was already worth the purchase. When you complete a game you get the option to play again in hard mode so that will give players some incentive to replay. Also, you are given a rank for every stage you complete and this goes towards your overall rank. There is just too much detail to cover without rambling on and on about this game. Bottom line; if you enjoy the Megaman X series and have all of them or the collection that Capcom made then grab this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mega Man Zero Collection - Nintendo DS
$29.99 $22.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.