Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Parody! (I hope)
After watching this a second time, I cannot sit silent any longer. If you like bad/funny (as opposed to bad/boring) movies, Mega Piranha must be seen! This is either a brilliant parody or a totally inept effort (I think both), but it is fun.

Ten things I find great about this movie:

1) The hero, Jason Fitch, steps off the plane, a scientist (80s...
Published on May 31, 2010 by Tom Clark

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "We tried Mini Piranha first, but couldn't see it do anything." "Not a marketable idea?" "No. We couldn't see it."
Political discussions between a U.S. ambassador and a Venezuelan foreign minister (btw, yes, it is absolutely necessary to have half naked women and champagne around when having such serious talks) are rudely interrupted by a school of overly-ferocious piranha. Sure, the boat they were on was in their turf (being the Amazon Websi...um... River), but our carnivorous...
Published on December 15, 2010 by Dr. Nocturna


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Parody! (I hope), May 31, 2010
By 
Tom Clark (Tiverton, RI) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mega Piranha (DVD)
After watching this a second time, I cannot sit silent any longer. If you like bad/funny (as opposed to bad/boring) movies, Mega Piranha must be seen! This is either a brilliant parody or a totally inept effort (I think both), but it is fun.

Ten things I find great about this movie:

1) The hero, Jason Fitch, steps off the plane, a scientist (80s pop star Tiffany) stops him and explains the danger of the Mega Piranha, and he believes her!

2) The hero: He never changes his expression, and always wears black. Even when he is sneaking around in broad daylight he is wearing black! There is a montage of him sneaking into the government base in daylight, and at one point he is about ten feet up, straddling the pathway (and dressed in black), and the guards do not even see him.

3) Fitch lying on his back and using bicycle kicks to fend off the attacking Mega Piranha.

4) Another reviewer noted the inconsistancies of the background shots from out of the car windows, but what about the jungle? The river where the Mega Piranha live is surrounded by dense jungle; but when the two scientists visit it it is scrub and looks like the hills surrounding Los Angeles.

5) Regarding the two scientists, I love the part when they watch a Venezuelan soldier being eaten by the Mega Piranha. There are several cuts between the attack and one horrified scientist trying to run and help while being restrained by the other scientist. The acting and the length of the scene make it hilarious. Did they just repeat the shots of the scientists?

6) Another gaffe I did not notice reviewed is the US naval ship. From far away it looks like some kind of frigate, but when it fires, and later when it sinks, it is obviously a battleship. And why is it that in these Sy Fy movies naval personnel are allowed to have long hair (the captain has it slicked back) and no insignia on their uniforms?

7) The MEGA PIRANHA! They change size from scene to scene, they can jump out of the water and travel quite a distance (which is how they escape into the Gulf of Mexico), and they explode when they hit something! Among the delights of the movie are the shots of the Mega Piranha which did not explode: they stick out of the buildings with their tales wiggling. And of course, like its cousin the Mega Shark, the Mega Piranha can leap out of the water and grab a passing aircraft (in this case a helicopter).

8) The characters: I was rooting for the bad guy Venezuelan officer, because I don't blame him for wanting to get rid of the scientists. They caused the whole problem and we are supposed to side with them? I think Barry Williams is supposed to be the Secretary of State. I did not know that the Secretary of State micro-managed such operations. He walks around without aides or secret service and actually travels to the most dangerous area (although he is protected by the SUPER BUNKER). I can't imagine Hillary Clinton doing that.

9) The many other things: The bad guy's helicopter flys away and then, after an interval of hours, reappears out of nowhere at the end. Doesn't the helicopter need fuel? At one point the heroes do not notice Venezuelan soldiers with guns attacking them until the soldiers are about three feet away, but in the next shot the heroes have gotten away. And there is so much more...

10) Finally, there is a SUPER BUNKER on a US government oil rig type base. It is written on the screen a few times so we know that this is not just any US government bunker...it is a SUPER BUNKER!

This is so bad that it had to be made with tongue in cheek. Perhaps Paul Logan is acting that way as a parody of that type of character, and why, after casting 80s pop star Debbie Gibson in Mega Shark vs. Giant Octopus, cast Tiffany in another Mega fish movie unless it is intentional? (Hey, how about Paula Abdul in Mega Barracuda?) But then there are those moments which seem legitimate, such as when Tiffany is in shock, chanting that they can't stop the Mega Piranha; her acting seems unintentionally funny. Regardless, it is fun!

I bought Mega Shark vs. Giant Octopus and I can't wait to buy this to have a mega double feature with mega female popstars from the 80s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 92 minutes of hilarious, bad movie magic, December 2, 2010
This review is from: Mega Piranha (DVD)
God bless The Asylum. Nobody makes low-budget rip-offs of major studio films like these guys - and I think Megapiranha may be their best release yet. Where else are you going to find Greg Brady (Barry Williams) as Secretary of State ordering military strikes on a foreign country with no apparent involvement by the Department of Defense or the White House? Where else can you find 80's pop sensation Tiffany playing a genetic scientist? Best of all, where else could you find humongous piranhas hurling themselves out of the water smack dab into warehouses and other buildings or snatching a helicopter right out of the air? The fact that the filmmakers didn't have the budget to make the CGI effects look even remotely real just makes a good thing even better. Little things mean a lot, as well. For instance, there's one scene where the Secretary of State is speaking to his special forces guy over the phone; it's obviously dark outside at the Secretary's Washington location, but it's the middle of the day in Venezuela. Apparently, no one thought to check Venezuela's time zone which is actually half an hour ahead of Eastern Standard Time (Chavez made the half-hour change in 2007 because he didn't like being in the same time zone as the US).

Our story begins with the US Ambassador to Venezuela joining a foreign minister and a bevy of bikini-clad young ladies on a leisurely sail through the middle of the jungle. Suddenly, a school of super piranhas attack, sinking the boat and eating everyone who was on it. Of course, no one else knows what happened. While the Venezuelan government claims it was a terrorist attack, Secretary of State Bob Grady sends his top Special Forces guy, Jason Fitch (Paul Logan), down there to find out what really happened. I like to refer to Paul Logan as "Iron-face." Apparently, at some point in his childhood he held a clenched-teeth, tough guy face for so long that his face actually froze that way, rendering him incapable of making any other facial expression whatsoever. Fitch barely makes it off the plane before he's accosted by Dr. Sarah Monroe (Tiffany) telling him the ambassador's boat was attacked by giant piranhas she had been experimenting on. Venezuela's Colonel Diaz disagrees - and remains disagreeable even after being convinced of the truth. Can Fitch and Monroe's team find a way to stop the megapiranhas - which are growing "exponentially" in size and breeding like crazy to boot - before they make it to the coast, spread out across the whole western hemisphere, and eventually take over the world?

If ever a movie begged for a "Things I Learned From This Movie" list, it is this one. Here are just a few things I learned from Megapiranha. First off, when you're trying to increase the food supply by genetically engineering larger versions of existing animals, it's probably not a good idea to include piranha on your experiment list. Megapiranhas double in size every 36 hours and can eat through sheet metal. If you're at the beach when megapiranhas attack, do not take cover in a warehouse or any other large building because the megapiranhas will fly out of the water and crash into the roofs of these large structures, immediately setting them ablaze. Your best defense against a megapiranha attack in the water is a commando knife; if you are on land and find megapiranhas flying toward you out of the water, your only hope of survival is to immediately lie down on your back and start doing bicycle kicks. If you are a government official and do not have time to order the evacuation of, say, Miami before megapiranhas will reach the shore, an imminent hurricane warning makes for the perfect cover story. The only way to stop a school of megapiranhas involves dropping armed gunmen directly in the water alongside them. Navy Seals can speak normally even with snorkels in their mouths. You can tell if there are any megapiranhas whatsoever in a large body of water simply by pointing a box that detects fish sonar at the water. If you're an American citizen and happen to be arrested in Venezuela, some little scrawny soldier is going to continuously yell at you in Spanish regardless of whether or not you understand the language - and you might be subjected to Venezuelan torture, which consists of a soldier hitting you in the head with a phone book if you refuse to give him the answers he wants to his questions.

Needless to say, this is a hilariously bad movie that I enjoyed tremendously. I wouldn't even want this movie to be given the Mystery Science Theater 3000 treatment because Mike and the bots couldn't make this any funnier than it already is. It was a little depressing for me to see how much Tiffany has changed since her pop princess days, but the only thing more unstoppable than a pool of gigantic piranha is time itself. I suggest you watch this movie with a bunch of your friends - I guarantee a good time will be had by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best worst movie I have seen in a long time., July 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mega Piranha [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
What more could you want in an all-star cast. A bubble-gum pop star from the 80's who is aging right along with those who know who she is. That's right, Tiffany, saw you standing there, and then you were eaten by a fish the size of a house, and it's all her fault. And if that is not vintage enough for you, here's the story ... Greg Brady.. err... I mean Bob Grady as Secretary of State. Barry Williams as the equivalent of Hillary Clinton in this role is just a bunch of fun. And then we have the leading man with the most talented abs I've never seen before. That's right, Paul Logan, best known for his riveting role of "Joe" in Stripper Wives (Don't worry, I don't know who he is either.)

Freakin' Tiffany screwed up a fish experiment, and basically made Piranha breed at mega rates, mega speed and mega size. Like every hour goes buy, they range from small fish, to kickable size, then land loving human size, and then flying 18 wheeler size, destroying not only boats, but crashing into skyscrapers and hotels. Brilliant!

Of course you start out with some boobies, and a few more boobies, and some gushes of blood because woman love to go swimming topless in murky water of course. But we gradually get to the impossible to escape period of growth where the fish just simply chomp down boats in layers and then eventually just swallow them as the become "mega".

There is not one bit of acting to be found here, and that's just fantastic. Paul Logan pretty much did his Keanu Reeves school of method acting so spot on, that he actually sounds like him. Whether he's kicking or punching fish, we're just rooting for his abs and can't help to throw in a few "whoa! dude!" exclamations here and there. Speaking of claymation, Tiffany is strategically dressed in scientist garb, and if anyone deserves an award here, it's the wardrobe department who suggested the bulky forgiving vest. Lastly, you cannot say anything bad about Barry Williams, the guy is TV royalty as Greg Brady. Sure, he tries his best impression of a cast member from "24", but at least he tried! I highly recommend searching Barry on YT for a recent video called "Let's Do Lunch" where he sings and dances about lunchboxes... now THAT is talent!

Eventually common sense has to kick in during the movie so it can end, and you are just left wanting more munching fish. But go all out and get the Blu-ray... and you'll still have money left over for the alcohol companion needed to view this majestic cinematic achievement in film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OM NOM NOM Ridiculous giant fish eat everyone, June 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mega Piranha (DVD)
This is the most glorious pile of crap I've ever witnessed. I'm pretty sure at this point that Syfy has figured out that the key to success is by making terribly hilarious science-fiction flicks that become cult classics. Mega Shark vs. Giant Octopus was wonderful in its own right...a shark eating airplanes out of the sky, terrible acting, and some of the worst CGI I've ever seen in my life. But Mega Piranha takes the cake. There were piranhas eating boats, jumping into buildings, eating people left and right. This movie displays the worst actors in the world doing what they do worst. The poor line delivery and tragically bad writing make this movie absolutely perfect. The CGI is *so* bad in this movie that the fish look like someone drew them freehand onto pieces of paper and then held them in front of the film. I'm not even exaggerating.

If you love crappy Syfy movies as much as I do, then you *need* to watch this one. I implore you. I almost bought it at Blockbuster when I saw it, but, having never seen it before, I decided against it. I saw it on the Syfy channel a month later and instantly regretted passing it up and bought it on here. It's possibly the best worst science-fiction movie in the history of, well, ever.

PLEASE make your life worth living and buy/watch/rent this movie. Your life will never be the same. Something smells "fishy" in Venezuela....*wink wink* I'm hilarious........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "We tried Mini Piranha first, but couldn't see it do anything." "Not a marketable idea?" "No. We couldn't see it.", December 15, 2010
This review is from: Mega Piranha (DVD)
Political discussions between a U.S. ambassador and a Venezuelan foreign minister (btw, yes, it is absolutely necessary to have half naked women and champagne around when having such serious talks) are rudely interrupted by a school of overly-ferocious piranha. Sure, the boat they were on was in their turf (being the Amazon Websi...um... River), but our carnivorous friends don't jump the food chain directly to humans, as a rule. I suppose being a genetically altered species of piranha, though, would constitute different rules. Give former 80s pop star Tiffany a round of applause; twenty years ago, she ruined a Beatles song. Today, she potentially has ruined civilization with mutant piranha that, unlike her popularity in the music industry, grow bigger and bigger. Thank goodness we have designated tough guy Paul Logan and Secretary of State Barry "Brady Bunch" Williams to try and save the day. It takes a certain kind of viewer to find appreciation in the usual offerings from The Asylum production company (atrocious CGI FX, inexplainable casting, overstylized directing). They seem to fall in a unique "so bad, it's good... but then again, it's really bad" category. Reactions when viewing can range from uproarious laughter to extreme nausea. Enter at your own risk. 4.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MEGA LAUGHS, April 30, 2010
By 
This review is from: Mega Piranha (DVD)
This is the cheesiest sci-fi movie I've seen in years! And it's soooo funny to boot! From its hilarious killer fish to its utterly horrible acting; from the horrible fast forwarding with sound effects direction. It's great comedy. You get to see 90's pop diva Tiffany try to act! Martial arts hunk Paul Logan walk like he's got hemorrhoids! Brady Bunch alum Barry Williams trying not to laugh at his inane dialogue! Flying piranha exploding on impact! I had a great time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The People at Asylum sure are Commited!, May 5, 2011
By 
Jonathan Dedward "In your face like a can of ... (Nowheresville, Slothwestern North America) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mega Piranha (DVD)
Ah the absurdity of The Asylum and their dedication to creating affordable "Mock-Busters"- knockoff imitations of major Hollywood releases. So for Bay's Transformers, The Asylum created a look alike Transmorphers film. When Snakes on a Plane was released, The Asylum already had Snakes a Train available on DVD. For Aliens Vs Predator, there was an Alien Vs Hunter. For the Da Vinci Code, there was a Da Vinci's Treasure. And for Piranha 3-D there is this, Mega Piranha. I haven't seen seen Piranha 3-D yet, but I doubt it's anywhere near as crazy as The Asylum's Mega Piranha.

The only thing resembling a known figure in this movie is someone known only as Tiffany, perhaps better known from about 2 decades ago as a jail-bait pop singer. Though in her late thirties here, she is still pretty cute. I only mention this as that fact makes the film a bit easier to take, because, oh... it's so bad. But it's bad in a rather charming and entertaining way. The story is this: a trio of bumbling Scientitians have engineered a race of Giant Killer Mutant Piranha, just for the hell of it. Oops... they escaped! Now a Smart Chick and a Tuff Guy have to save the world from the killer fish. I think I might have written this story when I was about 6.

Nothing you'll see onscreen really makes any sense. Luckily, the actors themselves aren't taking the movie too seriously, and how could they? You'd need a Marlon Brando or a Morgan Freeman type actor to lend any amount of gravitas to such a stupid idea. It's completely mindless. In one scene, an idiotic scientist exclaims, "These things must be doubling in size every two days!" While another disagrees, countering: "No! This is exponential growth!" That's good writing!

Between the ludicrous lines, the Spanish 101 foreign language students as extras, and the Sepia filter on the camera lens, this is some kind of movie. Everything explodes and the tough guys all have their snappy one-liners. Tiffany outdoes herself with her acting, particularly as she ineffectually rages on the beach, "I just want to kill them all!" This movie is filled with laugh-out-loud moments.

There are some scenes in bad films that end up being captured and recorded online for endless posterity... those are the scenes that make movies like this better than the sum of their awful parts. This movie is full of such scenes. Sure, the dialog and story were written with kindergartners in mind. Sure, the special effects are only special in the "Rides the Short Bus" sense. Nowadays it's all CG, but just a few decades ago it would've been rotoscoped animation. Either way, it's about as believable. But when you see Piranha the size of houses leaping out of a shallow river, into hotels and offices and exploding like bombs, you'll know you've found a bit of a gem in this low-rent picture. You'll even overlook the plastic Nerf toys standing in as futuristic dart guns!

It's fun and funny and probably one of the most entertaining of the Syfy Channel "Saturday Night Movies" that I've seen. Don't pay money for this, but please trick one of your friends into renting it, because it's a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stupid Movie That's Great for Family Bonding!, September 4, 2011
This review is from: Mega Piranha (DVD)
I sat up late in my living room with insomnia, when this movie came on the sci-fi channel. It was so preposterous that I had an out of body moment until my son came down for a late-night snack. He stopped in front of the TV, and in two minutes he looked at me and said, incredulously: "Really?" Then he burst out in deep bass teen testosterone laughter. He went into the kitchen and returned with a huge smorgasbord of leftover bbq ribs, brown rice & red kidney beans, a thick slice of my favorite online vegan "The World's Best Carrot Cake", a bag of kettle chips, a banana, a chobani blueberry Greek yogurt, and a 20oz cup of "low fat" chocolate milk. He sat down on floor rug watching this crazy movie, eating 20lbs of food at midnight, and looked at me and calmly said: "movies like this make the case for legalizing marijuana". If he wasn't a lithe, athletic teenage boy who ate like 5 lumberjacks and 4 pregnant women, several times a day, Id've sent him to Labcorp just on circumstantial evidence.

So, about the story: Genetically Modified Piranha take on everything from a Navy nuclear sub, to a lone wolf martial artist and a lone wolf scientist. They're growing by the minute, went from fresh to salt water, and finally make it to Miami Beach, where they are eating everyone including a news reporter who got swallowed whole, (is that a bad thing?). Suv-sized, juicy, flying, voracious fish stuck in condo windows, 15 stories high, it's hilarious! My son and I laughed so hard, I almost had to do the Heimlich on him with his mouth full of food.

This movie makes me think of the triple feature movies they used to show in the NYC Times Square area when I wad a teen, and we kids would cut class to see them all. The first movie would be an A-rate film like Indiana Jones, the next would be a B-rate, like Fast Times at Ridgemont High or Robocop (this would be Mega Piranha's slot), and the final would be something C-rate & ignorant like Cheech and Chong, or Dolomite (This could also be mega piranah's slot).

This movie cheered me up, and made a great bed-time story. Everyone involved in this movie, from the writer, producer, director, actors, etc. must've been smoking some serious stuff to put this movie out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Giant Flying Exploding Fish And Tiffany As A Ichthyologist...What Else Could You Possibly Want?, March 14, 2011
This review is from: Mega Piranha (DVD)
"Megapiranha" is another in a series of ridiculous aquatic creature features from our friends over at the SyFy Channel. Tiffany is back as Sarah Monroe; this time she's an ichthyologist and geneticist working on improving the fauna of Venezuela's Orinoco River by developing giant flying exploding mutant piranhas. Sadly Lorenzo Lamas is nowhere to be found this time, but "Megapiranha" has something even better: special forces operative Jason Fitch (Paul Logan,) who wears more black than Johnny Cash though he can't act nearly as well, and Barry "Greg Brady" Williams as the senior US government representative who spends most of the movie speaking ludicrous dialogue into his cell phone.

The film is mega-schizophrenic with a bit of everything sprinkled in: a wholly improbable and entirely unbelievable romance subplot between the expressionless Fitch and Monroe (as a scientist Monroe should have been able to see there's zero chemistry there!) and an evil South American military despot, with concomitant international relations complications, which are endlessly silly. I was particularly fond of the subplot about the criticality of timing for the US Navy battleship (in truth the ship changed appearance several times, but when it sank it was definitely supposed to be a battleship) to shell a river. The confusion about what the ship is supposed to look like is just one way the people at SyFy exhibit their ignorance of nautical weaponry to hilarious effect; by far the most amusing scenes involve a surface ship and a nuclear submarine being eaten by giant piranhas. (It's actually even funnier than it sounds.) There's lots of equally incredible helicopter action, some great hand to hand (and gill to gill) fighting on display, much over-emoting, incredibly huge continuity issues, and a conclusion that must be seen to be believed. Surely the best way to deal with a giant piranha feeding frenzy is to swim right through their school, right? Obviously.

This movie has it all for cheese lovers: a loopy premise, a terrible script, over the top acting from everyone involved, and hijinks that wouldn't fool a six year old. I particularly love the scene where Fitch escapes notice of guards by straddling two beams just above head level which the guards walk under. I guess they didn't notice him because it was the middle of the day and he was dressed in black. (Ponder.) The special effects need to be singled out as well: apparently no cost was incurred by the filmmakers for their menacing fish CGI. This is truly one of the worst exhibitions of computer-generated effects in the last ten years, and those effects add to the deliciousness of the film immensely. A question: why do they explode when they hit land? Are they full of some kind of gas?

If you enjoy the guilty pleasure of watching bottom of the barrel science fiction, you can't go wrong with "Megapiranha."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tiffany And Man-Eating Fish--A Deadly, But Endearing, Combination, February 2, 2011
This review is from: Mega Piranha (DVD)
In a brilliant bit of bad movie magic, 2011 heralds the arrival of the epic SyFy channel original movie "Mega Python vs Gatoroid." Not only is this another stunning example of a creature feature showdown between unlikely foes, it brings the estimable talents of two former pop princesses together. If you lived through the late eighties, you'll instantly be attracted to the idea of seeing Tiffany and Debbie Gibson go at it in a full fledged catfight. The film's comic rivalry is ludicrous and delightful! It's inspired casting, to be sure, because both ladies have previously graced the small screen in films featuring mutated monster mayhem. Debbie Gibson got the ball rolling with "Mega Shark vs Giant Octopus" while Tiffany took on "Mega Piranha." For the record, the star rating system used to evaluate these films will, obviously, be adjusted for a bad movie criteria. What makes a bad movie great? In my opinion (and my opinion only) it's the fun quotient and the commitment of the actors.

Here's my breakdown of the three films:
5 Stars: Mega Python vs Gatoroid (not yet on DVD)
4 Stars: Mega Piranha
2 Stars: Mega Shark vs Giant Octopus

In Shark vs Octopus, two giant prehistoric sea creatures are unleashed from their arctic tomb after some whales go wonky and crash into the ice. Mortal enemies, these two beasts also seem to be aggressively anti-man for within minutes they are chomping on (or squishing) boats, planes, offshore drilling platforms--basically anything they can sink their teeth in or wrap their tentacles around. Debbie Gibson is a researcher who may have the key to ending their reign of terror. With an old professor and a Japanese love interest, they whip up an intoxicating batch of pheromones to lure each of the creatures to a trap. Silly humans! Gibson tries to corral the shark in the populated San Francisco Bay area (why not?) but that leads to disaster. Maybe the only solution is for the two animals to battle each other! Despite some amusing graphics, I didn't have a lot of fun in this picture. Gibson and crew (including the most un-militaristic military man I've ever seen, Lorenzo Lamas) are a little too relaxed. Gibson's theatrics never rise above mild flirtation, so I didn't feel like enough was at stake in this bit of silliness.

I had no such qualms, however, about Tiffany's performance in Piranha! That's what makes this film such delightful nonsense--the actors act like the fate of the world rests in their hands. They sell it. In Venezuela, a batch of experimental piranha have been released into the river system. When a US diplomat is devoured, Greg Brady (I mean Barry Williams) sends a meathead (I mean analyst Paul Logan) to uncover the assassin (strangely enough, no one suspects fish initially). With Tiffany on hand as a local scientist, she and Logan must battle a corrupt militia and toothy fish that double in size every few hours. It's fast, frantic, and exceedingly silly especially as fish start flying into buildings--but the actors, once again, rise to the challenge at every opportunity. No, they're not good per se, but they are committed! It comes down to a rather dubious solution (where are pheromones when you need them?), but with no other creatures to battle--the piranha must destroy themselves.

Python vs Gatoroid really is the combination of everything sacred and good about these two films. Played with unabashed comedic elements, it embraces the silly so brilliantly--it's impossible to resist. Gibson and Tiffany are rivals (Debbie digs the snakes, Tiff is down with the gators) and the film mines all the possible pleasures this pairing can provide. Add the delightful Kathryn Joosten, some drugged chicken carcasses, a surprise musical guest, more delicious pheromones, hillbilly wisdom, and the aforementioned fight (a food fight no less--just what was that in Tiffany's cleavage?) and you've got a camptastic spectacular! A great bad film that's definitely in on its own joke, it's viewing nirvana. With two pop divas and three films, SyFy has set a new standard for absurd cinema! KGHarris, 2/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mega Piranha
Mega Piranha by Paul Logan (DVD - 2010)
$6.99 $3.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.