Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Megalodon
I believe that MEGALODON is actually as close to real as any movie I've seen about this prehistoric shark. Only Spielberg could do it better.
Published on December 6, 2004 by Pat Petro

versus
23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IT'S THE GREAT GLASS ELEVATOR, CHARLIE
Quick... what's not in widescreen and has no special features? That's right - MEGALODON! SIXTY FEET OF PREHISTORIC TERROR - or so claims the box art. This film may be about a shark, but the production is all about FRANKENSTEIN. Seen JAWS? How about THE ABYSS, ALIEN, REPTILICUS, DEEP BLUE SEA, DEEP STAR SIX or LEVIATHAN? Then you've seen most, if not all, of...
Published on June 14, 2005 by Thomas E. O'Sullivan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IT'S THE GREAT GLASS ELEVATOR, CHARLIE, June 14, 2005
This review is from: Megalodon (DVD)
Quick... what's not in widescreen and has no special features? That's right - MEGALODON! SIXTY FEET OF PREHISTORIC TERROR - or so claims the box art. This film may be about a shark, but the production is all about FRANKENSTEIN. Seen JAWS? How about THE ABYSS, ALIEN, REPTILICUS, DEEP BLUE SEA, DEEP STAR SIX or LEVIATHAN? Then you've seen most, if not all, of MEGALODON. It's all here - the high tech multi-billion dollar drill site, a small, but the "best at what they do" crew, the ill timed major storm (snow and ice), an ill crewman, a lost world filled with lost fish stuffed with lost Magalodons, the standard crew roundtable scar sharing scene, a spunky blond girl reporter and her husky semi-comic cameraman. Tiny one man (one woman) subs, a helicopter crash, several "tragic" deaths all capped off with a whiz-bang explosion at the end which solves most (but not all) of the problems. MEGALODON takes no chances by leaving nothing to the imagination. It simply takes no risks - which is odd since it tries so hard to move in another direction all the time. There's a good story here blocked by a very large shark. The Magalodon doesn't come into view until halfway through the film and up until then you may find yourself wondering when they're just going to get on with it - but once the shark does arrive, does get into frame - you begin to realize that there was something more building here.

We've seen the destruction of the environment used time and again in these kinds of films - it's a backdrop. It's something for the creator and builder of the worlds biggest and deepest oil rig to ravage and lay waste to - but here, the head of the COLOSSUS is actually a pretty good guy trying to provide the world with the fuel it needs. When they stumble upon the lair of the Megalodon there is no talk of drilling for more oil - they all are taken by the wonder of finding a LOST WORLD. It almost seems as if the story might breakaway here and follow a different direction. But it never does - the shark swims in, knocks things about, knocks things over, breaks through things, and then gets blown to bits. We skip into a THREE MONTHS LATER, get our CODA, then our STINGER that there is not one... but two, perhaps more Megalodons now loose in the world's oceans. Nifty - but dull.

There a TON of unanswered questions, and by the end you know the movie has cheated you (can anyone explain why the earthquakes were needed in this film? Also, was the anchor cable drilled into the ocean floor ever going to break? - they cut back to it at least three times after each quake and I kept waiting for it to snap and the COLOSSUS to tip over - never did). MEGALODON is what it is - full screen, ready for cable, jammed with a few nifty ideas and stuffed with off kilter CGI (the subs looks fake - but look clean, while the Megalodon itself looks and acts almost exactly like a plastic tub toy shark) effects. Not the best, not the worst - not JAWS or any of the rest...it's MEGALODON, and it's available for sale or to rent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big Rig, Big Mistake, Big Shark, November 24, 2004
By 
Joshua Koppel (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Megalodon (DVD)
The Worlds biggest and safest oil rig is ready to drill on unstable ocean floor in the Arctic. Bad move. In a scene from Deep Star Six, the drilling opens up a huge cavern that is teeming with life that has gone extinct elsewhere 60-70 million years ago. One life form is a megalodon which leaves the rich feeding ground of the cave for the more barren waters of the Arctic (would you like a bridge with that?). Actually the first shark evidence, a shadow, does not appear until 47 minutes into the movie. The rig and the small cast are now at risk from a powerful predator.

Mistakes abound in this film in unexpected ways. I am used to these film getting the extinction dates wrong but this one got it right. However, it does play heck with a lot of other details. Imagine a body at 5,000 feet down that does not suffer from the pressure. Imagine and elevator and subs that travel the 5,000 feet from surface to ocean floor in a matter of minutes. Imagine a shark that has no internal organs (it is solid like a statue). Imagine planning rescue boats that have to be dropped bow first sixty feet to the water (and have wounded aboard). Watch visitors get invited to a dinner with no food and everyone leaves at the start.

The disk is very barren. Just play movie and a chapter selection. No trailers, commentary, behind the scenes (although it is credited in the credits), no nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MEGa Bummer! 2+ Year Wait Wasn't Worth It......., July 24, 2004
By 
Marc Cawiezel (Moscow Mills, mo United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Megalodon (DVD)
The trailer I viewed online for this movie made it look promising and after 2+ years of this movie sitting on the shelf, it was kind of a letdown and a waste of a $3.00 rental fee.

In all fairness, the original director (Tunnifcliffe) wanted his name removed from this film because it was heavily edited and changed from his original cut. I believe he wanted an R rating but they wanted PG-13. Who knows why though? It never got shown in theaters! The movie does have a few good points, but the bad points far outway them.

The acting and sets are pretty good for such a low budget film. Some of the CGI effects are pretty impressive but than there are some that weren't.

The rescue/life/drop boats briefly shown looked very cool and unfortunetly weren't explored as an option for a more exciting finale!

The bad points are numerous. Overly long beginning and end credits pad out the movies brief 90 minute running time. The shark doesn't appear until 52 minutes into the movie. The film wasn't the least bit exciting or suspenseful. NO extras or widescreen option on the DVD and the sound was poor especially on the actor's voices.

The so called CLIMAX was very brief and treaded very familiar terrority in regards to killing the shark. Nothing new here!

So out of all the low budget MEG shark movies currently out there on home video (Shark Attack 3:Megalodon, MEGALODON, Shark Hunter)it's certainley the best of the bunch, but that's not saying much. I'd give it MAYBE 2 to 2 1/2 stars out of 5. All of us shark movie fans need to keep out fingers crossed that the BIG BUDGET movie for Steve Alten's MEG book hits the big screen sometime soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE ALMOST INVISIBLE SHARK, December 7, 2004
By 
This review is from: Megalodon (DVD)
MEGALODON is a pretty well made low budget film, with some impressive CGI visuals. The story is fairly simple: a state of the art oil rig (almost looks like a castle) is drilling into the ocean floor. This results in the opening of a huge cavern which releases icthylogical creatures from prehistoric times, including the titular creature. The problem is, we don't see the shark for at least 45 minutes, and then afterwards, we only see it for a little. If you're going to have a monster shark, you should show it more often, don't you think.

The characters are pretty stock, and the acting is passable. Al Sapienza as the white haired pilot is reminiscent of the old Steve Canyon in the comics, and he has a strong, but sensitive, presence. The rest of the cast is average.

MEGALODON is the latest in a recent surge in megalodonic films, and none of them will make us forget JAWS or the underappreciated DEEP BLUE SEA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mega Flop, January 11, 2005
This review is from: Megalodon (DVD)
I rented Megaladon knowing it was a low budget B movie - but I still had hopes that it might not be bad. After all I've always been really interested in the movies real star - the Carcharadon Megalodon, ancestor of the great white that some scientists believe may have grown to sizes as large as 40 - 100 feet long. Some even believe the ancient shark species may still exist in the deep ocean. Cryptozoology is often the inspiration for plently of bad movies that sound good on paper.

Such is the case here. Megalodon suffers all-across the board. Bad acting, bad shots, bad plot, and poorly concieved diologue. It just sucks in every way it CAN suck. Effects-wise there's more CGI effect in this movie than most low budget movies out there. However most of the effects are noticabley low quality compared to mainstream motion pictures, and look good enough to be a video game cut scene but not quite photo realistic for use in a movie. I lost interest very quickly in this movie and by the time the Megalodon was chewing up a submersible the scene was so horrible I actually found myself laughing at the screen.

The one star Megalodon gets is for the very atractive lead role of Leighanne Littrell :) That and the fact it's impossible to give it 0 stars lol. Megalodon was so bad that even as a TV movie, it would fail misserably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Megalodon, December 6, 2004
By 
This review is from: Megalodon (DVD)
I believe that MEGALODON is actually as close to real as any movie I've seen about this prehistoric shark. Only Spielberg could do it better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS REALLY BITES !!!, April 27, 2009
This review is from: Megalodon (DVD)
Having read Steve Alten's novel MEG, years ago, which has nothing to do at all with this movie!! But it's a bloody great read!!!

Really whets the imagination, about what havoc can be wrecked by prehistoric sea creatures.

I found this movie to be really good. The special effects are really great. The plot is very good: oil drilling setup discovering a 'mirror prehistoric ocean' by accident, releasing the deadly Meg.

Very good special effects regarding the Meg.

Robin Sachs (from 'Buffy the Vampire Slayer' tv series) and the cast do a fantastic job, by the way.

This film really has bite to it!!!!

With films like this coming out. It really makes me excited for more.
Honestly. I can't wait until the film people finally do the film adaption of Steve Alten's novel, as mentioned above. Please, people of the film industry, do the film adaption !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's no Jaws or Deep Blue Sea but...., August 3, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Megalodon (DVD)
I have to agree with the previous reviewer for the most part. It's really a shame the MEG film hasn't been made yet. Steve Alten's third MEG novel PRIMAL WATERS came out this week and what should have been the Jaws type franchise of the 21st century seems to be in perpetual turn-a-round due to these mediocre low budget films beating it to production.MEGALODON is better than most of the other Shark Movies out there,RED WATER,DARK WATERS, and the bottom of the barrel SHARK ATTACK Series 1-3(Megalodon). Curiously even those not about Carcharodon megalodon seem to be titled similarly to the third novel. I doubt it's coincidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Show ...highly recommend it, October 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Megalodon (DVD)
I learned of this movie through my great grandson of 13 years old I never knew it even existed a real cliffhanger and suspenceful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a great 'movie night' movie, July 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Megalodon (DVD)
I was skeptical going into the movie; oh it's low budget, it's about a giant shark...but that didn't matter. Towards the end it was still suspenseful, I found myself curled in a ball. The writing was predictable, the camera effects like; violent motion or camera shake was a cover up for the poor scene work. Megalodon the star of the movie doesn't show up till the last 20-30min of the movie, which was a little disappointing. But I enjoyed the movie, I'm glad I got it for the price I did, I'll be watching it again and showing my friends.

P.S. If your a fan of Mark Sheppard, he has a substancial role in this, good amount of face time. If your going to watch this for him, it's a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Megalodon
Megalodon by Pat Corbitt (DVD - 2004)
$9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.