Customer Reviews


603 Reviews
5 star:
 (284)
4 star:
 (119)
3 star:
 (89)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (79)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The translation closest to the Original German
There are four or five currently popular English translations of Mein Kampf. I'll say a few words about the translations. Then I'll say a few things about the book.

This translation, The Reynal & Hitchcock is my personal favorite. It was translated by a scholarly committee and is taken directly from the German. I consider it closest to the original and many...
Published on October 22, 2009 by Susanna Hutcheson

versus
337 of 384 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a light read!
This book is really something that one should take the time for, it is not an easy read, especially not in German, and the book is also not very exciting, it is, after all, a political book. Some people seem offended that I own this book, when they see it on my shelf, some dare not say anything, afraid i might be some kind of neo nazi, but Mein Kampf is one of the best...
Published on November 29, 2000 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The translation closest to the Original German, October 22, 2009
There are four or five currently popular English translations of Mein Kampf. I'll say a few words about the translations. Then I'll say a few things about the book.

This translation, The Reynal & Hitchcock is my personal favorite. It was translated by a scholarly committee and is taken directly from the German. I consider it closest to the original and many people agree. There are, however, others who prefer the Murphy translation and yet others who claim the Manheim is superior.

The Reynal & Hitchcock has no negative comments about Hitler. Nor does it appear to endorse his words. On the other hand, the Manheim has a definite bias. I feel that the Reynal & Hitchcock is the most fair and true to the actual words of Hitler.

This book is a difficult read because the Germans don't seem to know what a period is. The sentences go on and on with only a comma now and then. But in the Reynal & Hitchcock you'll find unfamiliar words explained. The notes and annotations are absolutely wonderful.

I own the 1939 edition and love it. One other thing I'll say is this: The name of Henry Ford was taken out of Manheim. I'm not sure if it's in Murphy or not. But it is in Reynal & Hitchcock.

Now a few words about Mein Kampf -- the book. I assume if you're reading this review you already know about Mein Kampf and have perhaps read it or read part of it. But if not, perhaps a few words are in order.

Mein Kampf is an interesting look into the mind of Hitler and it is interesting how we can see some of the same characteristics running in numerous people in office today. If we don't know history, we're apt to repeat it.

Indeed, Hitler might even have won a Nobel Peace Prize based on his promises and the excitement he created in people before they really got to know him had the prize been given in those days! Certainly such greats as JFK and Churchill gave him glowing compliments.

Why did people follow Hitler? Knowing what we do now, it's easy to think the German people were stupid. The truth is the country had suffered a severe punishing war and hyperinflation -- money was worthless. They needed a real leader.

Hitler promised everyone everything. He was just the "right" person for that particular time. If times had been different, he would not have risen to power in all likelihood.

I find Hitler part genius, part psychopath.

The book -- no matter what translation -- is a must-read. It's a classic. It's a book that gives you insight into one of the most important minds of the 20th Century and in all of history.

Why should you read any translation of Mein Kampf? Sun Tzu said you must know your enemy. We read about those we regard as dangerous, or wrong or criminal in order to avoid that type of individual ever encroaching into power again. We also read to understand that person in relationship to the times in which he lived.

Just as Hitler knew his dreaded enemy, the Communist Party and Karl Marx, we should know Hitler, the Fascist dictator. Hitler didn't take on an issue or an enemy without knowing it inside-out. In that regard, he was brilliant. He knew what he was fighting. He knew the enemy.

I highly recommend this translation and the book. If you want a totally Americanized translation, consider Mein Kampf (The Ford Translation) and for a delightful read that will tell you all about the life of Hitler in a most colorful way, read Adolf Hitler: The Definitive Biography by the prize winning author, John Toland.

- Susanna K. Hutcheson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


208 of 230 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly PEOPLE'S EDITION of Mein Kampf!, March 1, 2010
Don't believe the negative reviews... If you pass on this edition, you will truly miss out on a fantastic translation of Mein Kampf!

I have read the 1943 Manheim translation, the 1939 Murphy translation, the 1939 Reynal & Hitchcock translation and the 2009 Ford translation. All have their own particular merits, and all appeal to certain audiences. The Manheim appeals to the scholarly and is indeed a faithful, word-for-word translation of Mein Kampf. However, it is incomplete. Further, following it in places can be very confusing in the English language, and many people I know have simply put it down in frustration. It's obviously a scholar's edition, as the German-language footnotes attest.

The Reynal & Hitchcock edition is a better flowing edition than the Manheim, in my opinion, but has been out of print since 1943, when the Manheim was published by Houghton-Mifflin. Why? Because Houghton-Mifflin did not want to pay royalties to Reynal & Hitchcock for their translation, so Ralph Manheim was commissioned for a new translation, which is, in fact, clumsier than the original.

The Murphy edition is far shorter, a fairly easy read for those who speak/read British English and have a decent vocabulary. However, it is paraphrased - as Murphy read a paragraph and put it into his own words. Not Hitler's words, but in most places, true to the meaning. But in some places, he misses the point (as Ford's book about the MEIN KAMPF translation controversy points out). So if you want Hitler, you won't get it from Murphy...

Onto Ford's translation... The thing I like about this translation is that it strikes me as a true PEOPLE's EDITION of Mein Kampf. It is COMPLETE and TRUE to the original, but being a PEOPLE'S EDITION does NOT mean that it is dumbed-down. It simply means it is readable, flows well and keeps the reader's interest throughout. EVERY READER'S INTEREST. And that was exactly what the author, Adolf Hitler, wanted. He wanted EVERYONE in his country to read his book. Not just the university professor. It wasn't for the elite few. It was for the bus driver, the soldier, the unemployed - it made no difference! It was for everyone. In German, it flowed (and still flows) fine. But when translated to English, it doesn't flow so well, as various translations prove. However, with the Ford translation, it flows VERY WELL. It has been restored to its former status and is once again for EVERYONE.

Couple this with Ford's explanatory notes in the text as well as his added 27 pages of pictures that show key people and places mentioned by Hitler, and this makes an edition of Mein Kampf that has yet to be beaten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


256 of 288 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredibly valuable and fascinating translation, October 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While not an easy read, I rather enjoy this translation and find it quite useful. The good news is -- once you get into it, you find it's not all that difficult to read. You begin to understand the message and the translation.

James Murphy started the translation. Ford, president of Elite Minds, publisher of the book, says Murphy embellished it, left things out, added things, and used academic words that make it hard to read.

He says he has not changed any wording and he has left all mistakes as they were. He adds, and probably correctly, that much was lost in the translation and that it sounded more like Murphy and less like Hitler. Murphy wrote for the intellectual while Hitler spoke to the working class.

Little needs to be said about the words of Hitler. I enjoy reading Mein Kampf. That certainly is not an endorsement of the man or his movement. Mein Kampf is an interesting look into the mind of this man and it is interesting how we can see some of the same characteristics running in numerous people in office today. If we don't know history, we're apt to repeat it.

Indeed, Hitler might even have won a Nobel Peace Prize based on his promises and the excitement he created in people before they really got to know him had the prize been given in those days! Certainly such greats as JFK and Churchill gave him glowing compliments.

Why did people follow Hitler? Knowing what we do now, it's easy to think the German people were stupid. The truth is the country had suffered a severe punishing war and hyperinflation -- money was worthless. They needed a real leader.

Hitler promised everyone everything. He was just the "right" person for that particular time. If times had been different, he would not have risen to power in all likelihood.

I find Hitler part genius, part psychopath.

The book -- no matter what translation -- is a must-read. It's a classic. It's a book that gives you insight into one of the most important minds of the 20th Century and in all of history.

Why should you read any translation of Mein Kampf? Sun Tzu said you must know your enemy. We read about those we regard as dangerous, or wrong or criminal in order to avoid that type of individual ever encroaching into power again. We also read to understand that person in relationship to the times in which he lived.

Just as Hitler knew his dreaded enemy, the Communist Party and Karl Marx, we should know Hitler, the Fascist dictator. Hitler didn't take on an issue or an enemy without knowing it inside-out. In that regard, he was brilliant. He knew what he was fighting. He knew the enemy.

While this translation can be awkward, I recommend it to you. It is close to the original, which gives it incredible value. Moreover, if you're a careful reader with a decent vocabulary and perhaps a good dictionary, it's not that difficult to read. It might turn out to be your preferred version.

If you're interested and fascinated by World War 1 or World War 11 and most importantly, if you want to understand history and how the words of Hitler changed the course of history, you need to read all translations.

Highly recommended.

- Susanna K. Hutcheson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


337 of 384 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a light read!, November 29, 2000
This review is from: Mein Kampf (Paperback)
This book is really something that one should take the time for, it is not an easy read, especially not in German, and the book is also not very exciting, it is, after all, a political book. Some people seem offended that I own this book, when they see it on my shelf, some dare not say anything, afraid i might be some kind of neo nazi, but Mein Kampf is one of the best selling books ever published, and it had a great impact on those who read it during it's time of first publishing.
People simply look at Hitler as being this disturbed man, who was just dangerous to everyone, and should never have been alive, but there is more to Hitler than hatred. He had the power to convince millions of people that he could change their economical, social and political situation, he influenced and inspired them. He was a brilliant man, although also said to be mentally ill, possibly schizophrenic.
People are scared of young adults reading Mein Kampf and being influenced by it, but in order to prevent something like this from happening again, we should look at the situation at that time, we can read this book and learn from it, find out what drove Adolf Hitler to this. I believe this is a book more people should read and learn from, instead of fearing it and the man behind it.
But beware, it's not an easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


513 of 595 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let Hitler speak for himself, May 12, 2003
By 
zonaras (Jimbo's House of Pie) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mein Kampf (Paperback)
The edition of MEIN KAMPF I am reviewing here is the Murphy translation, different from the Manaheim translation which can be purchased in most book stores. It has this grainy, purple-colored picture of Hitler on the front in a Nazi uniform, and the spine is bright yellow with the title written in massive red letters. Most of the people who condemn this book so harshly probably did not read it, and have only a superficial, media-produced idea of what National Socialism/Nazism was all-about. Ho-hum--So self-righteous, so sanctimonious.
The style of MEIN KAMPF is very drawn out and highly technical and detailed, presented in the form of an autiobiographical, philosphical, political, social and quasi-spiritual diatribe. The prevailing theme of much of the first part is Hitler's frustration with the military alliance between Germany and Austria-Hungary. He felt that the Germans should all live in one country, rather than there being a Germany and an empire ruled by Germans (the Austro-Hungarian Empire) over various ethnic groups in Eastern Europe. I don't consider myself any kind authority on this period of time in the late 19th and early 20th century in central Europe, but some type of understanding of the political structure in place in Austria-Hungary and Germany is necessary to understand what Hitler is talking about, otherwise it will just seem like endless rambling. Hitler writes about his expiriences in WWI, and praises the heroism of the German army in the conflict. Germany not only held off both Britain and France on the Western Front, but was also free to battle at will with its enemies on the east and south, and (until 1918 before Marxist inspired workers' strikes), maintain the upper hand. Hitler analyzes the use of propaganda between the two sides and concludes that the Allies had the upper hand in influencing morale for their cause. Britain was especially successful in portraying the Germans as the 'Huns' who committed terrible atrocites so that the Allied troops would not be as shocked going into the war as the German soldiers were, whose propaganda portrayed the Allies as silly weaklings, which was obviously not true. Hitler understood well the workings of propaganda and how it can be used as a soft-core form of government mind-control. There is nothing different from Hitler's description and use of it and how it is used by the news and entertainment media in America today.
There are many anti-Jewish statements strewn throughout MEIN KAMPF, but they are not so much to be as shocking as many would think. The 'anti-Semitism' is more assumed than explained, but the explanation involves the Nazi theory of a three-tiered racial makup of mankind which determines human interaction between cultural and religious groups. The "founders of culture" are the mythical Aryans. All ancient cultural, religious and other developments can be traced to them, even though Hitler never explains who they are, or how they could be related to Germans. The "preservers of culture" are those who got culture from the Aryans, but stagnated after the Aryans interbreeded with those of lesser racial stock. The only apparent "preservers of culture" that Hitler mentions here are the Japanese. The Jews are the "destroyers of culture." Hitler criticizes them for using their religion to justify a racial-preservation group tactic. Hitler does not cite any sources as to where he got this information, and MEIN KAMPF generally relies on the readers' percieved, innate, subjective insight regarding racial and social issues. Throughout are descriptions of the state controlled eugenic social policies that would be in place once the Nazis gained power in Germany.
The last third or so of the book is dedicated to retelling the story of the National Socialist Movement and especially Hitler's personal perspectives and recollections on it. Highlited are the Nazi organizational sturcture and its struggles against the Marxists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Look for a better edition than this black cover one, February 9, 2011
This review is from: Mein Kampf (Paperback)
My review is about this particular translation and not necessarily the content. I have always had an interest in WWII and decided to finally read the book that Hitler wrote. I must say I wish I had done more research before buying any edition.

I first bought this edition. I had no idea that there were different English translations at the time. This one is by Manheim. When I started reading it I was puzzled. It did not make sense to me. Not only was it so poorly written that many parts did not make sense, it also made no sense to me why some of the sentences would be structured in such an odd way. It also did not sound anything like Hitler to me, though I did really not know what he sounded like this certainly was not it. This sounded wrong to me. I had to look again and see if it was really Hitler's book it was so poorly written. It turns out it was NOT Hitler's book. This Manheim edition is not actually Hitler's words but an "interpretation" of his words by Manheim. The foreword sets the tone and makes it clear that the translation is not unbiased. Since purchasing this book I have done more research and I have seen claims that Manheim intentionally produced a poor quality translation to make Hitler look rambling and to make it hard to read. I tend to believe this, though it sounds conspiritorial to me, it does make sense. It would explain why such a bad translation was ever published. It is clearly harder to read than the other two major translations by Murphy and Ford.

I find it hard to believe a publisher would even publish something this poorly copywritten. It has several obvious errors, such as claiming a battle occurred in 1945 when it should have been 1845 and the book was written in 1924 so it is obviously not 1945. You would think the publisher would fix something like this after publishing it since 1943 but it is only one of many errors in this edition which have never been fixed. Many parts are left in German which is never translated and overall the English is simply ghastly. It sounds like someone who spoke English as a second language and their first language was not German tried to translate it. At the end of almost every sentence I scratched me head and asked why in the world anyone would write a sentence like that. It is just terrible so I do not recommend Manheim's translation. There are also no historical notes in the book, just cryptic footnotes that are either in German, or make no real sense. Manheim's book was a waste of time and money. I gave up 100 pages into the book. I almost dismissed it as a bad book thinking Hitler was rambling but then I saw a forum post that compared different versions so I took another look at the different versions of Mein Kampf. Some people have claimed Manheim intentionally wrote this way to make Hitler sound disjointed and rambling...I would not go that far, but I would suggest he was unqualified to translate Mein Kampf.

James Murphy also wrote a translation which is good and much easier to read, however it is also much shorter than the original German editions. I am not sure what was cut but I did not want to read Murphy's abridged version.

I later found the Ford translation(also here on Amazon with the black cover and white drawing of Hitler in profile, so make sure you get that one) and it is much better. It is easier to read and has lots of historical notes which help to put Hitler's words in a historical perspective. If you want to actually understand Hitler's words, get the Ford translation instead.

As for the book itself. I loved it!! I found it very compelling and an interesting perspective of history. I would not suggest anyone read it in isolation though. There are a number of other good books on Hitler and his life and career which you should read too to put everything in perspective. Just make sure you get the Ford version and not the older Manheim version which is unreadable.

This is the one to get
Mein Kampf (The Ford Translation)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


133 of 155 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor edition: lazy, sloppy translation, September 24, 2009
This review is from: Mein Kampf (Paperback)
I'm reviewing this particular edition of Mein Kampf, not the book itself or Hitler's arguments. If you just want to understand what Hitler's philosophy was, this is fine and inexpensive.

HOWEVER, I bought this for research purposes, and have found that the translation is sloppy. Moreover, it is full of typos and I find it difficult to believe it was even proof-read before going to print. For example it has Hitler referring to a battle in "1948", when it is obviously 1848. Another example: "It would be a stake to think that the followers of various political parties...". Surely that should be "mistake", not "stake". Unfortunately this edition is riddled with errors such as this, which is only a reflection of lazy translation and proofing. As a result, I can't be 100% sure that it is accurate, so will have to cross-reference with another edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


129 of 151 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fake edition, January 17, 2012
I have published and will continue to publish this review under any pirated murphy edition I can find.

This edition is a fake. It is not the Official Nazi version but it is clear the publisher is trying to make it sound like it by putting "OFFICIAL" in the title. It is not from any Official Third Reich sources either. That is blatantly false. This is a copy that was downloaded from the internet where it is widely available for free (dont bother downloading, read the rest of my review to find out why it is not worth downloading for free) and then published as a pirate copy. Some random character sticking his own introduction does not make it right and does not make it worth reading. This is a British translation by James Murphy.

The name Murphy attached to it is the first indication to avoid this book. Don't waste your time. This edition is abridged by 20% which means it is 20% shorter than the original German because so much was edited out by Murphy. The Murphy translation is also full of errors. I will not relist those errors here but you can find them in the book Mein Kampf A Translation Controversy which compares various translations.

I think it is terrible that people download this poor quality public domain version(which is available for free from gutenberg australia) and sell it here. My advice is do not buy any Mein Kampf that is a Murphy Translation or any that does not list who the translator is(which will be Murphy but the seller does not want to admit it). The Manheim translation is no better.

I ticks me off to see these people selling a public domain version of Murphy's version so I felt the need to vent here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating historical document, February 3, 2010
I was already familiar with Murphy's translation and then I saw this OFFICIAL translation. I was more than a little curious so I had to get it. I found it fascinating and frequently compared it to my existing Murphy translation. The publisher shows several differences in the introduction but I easily found many differences myself. It was rather fun.

The publisher says in the introduction that this book was created from a newly found copy of an original edition published in VERY small numbers from the NAZI PRINTING OFFICE. They also include photos of the original book. This is clearly a rare treasure because it is the only version officially sanctioned by the NAZI PRINTING OFFICE and printed in Germany. I did not read the entire book because I had already read the Murphy translation but I did go through most of it and it was an enjoyable refresher. It was also very interesting to go through the OFFICIAL version and not a version aimed at British or American markets filled with bias.

The publisher of this edition is also the publisher of the Ford translation which I also have. They are both excellent versions and much better than Manheim's hack job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Edition, August 7, 2009
really gives the reader a perpspective of what Adolf Hitler and Nazism were trying to evolve. When your able to edit previous editions as he did. You can see the difference in the writing from when he was in prison and out of prison. I personally recommend this version only to readers who have read the original "Mein Kampf".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mein Kampf
Mein Kampf by Adolf Hitler (Hardcover - 1937)
Used & New from: $125.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.