Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is NOT the manga
Almost every single review here is about volume one of the manga. This is NOT the manga, but a translated light novel, which means there's no pictures other than a few pages of colored illustrations which I believe is by Noizi Ito (who designed the Haruhi characters, as well as Shana characters), and the manga preview. The light novel is what started it all, so this...
Published on April 14, 2009 by Lumiere

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but inconsistent
I'm not going to waste time divulging the plot of the series because chances are if you're checking this review out then you already know what it's about. The novel starts off with a bang with a lot of laughter and an intriguing premise but there are a bunch of sections that feel repetitive and ruin the flow of the action. Introductions to most of the main cast largely...
Published 15 months ago by Draven


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is NOT the manga, April 14, 2009
By 
Lumiere (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya (Hardcover)
Almost every single review here is about volume one of the manga. This is NOT the manga, but a translated light novel, which means there's no pictures other than a few pages of colored illustrations which I believe is by Noizi Ito (who designed the Haruhi characters, as well as Shana characters), and the manga preview. The light novel is what started it all, so this novel is the reason the anime and manga versions even existed.

Do not base the reviews on all the reviews talking about the manga, because this is not the manga. The quality of this translated light novel is very good, and the hardcover makes it look very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, May 10, 2009
This review is from: The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya (Hardcover)
This light novel has a fascinating style of narration that feeds the action to the reader in a descriptive and comical way. The first-person perspective lends to the narration in a texturally exciting fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally in America!, May 18, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya (Hardcover)
Just to start this off here for people who may be confused: This is NOT a manga. This book is a LIGHT NOVEL. Light novel is a Japanese term used to describe a small novel primarily targeted at teens and young adults. There are FEW PICTURES in this book and it is MOSTLY WORDS. If you are looking for the first volume of the manga of the same name, it can be found here: The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya, Vol. 1

After watching the hit anime series The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya as it was coming out in Japan back in 2006, I proceeded to read fan-translated versions of the Haruhi Suzumiya light novels, which is where the story originally got its start. The story goes far beyond what the anime covers and it's very well-written and entertaining. The series alternates between serious adventure and sidestory hijinks with small mysteries that the SOS Brigade indulges in. For any adolescent anime fan, this is a fun and interesting read, especially with nine more volumes coming down the line.

The first volume on its own, however, may not be quite as appealing to fans of the anime who aren't die-hard Haruhi fans. The anime is pretty closely cut from the original story, so the most extra content fans who have seen the whole anime will find are a few extra thoughts from Kyon (he's the sole narrator of the entire story) and the ever-so-slight variation in detail now and then. The real volume Haruhi anime fans would want to wait for is the forthcoming The Sigh of Haruhi Suzumiya, due out in October of this year. It covers a large event that is yet to be shown in the anime and is a very good read.

Anyway, If you're looking to get this book (especially this collector's hardcover edition with the original Japanese cover), look no further than Amazon; they gave me the best price. This book is usually $14.99 + tax and shipping everywhere else; here it's $10.19 with only shipping! Thanks, Amazon!

EDIT: Since I've written this review, a 'second season' of the anime aired and included all the stuff from The Sigh, haha. If you've seen the full anime series and the movie, the first book with 'new content' you'll want to check out is now The Rampage of Haruhi Suzumiya.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The REAL Haruhi story, September 12, 2012
I'll be honest, I didn't enjoy the manga and I enjoyed the anime even less. I thought the whole Haruhism fad wasn't for me, but I decided to check out the light novels anyway.

The books are sooooo much better than both the manga and anime. This book is a great introduction to the world of Suzumiya and genuinely interesting. I'd recommend you pick up the next book in the series at the same time you order this one, as you'll blast through this book and want more Haruhi immediately.

Also, the books have a fabulous design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haruhi Light Novel, April 12, 2009
By 
Anton D (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya (Hardcover)
This book is a must have for both Haruhi fans and those who have been recently introduced to this wonderful series. It is very well translated and doesn't leave those who are not accustomed to Japanese culture completely confused. Also, the art work and colored pages are extremely beautiful. A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one that started it all., November 29, 2011
This book has quickly become one of my all-time favorites. It's the perfect storm: a zany, thoughtful, laugh-out-loud, joy ride of literature were you have no idea what could happen in the next couple of pages, let alone the next couple of chapters. I have to admit that I haven't had this much fun reading any other book in my life (and I've read hundreds of them).

A quick summary: The story revolves around a young girl named Haruhi Suzumiya who makes it clear that she has no interest in normal people or mainstream ideas. Instead, she seeks out the extraordinary: aliens, time travelers, sliders, and espers -anything involving the paranormal. The story is told through the lens of the surprisingly normal Kyon, who becomes Haruhi's confidant and the first member of her unauthorized after school club which deals in anything out of the ordinary: the SOS Brigade. She quickly recruits three more students to her club: the silent bookworm Yuki Nagato, the meek and charming Mikuru Asahina, and the mysterious transfer student Itsuki Koizumi. Though they seem for the most part normal, Kyon soon learns that there is more to this club and it members than meets the eye, and that the world he lives in may just so happen to literally revolve around Haruhi.

This book is great for both the hardcore reader who may be getting bored of their standard action/thriller/fantasy books, and also for those who dislike the long 300 to 700 page sagas which take a long while to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun read, great quality - especially for the price., January 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you are not a Japophile you may find this novel difficult to understand. Even if you are, in many ways, it's a difficult story to follow.

That said, there's a reason this book started the craze that it did. It is a very fun story with a unique cast of characters that, somehow, manage to feel 'authentic' in their universe. Much of the content is easy to view as intellectually shallow, but a more complete look at the work does reveal it to be quite a bit deeper than one might expect. The Japanese have a fondness for exploring the themes of mortality and existentialism, and Haruhi does a poignant, if amusing, job of that.

My reading was aided by having watched the anime which, on a separate note, is incredibly well done and follows the book essentially to a T. It is important to understand, however, that the book did come first. There's actually a manga based on it as well which I haven't read myself, but I've heard its the weakest part of the franchise.

Japanese to English is never easy and never perfect, but the translator here does a pretty good job. Awkwardness only occasionally seeps into the writing, and doesn't negatively affect the reading overmuch.

All in all, for the three dollars I paid for it (cheapest book I ever bought!) the physical quality of the item and the enjoyment I got out of it were well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for the Fan, March 17, 2010
I picked up this light novel because I enjoyed the series as produced by Kyoto Animation (KyoAni). If you have never read or watched The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya, starting off with either the book or the anime series will leave you equally wanting for the other. After reading the book, you'd want to see the happenings illustrated and after watching the anime series, you'd want to see more into Kyon's mind.

Let me start off by saying that this edition was reproduced in the same format as its Japanese counterpart. Yes, you will get the color inserts and the black-and-white illustrations. There's a preview of its manga adaptation at the end as well. The effort that Little, Brown put into reproducing it much like the original publication is a plus for me.

The translation was well done, I must say. However, I found some grammar errors but you'd have to be really look for it to find it. It may be purely purposely done since the narrator is a 15-year old boy after all. You may also find yourself reading ridiculously long sentences. Other than that, the translation is fairly easy to follow.

Haruhi Suzumiya is a pretty Japanese high school girl stuck in some city in Japan. Hating the normalcy of her life, she searches for the fun to remedy this. And what could be more 'not normal' than looking for aliens, time travelers and espers, and having fun with them? This is Haruhi Suzumiya's definition of fun. Unsatisfied with the normal clubs of her high school, she decides to drag the sarcastic Kyon, stoic Yuki, sweet Mikuru and suave Itsuki into the literary club's room and create the SOS Brigade. Naturally, their club's activities would be "to find aliens, time travelers and espers, and have fun with them!" However, the rest of her club members have a hidden agenda: to keep Haruhi happy. Since apparently the fate of the universe is in her hands. That's the basic story of this series. Kyon, the narrator, would story-tell their daily 'adventures' in a memorable way. You get almost twice his sarcasm from the anime series which makes the read so much more fun. It has even elicited a few laughs from myself.

The light novel seems to convey much more of Kyon's thought process and his personal views on the matter than anything else, since the anime series has faithfully followed the light novel. But I assure you, it is worth every cent and the time to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Culture Shock Impending., December 23, 2011
Attention American Rearers: You WILL experience culture shock while reading this novel. If you are unfamiliar with the inner-workings of Japanese private schools, the way sexuality is portrayed in their books and films, or have never read an imported comic book, you're going to have to keep an open mind when reading The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. But, if you're willing to try something different, this novel is a real treat. One boy's mundane existence is thrown upside down when he starts high school in the same class as Haruhi, a girl rumored to be a little strange, and who tells the class she'd like to meet people interested in aliens, espers, and time-travellers. Because she demands it, they start a club, the S.O.S. brigade, and soon are off on fruitless - if exhausting - adventures in town. But what Haruhi and her cohorts don't know is that our universe's very existence is in her hands. And it may be in danger. Tanigawa's novel is the beginning of a promising series - come find out why Japan already loves the S.O.S. brigade so dearly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast and entertaining, but nothing new if you've seen the anime..., April 30, 2009
This review is from: The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya (Hardcover)
The original novel version of The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya is a fast-paced, entertaining read. The translation is very well done, and reads smooth and naturally.

Without delving too deeply into the plot, the story is told from the point of view of Kyon, a freshman boy entering high school. He meets an odd girl, Haruhi Suzumiya, who isn't interested in "normal" humans. Soon, he's drawn into her web of weird pursuits... against his will. But he soon discovers that his rational view of the world may not be as accurate as he once believed; and the cause of this abnormality may be closer than he thinks.

The anime adaptation of this book sticks extremely close to the original text. In fact, most of the dialogue, both inner monologue and spoken, is taken word for word from the book! If you've seen the anime, it is unlikely that you will learn anything new. There are a few new lines of dialogue here and there, but otherwise, its kind of like reading the script to the show. This book covers the first six chronological episodes of the anime.

Personally, I actually prefer the anime a little bit. The illustrations in the book are weak compared to the show, and seeing the scenes play out in motion is bit more satisfying. That said, the book is enjoyable, and if you prefer reading to watching, or are just curious to see Haruhi's story in its original format, then I do recommend it. Here's hoping the rest of series is released soon!

On side note, the hardcover edition is light, sturdy, and attractive. Perfect for a collector, and I'm glad I chose it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya
The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya by Nagaru Tanigawa (Hardcover - April 1, 2009)
$24.00 $16.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.