Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Blake Shelton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer bighero bighero bighero  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 6, 2015
Looking forward to the sequel: Melanie's Mum's Marvelous Munchausen by Proxy.
55 comments|439 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
I'm looking forward to the follow up books. Peter's Perfect Polio, Samantha's Super Smallpox and Carrie's Crazy Cholera!
Seriously though, World Health Organisation estimates world wide measles deaths in year 2000 to be 709 thousand falling to (a still massive) 164 thousand largely as a result of vaccination efforts. There is nothing marvellous about measles. Nothing.
11 comment|664 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2015
This is brilliant! It's pure inspiration! It's living proof that people who are too stupid to eat their breakfast cereal without poking their eye out with the spoon, can actually get a book published!
55 comments|618 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2015
If one were to write a children's book titled Stephanie's Stupendous Suicide Attempt, I doubt very much that any sensible company would allow its distribution to the public. This filth is equally as destructive as it fuels a nonsense agenda and a movement led by people incapable of rational thought.
Measles isn't marvelous Ms. Messenger, neither is Polio, Small Pox, Rubella or any other possibly FATAL disease that vaccines helped eradicate. There are people dying right now, no scratch that, PEOPLE'S CHILDREN ARE DYING of preventable and previously nearly eradicated diseases right now because of people like YOU. You had no right to try and distribute your moronic ideas to children and quite frankly, you should be ashamed of yourself.
0Comment|90 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2015
I bought the $3 Kindle version of this atrocity just so I could quote some of the kookier passages. Believe me, the book is even worse than you might expect. Here are some short excerpts:

"For most children it is a good thing to get measles," Tina's mother reassured her. "Many wise people believe measles make the body stronger and more mature for the future," she concluded. [This is accompanied by a drawing of a vibrant post-measles Tina flexing her biceps.]

"Can we go and visit Melanie so I can catch her measles?" Tina asked. "That sounds like a great idea," laughed Tina's mother. [And off they go to visit happy, happy Melanie.]

"I read that if your body has plenty of vitamin A, you won't get measles." [More wisdom from Tina's omniscient mother.]

"Jared did get the measles. Tina was not surprised really as she knew he ate so many sweets and chips every day." [Tina's mother has uncovered the secret that's been hidden so long by Big Pharma: measles is *really* caused by sugar and carbs. I wonder if Tina's mom recommends a good session with all-natural leeches to help drain out those poisons.]

The best thing about this book is the number of people who are laughing at it. With good reason.
11 comment|110 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2012
Want proof some people are just begging for a Darwin Award?

Or willing to kill children through their google educated ignorance?

Then read this book!

In my hospital I have recently seen 3 young people, all from a non vaccinating family (no surprise there) all come into the emergency department VERY sick with complications from measles.

Don't be a fool and don't harm your children. Vaccinate them to protect them from the 'Melanies' of this world.

The Panic Virus: A True Story of Medicine, Science, and Fear
66 comments|574 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2015
I have seldom seen anything so patently self-indulgent, utterly and willfully ignorant, and just plain wrong in quite a while. You glorify a disease with potentially deadly complications. Getting the measles is NOT unicorns and rainbows, and it certainly is not marvelous. It takes a self-indulgent, selfish, ignorant sadist to paint measles in this kind of light.

What utter garbage.
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2015
My one star can become five when the book is released in braille. Having been blinded by this marvelous disease as a child I cannot enjoy the print version. Besides missing out on books in print and other visual wonders, being blind has been really pretty cool. Most people are nice and help me get through the day. I’m now inspired to write my own children’s book encouraging kids to damage their eyesight; “Bats Know Where it’s AT.” Can someone help me find a publisher?
11 comment|132 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2015
How utterly disgraceful that your title is a play on "George's Marvelous Medicine". Roald Dahl would be rolling in his grave. You think he'd support your cause? NO. His 7-year-old daughter was one of the many children that DIED from Measles.

You think eating natural will save you? No. It won't. How about actually studying viruses and getting an appreciation for how much they DO NOT CARE about what you've done to strengthen your immune system. They know their way around it anyway.

...I wish so hard you weren't Australian. I don't want to share a nationality with you.
11 comment|131 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2013
Stephanie Messenger must have thought it very clever of herself to mimic the title of Roald Dahl's book, "George's Marvellous Medicine." Instead of congratulating herself on her cleverness she should have read what Roald Dahl said about vaccinations:-

"Here in Britain, because so many parents refuse, either out of obstinacy or ignorance or fear, to allow their children to be immunised, we still have a hundred thousand cases of measles every year. Out of those, more than 10,000 will suffer side effects of one kind or another. At least 10,000 will develop ear or chest infections. About 20 will die. LET THAT SINK IN. Every year around 20 children will die in Britain from measles. So what about the risks that your children will run from being immunised? They are almost non-existent. Listen to this. In a district of around 300,000 people, there will be only one child every 250 years who will develop serious side effects from measles immunisation! That is about a million to one chance. I should think there would be more chance of your child choking to death on a chocolate bar than of becoming seriously ill from a measles immunisation. So what on earth are you worrying about? It really is almost a crime to allow your child to go unimmunised. The ideal time to have it done is at 13 months, but it is never too late. All school-children who have not yet had a measles immunisation should beg their parents to arrange for them to have one as soon as possible. Incidentally, I dedicated two of my books to Olivia, the first was James and the Giant Peach'. That was when she was still alive. The second was 'The BFG', dedicated to her memory after she had died from measles. You will see her name at the beginning of each of these books. And I know how happy she would be if only she could know that her death had helped to save a good deal of illness and death among other children."

Yes Stephanie: Roald Dahl's daughter DIED aged seven from the measles, she sadly didn't "recover naturally". Unfortunately, many, many other children have died as well. You need to educate yourself properly and stop spreading dangerous nonsense and lies about diseases and vaccines.
44 comments|299 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse