Customer Reviews


190 Reviews
5 star:
 (138)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good beginner puzzle, could be improved.
I posted this review on my blog: ([...])

A hint for anyone who buys these wooden puzzles. For reasons I do NOT understand, the puzzle does not have a picture in the wooden tray. I would think that since this is a beginner puzzle it should have a picture. A removable laminated one would be perfect giving the puzzle a longer life so that the picture could be...
Published on April 4, 2011 by Amanda Dittlinger

versus
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not recommanded
After reading the other review I baught this puzzle for my son. I have had this puzzle for about a week now, and prob. going to have to toss it. As if with the tightness mentioned in the other review isnt already frustrationg enough, The puzzle pieces are made with layerd wood and taking the puzzle apart made the peices crack&chip and now have little wood peices all over...
Published on March 17, 2008 by Sarah F. Ryan


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivid colors; tight fit only lasts a few times, January 4, 2012
By 
Petra (Washington, D.C.) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Playful Pets Jigsaw (12 pc) (Toy)
This puzzle has lovely graphics and a sturdy construction. As others have mentioned, the pieces are tight and difficult to maneuver right out of the box, because they are all wood and cut from one piece. After about three uses, however, they are now smooth and fit together well. I have not had a problem with splinters, but if you are too rough when you first break apart the pieces, I could see how splinters might develop.

My 21-month old daughter loves this puzzle, and had no trouble putting it together without a visual "guide." The colors of each area are very distinguishable, so it's pretty easy to determine where each piece connects. We are happy customers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Substandard Product, August 20, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Playful Pets Jigsaw (12 pc) (Toy)
Here is the timeline of this product:
After first two plays, little wood pieces started chipping off;
In about two weeks, the pictures started peeling off;
In about one month, layered wood started falling apart.

Will I still buy puzzle from this company? Maybe, no one else selling small puzzle set for toddlers. What choice do I have? But I do pray to God that somebody will be making a better product soon and drive Melissa & Doug out of business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality for the money, March 24, 2011
By 
Andrew (Batesville, AR USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Playful Pets Jigsaw (12 pc) (Toy)
For the cost, this puzzle is not well made. The pieces were locked together so firmly that the puzzle was very difficult to get apart. The edges had visible splinters, and over the course of a few days, the tray warped to the point that it doesn't sit flat on a table. The edges of the image on the pieces began to fray immediately as the puzzle was taken apart. To make the puzzle usable, I had to spend 15 minutes sanding the interlocking edges, placing a slight bevel on the bottom of each piece. I then rubbed a white crayon on each edge surface. This made the puzzle easy to work for my 2 year old grand daughter. On the plus side, the image is bright and colorful, and the puzzle is simple enough for a toddler to work. Considering that the puzzle is made in China and probably cost next to nothing to produce, they could have spent a few minutes finishing the edges of the pieces and lacquering the image so that it is more durable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleased and Delighted, January 21, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Playful Pets Jigsaw (12 pc) (Toy)
This is a marvelous puzzle for a toddler. I was amazed at the sturdiness of the puzzle pieces when it arrived. The pieces can withstand a lot of handling. The size of each piece makes it very easy for a toddler to find. The colors and artistry is eye-catching. This is a quality item and I would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Piece, January 16, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Playful Pets Jigsaw (12 pc) (Toy)
This puzzle made the little angel in my life squeal with delight! She was so excited! I was pleased with the quality and attractiveness of the puzzle. It is so cute!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Puzzle, August 29, 2008
By 
Kindle Customer "amyH" (Edwardsville, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Playful Pets Jigsaw (12 pc) (Toy)
This is a great wooden puzzle for a small child. My daughter is three and can complete by herself. Good sturdy pieces and a cute design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great puzzle, wish it had a picture template on the bottom, January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Playful Pets Jigsaw (12 pc) (Toy)
I love the Melissa and Doug puzzles for helping to build motor skills. They're good quality, sturdy wood that last much longer than cheaper cardboard versions. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is that I wish the puzzle picture was on the wooden base to make it easier for beginner puzzle-doers to start learning how to piece the picture together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love these puzzles!, November 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Playful Pets Jigsaw (12 pc) (Toy)
I have bought my 3 year old granddaughter several of these puzzles. The Melissa & Doug puzzles are very well made. My granddaughter plays with them over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melissa and Doug Playful Pets Jigsaw puzzle 12 pieces, November 3, 2012
By 
Ann Aurelio (Long Island, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Playful Pets Jigsaw (12 pc) (Toy)
Puzzle is big and colorful and interesting to look at. Purchased it for when my 2 year old grandson comes to visit. He loves it! I already purchased another puzzle with a different pic. he loved this so much. I recommend purchasing these puzzles they are fun for little hands and sturdy too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great puzzle!!, November 30, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Playful Pets Jigsaw (12 pc) (Toy)
I bought this for my 21 months old daughter. It is a great toy, she loves it! The parts are very durable, quality of the puzzle is very good! She doesn't seem to get tired of playing with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Melissa & Doug Playful Pets Jigsaw (12 pc)
$7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.