Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychedelic Sweet Dreams
Every once in a while an album comes along that floors me. Out of left field this nugget of music beauty appears and takes over my ears for weeks. Painting pictures of hazy days and melancholy nights. Walking that fine line between psychedelic and sober. Existential and down to earth. That album as of late is Melody's Echo Chamber. A mix of Blonde Redhead's melancholy...
Published 21 months ago by J. Hubner

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I want to like this more
This album should be squarely in my wheelhouse - neo-psychedelic pop from a sweet-voiced French singer. I like it and would tend towards giving it 3 1/2 stars. What it seems to need is slightly better, more engaging songs. The sounds are nice, and the album provides atmosphere; however, I have a hard time with repeat listens without songs that grab me.
Published 19 months ago by JD


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychedelic Sweet Dreams, October 30, 2012
This review is from: Melody's Echo Chamber (Audio CD)
Every once in a while an album comes along that floors me. Out of left field this nugget of music beauty appears and takes over my ears for weeks. Painting pictures of hazy days and melancholy nights. Walking that fine line between psychedelic and sober. Existential and down to earth. That album as of late is Melody's Echo Chamber. A mix of Blonde Redhead's melancholy breeze, Tame Impala's psychedelic haze and late eighties shoegaze courtesy of Lush. It's dreamy, sleepy, drugged-out and at times quite melancholy and beautiful.

Melody's Echo Chamber's namesake, singer and musician Melody Prochet is definitely living in the past, and we're the better for it. A mix of 60s french pop, 70s psychedelic and 80s alternative, her debut album is an aural fix like you've never heard. Or at least haven't heard it in some time. On opening track `I Follow You' she swoons like a lovelorn Kazu Makino(as if she wasn't lovelorn already) over a melancholy guitar line before the chorus comes in filled out with wavering, strummed electric guitar. Imagine Tame Impala and Blonde Redhead collaborating together and that should give you a pretty good idea of where Prochet is at on this excellent debut. `Crystallized' continues the acid-battered sound of Tame Impala even more. So much so that when you check the liner notes and see that Tame Impala's main guy Kevin Parker produced and played on this album you aren't surprised at all. Melody Prochet's quiet, sleepy vocals are a perfect match for Parker's technicolor-meets-bong water-stained production values. Any other combination of musician and producer and this wouldn't be Melody's Echo Chamber.

I'm all about nostalgia and wading in the waters of the past. This record is a head first dive into analog synths, lovelorn melodies and slightly danceable beats firmly planted in Serge Gainsbourg's subconscious and the expatriot-strewn streets of early 60s Paris. `Bisou Magique' is a beautiful track sung in french that brings to mind Kevin Parker's quieter moments with Tame Impala. Melody Prochet's voice carries this song to a whispered, lilting finish. `Endless Shore', once again borrowing from Parker's main gig for inspiration, sounds as if Lush's Miki Berenyi stopped in for the Innerspeaker sessions. `Mount Hopeless' floats along on a synth line and slowed-down, lo fi-sounding break beat as Melody Prochet sings to noone in particular. The beautiful, Portishead-sounding `Snowcapped Andes Crash' floats along till the final track, 'Be Proud Of Your Kids', complete with cute little french kid talking over the track, ends the album on a strange note.

Of all the new albums that have come out this year, Melody's Echo Chamber has caught my attention more than any of them. It's a strange, psychedelic and beautiful head trip. Melody Prochet has a great voice without making her voice the main attraction. Like any good musician, she uses her voice as just another instrument. She serves the song. In Kevin Parker she's found the perfect studio partner. Together they've created one of this year's best albums, and the best debut by a mile.

Step into Melody's Echo Chamber and get lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pass The Mushrooms & Hand Me My Headphones!, December 2, 2012
By 
Smrz "smrz" (Massachusetts,USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Melody's Echo Chamber (Audio CD)
Melody Prochet is a classically trained Parisian who has taken her classical training into mind-bending new musical directions. Melody's Echo Chamber is a very appropriate name for her impressive debut release. Her psychedelic, reverb-drenched songs create a sound that display influences that range from early Syd Barret-influenced Pink Floyd to the shoe-gazing 90's movement that included bands such as My Bloody Valentine, Galaxie 500, Ride, Lush, & Curve. Melody uses her voice as an instrument to create a trance-inducing, trippy effect. Therefore it is no surprise to note that the release was produced by Tame Impala's Kevin Parker who also plays all instuments along with Melody. The influences by Mr. Parker are evident here although Melody is responsible for creating her own sound with her excellent voice. The release was also recorded in Perth, which points to even more influence by Tame Impala, who mainly record in Australia. Other influences also flow in & out such as 60's French Pop & Lysergic Dream Pop, as well as electronica, although the overall dreamy, narcotic sound of the LP sounds surrounded by full Analog-drenched beauty. Although Melody is influenced by Tame Impala, the overall sound is fully realized by Ms. Prochet. The whole LP flows very well & clocks in at about 45 minutes. Highlights include "Crystallized", "Bisou Magique", "Endless Shore", & "Snowcapped Andes Crash". All in all, an excellent debut by Melody. While listening to this recording, one would be wise to follow the words of Mr. John Lennon to "Turn Off Your Mind-Relax and Float Downstream". HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! SMRZ!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I want to like this more, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Melody's Echo Chamber (Audio CD)
This album should be squarely in my wheelhouse - neo-psychedelic pop from a sweet-voiced French singer. I like it and would tend towards giving it 3 1/2 stars. What it seems to need is slightly better, more engaging songs. The sounds are nice, and the album provides atmosphere; however, I have a hard time with repeat listens without songs that grab me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album I have bought this summer, July 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Melody's Echo Chamber (Audio CD)
I have been buying a lot more music lately, and this album is the best from many different perspectives. Check it out if you are on the fence. The song writing is very strong on most every track, the album has great flow and creates a unique aesthetic. Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Melody's Echo Chamber (Audio CD)
An avalanche of melody that puts you in a happy mood without being simple or empty. And it's a complete album from start to finish, no songs that were mailed in or don't fit, although to be honest the kid's voice on the last song is a bit annoying and seems like it was meant as an aside so I usually stop it a bit short. But that's literally the only complaint I have with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hypnotic and Soothing, April 22, 2013
This review is from: Melody's Echo Chamber (MP3 Music)
This is a great album to listen to if you want to escape for a little while and calm your anxieties. Melody's Echo Chamber has some elements of the band Tame Impala but Melody definitely has a style of her own, so it's a lot more than just the female version of Tame Impala as some have said.

The only reason why I give this album 4 instead of 5 stars is because I really dislike the songs "Isthatwhatyousaid" and "Be Proud of your Kids". I feel like these two songs don't belong on this album. They don't have the same hypnotic and soothing vibe that all the other songs have. But that's just my personal opinion i'm sure many people love those two songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reminds me of Broadcast, February 22, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Melody's Echo Chamber (Audio CD)
A refreshing find -- thanks to Amazon recommending it to me -- as Melody's Echo Chamber strikes me as a spiritual successor to Broadcast. Since we sadly won't be getting any more Broadcast albums, I'm happy that there are still music makers out there bringing dreamy, shoegaze music with a pop sensibility but a rock heritage. Excellent drumming, great composition in general, judicious use of noise and synths.

I think the first half of the album is stronger than the last, but in this case that means that the back half of the album is mostly just "OK." Hardly bad, and still enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, December 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Melody's Echo Chamber (MP3 Music)
Probably one of the best albums ever. Anything Kevin Parker touches turns to gold. Get Lonerism while you're at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Melancholia...big time., November 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Melody's Echo Chamber (Audio CD)
I bought this cd on the strength of the song Some Time Alone. Although the rest of the material doesn't measure up to that particular tune it's not a bad album. It's kind of like rainy-Sunday-morning-cup-of-coffee -with-some-Bailey's-in-it-while-you-think-of-old-girlfriends music. Does that make any sense ? I didn't think so. Very melancholy and delicate while still sounding a bit threatening. I do love her voice. Maybe go a little easier on the "echo" next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars melodys echo chamber, November 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Melody's Echo Chamber (MP3 Music)
fantastic - vibey vocals and lus instruments with tons of reverb and spookiness not unlike retro vocals of cults, sleigh bells
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Melody's Echo Chamber
Melody's Echo Chamber by Melody's Echo Chamber (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.