Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising
I really enjoyed this story and was sorry when it was over. I found the characters interesting and the outcome surprising. I often find myself guessing the ending of books, but was completely surprised by this one!
Published 14 months ago by S. Carr-Smith

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short story, good but not great
First let me say that I love Jennifer Weiner and think her writing has improved with each book. But this one reads like an outline for a story instead of a full-fledged short story. The characters are thin and the plot is even thinner. It certainly isn't a "haunting" story as it says in the description.

This very much seemed to be like something a publisher put...
Published 21 months ago by Isadore Ann


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short story, good but not great, November 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Memoir of Grief [Continued] (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
First let me say that I love Jennifer Weiner and think her writing has improved with each book. But this one reads like an outline for a story instead of a full-fledged short story. The characters are thin and the plot is even thinner. It certainly isn't a "haunting" story as it says in the description.

This very much seemed to be like something a publisher put out to keep interest in Jennifer Weiner between books. Because of the lack of detail in the story, the price, and the lack of thought in putting this together, I was disappointed. I think a much better example of a short story like this is perhaps Lawrence Block's Ehrengraf's books The Ehrengraf Defense (Ehrengraf for the Defense) which is complete as short story. There is an art to the short story and it isn't just something that wasn't long or complete enough to make up a whole book.

If you can get this cheap enough, it's an okay read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars singles, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Memoir of Grief [Continued] (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Hate starting a book and having it just end before it begins. Won't buy anymore of these kinds of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars just terrible, May 30, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Memoir of Grief [Continued] (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This book begins with the death of Gerald, the husband of Ellie, the protagonist. Ellie, who has no writing experience, has no intention of writing a memoir of her marriage to Gerald until she realizes how completely broke he left her. She decides to write a memoir of her life with the great writer and how it was far from the fairy-tale marriage she thought it would be when she married him. Her husband was a completely reprehensible man who seduced her and spun her a web of lies in order to get her to be with him. She suffered a difficult life with him, being the fetcher of coffee and the women that waited on and for him while he did what he pleased, continuing to have affairs with other women and just expecting Ellie to bite her tongue and keep a stiff upper lip, which she did.
I did not enjoy this story at all, which was kindof disappointing since I usually really enjoy Jennifer Weiner's writing. It was not written well and felt very under-developed. Not to mention, it was extremely depressing with no redeemable qualities. There weren't even any characters for the reader to relate to or like. I felt this story was definitely a flop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting to some, June 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Memoir of Grief [Continued] (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This book was not what I expected on the subject of grief. Tne woman seemed like she was noot living her own life but her husbands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars short, but true to herself, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Memoir of Grief [Continued] (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I could have read more of this if it were turned into a full length book. I enjoyed what I had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, December 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Memoir of Grief [Continued] (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
this book was disappointing and not worth it. i wouldn't recommend purchasing it to anyone. There was next to no plot and this book did not live up to jennifer weiner's usual work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not what I expected, August 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Memoir of Grief [Continued] (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Definitely not how I felt. Actually was left hanging, like that's it? Author has no clear idea of what it is to experience grief
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A little Haunting - great read for Halloween, August 4, 2013
This review is from: A Memoir of Grief [Continued] (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Another mystery quirky e-short story from Jennifer about Gerald's death and Ellie who has not written in forever and then after her husband's death she decides to write a memoir--(she lived a miserable life with this man). Pay back is heck...Lots of twists and turns --a little on the dark side and a little haunting. (great for Halloween).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising, June 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Memoir of Grief [Continued] (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this story and was sorry when it was over. I found the characters interesting and the outcome surprising. I often find myself guessing the ending of books, but was completely surprised by this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love love love, March 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Memoir of Grief [Continued] (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent short story!! Weiner is an amazing author! Can't wait to read more of her short stories. I've always loved her books but the short stories are just as amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.