Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXTRAORDINARY PLAY, GREAT MUSICAL!!!
I saw this play on broadway not too long ago and was blown away by the acting and mainly the musical scores. There is a little bit of something for all in here, comedy; drama; sounds and sights. They were selling this DVD for $30.00 at the door so this is a steal! Next best thing to being there but if you get the chance go see the actual play.
Published on January 19, 2012 by JAZZY62

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars review
I thought it was the movie and it is just a video of the actual performance. Not as exciting. I did see the performance locally at Rochester Broadway theater league and I loved it, but this was an older performance and not very exciting-
can I return it?-
Published 18 months ago by Doreen Swan


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXTRAORDINARY PLAY, GREAT MUSICAL!!!, January 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Memphis: The Original Broadway Production (DVD)
I saw this play on broadway not too long ago and was blown away by the acting and mainly the musical scores. There is a little bit of something for all in here, comedy; drama; sounds and sights. They were selling this DVD for $30.00 at the door so this is a steal! Next best thing to being there but if you get the chance go see the actual play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just wonderful, January 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Memphis: The Original Broadway Production (DVD)
Did not see the Broadway production and was unfamiliar with the music....We loved it and highly recommend for viewing....the photography is at it's best and we had front row seats, no traffic or parking problems..wish there were more like this.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good music, May 1, 2014
By 
Melanie Parker (Largo, Md United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Memphis: The Original Broadway Production (DVD)
For my daughter who is very into musicals...she loved it! I would go see the production if it was around here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Explosion of Passion and Music Really Is `Memphis'!, August 5, 2012
This review is from: Memphis: The Original Broadway Production (DVD)
Theatre Review #43: " Memphis "

By Lorenzo M.

Yes, I understand why this production received the "2010 Best Musical of the Year Tony Award' - it was energetic, it was upbeat, it was passionate, it was colorful and it was fun! This current production at the Pantages Theatre in Hollywood of Memphis - contains some of the most amazing vo
cal talent I have ever seen on a live stage.

Director Christopher Ashley (Director of the Broadway revival of The Rocky Horror Picture Show and the first Broadways run of Xanadu) along with writers David Bryan (music and lyrics) and Joe DiPietro (lyrics and book) made a toe-tapping, hand-slapping, energetic musical based loosely on a real Memphis disc jockey Dewey Phillips who is one of the first white DJ's to play black music in the 1950's.

First I want to say - still not completely gone even today - racial discrimination was mean, sometimes brutal and often slow to change. This play makes a real issue very clear that there is always an upside to accepting people for who they are and what they believe in. Including love itself - and which love knows no boundaries, no limits and especially knows no skin color of any race.

The talent abounds in this entire production and let me start with Bryan Fenkart, playing Huey - the man who changed the `sound' of radio by introducing the white community to the `Soul' of Rhythm and Blues (and the heart of Rock'N'Roll!)! His spot-on southern accent, superb timing and acting chops and especially his vocal talents spark a musical explosion of emotions toward his love for a black woman and the music that moves his very own soul. He amazingly delivers the hysterically written song "Hello, My Name Is Huey"- and sets the tone of his whole mission. But, his most amazing solo number is "Memphis Lives In Me" - a heart-wrenching cry of his inner soul.

His girlfriend Felicia, played by the beautiful Felecia Boswell, is sassy, smart and full of passion with her desire to move up and out of the slums of Memphis and pursue a musical career. Ms. Boswell performance is amazingly sharp and ever-present with passion - however her vocal talents will amaze you. She can sing with power and range and duration that I have not seen on stage live in a long time. She shines with her song "Colored Woman".

Bryan and Felecia, when singing together, have amazing vocal harmony and timing with their combined musical numbers like "Ain't Nothing But A Kiss", "Make Me Stronger" and "Love Will Stand". They made the audience roar with applause.

Another standout and show-stopping performance came from Huey's `Mama' - played by the amazingly talented and vocally stunning actress/singer Julie Johnson. She literally stops the show to a thunderous applause with her musical number "Change Don't Come Easy". Not only can she sing, harmonize and scat like no one I've ever heard before, but she has comic timing and strong witty deliveries that make you cheer for her character throughout the production.

All of the supporting cast had amazing vocal talents, from the deep vocal styling's of Quentin Earl Darrington playing Felicia's brother to the large Janitor with the amazing song and dance moves played by the talented Will Mann - to the amazingly charming and funny station manager Mr. Simmons played hysterically by William Perry.

The rest of the ensemble keeps the energy high with their vocal talents and energetic dance moves which were designed by the choreographer Sergio Trujillo who created some of the most entertaining and original steps for this time-sensitive play.

Some of the most amazing numbers include, "Underground", "The Music of My Soul", "Radio", "Stand Up", "Tear Down The House' and the showing stopping finale of "Steal Your Rock'N'Roll".

A special note to the Scenic Design by David Gallo and Lighting Design of Howell Binkly who created a set and look that was not only candy for the eye but simplistic and yet functional to make us believe in this story and characters. It included live video feeds, color set pieces and a stage that moved in and out to create locations - musically - in seconds. Special note as well to the time-accurate details and colorful costuming done by Paul Tazewell too!

This musical is MUST-SEE. Nominated for nine Tony Awards and winner of four - including Best Musical, Best Book, Best Orchestration and Best Score - this is a really great show, with an extremely talented cast and musicians. It's worth the price of the ticket to see the performances of Bryan, Felicia and especially Julie and it's exactly a production like this that reminds me why I really love Musicals so much! Go see it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memphis the Musical Dvd, January 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Memphis: The Original Broadway Production (DVD)
Simply Wonderful! I have never been to a broadway show, but this is as close as I've came to one. I would absoutely recommend this dvd for anyone who wants to see Memphis. I can't wait to see it in person!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, June 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Memphis: The Original Broadway Production (DVD)
I watched this yesterday and was so moved by both the story and the music. Wish I could have seen it in person on Broadway but this is the next best choice if you did not see live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, June 12, 2014
By 
Barbara Salyers (Fort Collins,Colorado, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Memphis: The Original Broadway Production (DVD)
This is one of the best musicals I've seen. I grew up in that era and it portrays it very well. Voices were outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memphis: The Original Broadway Production, April 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Memphis: The Original Broadway Production (DVD)
I saw the touring company of Memphis and had doubts that I would like it, but I loved it and that is why I bought the DVD. I watched it last night and enjoyed it as much as I did the touring company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Memphis: The Original Broadway Production (DVD)
A great story with music to match. Will keep coming back to watch it time and again. Chad Kimball is everything needed for the part of Huey Calhoun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memphis - Most outstanding Broadway play of the decade, November 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Memphis: The Original Broadway Production (DVD)
I saw the play on Broadway and was thoroughly entertained. Memphis was one of the best Broadway shows of the decade. The characters leaped off the stage and the music was thrilling. Would recommend this play to most any audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Memphis: The Original Broadway Production
Memphis: The Original Broadway Production by Don Roy King (DVD - 2012)
$17.98 $15.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.