Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Men's Health Best: Weight-Free Workout
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 6, 2007
I bought this at the end of January and began doing routines immediately. The two bodyweight circuit routines (every other day, in the afternoons), the abs routine (each morning), and the "isoexplosive" routine (on off days, in the afternoons) work very well together.

Since the end of January, I've lost 25 lbs and went from doing five of most exercises to doing twenty, with most push-up variations with my feet elevated to lift more of my own weight. I've also thrown in some pull-ups by tossing a towel over a sturdy door, and pistol squats. The few diet tips -- eat protein right after working out, essentially -- are also handy. My strength and stamina have increased, I look better, and had to buy new clothing for the summer as the old stuff was just falling off me.

This won't turn you into the fellow on the cover, of course, but if you're like me and just won't go to the gym (too far away, too expensive), all you need is a patch of floor and you're good to go, and least if you've not exercised much before, or have had an injury (as I did).

I also recommend buying a jump rope and getting in some cardio that way.
0Comment| 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2007
This little book packs a lot of value into a few pages. What I like best about this book is it cuts out the fluff. It is brief and to the point on it's coverage of general nutrition and bodyweight training aspects. Most importantly, it contains a variety of workouts ranging from; full body circuits, back care, balance and abdominal routines. Selections are short, sweet and well organized.

Highlights:
- Two, 22 minute full body, bodyweight circuits (great for those days when you want to focus on active recovery and give your body a rest from your regular heavy lifting)
- One, 15 minute high intensity workout (Good for when you are crunched on time)
- A Valuable 7 minute "save your back routine" (Doing this will relieve the pain in your back, after a day of sitting at your desk.)
- Good verity of well illustrated stretches
- Solid, basic selection of well illustrated bodyweight exercises

The total content of this book is under a 100 pages, but it manages to provide great photos and a good verity of workouts. This book is a great little handbook for those who are looking to venture down the path of bodyweight exercises. Another plus is this book is small enough to take with you as a reminder to squeeze in a workout.
11 comment| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2006
Includes complete routines for a thorough, total body workout using a wide variety of clearly illustrated bodyweight exercises. Practical guide for those interested in developing functional strength and improving their bodyweight to strength fitness ratio. Includes high quality photos and text typical of all Men's Health publications.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2010
This appeared to be a bunch of magazine articles cut and paste into a short book. There was no reasoning, progression, or consistency to their plan. It did contain a variety of exercises though but no plan. I think You Are Your Own Gym: The Bible of Bodyweight Exercises for Men and Women is a much better alternative.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2009
I bought this for my brother. He has been using the book for almost 3 weeks now. He is so happy and excited with this book and the guidance it provides. I can hear his confidence coming back from the way he sounds when we talk on the phone. I bought this so he would not have any excuses to exercise during the week. Seems to be working!

Okay, I hadn't seen my brother since he began using this book until a week ago. I am so proud of him. He lost 10 lbs and dropped from a 4x to a 2x. He gives this book all of the credit!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2011
"Men's Health Best: Weight Free Workout" is a little handbook of exercises for the beginner. It covers stretches, the back, abs, legs, and the upper body (do you like pushups?). There are plenty of photos, illustrating the exercises and there are a few workout plans.

At 96 pages, please note that this very thin book is a quick read, with basic and concise information for those just starting out. This is not a book for the intermediate or advanced.

~~~

Recommendations:

For a larger and more comprehensive weight-free book, try "You Are Your Own Gym: The Bible of Bodyweight Exercises" by Mark Lauren and Joshua Clark. This book is excellent.

If you want short workouts, try "The Men's Health Big Book of 15-Minute Workouts: A Leaner, Stronger Body--in 15 Minutes a Day!" by Selene Yeager. This contains a few weight-free workouts and a few dumbbell workouts. Many of the other workouts use other tools or equipment.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2009
When i received this book i was relatively new to working out. I appreciated that the book relied on calisthenics. In order to build a good foundation to working out one must be versed in how the body moves and why. The exercises listed in the book allowed me to become more familiar with my bodies movements while gaining strength and muscle. I would definitely recommend this book for a beginner who wants an alternative to a weighted workout.

Since reading this book and following its instructions i have moved on to weighted workouts, but the knowledge and the strength base i developed has helped immensely.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2009
Book is concise, easy to pack along on a trip. Organization is a little quirky, but there are a few good weight-free workouts, and lots of individual exercises you can mix and match. Nice reference for working out on the road without facilities. Definitely work the price.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2013
For body weights, it gave plenty of variations for familiar exercises. As a military man it didn't teach me anything new. As someone not familiar with body weight workouts so much I'd probably have gotten a lot of use out of it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2011
Very good book for basic simple fitness without needing any equipment. Even very good book for those living by the sea. Lot of beech exercises. All the exercises also target the very common problem areas like belly fat, knees' strength,glutes,breathing,etc. For a time-short person,this book could be 'The Holy Gospel'
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse