Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It works
I bought this at the end of January and began doing routines immediately. The two bodyweight circuit routines (every other day, in the afternoons), the abs routine (each morning), and the "isoexplosive" routine (on off days, in the afternoons) work very well together.

Since the end of January, I've lost 25 lbs and went from doing five of most exercises to...
Published on June 6, 2007 by Millhouse van Houten

versus
28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars pamphlet
This appeared to be a bunch of magazine articles cut and paste into a short book. There was no reasoning, progression, or consistency to their plan. It did contain a variety of exercises though but no plan. I think You Are Your Own Gym: The Bible of Bodyweight Exercises for Men and Women is a much better alternative.
Published on June 18, 2010 by William D. Nelson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It works, June 6, 2007
I bought this at the end of January and began doing routines immediately. The two bodyweight circuit routines (every other day, in the afternoons), the abs routine (each morning), and the "isoexplosive" routine (on off days, in the afternoons) work very well together.

Since the end of January, I've lost 25 lbs and went from doing five of most exercises to doing twenty, with most push-up variations with my feet elevated to lift more of my own weight. I've also thrown in some pull-ups by tossing a towel over a sturdy door, and pistol squats. The few diet tips -- eat protein right after working out, essentially -- are also handy. My strength and stamina have increased, I look better, and had to buy new clothing for the summer as the old stuff was just falling off me.

This won't turn you into the fellow on the cover, of course, but if you're like me and just won't go to the gym (too far away, too expensive), all you need is a patch of floor and you're good to go, and least if you've not exercised much before, or have had an injury (as I did).

I also recommend buying a jump rope and getting in some cardio that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact nugget of good information, March 10, 2007
By 
Shay (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This little book packs a lot of value into a few pages. What I like best about this book is it cuts out the fluff. It is brief and to the point on it's coverage of general nutrition and bodyweight training aspects. Most importantly, it contains a variety of workouts ranging from; full body circuits, back care, balance and abdominal routines. Selections are short, sweet and well organized.

Highlights:
- Two, 22 minute full body, bodyweight circuits (great for those days when you want to focus on active recovery and give your body a rest from your regular heavy lifting)
- One, 15 minute high intensity workout (Good for when you are crunched on time)
- A Valuable 7 minute "save your back routine" (Doing this will relieve the pain in your back, after a day of sitting at your desk.)
- Good verity of well illustrated stretches
- Solid, basic selection of well illustrated bodyweight exercises

The total content of this book is under a 100 pages, but it manages to provide great photos and a good verity of workouts. This book is a great little handbook for those who are looking to venture down the path of bodyweight exercises. Another plus is this book is small enough to take with you as a reminder to squeeze in a workout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well organized program, September 20, 2006
Includes complete routines for a thorough, total body workout using a wide variety of clearly illustrated bodyweight exercises. Practical guide for those interested in developing functional strength and improving their bodyweight to strength fitness ratio. Includes high quality photos and text typical of all Men's Health publications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars pamphlet, June 18, 2010
By 
William D. Nelson (Lexington, KY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This appeared to be a bunch of magazine articles cut and paste into a short book. There was no reasoning, progression, or consistency to their plan. It did contain a variety of exercises though but no plan. I think You Are Your Own Gym: The Bible of Bodyweight Exercises for Men and Women is a much better alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seems to work!, December 31, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this for my brother. He has been using the book for almost 3 weeks now. He is so happy and excited with this book and the guidance it provides. I can hear his confidence coming back from the way he sounds when we talk on the phone. I bought this so he would not have any excuses to exercise during the week. Seems to be working!

Okay, I hadn't seen my brother since he began using this book until a week ago. I am so proud of him. He lost 10 lbs and dropped from a 4x to a 2x. He gives this book all of the credit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Concise, good travel exercise guide, December 26, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Book is concise, easy to pack along on a trip. Organization is a little quirky, but there are a few good weight-free workouts, and lots of individual exercises you can mix and match. Nice reference for working out on the road without facilities. Definitely work the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great begginers workout book, January 15, 2009
When i received this book i was relatively new to working out. I appreciated that the book relied on calisthenics. In order to build a good foundation to working out one must be versed in how the body moves and why. The exercises listed in the book allowed me to become more familiar with my bodies movements while gaining strength and muscle. I would definitely recommend this book for a beginner who wants an alternative to a weighted workout.

Since reading this book and following its instructions i have moved on to weighted workouts, but the knowledge and the strength base i developed has helped immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well balanced practical information, January 13, 2008
By 
Simon T. Small (Adelaide, SA, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
it provides a range of simple yet effective routines and actions. It also covers on diet recommendations. Overall very simple information, but practical for a novice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very little & short handbook for beginners, October 6, 2011
By 
Peter Tsang (Rhode Island, New England, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"Men's Health Best: Weight Free Workout" is a little handbook of exercises for the beginner. It covers stretches, the back, abs, legs, and the upper body (do you like pushups?). There are plenty of photos, illustrating the exercises and there are a few workout plans.

At 96 pages, please note that this very thin book is a quick read, with basic and concise information for those just starting out. This is not a book for the intermediate or advanced.

~~~

Recommendations:

For a larger and more comprehensive weight-free book, try "You Are Your Own Gym: The Bible of Bodyweight Exercises" by Mark Lauren and Joshua Clark. This book is excellent.

If you want short workouts, try "The Men's Health Big Book of 15-Minute Workouts: A Leaner, Stronger Body--in 15 Minutes a Day!" by Selene Yeager. This contains a few weight-free workouts and a few dumbbell workouts. Many of the other workouts use other tools or equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, concise, great color photos, January 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great little book, under a 100 pages but full of clearly presented exercises accompanied by great photos. I don't care for the diet advice, but as far as bodyweight workouts go, this book is small enough to go anywhere with you and easy to follow. For more in-depth information on some of the exercises, the US Army's Physical Readiness Training Circular 3-22.20 covers much of the same material as a free download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Men's Health Best: Weight-Free Workout
Men's Health Best: Weight-Free Workout by Men's Health Magazine (Paperback - September 17, 2005)
Used & New from: $4.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.