Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works Well, February 7, 2013
By 
Chris (California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mercer Culinary Genesis 10" Sharpening Steel (Kitchen)
I don't know why it is called a sharpening steel when it does not sharpen. It is a honing steel for straightening an already sharp edge. As far as honing goes, it works very well. I use this right after I use my blades and because of this, I rarely have to sharpen my blades.

I have two problems with this honing steel: 1) When I first got it, there was a burr on the steel. Fortunately, my blade did not strike this burr too hard and it was fairly easy to get the burr off the steel. However, I am disappointed with the quality control. 2) The handle is an ovoid shape which forces me to hold the steel a certain way and therefore hone my blades on specific sides of the honing steel comfortably. This will lead me to use one area of the honing steel more than the other areas, causing unequal wear on the honing steel.

Other than those two gripes, this is a good honing steel and I am glad I purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Great, August 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mercer Culinary Genesis 10" Sharpening Steel (Kitchen)
This item is very well built. High quality! Very nice rubber handle that won't slip in your hand one bit. A little heavy in the hand but not over bearing at all! Sharpens very well! 5 Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Works great, February 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mercer Culinary Genesis 10" Sharpening Steel (Kitchen)
Purchased at same time as Genesis knifes and is indispensible and used every time cutlery is used. Very solid design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So happy to have this steel, January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mercer Culinary Genesis 10" Sharpening Steel (Kitchen)
I added this piece to a set I received as a gift. A few even strokes before each use and my knife blades are perfectly aligned. Like the other Mercer Genesis pieces I own, it is beautifully crafted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mercer Knive sharpener has Mercer Quality, November 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mercer Culinary Genesis 10" Sharpening Steel (Kitchen)
Mercer quality which is excellent as are their knives. I also bought the Mercer Culinary Renaissance 6-Piece Knife Set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a good steel., December 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mercer Culinary Genesis 10" Sharpening Steel (Kitchen)
Bought this to compliment a Gift of the 4 pc starter set. Well made and will last for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, December 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mercer Culinary Genesis 10" Sharpening Steel (Kitchen)
A much needed accessory to complement the set of Mercer cutlery I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharpening tool, April 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mercer Culinary Genesis 10" Sharpening Steel (Kitchen)
Have only used once but am completely happy with...would recommend. I believe this tool is needed to really keep your knives really sharp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mercer Culinary Genesis 10" Sharpening Steel (Kitchen)
Great sharpening tool! Great price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mercer Culinary Genesis 10" Sharpening Steel
$25.00 $23.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.