Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE HEALTH HANDBOOK
Merck's Home Health Handbook is written in everyday easy-to-understand language and provides information on health care for children and adults.
It covers all types of illnesses,explains the symptoms,treatments and prevention.
Great value - highly recommended.
Published on November 15, 2009 by narcissus flower

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overall Excellent (horrible on ME)
Generally this is an excellent reference. It is thorough, and conveys a heck of a lot of valuable info while still being understandable to intelligent, non-science oriented laypeople. I have learned a huge amount from this book including medical terminology which they helpfully include alongside lay terms and explanations. The best value of any medical book! (though it...
Published on August 18, 2012 by Justin Reilly, esq.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE HEALTH HANDBOOK, November 15, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook: Third Home Edition (Hardcover)
Merck's Home Health Handbook is written in everyday easy-to-understand language and provides information on health care for children and adults.
It covers all types of illnesses,explains the symptoms,treatments and prevention.
Great value - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revised Review of the Third Edition, April 12, 2010
By 
wrbtu "D. Wiur" (Long Island Motor Parkway) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook: Third Home Edition (Hardcover)
After I purchased my copy here, amazon corrected the ISBN number originally posted on the amazon site, & it now matches the book I received. Not as well-illustrated or easy to understand as the "American College Physicians Complete Home Medical Guide", but is more complete & has twice as many pages. Has general color illustrations of body systems, but disease illustrations are small & in B&W. Unlike the American College book, there are no photographs here. On the positive side, the discussion of each disease is more thorough here, & each disease contains sections on "Symptoms", "Diagnosis", & "Treatment." I can't vouch for the accuracy of either book, but this book generally seems to have more advanced & detailed discussions, while the American College book is easier for the layman to comprehend. Both are useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overall Excellent (horrible on ME), August 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook: Third Home Edition (Hardcover)
Generally this is an excellent reference. It is thorough, and conveys a heck of a lot of valuable info while still being understandable to intelligent, non-science oriented laypeople. I have learned a huge amount from this book including medical terminology which they helpfully include alongside lay terms and explanations. The best value of any medical book! (though it could use a lot more illustrations - I very highly recommend Alice Roberts' the Complete Human Body which has amazing illustrations, to complement this book for the layperson).

However, because the info on my disease ME/CFIDS (Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/ Chronic Fatigue Immune Dysfunction Syndrome) is a negative-five-star I am going to rate this only two stars.

I really don't like rating this book so low and definitely understand anyone thinking it inappropriate to rate it so low considering the overall excellent content. After all, the ME section is only one section of very many. However, the amount of iatrogenic morbidity caused by this sort of egregious misinformation on ME is so tremendous, I think it is important to draw attention to it with a two star rating. Pls forgive me if you disagree.

Editors: please make the section accurate by consulting the ME/CFS Canadian Consensus Criteria and the 2011 ME International Consensus Criteria and the 2012 IACFS/ME Primer (and me if you need more info) and I will of course be elated to rate the manual five stars.

There are many patently invalid statements here such as "[s]ome studies have suggested infection with the Epstein-Barr virus... or HIV as a possible cause of CFS. However, current research indicates that these viruses probably do not cause this syndrome." p. 2109.

ME is an extremely debilitating neuro-endocrine immune & mitochondrial disease, affecting 1 M Americans and strongly associated with otherwise extremely rare lymphomas (other than in AIDS). There is a bit of accurate info here, but mostly very misleading or incorrect such as 'CFS refers to severe fatigue of unknown psychological or physical origin' (p.2109)- actually that's Idiopathic Chronic Fatigue. This is like saying 'Alzheimer's refers to severe forgetfulness of unknown physical or psychological origin.' ME is a specific extremely disabling disease in which extreme fatigue is a prominent symptom, just like MS, Leukemia, AIDS and many other diseases.

Again, pls see the ME/CFS Canadian Consensus Criteria, the 2012 ME International Consensus Criteria or the 2012 IACFS/ME Primer for accurate info.

Thanks for your consideration and take care everyone,
Justin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, February 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook: Third Home Edition (Hardcover)
This book is awesome and I recommend it to anyone! Easy to understand, great pics, tons of information. Only thing I don't like is the version and publication of what I have, isn't updated with correct info regarding transgenders and GID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the Home!, June 23, 2014
By 
P. Pingel "TX Gal at heart" (Macomb, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook: Third Home Edition (Hardcover)
The "every day common home" will most definitely benefit from having this book in their home! I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carolyn, my wife and a retired RN, has ..., July 13, 2014
This review is from: The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook: Third Home Edition (Hardcover)
Carolyn, my wife and a retired RN, has used Merck for many years and relies on it for medical info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have Book, July 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook: Third Home Edition (Hardcover)
I bought this to replace a 100 year old soft cover edition. It is an excellent book for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Merck Manual, June 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook: Third Home Edition (Hardcover)
Every home should have a copy. Can prove to be most helpful when facing many different kinds of health problems. Detailed but easily understood by a layman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should be standard in every home, March 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook: Third Home Edition (Hardcover)
Anyone who has ever wanted more information or clarification for what was said during a doctor's visit should consider having this book. Great information presented in a clear manner. My familiarity with earlier editions led me to purchase several as gifts for some health professions students I know. They have immediately found the information extremely helpful, even so with the many more technical textbooks they own. I encourage my own students to begin building their professional libraries and this book is the first one I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good book at a very good price, February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook: Third Home Edition (Hardcover)
I had an earlier issue and made this purchase for an update, I an very pleased with the book, the price was outstanding, satisfied customer, I know where to shop in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook: Third Home Edition
The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook: Third Home Edition by Robert S. Porter (Hardcover - October 13, 2009)
$39.95 $27.26
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.