Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great manual
As a mechanic you can never have to many books on repairs. I combine both the Clymer, Shop Manual,and experience over years. I find everything I need from this book and is a great example to read prior any maintenance. I highly recommend to any do it yourselfer out there.
Published on August 27, 2009 by J. KUMMERER

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, but confusing and not 100% accurate
I started out as mechanically competent but outboard-ignorant with a new boat and old motor. This book is sold at the Mercury dealer, where the "Official Shop Manual" logo on the cover is, IMHO, somewhat misleading. Since it covers a raft of models, it's hard to deal with one specific motor, but if you dig hard enough you can find what you need, mostly. As in most books...
Published on August 29, 2008 by M. Fred


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great manual, August 27, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a mechanic you can never have to many books on repairs. I combine both the Clymer, Shop Manual,and experience over years. I find everything I need from this book and is a great example to read prior any maintenance. I highly recommend to any do it yourselfer out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, but confusing and not 100% accurate, August 29, 2008
By 
M. Fred (Polk City, FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mercury/Mariner: 2-Stroke Outboard Shop Manual : 2.5-60 Hp : 1994-1997 (Includes Jet Drive Models) (Paperback)
I started out as mechanically competent but outboard-ignorant with a new boat and old motor. This book is sold at the Mercury dealer, where the "Official Shop Manual" logo on the cover is, IMHO, somewhat misleading. Since it covers a raft of models, it's hard to deal with one specific motor, but if you dig hard enough you can find what you need, mostly. As in most books of its type, electrical diagrams are a little skimpy. Used in conjunction with a good on-line forum for DIY mechanics, it's worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of info, September 6, 2005
I bought the manual after I bought a used Mariner outboard. I found it to be very helpful as far as technical info and specs. I'm glad I bought it. The only drawback is that it covers so many motors that sometimes the pictures or diagrams vary from my motor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mercury Shop Manual - Buyer Beware, September 19, 2000
By 
Anthony S. Grim (Lago Vista, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mercury/Mariner: 2-Stroke Outboard Shop Manual : 2.5-60 Hp : 1994-1997 (Includes Jet Drive Models) (Paperback)
This book only deals with 2 stroke models. This information is not displayed on Amazon's listing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars outboard shop manual, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
great book, full of pages and breaks it down nicely, i recommend this book for outboard rebuilds and trouble shooting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mercury manual, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Purchased a few months ago and have used it for a few things. some information is good and others not enough. good for referencing information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Information, August 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The manual has lots of information, over 700 pages of it. Covers a number of two-stroke motors so you have to move around to get the information on your model. I like the diagrams which are draft drawings and not pictures of some dirty engine that you cannot make out the details. Includes specifications, tear-down, rebuild, adjustment/alignments and trouble shooting. Breaks down each system individually and explains it's operation. Definitely worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Money Saved, November 19, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A must have for anyone owning the outboards covered, will save you shop costs to diagnoise before you call the experts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mercury/Mariner: Outboard Shop Manual : 2.5-60 Hp, August 23, 2007
By 
This review is from: Mercury/Mariner: 2-Stroke Outboard Shop Manual : 2.5-60 Hp : 1994-1997 (Includes Jet Drive Models) (Paperback)
Found the manual to be very helpful with replacing my water pump. Took a little time to figure out witch sections pertained but it had all the info needed to complete the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9979c39c)

This product

Mercury/Mariner: 2-Stroke Outboard Shop Manual : 2.5-60 Hp : 1994-1997 (Includes Jet Drive Models)
Used & New from: $5.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.