Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Blake Shelton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 18, 2011
The fact that the Euphrates River, a wailing saxophone, and Dixieland jazz are all mentioned in one sentence says a lot about this story, and especially since jazz and saxophones won't even be invented for nearly 4000 years. The music and action all take place in a cave that serves as a club, where fermented fruit juices pass for drinks.

This short story by Robert Kroese about his angel Mercury is very funny, and some of the plays on words are very creative. I haven't read the books by this author, but if this is any indication of the quality of the novels, they are well worth reading.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 5, 2011
Mercury Swings, offerred in a Kindle Edition, is an orphan short story written by Robert Kroese, author of Mercury Falls,Mercury Rises, and his non-fiction collection of essays, The Force is Middling in this One: And Other Ruminations from the Outskirts of the Empire.

Mercury Swings seems to fit into the Mercury Rises saga, but probably lost out to more important creative impulses, such as Mercury meeting Noah and his sons. Rather than relegate this chapter to the round file of history, Kroese made it available for all.

Entertaining, but brief. You'll learn the true history of jazz and the protection racket.

Kroese fans, rejoice in every word!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2011
Quite a funny short story from the next big thing in angel based fantasy comic novels. If you have seen the positive reviews for his earlier book, Mercury Falls, or (like me) are waiting for Mercury Rises to be released, this is a great sample of the style of this author's work. Even if you end up not wanting to read the longer works I defy you not to get few good chuckles out of this story. The footnote on the Domesday Book made me laugh especially.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2011
This is a nice stand-alone short story that introduces one of the characters in Mercury Rising - the angel Mercury. In this story he is dealing with an anomaly created by the over-ambitious prophesy department in Heaven. They have introduced Jazz music 3800 years before its time. The situation is dealt with using a light humor that charms the reader. The story is clearly being written to give you time to get into the story before the sequel to the first book, Mercury Rises, comes out on October 18th, 2011.

The short story is cute. However, it pales in comparison to the book - Mercury Falls. That is one of the best books that I have read since I got my kindle over 2 years ago. I'm an avid reader. I've read over 500 books in the last two years. The one that stands out in my mind the most is Mercury Rising. I can't recommend it enough.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 6, 2013
Book Info: Genre: Humorous Urban Fantasy
Reading Level: Adult
Recommended for: Those who enjoy the series, have read at least one of the previous books

My Thoughts: If you haven't been introduced to Mercury yet, probably best to start with either Mercury Begins or Mercury Falls. If you aren't familiar with Mercury, or with the author's style, this little story will just seem silly to you. However, once you have met Mercury, you can best enjoy this fun little novella featuring one of his first jobs. I enjoyed it a lot, and am really looking forward to moving on into the upcoming novels. Watch for my review this coming weekend!

Series Information: Mercury Swings is the second of two prequels to the Mercury series.
Prequel One: Mercury Begins, review linked here where formatting allowed
Book 1: Mercury Falls, read in September 2010, review linked here where formatting allowed
Book 2: Mercury Rises, to be read soon
Book 3: Mercury Rests, to be read soon.

Disclosure: I picked up this novella when it was on free promotion on Amazon. All opinions are my own.

Synopsis: In Mercury Falls, jaded religion reporter Christine Temetri and Mercury, a renegade angel, thwarted two diabolical plots to destroy the world. In Mercury Rises, they team up once again to battle Horace Finch, a crazed billionaire who plans to uncover the deepest secrets of the Universe--and likely annihilate it in the process.

But how did Mercury did mixed up with all this stuff in the first place?

Travel back in time to ancient Mesopotamia, where Mercury is on one of his very first assignments for the Apocalypse Bureau. His mission: to prevent the the jazz age from arriving 3800 years too early. Aided or impeded by such colorful characters as a funky, weed-smoking bouncer; Enoch, the precocious sax player; and a goat named Taco; Mercury must make it out of an anachronistic watering hole unscathed. Will Mercury manage to extract Enoch via an interplanar portal and beat it back to Babylon before humankind evolves Bronze Age flappers? And will he ever get the hang of transmogrification? Find out in Mercury Swings!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 16, 2012
This is fairly short, but is a good (and fun) introduction to Kroese's Mercury books. We are introduced to Mercury and other characters who will be appearing in the later books (Mercury Falls and Mercury Rises).

You will enjoy the other books without reading this, but it helps to set the stage.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
To help whet readers' appetites for Mercury Rises, the upcoming sequel to Mercury Falls, author Robert Rroese has served up Mercury Swings, a free digital short story featuring everyone's favorite angel Mercury. In this brief tale, Mercury is sent to investigate an unscheduled development - namely the invention of jazz roughly 3800 years ahead of schedule - only to discover the ancient desert equivalent of speak-easies, gangsters and G-men. It's the kind of offbeat and very funny adventure you'd expect from Kroese, and is a good way for fans of the first novel to get reacquainted with the series' title character (as if it's possible to forget him) before Mercury Rises is released.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2012
A short, funny story featuring the wisecracking, free-spirited angel Mercury, who here is correcting a time anomaly. Mercury finds a saxophone player blasting out very good jazz music in an ancient world cave club, but according to the divine plan jazz isn't scheduled to come into existence for more than 3,000 years.

If this story is your first and only introduction to the Mercury series you may find it clever and funny, but not worth a book length expansion. Not true. Though Mercury Swings only has room to be an extended joke, Mercury Falls is a lot richer, addressing issues of free will and end time politics while still maintaining the clever wit found in this story.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2011
This is a short, standalone story. It does not take long to read, but is very enjoyable (especially if you like Mercury). Just like "Mercury Falls" and "Mercury Rises", it is a bit ridiculous. I was very excited to find this one and I wasn't disappointed.

I hope Mr. Kroese continues to release short stories about Mercury (and continues to keep them free).
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2012
I really like the Mercury books and I enjoyed Mercury Begins (the first short story) so I didn't have a problem getting this one since I thought another short story would be good. It was funny, but it was so short that it didn't have the dialogue that makes the other Mercury books so funny. Mercury begins is also very short but it's over twice as long as this story. This gives time for a lot of good, witty dialogue. There just isn't enough here - it's like one of the short chapters from a full-length Mercury book got cut out. I enjoyed it, but it needed more to be up to the level of his other books.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.