Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon Sixx AM Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars34
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 25, 2011
This book left much to be desired for me. It was much more typical romace than urban fantasy. The heroine was kind of a dud. The previous book in the series was much better.
I could not get lost in this book, like I usually can in Keri Arthur's books. I had constant questions: How could anyone fall in love so fast when her best friend was just killed? How could she fall in love with a man who is a hired killer, when she is so squeamish? How could she keep getting herself into such stupid situations where someone needs to rescue her, and then insist she can defend herself? How could he stand her?
Mercy was whiny, defensive, and often stupid. As stated in another review, she was way too stuck on the idea that she was part of a minority, without really showing us what made her special and worthwhile. After Riley Jensen, it is hard to accept a heroine like this.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2011
Kind of sweet romance with a little urban paranormal action on the side, fairly short and uncomplicated. The dragon theme continues here but the characters from book one only make a brief wave at the end. These two books basically stand alone. The repressed minority theme was a little over used.
This story centers on a rather naive, young reporter, who is part of the repressed half-dragon minority, trying to avenge the murder of her best friend and save her soul from eternally walking the earth alone. Along the way she meets and joins up with an enforcer from the dragon council, the ones doing the repressing. He's a hard ass, but our girl is convinced he has a soft underside, under the stone killer side, that is.
I much prefer this author's Riley Jenson series. Her next couple of books seem to be a spin-off of that world, so it should be a much better fleshed out series.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2011
I really enjoyed the first book in this series, but this was just awful. Mercy Reynolds was stupid, senseless and just the most annoying heroine I've run into in years. How could she possibly be a journalist when she had no common sense and no sense of protection. And really the constant whining about being a 1/2 dragon. Please MLK Jr. you're not. Damon was also annoying. If he was such a super dragon, how come he kept messing up! And finally the overly convoluted plot. Really by the time I got to the end I no longer cared who did what. Don't waste your money on this installment, go back and reread the first one it was so much better.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 20, 2014
MERCY BURNS was an interesting paranormal romance. Mercy is a draman - half-human, half-dragon - who has been raised a second class citizen and been abused by the full dragons in her area. She is a journalist who is investigating the extermination of some draman towns with her best friend Rainey when they are run off the road. Rainey is killed and Mercy has 5 days to find her killers in order to save her soul.

While investigating, she is taken captive and thrown into a cell with a muerte named Damon Rey - a full dragon who has special tasks and acts as an executioner for his kingdom. Mercy's dragon powers manage to get them free and, since they both want to know who and why the draman towns were destroyed, they team up. Mercy is rather impulsive and doesn't have much of a sense of self-preservation. If she had more sense, she would run from the muerte since everyone is afraid of them.

Mercy very hesitantly falls in love with him. Her main hesitation has to do with her previous experiences with full dragons. It doesn't help that he has certain mistaken prejudices about draman too. However, their love grows as they have to depend on each other to solve the mystery. The romance doesn't go smoothly since Damon doesn't believe that he can emotionally commit to anyone.

Fans of paranormal romance and especially dragon fans will enjoy this story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2011
Mercy Reynolds trusts few people as she knows firsthand how treacherous others are especially towards a "Draman". Recently, the half air dragon's single digits were reduced by one when her best friend purebred sea dragon Rainey was murdered in a car incident in which Mercy was a passenger. Her BFF's homicide is hard enough for Mercy to accept, but the death precluded the rituals needed to enable Rainey to move on as dragons dead at sunrise without the ritual cannot. Mercy knows that if she can find and bring the killers to justice she can perform the rituals for Rainey to pass; five days left and counting to achieve the impossible San Francisco mission.

Damon Ray is trying to do his job of killing rogue purebreds and dramon dragons who break the law. His current assignment has humiliatingly a draman helping him. However, worse is he is attracted to the half-breed while she refuses to back off as she is on a mercy mission for her beloved late buddy.

While Riley Jenson takes a deserved respite, Keri Arthur writes an engaging investigative romantic urban fantasy. Mercy is a terrific heroine whose objective is not vengeance but the purity of enabling her friend to move beyond this realm. Damon is more hard boiled even with his attraction as the audience will relish this paranormal tour of the streets of San Francisco in the second Myth and Magic thriller (see Destiny Kills).

Harriet Klausner
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2015
Keri Arthur has done it again! It never ceases to amaze me how much she can do with her words. With her hands she fashions these characters, living remarkable lives with supernatural elements who still seem relatable and humanly flawed. Her plots are out of this world and the one for the book is as usual incredibly unconventional and intricate. But she's never repetitive. Even if there are similar type of character like the draman, Mercy is an island unto herself--wholly individual from her brother in the previous book. If you've ever read a book by Keri Arthur and loved it, read everything she's written. Not only will you not be disappointed but you won't be bored or feel as if you're reading the same thing over and over. If you're a fan of the supernatural, every book Keri Arthur has written is a must have.

I give my rating based on plot, character development, how much emotion a book brings from you do you laugh/cry/love/mourn all of the above, and grammatical accuracy. Also, do I think the title worth buying, would I buy it again, and best of all will I read it again in the future a and this passes with flying colors on all accounts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2012
This is the 13th book I have read from Keri Arthur and I swear every book she writes is pure awesomesauce!! I love her! She is one of my most favorite authors ever!! So yes totally check out her books if you have not!

Mercy is the sister of Trae (from book one)she is half dragon and half human, she has some of the dragons abilities but not all. Unfortunately Draman are looked down upon and she has the scars to prove it. When her friend is murdered she has only one week to find the killers and seek revenge or her friends soul will never move on. This sets her on a deadly quest where she meets Damon AKA"Death" Now any normal girl would know when you meet a man named Death you should probably walk away, but thank goodness she doesn't. Because lets be honest there is something so sweet about breaking down the walls of the bad boy and discovering his soft side!!

Things I loved about this book

Mercy and Damons chemistry just fills the pages
The action and suspense keep this story going
Watching the relationship grow
Seeing Damons nicer side
Seeing how Mercy isn't just acceptable to killing and deals with it pretty realisticly
DRAGONS!

So yes I LOVED this book. I really need to find out if there is going to more in this series. Any paranormal romance/urban fantasy lover should check this out! I love how unique Mercy is and her world. If you are looking for something new then go grab this book!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2011
Mercy Wilson is a draman--part human, part dragon. She is also a journalist, and when her best friend Rainey comes to her for help finding out what happened to her sister, she jumps in head first. All too soon they discover there is a larger conspiracy going on, but before they can find more clues tragedy strikes. Mercy and Rainey are in an accident that may have been intentional. Rainey passes on and now Mercy has five days to find those responsible for her death and kill them. It is the only way to save her soul. If a dragon passes and no one prays for their soul at dawn their soul is unable to move on.

Damon Ray is a member of the infamous Muerte dragons. Muerte are trained from birth to become killers for the Dragon Council. They clean up the Council's messes. Mercy and Damon meet under the worst circumstances and find they have a common enemy. Damon isn't keen on having Mercy along on his mission but finds that she has some lovely attributes. He sees her mostly as a nuisance but quickly learns there is a whole lot more to this woman than her good looks.

Damon and Mercy are determined to get to the bottom of this mystery but face many obstacles along the way. Danger abounds at every turn forcing them into some scary situations. Will they survive the fight that lies ahead? Can Mercy find Rainey's killers and save her soul in time?

Mercy Burns is a sizzling mystery that captures you on page one! Mercy and Damon go on one heck of a wild ride in Mercy Burns. These two light up the pages with their witty banter and smokin' hot chemistry. Mercy is 100% an emotional person she's leading with her heart while Damon insists his feelings don't enter the equation. I'm absolutely smitten with these two. Mercy and Damon go on an epic journey together trying to escape danger while managing the burgeoning feelings between them. Keri Arthur pens an enticing romance and a thrilling mystery. Ms. Arthur makes Mercy Burns stand out not only because it's a magical story but also because she has precisely the right amount of romance and suspense.

Mercy Burns is the second book in Ms. Arthur's Myth and Magic series but it is not necessary to have read the first book to follow this delicious story. Surrender to Mercy Burns and it will take you on a passionate edge of your seat adventure!

Miranda
Reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2014
I really enjoyed reading this book. I have always enjoyed Keri Arthur books especially the other series that she wrote and I look forward to this becoming a series? Her characters are very well developed and the story lines are great. I look forward to many more of her books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2011
I read tons of Keri Arthur book including Destiny kills, this book actually left me wanting more. The ending was too fast, I felt it was lacking. Do not get me wrong it was good but it could of been better, especially since book one was a really good read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.