Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


208 of 214 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merlin season 3 in USA NTSC
I found the first 2 seasons on netflix and loved watching them. I was lucky to have found such an entrancing arthur series. I have always been a fan of Boorman's Excalibur and have been disappointed with most shows when held up to the Boorman standard. I did find this series exceeded all my expectations and actually was better than Excalibur in almost all aspects. The...
Published on June 15, 2011 by Jane's Addiction

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wish I liked it better!
As I mentioned in a review of Starz Camelot series, I've been an Arthur fan since my teen years. Now on S3, I yearn to enjoy the Merlin series more than I do. To me, it just seems like a kids' version of the Arthurian legends, with all the hokey faux Old English incantations, CGI monsters, unrealistic scenery, and teenagers playing the important roles. Several...
Published on June 22, 2012 by A. Moss


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

208 of 214 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merlin season 3 in USA NTSC, June 15, 2011
I found the first 2 seasons on netflix and loved watching them. I was lucky to have found such an entrancing arthur series. I have always been a fan of Boorman's Excalibur and have been disappointed with most shows when held up to the Boorman standard. I did find this series exceeded all my expectations and actually was better than Excalibur in almost all aspects. The only thing that gives Excalibur an "edge" is it is a single movie and this Merlin series is more like an ongoing daytime drama. I could see all the aspects of Merlin made into a three movie trilogy and blow away Lord of the Rings, but one can only hope. All SEASONS of MERLIN are available on ITUNES in the USA. You can rent or buy them there. If you plan to rent I suggest watching the first two seasons on netflix. Please give me a positive rating if this helped you, thanks :D

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merlin Season 3 - Darker Than Before (SPOILERS), March 15, 2011
This review is from: Merlin: Season 3 (DVD)
Season 3 is a lot darker than the previous 2 & we join it when Morgana has been missing for a year & Uther is distraught at her disappearence little knowing what will follow during the series. When she is found wandering in the forest Merlin & Gaius become suspicious at her behaviour & realise that she has become a witch who will use her powers for evil.

The first couple of episodes deal with Morgana trying to send Uther mad using magic with the help of her sister Morgause. As usual there is a comedy element with a goblin inhabiting Gaius's body who then moves around the court moving from one body to another causing mayhem. Merlin is also shown what will happen if he does not stop Morgana, & is torn between trying to protect Arthur from all the usual dangers he faces & now the prospect of evil coming from within the castle itself. Morgana turns on Guinevere trying to ruin her relationship with Arthur, which makes Merlin have to use his magic to protect them both from never seeing each other again, & for the first time you see the face of Merlin that we know from the legend with a long flowing white beard. You also meet Gwaine for the first time who is a bit wild but useful with a sword in a fight! 'The Fisher King' gives Merlin a phile of water from the Lake of Avalon telling him that he will know when to use it, which becomes apparent at the end of the series. The series finale is absolutely fabulous with the drama of Uther finding out what Morgana has been doing & Arthur trying to protect the kingdom from her. This is also where we see Lancelot again & meet Sir Percival for the first time. You then have the beginning of the legend of Arthur, Excalibur & The Knights of the Round Table.
Merlin: Series Three (Original Television Soundtrack)

Season 3 Episode List.

1. The Tears of Uther Pendragon - Part 1
2. The Tears of Uther Pendragon - Part 2
3. Goblins Gold
4. Gwaine
5. The Crystal Cave
6. The Changeling
7. The Castle of Fyrien
8. The Eye of The Phoenix
9. Love in the Time of Dragons
10. Queen of Hearts
11. The Sorcerer's Shadow
12. The Coming of Arthur - Part 1
13. The Coming of Arthur - Part 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merlin Season 3 - Darker Than Before (SPOILERS), March 15, 2011
Season 3 is a lot darker than the previous 2 & we join it when Morgana has been missing for a year & Uther is distraught at her disappearence little knowing what will follow during the series. When she is found wandering in the forest Merlin & Gaius become suspicious at her behaviour & realise that she has become a witch who will use her powers for evil.

The first couple of episodes deal with Morgana trying to send Uther mad using magic with the help of her sister Morgause. As usual there is a comedy element with a goblin inhabiting Gaius's body who then moves around the court moving from one body to another causing mayhem. Merlin is shown what will happen if he does not stop Morgana, & is torn between trying to protect Arthur from all the usual dangers he faces & now the prospect of evil coming from within the castle itself. Morgana turns on Guinevere trying to ruin her relationship with Arthur, which makes Merlin have to use his magic to protect them both from never seeing other again, & for the first time you see the face of Merlin that we know from the legend with a long flowing white beard. You also meet Gwaine for the first time who is a bit wild but useful with a sword in a fight! 'The Fisher King' gives Merlin a phile of water from the Lake of Avalon telling him that he will know when to use it, which becomes apparent at the end of the series. The series finale is absolutely fabulous with the drama of Uther finding out what Morgana has been doing & Arthur trying to protect the kingdom from her. This is also where we see Lancelot again & meet Sir Percival for the first time. You then have the beginning of the legend of Arthur, Excalibur & The Knights of the Round Table.

Season 3 Episode List.

1. The Tears of Uther Pendragon - Part 1
2. The Tears of Uther Pendragon - Part 2
3. Goblins Gold
4. Gwaine
5. The Crystal Cave
6. The Changeling
7. The Castle of Fyrien
8. The Eye of The Phoenix
9. Love in the Time of Dragons
10. Queen of Hearts
11. The Sorcerer's Shadow
12. The Coming of Arthur - Part 1
13. The Coming of Arthur - Part 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 3 of Merlin is the best yet!, July 11, 2011
This review is from: Merlin: Season 3 (DVD)
This series just gets better and better with every season. The writing, acting,and directing are very good, and the plots for the third season are more exciting. The characters are becoming more caught up in the intrigue of the Arthurian legend. Merlin and Arthur are on the path that will lead to the fulfillment of their destinies. The growing maturity of both characters is a delight and the strong friendship that they have developed now adds to the great plot twists in every episode. The addition of Gwain, Elyan, and Lancelot to the story (as well as the other new regulars) makes this show all the more interesting to watch...I can't wait for season 4!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merlin Season 3 - Queen of Hearts, March 2, 2011
Length:: 1:07 Mins

This short excerpt is from Episode 10 'Queen of Hearts'

Morgana has a vision of Arthur crowning Guinevere making her his Queen, & she see's that she must destroy their love for each other for forever, as she realises she will be risking her chance to become Queen of Camelot if she does not.

I apologise for some wobbles on the video clip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "She is the Darkness to Your Light...", September 22, 2011
By 
R. M. Fisher "Ravenya" (New Zealand = Middle Earth!) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Merlin: Season 3 (DVD)
For those not in the know, the BBC's "Merlin" is to Arthurian legend what Smallville is to the Superman mythos: a long-running prequel that explores the lives of various individuals before they become the renowned figures of legend. In this case, "Merlin" is based on the evolution of its four main characters: Merlin (Colin Morgan) as he grows from inexperienced youth to wise mentor, Arthur (Bradley James), who progresses from prattish prince to noble king, Morgana (Katie McGrath), whose fall into darkness provides the show's most tragic arc, and Guinevere (Angel Coulby), a young servant girl who will one day be Queen of Camelot.

Rounding out the cast is Anthony Head as King Uther, an uncompromising ruler whose persecution of magic provides the main conflict of the show (for Merlin must keep his innate powers a secret at all costs) and Richard Wilson as Gaius the court physician, who lends support and advice to Merlin. It is these characters and the range of complex relationships they share, whether familial, romantic or antagonistic, that make the show so appealing. The entire cast is immensely talented, share amazing chemistry with one another, and are backed up by reoccurring guest-stars as other familiar characters from legend: Emilia Fox as Morgause, Santiago Cabrera as Lancelot, and John Hurt as the voice of the Great Dragon. With beautiful visuals and surprisingly good special effects, "Merlin" is suited for a family audience. There's nothing here that's too traumatizing for young viewers, though it does get darker as the series goes on.

SOME SPOILERS FOLLOW. Nothing too drastic, more character-related than plot-related, and most of it pertaining to the first two episodes.

*
*
*

The third series picks up a year after the season two finale, during which the main cast has been diligently searching the kingdom for Morgana. Spirited away at the end of series two by her half-sister Morgause, only Merlin knows the true reason for her disappearance and his culpability in it (it's a bit of a long story, and obviously you'll want to watch the first two series before jumping headfirst into the third one). Arthur and Merlin are searching for her in enemy territory when a familiar figure stumbles out of the mist: Morgana! She is whisked back to Camelot, much to the joy of her foster-father Uther, but Merlin is not so sure she can be trusted. As an army marches upon Camelot at the behest of Morgause, it becomes apparent that there is a traitor within the walls of Camelot, a discovery that sets up the arc of the entire season.

With thirteen episodes in all, season three of "Merlin" is a bit of a mixed bag - mostly good, but with a few missed opportunities that prevent it from being truly exceptional entertainment. But first, the good stuff. The series opener and finale ("The Tears of Uther Pendragon" and "The Coming of Arthur") are both two-parters, and are the best that the show has ever been. These four episodes are filmic in terms of the storytelling, visual effects and emotional punch on display. We get our clearest glimpse yet of the future that it to come, what with the reappearance of Excalibur and the Lady of the Lake, the introduction of the Round Table Knights, and that glorious final shot of...well, I'd better not give it away. It's wonderful, stirring stuff.

Between our four young actors a great dynamic is at work. Arthur and Guinevere's love story begins to develop from puppy love into something more serious, and if you thought that the pairing was a little rushed in the second series, give it another chance. Here the writers allow the couple to flirt and laugh and enjoy each other's company, and as a result Bradley and Angel's chemistry feels much more natural. Meanwhile, Colin and Katie channel a very different kind of chemistry as former-friends Merlin and Morgana draw their line in the sand and find themselves on opposite sides. Their scenes together are nothing short of electrifying as Morgana strives to bring down the Pendragons and Merlin attempts to oppose her at every turn whilst protecting his own secret.

Among the new characters that are introduced this season are the future Knights of the Round Table, providing heroics and eye-candy in equal measure. There are also some great episodes such as "The Crystal Cave" and "The Eye of the Phoenix" which do a great job of melding elements of Arthurian legend with the show's own vision.

But...there's a downside. To my mind at least, there are two major problems at work in season three that prevent it from getting a five-star rating.

The biggest disappointment of season three is what was meant to be its trump-card: Morgana. A prequel's success lies in the journey that characters take to predetermined destinations. We all KNOW where Merlin, Morgana, Arthur and Guinevere end up. What we're interested in is HOW they get to those places, and Morgana's fall from a spoilt but essentially good-hearted young woman to the evil enchantress of legend undoubtedly held the most potential for a dramatic character-arc.

Morgana had been established as a brave, impulsive, passionate woman who was frightened by her growing powers and terrified of Uther's hatred of magic despite his love for her. We had seen for ourselves how dangerous she could be when crossed and how gifted she was with the art of manipulation. Hers was a personality that could quite easily be corrupted by fear and hatred, whilst still remaining sympathetic and defensible given her circumstances - after all, Morgana's main goal is to destroy a genocidal tyrant. For any writer, this set-up would be considered pure gold.

And so it is a bitter disappointment to discover that the Morgana who returns to Camelot is not a dangerous and intelligent adversary with justifiable goals, divided loyalties and complex motivation, but rather nothing more than a petty caricature of evil. Her plans are illogical and convoluted, and thus fail without exception. She turns on Arthur and Guinevere without hesitation or remorse, taking sadistic pleasure in tormenting them for no apparent reason. There is a perpetual smirk on her face that nobody ever seems to notice. Despite the terrifying prospect of a traitor within the walls of Camelot, she poses no viable threat whatsoever and is continually thwarted by Merlin with almost laughable ease.

Katie McGrath plays the part with relish, but for reasons best known to them, the writers took their most fascinating character and turned her into their most one-dimensional, void of any kind of sympathy, reason, or consistency. Not only has Morgana's past nuance been obliterated, but the events that could have explained this shift in personality took place entirely OFF SCREEN in the missing year between series two and three. It's a baffling creative decision, especially when one considers how fascinating her character-arc could have been.

The other big disappointment of season three is the writer's steadfast refusal to move their plots forward. Much of the season is simply filler, and the stalling tactics are enough to wear the patience of any viewer. Every time there seems to be some sort of forward momentum in the story-arc, the writers veer off into irrelevant side-plots, skipping over what could have been fascinating material in favor of comedic farce, recycled plotlines, and one-shot guest stars. This has the added consequence of making the characters seem remarkably stupid, as they fail to follow up on leads or to ask questions that would have pushed the stories forward into new and interesting territory. For instance, it's ridiculous that neither Morgana nor Morgause think to question the fact that Merlin was able to escape the magical chains that they bind him with; or that Arthur and Uther wouldn't try to discover the identity of the traitor after the magical sabotage during the siege on Camelot.

Why don't they do these things? Simply because if they did, the writers would be forced to move the story forward into places they (for whatever reason) don't want to go yet. Unfortunately it really achieves nothing except to make their characters seem dense, and waste a lot of good material. Other times ideas are raised only to be ignored - there was a chance to explore Gwen's character further what with the introduction of her brother and her discovery of Morgana's magic, but nothing ever comes of these plot-points.

The status-quo is finally shaken up at the end of the series, but by exorcising all the filler throughout the series, the events of "The Coming of Arthur" could have easily been stretched out over five or so episodes. We could have seen more of Morgana's reign, more of Gwen in the role of a spy, more of Uther's suffering, more of Arthur living rough in the woods, gathering his allies, and planning a counter-attack to win back his kingdom, more of Merlin and the future knights training and getting to know one another and working as a team to create La Resistance - you know, all the *interesting* stuff that inexplicably happens off-screen.

Am I being too harsh? Maybe. "Merlin" has never pretended to be anything but fun and frivolous family entertainment, and in that it does the job. But so often it misses out on being something very brave and different, held back by the writers' (or producers') reluctance to give up the pointless standalone episodes in favor of a larger, more complex arc in which their characters can behave logically and develop naturally. With season four due to start very soon, I'm hoping that the show is finally ready to grow up and realize its potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It just keeps getting better and better!, October 22, 2011
This review is from: Merlin: Season 3 (DVD)
This show continues to get better and better with each season. One of the things that I have always loved about this show is that it is entertaining for all ages, and is a great show to watch with family and friends.

This season is stock full of interesting twists and turns while still keeping it light and playful. We see Arthur and Gwen's relationship blossom into a more realistic and heartwarming love. We get to see Merlin and Arthur have even more bro-mance moments. We still get those heart-touching moments between Gaius and Merlin. We meet some great new characters that provide comic relief as well as interesting new plot twists. We even get some great laughs (the episode with the goblin is hilarious...). We also see a much darker side to Camelot, which is the continual thread throughout the season. My only qualm with this series is Morgana's portrayal - my friend and I counted the evil smirks throughout the season and there are just too many of them. The series begins and ends with some of the best episodes, and it's definitely a show that is continuing to grow and blossom - and I can't wait to see what's in store for the rest of Season 4 as well as the bonus features that will be on the DVD!

This is definitely a show you want to check out with your family and friends. It watches almost like a movie at times, and even though I've seen the seasons multiple times, I still love watching them again (and getting new friends hooked on them!). Please, do yourself a favor and check out this excellent show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merlin The Complete Third Season Series, June 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like the new spin on an old legend. There is good acting, great special effects for a series like this and a good balance during the series between humor, tension and pacing. The development of the relationship between characters has gone well during the first three seasons. If you like a re-start on the Arthur legend with some interesting twists this is a fun series to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merlin is Magic, September 19, 2011
This review is from: Merlin: Season 3 (DVD)
Great series! Action! Fun and whimisical!
Looking forward to the next season!! Season 3 is full of action, emotion, and comedy....in addition to having a darker more serious side.
Great TV! We need more shows like Merlin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series continues in 3rd season, December 15, 2011
This review is from: Merlin: Season 3 (DVD)
We bought this series last year from the UK as we were hooked on the previous two series. Series III did not disappoint. Good action and humorous it was a wonderful Sunday evening family movie night for us. We are looking forward to season 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Merlin: Season 3
Merlin: Season 3 by Alice Troughton (DVD - 2012)
$49.98 $24.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.