Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Goo-goo Dolls Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars14
Format: Spiral-bound|Change
Price:$12.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon April 8, 2008
Just added this nifty little themed children's cookbook to my collection. I have all of Ms. Beery's books in this series and have given them as gifts with great success. The format is rather successfully designed to interest children in cooking.

All three of the books rely rather heavily on recipes for snacks and deserts. Things that kids are normally attracted to. However the "Mermaid Cookbook", third in the series includes more meal items such as salads and sandwiches and a greater use of fruit. Which gravitates more towards an awareness (albeit an unconcious one for many children.) of better eating habits.

Don't be mistaken or put off that these recipes aren't vegan or part of the trend of tricking kids into eating mystery veggies. Beery is catering towards flavor, so butter and sugar are used in her recipes. However she does suggest the replacement of honey for those moms out there who want to keep a handle on their childrens diets.

Another improvement from the Pink Princess Cookbook (still 5 stars by the way!) is that in both this and the Fairies Cookbook she includes metric and oven conversion charts.

This Cookbook is a Hit for children and adults.
11 comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2008
I purchased this book for my daughter. The recipes are wonderful and many are healthy. She loves trying the new recipes.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2013
My daughter is into Mermaids and this has provided a fun activity for the family to participate in. The desserts won't be to an adult's taste, but the kids will love it and will be proud of their creations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Mermaid Cookbook has many inventive recipes ideal for a mermaid or beach themed party. Author Barbara Beery is a wiz at taking simple ingredients and transforming them into magical delights.

Recipes like Coconut Fruit Sorbet served in a coconut shell and Mermaid Bay Baked Bananas are just a couple of the scrumptious tropical treats in the Fruits de Mermaid section. The refreshing pink Sea Foam Floats (shown on the cover) are one of several drinks in the Seaside Sipping area.

Goldfish Gorp from the Crunchy Sea Snacks chapter would be a great take home gift from a Mermaid Party, especially packaged in a shell or other type of sea themed container. The Small Bites area has main dishes like Triton's Tuna Fish Sandwiches, which are made with plain yogurt (healthier!), just a little mayo and lots of fresh, colorful veggies and then cut into fun fish shapes.

One fun suggestion in the Cookies and Candy section is the Star Fish cookies that are cut out with a star shaped cookie cutter and decorated with beach themed candies. A couple of the Sweet Mermaid Treats are the Water Fairy Ice Pops, which are star shaped with a cinnamon stick inserted into the middle as a fun handle and the gorgeous Seashell Candy which is made by melting vanilla candy discs and swirling them with pastel colors and letting them harden in shell shaped candy molds.

If you know someone that loves mermaids and seaside fun, the Mermaid Cookbook has lots of ideas to make the celebration extra special!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
cute little cookbook for younger girls. My granddaughter really liked it. It had simple recipes with really cute pictures. She tried some of the recipes and found them to be fairly easy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
Not what I expected. I gave it to my niece for Christmas. The recipes seem alittle out there and not to our taste. Other wise the seller was great shipped fast and in good condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2013
This is a great book. If you like mermaids you will like the book. It show 's you what mermaids like to eat. I love the book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2009
I bought this for my little cousin for Christmas. I was impressed. Nice recipes and nice book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2015
CUTE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2015
Some cute ideas for little mermaids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.