Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for 5th and 6th graders
My 6th grader needed a dictionary and a thesaurus for school (and my 5th grader is always asking me for synonyms) and so I headed over to one of the big book stores expecting to have to buy TWO books. I was quite happy when I saw this one, with both dictionary and thesaurus combined. (It's a lot easier to handle one book than two; it's a lot better for one book on the...
Published on October 13, 2010 by Coffee Klatch Reviews

versus
97 of 98 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay. Limited as a dictionary and as a thesaurus.
The other reviewers appear to address the printed version rather than the Kindle-specific version. I am focusing on the Kindle Application.

Strengths -- easily used under Kindle platform, terse, usually is clear in distinguishing parts of speech, and it can be used as the default dictionary.

Weaknesses
1. Definitions are not necessarily any...
Published on January 2, 2010 by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 98 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay. Limited as a dictionary and as a thesaurus., January 2, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Merriam-Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus (Kindle Edition)
The other reviewers appear to address the printed version rather than the Kindle-specific version. I am focusing on the Kindle Application.

Strengths -- easily used under Kindle platform, terse, usually is clear in distinguishing parts of speech, and it can be used as the default dictionary.

Weaknesses
1. Definitions are not necessarily any more complete than those from the New Oxford American Dictionary(already built-in on Kindle). Several that I used tonight were less so.

2. Definitions for one part of speech are often dependent on another definition listed for another part of speech (a weakness of many dictionaries that is annoying for more complex or unfamiliar words)
----Simple example: the word anger is both a noun and a verb, Thus they define the verb form as "to make angry".

3. Thesaurus component is okay and gives additional ideas for the verb "anger". However antonyms are very limited if the purpose is to use this as a writing resource. Very few choices.
----For example: antonyms for anger (verb) were delight, gratify and please. But other common options are missing such as calm, sooth, pacify. One would have to keep browsing and unless you set this as the default, you keep ending up in another dictionary when trying to do that.

4. Word Origins are sometimes given, mostly abbreviated and with less detail than in Kindle's Default Dictionary.

I have not compared word counts. Sheer mass of definitions is a misleading index of quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Review of the Kindle for PC version, June 30, 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "Bob Winegar" (Puyallup, WA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Merriam-Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus (Kindle Edition)
Don't buy it !

Believe it or not, there is no way to go directly to the word you are interested in; or even directly to the beginning of the section containing its starting letter !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Missing a lot for its size, January 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been using a Webster's dictionary daily when solving crossword puzzles.
I ordered this one as a replacement and I am totally disappointed in its amazing
lack of content. This Webester'[[ASIN:0877798095 Merriam-Webster's Collegiate
Dictionary, 11th Edition thumb-notched with Win/Mac CD-ROM and Online
Subscription]]s dictionary is missing an alphabet table for Greek, Arabic, and
English for example, and it is missing an currency table for countries around
the world. Also it is missing countries and states with capitals and population
information. Also it is missing famous people and pictures. Finally the size
is much larger then I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for 5th and 6th graders, October 13, 2010
My 6th grader needed a dictionary and a thesaurus for school (and my 5th grader is always asking me for synonyms) and so I headed over to one of the big book stores expecting to have to buy TWO books. I was quite happy when I saw this one, with both dictionary and thesaurus combined. (It's a lot easier to handle one book than two; it's a lot better for one book on the dining room table than two!)

The synonyms easily stand out in small little gray boxes right in the same listing as the definition. They seem to give just about the right number of synonyms so it won't overwhelm my kids. (It is not the The Synonym Finder.) It even has a concise guide to grammar in the back. This thing is perfect for my 5th and 6th graders. Five stars for that purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Budget Hunters Beware: Fails to Impress, December 22, 2011
I originally purchased this volume hoping to cut the cost of buying two separate books. As a college student, cutting corners in the pricey textbook department is almost always ideal. In this case, I regret stooping to such a measure.

I found the format confusing to navigate, particularly when switching between the Thesaurus and Dictionary modes. The Dictionary portion was SEVERELY lacking in comprehension, and I found myself turning to other resources time and time again for definitions not included in this volume. The Thesaurus was rudimentary at best, most likely curtailed by the limited space.

Overall, a great idea in need of some extensive improvement. If you have plans to use this for any serious research beyond the basic level, invest in another, more comprehensive option. Don't waste money here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Fire version is useless, September 23, 2013
By 
R. Sutcliffe (Acushnet, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Merriam-Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus (Kindle Edition)
This review is for the Kindle Fire version only. The dictionary is absolutely useless.It does not have a search function for looking for words, it does not have an index so you could at least go to the beginning letter of the word you want, it does not have page numbers so you could guess as to what might be the general area a word might be at.You have to flip through individual pages just like you are reading a book.

This is complete junk and is useless as a reference book. It would be quicker to drive to the store and by a paper bound dictionary to look the word up then it would be to use this dictionary.

I am going to be contacting the seller and asking for my money back, I will never use this dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dictionary, January 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dare I comment here. The layout of the book, the expressive description of the words and the simplicity with which such complicated work is printed make it a real joy to indulge in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Merriam-Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus (Kindle Edition)
Not user friendly.
It takes ages to find a word.
Ther is no search browser to type in the word you are looking for.
Just dont waste your money.
Webster, shame on you. You have the best dictionary but this online version is a disaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, October 4, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's good for most levels, excluding advanced readers, easy to understand, big enough font size, every student or learner should have it unless you have your computer next to you all the time. :p . Cheers...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable tool for writers, editors, September 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an indispensable tool for writers and editors. However, as a rather enormous paperback, I'm sure that it won't hold up under regular wear for very long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Merriam-Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus
$7.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.