Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Grammy Pot Pie Please!!
I switched to Merrick dog food several years ago (2007) when all the dog food seemed to be tainted with the rat poison - specificlly Aminopterin - and was getting worse by the day.

My dog is my life and I would have been devastated to know I had fed her something that would have caused the suffering and anguished death and illness that many of these pets had...
Published on October 9, 2010 by Tobucus

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Half-empty cans and greasy inconsistent ingredients
We have been feeding this to our dogs for over a year. Over the past few months, we have had a problem with the cases of Grammy's Pot Pie cans. Some cans were full of chunks of fat and a thick lard-like gravy with no veggies, and some cases were fine with chicken and veggies,etc. What happened to truth in labeling? We also had the problem with the cans being only...
Published on January 20, 2008 by C. Ivy


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Half-empty cans and greasy inconsistent ingredients, January 20, 2008
By 
This review is from: Merrick Grammy's Pot Pie Dog Food 13.2 oz (Pack of 12) (Misc.)
We have been feeding this to our dogs for over a year. Over the past few months, we have had a problem with the cases of Grammy's Pot Pie cans. Some cans were full of chunks of fat and a thick lard-like gravy with no veggies, and some cases were fine with chicken and veggies,etc. What happened to truth in labeling? We also had the problem with the cans being only half-full sometimes. Our dogs were getting bad diarhea from the fat in the food so we had to stop giving them Merrick.
They need to start testing their food again. It used to be great. Look at the old reviews from last year and before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars unfilled cans, October 10, 2007
This review is from: Merrick Grammy's Pot Pie Dog Food 13.2 oz (Pack of 12) (Misc.)
I've been feeding this wet food to my dogs for 3 years, and as my husband has said "if you through it in a crock pot and served it to me for dinner i would have no idea it was dog food." But i am a little upset with the fact that the cans aren't full. In this last case some were even only half full. I have 4 dogs and this stuff isn't cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please Think Twice..., April 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Merrick Grammy's Pot Pie Dog Food 13.2 oz (Pack of 12) (Misc.)
Please think twice about purchasing this product, especially if you have a small-breed dog. I was lured by the cute, gimmicky labeling and sold by the ingredient list, but I twice fed Merrick canned food to both of my dogs, and BOTH times, BOTH dogs were diagnosed with pancreatitis -- an illness which is dangerous, extremely painful to the animal, and which requires hospitalization. I'm not sure if the fat content in those particular cans was high, or if Merrick uses an ingredient/additive that somehow sickened both of my (unrelated) dogs, but this food made them very ill. After their second hospitalization for pancreatitis, I spoke with other folks who had stopped feeding Merrick to their small-breed dogs for the same reason -- the food caused vomiting, diarrhea, and lethargy in their pets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Grammy Pot Pie Please!!, October 9, 2010
This review is from: Merrick Grammy's Pot Pie Dog Food 13.2 oz (Pack of 12) (Misc.)
I switched to Merrick dog food several years ago (2007) when all the dog food seemed to be tainted with the rat poison - specificlly Aminopterin - and was getting worse by the day.

My dog is my life and I would have been devastated to know I had fed her something that would have caused the suffering and anguished death and illness that many of these pets had been forced to endure. So, I started to look around and found it appalling that there was such little oversight in pet food manufacture and control regarding ingredients and labelling. I knew that it was NOT natural for dogs who had been carnivores for thousands of years to be eating all this processed "scrap" and bonemeal - no matter how the companies tried to "re-label" it. I also though, knew how critical it was for animals to get critical micro-nutrients in appropriately balanced levels and it could be equally devastating for someone uneducated in animal nutrition to think that they could just 'home-cook' meals which could leave gaping holes in these essential minerals, vitamins and micro-nutrients; not to mention the ratios of fats, oils, proteins that the animals need. So, I was searching for a company I could TRUST!

I found Merrick and have not turned back! We have never been happier and use both Grammy Pot Pie Kibble as well as some of these canned dog food cans - though since 'we' are a small dog we use the "smaller" sized cans (cat food sized 5.5oz) The cans are ironically enough - filled with ingredients that you can read and UNDERSTAND. You can also go to their website and find out what any ingredient that may sound 'foreign' really is and why they used it - I found out they were almost always a natural ingredient that is an alternative to a processed chemical. I also found it comforting that particularly with the canned food I could open it and RECOGNIZE ingredients like a potato looking like a suprise, POTATO! Or a pea, carrot, etc. My dog LOVES this merrick food and has never been healthier! Our vet constantly comments on her blood work levels coming back at "perfect levels" and she is almost 9. Her coat is really healthy and probably what is noticed by most pet owners and yet not the most 'pleasant' aspect to discuss, is that she has almost NO gas (I don't give her much if any people food either) but when she is given other brands she can be really hard to sit near on ocassion :) . I think the phrase you get out what you put in applies here as well... I will not switch from Merrick food - ever! My only regret is that I did not start feeding my little four-legged one Merrick sooner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good food, May 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My dog loves merrick foods and its grain free
very good for your dog, all natural no preservatives
very healthy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, July 27, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am just passing along the 5-star rating from our three Miniature Schnauzers. This stuff is a big hit at our house. We give them each an easy to digest kibble that's good for them and put a tablespoon of Pot Pie on top. No more turned up noses now - they wolf it all down. Be sure to mix it up real good before serving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We Love Grammy's!, December 27, 2005
By 
We adopted an 8-year-old Dalmatian earlier this year, and heard lots of cautionary tales about special diet. But we couldn't pass up trying a can of this dog food--sadly, just because of the name. Well, she loves it! So now it's her special occasion food. We mix half a can with a cup of dry, 2X/day, with no nasty side effects. She also likes Wingaling and the Napa Valley offerings from this company. It's high in protein and works for us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MORE THAN A DOZEN STARS, October 2, 2007
This review is from: Merrick Grammy's Pot Pie Dog Food 13.2 oz (Pack of 12) (Misc.)
I give Merrick canned food as a treat and mix it to my dog's dry kibble (and the cat even gets a taste) every now and then. The Chicken Pot Pie smells better than any human chicken pot pie I can remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my dog loves this, June 11, 2014
By 
M. Kim (los angeles, ca) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Merrick Grammy's Pot Pie Dog Food 13.2 oz (Pack of 12) (Misc.)
my dog is a super picky eater but he goes absolutely bananas over this stuff.

thanks grammy for the pot pie. love, milkshake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars There's better options, May 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Merrick Grammy's Pot Pie Dog Food 13.2 oz (Pack of 12) (Misc.)
I love Merrick products, but not this one. It looks and smells awful and gives my dogs loose stools. The dogs seemed to like it (but not as much as other Merrick canned foods). I've given my dogs (germ sheps) many of the other flavors and they seem to like venison, buffalo, beef the best and it doesnt give them loose stool.... grammys pot pie.... i'll pass
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Merrick Grammy's Pot Pie Dog Food 13.2 oz (Pack of 12)
$28.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.