Customer Reviews


435 Reviews
5 star:
 (353)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Holiday Album
This has got to be one of the best Christmas albums ever made. Every track on this CD is spectacular and Mariah performs these tracks without changing them too much from the original classics so anyone who listens can really appreciate them. The DVD side of this is also very enjoyable, along with the new version of Santa Claus is Comin' to Town. I didn't think it was...
Published on October 25, 2005 by Oppie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mariah Little Christmas
I recenrtly "inherited" a bunch of holiday CDs and discovered something interesting. Listening to Christmas music all winter long can help keep the blahs away and the homefires glowing. Of course, when you still grinning like an idiot on Groundhog's Day and wishing people "Season's Greetings" (hey groundhogs have seasons too), people tend to take their winter doldrums...
Published on April 3, 2010 by Gregor von Kallahann


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Holiday Album, October 25, 2005
This review is from: Merry Christmas (Audio CD)
This has got to be one of the best Christmas albums ever made. Every track on this CD is spectacular and Mariah performs these tracks without changing them too much from the original classics so anyone who listens can really appreciate them. The DVD side of this is also very enjoyable, along with the new version of Santa Claus is Comin' to Town. I didn't think it was possible for even Mariah to do a better rendition than the original album version. The new version is very soulful and sounds old school, like something The Jackson 5 would've performed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album stands among the classics, November 23, 1999
This review is from: Merry Christmas (Audio CD)
I own some classic Christmas albums like Nat King Cole for example, and now, Mariah Carey's Merry Christmas. It has the catchy Christmas standards like "Joy to the World" and "Santa Clause Is Coming to Town" and there are great original tracks like "All I Want For Christmas Is You" and "Miss You Most (On Christmas Time)"----this album covers all the basic ingredients that takes to become a standard classic. Her flawless and incredibly touching vocal performance on "Oh Holly Night" sends chills down your spine and the Mariah-penned "Jesus Born On This Day" is a beautiful hymn that uses a boys' choir, an incredible production. Although I do feel that her attempt at singing gospel is not very convincing, I still find the collection of songs irresistible. When you're by the fire and contemplating your Christmas tree with a loved one, put MC's Merry Christmas on your CD player and cuddle, it doesn't get better than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Album!!!!, October 25, 2005
By 
RB Davis (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Merry Christmas (Audio CD)
The legendary Mariah Carey's updated version of Merry Christmas is nothing short of astonishing! On the second disc she updates her now classic performances from the album's original 1994 release. Her vocals are amazing and sound as good as ever as she takes these songs into the stratosphere. Mariah's singing is inspired and she demonstrates that even after 15 years in the music business she is still reaching new highs in artistry and vocal performance. Mariah has taken the best, and best-selling Christmas album ever made and made it BETTER!!! With her enormous talent fully on display, Mariah delivers a CD that is her perfect way of saying "Merry Christmas" to us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Christmas collection!, November 25, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Merry Christmas (Audio CD)
This cd is one of Mariah's best cd, her voice is on top condition, and one of the best xmas collection ever. The songs are:
1. Silent Night (9.5/10) - Mariah does a calm vesion, and it's very good.
2. All I Want For Christmas Is You (9.5/10)The classic mariah holyday song, everyone likes this one.
3. O Holy Night (10/10)- Amazing Vocals, Best Version of this song ever.
4. Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) (8.5/10) - Great Arrangement
5. Miss You Most (At Christmas Time) (9/10) - Tradicional MAriah Romantic Ballad but is Xmas Related. The Great thing here is the simple but amazing arrangement and her awesome voice, again.
6. Joy To The World (7.5/10) - unfortunately Mariah put a beat that doesn't fill here, but in the end ít becomes good.
7. Jesus Born On This Day (8.5/10) - touching song, children singing, calm, great.
8. Santa Claus Is Comin' To Town (9.5/10) - another classic song that mariah made the best version ever.
9. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing / Gloria (In Excelsis Deo)(9/10)- great vocals of Mariah and all the background singers.
10. Jesus What A Wonderful Child (9.5/10)- great gospel side of Mariah.
Overall, amazing. As someone here wrote, Mariah sings gospel very well, and should have more gospel influences on her regular records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Christmas CD on the PLANET!!!, December 10, 2005
By 
D. Welch (cincinnati, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Merry Christmas (Audio CD)
One high note from Miss Carey, and your skin then becomes covered with goosebumps. What a rare talent Mariah has, there is truly no one on this planet who possesses the vocal prowess of Mariah Carey.On this album her voice pierces you like a lighthouse guiding ships to shore. Her talent and voice is so amazing it could light a dark room, and this album displays it. Fans, and non-fans a like will love this Christmas Cd. Whether its Silent Night that warms your soul, or Jesus, Oh What a Wonderful Child that will have feeling like you just stepped out a church. All of the songs are spectacular, but wow, O Holy Night, leaves me speechless...at when she sings, "...ohh night devineee" she jumps two octaves and sings a C7 which is remarkable. People can say what they want about Miss Carey, but you cant deny that superb instrument!

You will not be disappointed by this Album, its amazing. The Dual Disc comes with God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen, and and new mix of Santa Clause is Coming to Town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 reasons for buying this album, November 25, 2005
This review is from: Merry Christmas (Audio CD)
If you agree or match 3 of the following reasons, you should buy this album with no disappointment!!

1) You didn't own the original one which was released in 1994.

2) You need a christmas album to enhance your christmas spirit and celebration.

3) You really like those Mariah's video performance from these christmas songs

4) You are Mariah's die hard fans, you will buy it anyway though you have the original one!!

5) You are new Mariah's fans

6) You are thinking about buying a x'mas present to your loved ones.

7) You own a 5.1 surround stereo system!

8) Mariah has a come back success this year, so her christmas songs would be big hits again this xmas all over the world!!!

9) $14 bucks for 12 songs plus 8 dvd videos, it worths the price!!

10) You (still) believe in Santa Claus!! : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot!, December 23, 2005
This review is from: Merry Christmas (Audio CD)
Received this today, from Amazon.com from my friend Chellie, for Christmas, from my wishlist. I'm so happy to have it because of the 2 bonus tracks and the wonderful, magical videos on the DVD side. I never realized the CD was re-released in DualDisc format until 1 month ago. I've already got the original 1994 release, which has been played so many times, it's glowing. Every year, Mariah Carey puts me into the spirit with her many styles of Christmas songs. Whether it's a gospel delight, a love ballad or a traditional Christmas song, this album brings nothing but holiday cheer to my life.

CD AUDIO SIDE:

01- Silent Night

02- All I want for Christmas Is You

03- O Holy Night

04- Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)

05- Miss You Most (At Christmas Time)

06- Joy To The World

07- Jesus Born on This Day

08- Santa Claus Is Comin' To Town

09- Hark! The Herald Angels Sing/Gloria In Excelcis Deo

10- Jesus Oh What A Wonderful Child

Bonus Tracks

11- God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen

12- Santa Claus is Comin' To Town (Anniversary Mix)

DVD SIDE:

Features: All 12 Songs in Enhanced PCM Stereo + 8 Music Videos

01- Santa Claus Is Comin' To Town <<Anniversary Mix>> (Animated Video)

01- All I Want For Christmas Is You

02- Miss You Most (At Christmas Time)

03- All I Want For Christmas Is You (J.D. Remix ANIMATED)

04- Joy To The World (Celebration Mix Video)

05- O Holy Night (Live)

06- All I Want For Christmas Is You (Black & White Video Version)

07- Joy to the World (Live at St-John The Divine)

The Booklet features the same photos as in the original 1994 release + additional info at the back for the DualDisc version. The Jewel case packaging for this item is slightly smaller than the original version, making it a nice collector's item.

Customer Notes:

- The Audio side of this disc does not conform to CD specs, therefore will not play on SOME CD and DVD players!

- FBI Anti-Piracy Warning: Unauthorized copying is punishable under federal law

- DVD Video

- NTSC Format (USA and Canada + Others)

- There is only 1 Disc in this package!!!

- When you insert the Disc with the green side up, it is for playing the DVD

- When you insert the Disc with the red side up, it is for playing the CD

- Due to the disc being double sided, it's fragile and highly sensitive to fingerprints & dirt/grease

The sound quality is clear & crisp and makes the CD a joy to listen to, even after 12 years. The CD should play in a SONY discman...given it's a newer model of discman. Some portable CD players may not be able to play it because the technology wasn't the same as now.

Upon viewing the videos, I realized just how much love & devotion Mariah puts into her singing and her onstage performances. And the home video footage in the videos is really special because we see Mariah behind the scenes, rather than all glitzy and in front of the press. Anyone who buys this item will like it more, even if they were disappointed because of some small things like songs not being included, or the CD not being expanded enough.

It still makes a lovely Christmas gift and it will continue to brighten up your Christmas holiday each time you listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merry Christmas - The Updated DualDisc, November 19, 2005
This review is from: Merry Christmas (Audio CD)
Mariah Carey's original 1994 album "Merry Christmas" has well stood the test of time, being a favorite among the casual listener to the die-hard fan. I fit in there somewhere in between the two - more than the casual listener but not quite the die-hard type. Still, this album's one of my favorites, as well.

In this particular edition, Sony BMG Music and Columbia Records have reissued the album with a bunch of new material - including two newly recorded songs "God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen" and "Santa Claus is Comin' To Town" (Anniversary Mix). Additionally, on a reverse side is a brand new DVD featuring eight Christmas music videos, including the fantastic "All I Want for Christmas is You" animated video (with clips from the classic claymated movie with Santa Claus) and the chilling "O Holy Night" performance.

The way Amazon.com has the track list set up isn't exactly clear. So I'll explain it a little bit better down here.

CD Side:

01. Silent Night

02. All I Want for Christmas is You

03. O Holy Night - (by far the best version of this song)

04. Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)

05. Miss You Most (At Christmas Time)

06. Joy to the World

07. Jesus Born On this Day

08. Santa Claus is Comin' to Town

09. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing/Gloria In Excelsis Dea

10. Jesus, Oh What A Wonderful Child

11. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlement - Bonus Track

12. Santa Claus is Comin' to Town - (Anniversary Mix( Bonus Track

DVD Side:

- The Full Album in Advanced Sound

- The Bonus Tracks in Advanced Sound

- 8 Music Videos:

a. Santa Claus is Comin' to Town - Anniversary Mix (Claymation Video)

b. All I Want for Christmas is You

c. Miss You Most (At Christmas Time)

d. All I Want for Christmas is You - JD Remix

e. Joy to the World - Celebration Mix

f. O Holy Night

g. All I Want for Christmas is You - Black and White Version

h. Joy to the World - Live Version

The Album Itself -

From the first notes of the piano and Mariah's voice during the beginning of "Silent Night", a clear, soulful impression is left on the listener. Chilling are the notes she hits in the opening number, but it's certainly not the album's peak. "All I Want for Christmas is You" is the radio smash heard all over the world, and it's slowly on its way to becoming a Christmas standard. Mariah wrote an amazing melody that will stay with you all day after listening to this track.

The third song "O Holy Night" is my personal favorite. The arragement in the all time ultimate in my opinion - no one can sing those high notes like Ms. Carey. The song has a oh-so-classy 1940s setting with modern twists and it's definately one you *won't* be skipping over. "Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)" brings the listener up to party-mode again and is one that certainly delivers.

By song five, you may begin to see a certain pattern appear: a slow song followed by a more upbeat, followed by a slow, followed by an upbeat, etc. Yes, this pattern is throughout the entire album, but instead of annoying the listener, it actually cushions the album. "Miss You Most (At Christmas Time)" is a sweet original number that many will enjoy. "Joy to the World", honestly, is the only song on the album in my opinion not to fit the standard of greatness. I just don't feel the soul in it. Others may, but I just don't feel the spark on the track.

"Jesus Born on this Day" is a GREAT vocal track, and "Santa Claus is Comin' to Town" certainly has a great spin. Mariah's voice is definitive on this song. It's anthem like - and that adds a great touch to a sheer classic. "Hark! The Herald Angels Sing/Gloria" and "Jesus Oh What A Wonderful Child" close out an absolutely incredible CD, leaving the listener in the TRUE Christmas spirit.

But wait! There's more! Thanks to this reissue, the new song "God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen" showcases Mariah's ability to sing with a very simple arrangement and I'm surprised she never released this song before! And the new "Anniversary Mix" of "Santa Claus is Comin' to Town" doesn't miss a beat. Picking right up off the 1994 version, Mariah brings the song into the 21st century with ANTHEM vocals. A little bit short maybe, but certainly not one to miss.

For the DVD Side, there's eight music videos that shine each in their own way. The highlights in my opinion are "Santa Claus is Comin' to Town" (Anniversary Mix), "O Holy Night", and "All I Want for Christmas is You".

The "Santa Claus is Comin' to Town" Anniversary Mix video is an animated claymation video, tying in with the story line of the movie with the same name. You see a new Mariah Carey claymation character in scenes of the original movie and brand new scenes fitting with her, as well. It's very cute, and definately enjoyable. The video for "O Holy Night" is not the same audio as on the album. It's a similar arragement, but changed vocally - adding excitement for the listener. And the "All I Want for Christmas is You" video is basically Mariah running around in the snow having fun with Santa Claus and a puppy dog. It's highly amusing and very adorable.

Over all, this album is certainly one not to miss. Don't buy the earlier version, because this remastered, reissued one is now available! Trust me, this is one holiday collection totally worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Christmas Season Since 1994!!!, October 30, 2005
This review is from: Merry Christmas (Audio CD)
All I can say is that this is by far one of my favorite Christmas albums ever released. This album was originally released back in 1994 and I have started and finished every Christmas season with this unforgettable album. I am so happy that Mariah re-released it!

How lucky are we that this dual disc CD/DVD has a complete DVD section of all the Christmas video's Mariah created w/ the addition of the new animated video for Santa Clause Is Coming To Town, which is absolutely adorable. Actually, it is a tie in to the Original cartoon TV classic of Santa Clause Is Coming To Town. This is a very festive moment and must have for the Holiday Season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DIVA shows how it's done, December 2, 2003
By 
Y. Sloan Standridge (Glenn Heights, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Merry Christmas (Audio CD)
Mariah Carey's "Merry Christmas" album is everything it's cracked up to be! This cd delivers 10 amazing tracks from the living legend. Her voice catapults you into a heavenly soprano stratosphere (i.e. Silent Night) and warms you with her rich alto rendition of O Holy Night.
Mariah penned three songs on this album, two of which have already been covered! "All I Want For Christmas Is You" is already deemed a classic amongst society and will most definately carry on through the years, and her beautiful gospel song "Jesus, Born On This Day" has been covered by Christian Music group Avalon.
You may debate whether to pick this one up or Whitney Houston's "One Wish" but let me tell you. Whitney's cd feels like something's missing to me. While she struggles to hit the notes in some songs (i.e. the ending of her rendition of O Holy Night), Mariah freely soars at the ending, leaving chills down your spine. Not to mention, Mariah worked very hard on this project, producing all 10 songs, writing 3 of them. This cd is more intimate and personal than Whitneys. It wasn't made to accept Mariah back into society, it was made to enjoy the warmth of Christmas.
Sure, Mariah has had her hard times, but her faith in Jesus has pulled her through and get ready for her next album! She has been working really hard and her voice has never sounded as powerful! I know, I've been to a concert recently! Thank you Mariah! You ARE THE DIVA!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Merry Christmas
Merry Christmas by Mariah Carey
Buy MP3 Album$6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.