Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buon Natale, Strega Nona
This is another wonderful book by Tomie de Paola - simple but powerful message, beautiful illustrations, great story. As usual, wise Strega Nona teaches Big Anthony (and us) an important lesson.
For Italian-American families (and anyone interested in other cultures), there is the added bonus of having a number of Italian words and Christmas traditions included in...
Published on November 21, 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars strega nona
gift for my two grandchildren-very good story they really enjoyed it -have a couple strega nona books and they love the pop up ones
Published 8 months ago by N. DeParlos


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buon Natale, Strega Nona, November 21, 2002
By A Customer
This is another wonderful book by Tomie de Paola - simple but powerful message, beautiful illustrations, great story. As usual, wise Strega Nona teaches Big Anthony (and us) an important lesson.
For Italian-American families (and anyone interested in other cultures), there is the added bonus of having a number of Italian words and Christmas traditions included in the story - from baccala to zampognari. It is great to be able to share these things with our children. And hey, if Strega Nona likes it, can baccala (dried codfish) be all that bad?
I highly recommend other Tomie de Paola Christmas books: The Legend of Old Befana, Jingle the Christmas Clown, and The Clown of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great :() One of my family's favorite books, February 24, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Merry Christmas, Strega Nona (Paperback)
I love this book. My family always reads this book when christmas is coming up. This book is about Strega Nona getting ready for christmas. She has everything ready, but then something happens. To find out read this book. If you like this book also read another christmas book called The Poinsetta by Tomie De Paola.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book to add to your Christmas collection, June 2, 2008
This review is from: Merry Christmas, Strega Nona (Paperback)
This is a great Christmas story from Tomie dePaola, author of the Strega Nona series. If you have not read Strega Nona yet, I would recommend that you start with that book, so that you are familiar with the characters and all the personality traits that they possess--especially Big Anthony. But, even of you have not read the original book, you will still enjoy the heartwarming Christmas story that focuses more on the meaning of Christmas than your typical Christmas stories that focus on gifts, Santa, and reindeer.

Strega Nona always hosts the entire town at her home for a Christmas celebration, and refuses to use her "magic" to get her work done during the holiday season, because she just does not think it is the right thing to do. As the season progresses throughout the Advent, Big Anthony is supposed to be going to town to buy things to help prepare for another Christmas celebration. But, along the way he gets "sidetracked" and Strega Nona fears that Christmas will be ruined because he has failed to get the items she needs to prepare for her dinner. I don't want to give away the rest of the story, but rest assured, that the true meaning of giving is told, and children will learn a gentle lesson about the true meaning of the spirit of Christmas.

I got this book from my local library whiloe searching through the Tomie dePaola section, but plan to buy my own copy so that we have it to ready every year during the Christmas eason. You and your children will thoroughly enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aren't you ever going to learn Big Anthony?, December 13, 2001
By 
Stephen Verhaeren (Palos Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Merry Christmas, Strega Nona (Paperback)
Strega Nona (Grandma Witch) is getting her house ready for the Christmas Eve feast, she gives every year to the people of Calabria. In fact she not the only busy that she needs help, Bamblolona helps her father the baker out at his bakery, because the people of Calabria has been asking for special cakes and cookies. That the baker can't find time to sit in the square with his friends. And Strega Nona doesn't have time to cure headaches, make love potions and get rid of warts. Every day she sends out her dishonest helper Big Anthony to get something for her. And every day he has to change the water to be nice and soft and not too salty for the Christmas stew. And Big Anthony keeps asking Strega Nona to use her magic to do it. And she keeps answering him, "No Magic at Christmas Time". Read the book to see if Strega Nona gets the food ready in time for the feast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, December 6, 2013
By 
Angela Assante (MECHANICSBURG, PENNSYLVANIA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Merry Christmas, Strega Nona (Paperback)
Another in a series of Tomie de Paola Stega Nonna books...gave this one to my great niece also. She loves reading all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May be a typo, December 28, 2010
This review is from: Merry Christmas, Strega Nona (Paperback)
My daughters enjoy the Strega Nona stories, they are a fun read and very compelling. However I do believe that Strega Nona should be Nonna with two ns, otherwise you get the Ninth Witch instead of Grandma Witch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WACKY!, April 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Merry Christmas, Strega Nona (Paperback)
Strega Nona is making a feast for Cristmas.But Big Anthony didn't get all the stuff.Strega Nona is sad because the town isn't going to have the feast.But Strega Nona doesn't know that Big Anthony has a big surprise just for her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUT OF THIS WORLD, March 7, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Merry Christmas, Strega Nona (Paperback)
The whole family is still in total delight experiencing this absolutely stunning pop up book. We all loved it, especially the grandbaby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Big Anthony., February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Merry Christmas, Strega Nona (Paperback)
Reading this book with a child is a wonderful way to explain their Italian heritage.A few Italuan words will be learned, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic book, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Merry Christmas, Strega Nona (Paperback)
Couldn't find hard cover in time for xmas. But this book is a classic and the paperback will get the job done. Both came in perfect condition, as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Merry Christmas, Strega Nona
Merry Christmas, Strega Nona by Tomie dePaola (Paperback - September 15, 1991)
$7.00 $6.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.