Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comedy Superstar on Cruise Control
If you are a Denis Leary fan this then is an essential purchase, however Denis has slowed down quite a lot as this CD could have had a lot of new material, is there any need to repeat parts of Lock N Load, after this many years. I know he has a busy time with Rescue Me (worth at least 10 stars) however this CD is worth it for the title track which you can practice in your...
Published on July 4, 2007 by Ian

versus
24 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing denis
This album was what, like 12 minutes long, had two 2 minute skits, and the rest was more or less junk except for the x-mas song which was only mildly amusing.

To top it all off, one of the song tracks was also already featured on "Lock 'n' Load", and the christmas song was repeated twice, sounding the same both times, except that one was supposed to be...
Published on May 27, 2005 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing denis, May 27, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Merry F'n Christmas (Audio CD)
This album was what, like 12 minutes long, had two 2 minute skits, and the rest was more or less junk except for the x-mas song which was only mildly amusing.

To top it all off, one of the song tracks was also already featured on "Lock 'n' Load", and the christmas song was repeated twice, sounding the same both times, except that one was supposed to be live.

Life is going to suck if you buys this, wether you're grown up or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars He's not funny anymore, November 27, 2009
By 
This review is from: Merry F'n Christmas (Audio CD)
His material has run dry. This EP misfires on all cylinders. Not funny in the least. In fact, I didn't even laugh out loud once. No Cure for Cancer had me in tears, but this is absolute garbage. Stick to TV, Denis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointed, December 2, 2006
By 
desertrose (Lancaster, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Merry F'n Christmas (Audio CD)
Perhaps there is no person more of a Denis Leary fan than I am and I give it one star. This cd reminds me of the product put out by record companies after the artist has left their label. They throw together whatever was left on the editing floor and hype it as "new" from the artist. At least I hope that is what this disaster is. I hate to think that someone as talented as Denis Leary could have put much, if any, effort into the project.

For some reason, I don't know, the video didn't come through for me. At least that would have been fun to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All the kids go to bed each night, to dream what Santa brings 'em, unless they're Jewish or Muslim or some other gyp religion., December 20, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Merry F'n Christmas (Audio CD)
This is an EP featuring Denis Leary's Christmas song "Merry F#%$in' Christmas". It is a very funny song, and there are two versions of it, a "regular" version made in a recording studio and a "live" version. The rest of the CD features skits and outtakes from his album Lock 'N Load, plus a few live stand up performances. Most of it is moderately funny, but it doesn't have anything to do with Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Merry F#%$in' Christmas?... Hardly =\, March 16, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Merry F'n Christmas (Audio CD)
After getting the first 2 cds years ago: No cure For Cancer & Lock N Load. I was hooked on Denis Leary.. He was one of if not my favorite comedian.. I was big on Adam Sandler's "They're All Going Laugh at You" but the other ones weren't as good.. Much like The latest from the cigarette smoking, coffee drinking mad man Denis Leary.. Merry F#%%$in' Christmas lacked something... It left me going "that's it?" It's lucky if its 40mins long. It's not really that great either. His previous two were ALOT better. If you're a major fan of his work you can get it.. but don't say I didn't warn you..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comedy Superstar on Cruise Control, July 4, 2007
By 
This review is from: Merry F'n Christmas (Audio CD)
If you are a Denis Leary fan this then is an essential purchase, however Denis has slowed down quite a lot as this CD could have had a lot of new material, is there any need to repeat parts of Lock N Load, after this many years. I know he has a busy time with Rescue Me (worth at least 10 stars) however this CD is worth it for the title track which you can practice in your car/truck for Christmas and sing at the family gathering as you plug your IPOD into the HiFi system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little EP for those of us who can't get enough Leary, March 6, 2006
This review is from: Merry F'n Christmas (Audio CD)
At the time of this writing, Denis Leary has only made 2 full albums, "No Cure for Cancer" and "Lock N' Load". He's got more material out there though, including certain routines from his very early stand-up performances (rants on rap music, the Morton Downey Jr. show, etc.), stand-up from his Boston shows in recent years, emcee work for some of the stand-up shows he's hosted, his Mtv commercials, comedy roasts, etc. "Merry F#%$in' Christmas" is simply a mix of new, previously released, and previously unreleased material.

I see some reviewers here have overlooked the fact that this is an EP. So naturally, it's going to be half as long as most other albums and at half the price. If you don't know the difference between the terms EP and LP, go look 'em up on Wikipedia! Again, there was a lot more they could have put on here, but an EP's an EP. Now on to what's here.

The title track "Merry F#%$in' Christmas" is, as you can probably guess, a very happy sounding Christmas song with not-so-happy lyrics. And it works, with Leary's own angrily sarcastic-toned singing style. Both a studio and a live version are included. There are also two studio tracks from the "Lock N' Load" album. I love them both, but I'm not sure why "Deaf Mute Cocktail Party" and "Insane Cowboy (In Africa)" were specifically chosen.

This leaves three tracks of live stand-up material and three bizarre studio recordings. The stand-up stuff ("Fat Guy on the Plane", "Jack Goes to School", and "Dogsledding") are all great. The three other studio tracks, "WWWW", "Coffin Rap", and "The Theme from Jesus & The Gang" sound like the bizarre songs you'd hear in between tracks on "Lock 'N Load". Not surprisingly, "WWWW" was taken from the "Lock 'N Load" sessions.

If you love the two Denis Leary albums and can't get enough, I'd say this EP is definitely worth buying. The title track and new stand-up material justifies the measly $6 or $7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total crap, January 14, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Merry F'n Christmas (Audio CD)
I would have to disagree with the previous posts. Although the christmas song was amusing, it is the worst compilation of Dennis Leary material I have heard. Do not buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spread good cheer or burn in hell..., November 22, 2004
This review is from: Merry F'n Christmas (Audio CD)
Finally something new from the great comedian Denis Leary. Unfortunatly, it's somewhat of a let-down in terms of the running time.

It's nice to hear some live routines from him that I hadn't heard before, though. The two tracks from "Lock N' Load" are unnecessary. I mean if you're purchasing this cd then chances are you already own "Lock N' Load", and don't want repeated material, but I mean for the price it is, it's worth it for the title song alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Christmas Song, November 28, 2004
This review is from: Merry F'n Christmas (Audio CD)
The new offering from Denis Leary is a great stocking stuffer. The title song is a Christmas CLASSIC! The CD is only about twenty minutes long but is an interesting mix of music, stand up, bits and oddities. The stand up material is funny and makes me wish Leary would do another stand up special. It includes the song Jesus and the

Gang (which I believe is sung by producer/cowriter Chris Phillips) from the Comedy Central spoof Contest Searchlight. My favorite bits are WWWW, a spot on parody of lite FM radio and Coffin' Rap, a cough with a beat. There are a couple of bits from Lock and Load that are out there to say the least. The CD closes with a live version of Merry F'n Christmas, the Ultimate Christmas song. I hope they advertise this CD, the last one was released without any advertising. Leary and this Christmas song deserve more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Merry F'n Christmas
Merry F'n Christmas by Denis Leary (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.