Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and Useful
I am an industry professional and I have used 3ds Max software for almost ten years now. I have read and reviewed several 3ds Max books. This isn't the greatest 3ds Max book I've ever used, nor is it the greatest 'Cheat' book I've ever used, but it is a useful book. Because I have experience with this software I find the hints and cheats easy to use; an inexperienced...
Published on February 22, 2009 by NoLongerHere

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars CD Missing Files
Great book, lousy CD. The CD is missing essential texture files (some are misnamed) - and they are not available at the book's useless web site, or the Focal Press web site either. Maybe they have fixed the CD for the 2010 version. The tutorials are actually great, but forget about doing some of them without the textures. Very sloppy! And irritating.
Published on April 5, 2010 by KOGNYC


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and Useful, February 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mesa College 3ds Max Bundle: How to Cheat in 3ds Max 2009: Get Spectacular Results Fast (How to Cheat in) (Paperback)
I am an industry professional and I have used 3ds Max software for almost ten years now. I have read and reviewed several 3ds Max books. This isn't the greatest 3ds Max book I've ever used, nor is it the greatest 'Cheat' book I've ever used, but it is a useful book. Because I have experience with this software I find the hints and cheats easy to use; an inexperienced user would find this book difficult and maybe even unusable. The author writes as if he and the reader are having a one-on-one discussion, and assumes the reader is fully aware of what he is talking about. It is not a, "click here, then click here" type of book, which is the usual format for a volume of tutorials. Instead this book reads like a guide book.

I would recommend this to anyone wanting to learn a few new tricks or improve their lighting, texturing or modeling skills with quick and easy mini-projects. I would not recommend this book to anyone looking for straight forward tutorials, or anyone who is not very familiar with the 3ds Max environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource, June 23, 2008
By 
CAD Guy (Cleveland, OH USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mesa College 3ds Max Bundle: How to Cheat in 3ds Max 2009: Get Spectacular Results Fast (How to Cheat in) (Paperback)
How to Cheat in 3ds Max 2009 provides an outstanding series of examples of how to approach a task with an eye toward a streamlined process and quality output. The concepts and procedures are clearly defined so that anyone with a basic knowledge of 3ds Max can incorporate them into their own projects to save time and effort. The words "why didn't I think of that?" will undoubtedly go through your mind when you see Michele's approach to some of the more time consuming parts of a project.

I like the fact that, rather than following a single project from the beginning of the book through the end, this text is organized by subject and task so that the readers can go straight to the subject that interests them and jump in. If you're interested in completing your 3ds Max projects in the least amount of time then this book would be a great addition to your 3ds Max library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly What You Want, June 4, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mesa College 3ds Max Bundle: How to Cheat in 3ds Max 2009: Get Spectacular Results Fast (How to Cheat in) (Paperback)
This book isn't for the newbie - but it can help the newbie. It's exactly what it says - a way to achieve various effects and modeling quickly and efficiently. It doesn't have exercises to make the next full length animated feature but it can help you save time, money and energy for smaller projects. It's written in an-easy-to-understand fashion but it does glaze over basic processes and tools. If you have a basic understanding of 3D modeling, it's a great book. If you are completely new to 3D, learn a little and then buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet, January 8, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mesa College 3ds Max Bundle: How to Cheat in 3ds Max 2009: Get Spectacular Results Fast (How to Cheat in) (Paperback)
As other reviewers have mentioned, this book is directed to users who already have some comfort with 3ds max. There is not a lot of hand-holding here. The book is ideal for someone getting back up to speed after some time away from the program or who is trying to fill in some gaps in existing knowledge.

The biggest plus of this book: NO EXTRA FLUFF. Most computer/software manuals, in my experience, at tons of garbage, pointless chummy chatter from "authors" -- all to justify the obscene prices.

This book is nice and concise. Very refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better books on 3DS Max, December 4, 2008
This review is from: Mesa College 3ds Max Bundle: How to Cheat in 3ds Max 2009: Get Spectacular Results Fast (How to Cheat in) (Paperback)
This is a great buy. I have been using 3ds Max for 8 years now and I am pretty comfortable with the program, yet this book shined a light on some areas that I wasnt all that great in. Its easy to follow and easy to read. A great reference for the seasoned vet to the beginner. A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Book that Put the FUN back in 3d Modeling, October 27, 2011
This review is from: Mesa College 3ds Max Bundle: How to Cheat in 3ds Max 2009: Get Spectacular Results Fast (How to Cheat in) (Paperback)
This is a great book for intermediate users. If you know your way around Max, but are struggling with modeling, then this will make your life A LOT simpler.
If you think you know a lot of cool tricks already, (as I did) you probably still will find A LOT of useful tips.
It's obvious that the author is speaking from many years of experience, and sometimes one simple tip, can make a world of difference.

In short:

-> it's a fun book.
-> it's for intermediate, or advanced users.

-> it's exactly what I needed, and it basically changed how I look at 3d modeling.

I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Max made simple, April 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mesa College 3ds Max Bundle: How to Cheat in 3ds Max 2009: Get Spectacular Results Fast (How to Cheat in) (Paperback)
This is a good guide for doing things fast and good in Max. Good for people who is instrested in learn a bit of every field of Max
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars CD Missing Files, April 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mesa College 3ds Max Bundle: How to Cheat in 3ds Max 2009: Get Spectacular Results Fast (How to Cheat in) (Paperback)
Great book, lousy CD. The CD is missing essential texture files (some are misnamed) - and they are not available at the book's useless web site, or the Focal Press web site either. Maybe they have fixed the CD for the 2010 version. The tutorials are actually great, but forget about doing some of them without the textures. Very sloppy! And irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3ds Max Cheats, January 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mesa College 3ds Max Bundle: How to Cheat in 3ds Max 2009: Get Spectacular Results Fast (How to Cheat in) (Paperback)
Good for the 3ds Max user who already has some skill with the software. Good for the 3ds Max user who already has some skill with the software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Your get up to speed guide, November 29, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mesa College 3ds Max Bundle: How to Cheat in 3ds Max 2009: Get Spectacular Results Fast (How to Cheat in) (Paperback)
I have been using 3D Max from Dos days. Thats right, it did one day run on DOS. I did buy 3D Studio when it was version 2.5. I then put this down to rest for many years. Keen to jump back in again I had lost all the skills I learn with my lack of not keep up with the game.
This books is the ticket for someone that want to re-fresh the brain cells and get into the game again fast.
I loved it and have given it 3 stars.
But... I would not say it is for everyone. If you are new to 3D Studio Max, this would not be top on your list and you would want to be looking for a bigger more in depth book on the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mesa College 3ds Max Bundle: How to Cheat in 3ds Max 2009: Get Spectacular Results Fast (How to Cheat in)
$39.95 $28.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.