Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Psychodynamics of Small Towns
Threads of the past weave through this interesting film about small town folks and their loyalties to each other when it comes to intervention from the outside - even to the defense of homicide. Josh Sternfeld wrote and directed this little thriller with a small cast of young actors who may just be more noticed after this dramatic effort.

Two boys - Eddie...
Published on December 23, 2010 by Grady Harp

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars average at best
The positive reviews here for Meskada are sort of puzzling to me. Not only does the movie not show the actual murder in the beginning (which is crucial by the way since showing the murder makes those who are guilty more enticing to watch) but the characters never really interact with any excitement either.

Basically a few guys have committed a horrible crime-...
Published on June 13, 2012 by B. E Jackson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Psychodynamics of Small Towns, December 23, 2010
By 
This review is from: Meskada (DVD)
Threads of the past weave through this interesting film about small town folks and their loyalties to each other when it comes to intervention from the outside - even to the defense of homicide. Josh Sternfeld wrote and directed this little thriller with a small cast of young actors who may just be more noticed after this dramatic effort.

Two boys - Eddie Arlinger (Kellan Lutz) and Shane Loakin (Jonathan Tucker) - drifters who go on the road to rob houses and sell their goods to pawn shops through their relationship with a bar girl (Grace Gummer, another of Meryl Streep's daughters) - accidentally kill a little boy during a robbery in Hilliard. The boy happens to be the son of a Meskada County Commissioner ( Laura Benati). Young small town detective Noah Cordin (Nick Stahl) and his new partner Leslie Spencer (Rachel Nichols) are brought in to solve the crime despite the fact that the town sheriff (Michael Sirow) and cohort (Michael Cerveris) think they can handle the matter themselves: much of the clash is bringing in an outside detective who grew up in a poor small town not far from Hilliard, viewed as interference. The local Bar owner Billy (James McCaffrey) and Shane's brother-in-law Dennis (Norman Reedus) fight to protect Eddie and Shane, but events occur that reveal the true identity of the killer after a showdown between the out of town detective and the townsfolk that come to grips with a situation no one wants to explore.

While the story leaves some gaping holes unresolved, the script does manage to capture the small town loyalties that often avoid reality. Adding the aspect of how the national economy is affecting the livelihood of small town residents heightens the tension. The young cast is very fine, especially the key performance by Jonathan Tucker. Heartthrob Kellan Lutz and Grace Gummer provide the sensual interest and Nick Stahl continues to impress as an actor on the ascent. Newcomer Michael Sirow is an actor to watch as is Grace Gummer. In all this is an entertaining film that has the courage to not 'make nice' the unsettling problems of backwoods small town ethics. Grady Harp, December 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Trick on an Old Dog, March 25, 2011
By 
Eric Sanberg (Berwyn, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Meskada (DVD)
On the surface we've seen this before. A small town detective is put on a case involving a somewhat politically prominent person. Here, it's a woman whose young son has been murdered during a home invasion. The evidence leads him back to his home town where he finds that solving the case involves more than connecting the dots.

What makes this worth watching is that not as much time is spent working clues and putting 2 and 2 together. Most of the time is spent on the people involved. There are no real "bad" or "good" people here. No sneering villains or femme fatales and no Dudley Do-Rights. This involves a town that's on it's heels and fighting for survival, and its residents have fallen on hard times. Nick Stahl, as the detective, just wants to do his job. He grew up with most of these people and has to conduct his investigation without seeming to be a heartless outsider coming down on the white trash. Then a certain thing happens that makes him question the moral fiber of the people signing his paycheck. This is a very complex movie. I cannot say I've ever seen anything quite like it and that made it a real gem in my book. Something else that is cool here is that he is assigned a young, pretty female partner for the case and the producers/director leave it alone. No cheating. No sexual tension. No oneupsmanship between the two. Just two professionals working toward a common goal. This movie never takes the low road.

I've seen Nick Stahl in a couple of movies and I can't say I've been all that impressed. Well, after this outing I'm changing my tune. He does a sweet job here, as do most of the rest of the cast. I can't say I recognized many of the names when they popped up in the opening credits, but I knew who most of them were when I saw them. It's a good ensemble cast.

The movie understands what it's all about. It looks as though it were made on a modest budget. No fancy this, that or the other thing. But the money they had appears well spent. It has a good, down home look. Good use is made of the outdoor settings and the indoor sets feel real. You feel as though you're dealing with actual people and not cardboard cut-outs. For instance, the relationship one of the perps has with his sister and nephew really drives home what this movie is all about. You rarely get this sort of thing out of Hollywood.

If you want the same old same old there is plenty of stuff out there. If your looking to walk the road less traveled, then this is where you want to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars average at best, June 13, 2012
By 
This review is from: Meskada (DVD)
The positive reviews here for Meskada are sort of puzzling to me. Not only does the movie not show the actual murder in the beginning (which is crucial by the way since showing the murder makes those who are guilty more enticing to watch) but the characters never really interact with any excitement either.

Basically a few guys have committed a horrible crime- they killed someone and try to play it cool by not saying anything about it to anyone. Eventually the investigation team adds up all the clues and, well, you can guess what happens. The point is, everything that *leads* to the predictable conclusion is uninteresting. These guys have regular conversations you'd expect from a group of smalltown country boys, go about their lives normally and only when the cops ask questions and raise more suspicion do the murderers ever get concerned. I was actually bored watching such cliched writing. Flat out bored. Very little happens for the first hour in fact.

Oh and the worst part? When suddenly all the clues just happened to be put together magically, which was done for convenience sake on the part of the movie writers. I HATE when the clues are suddenly put together without a convincing explanation because it just screams laziness thanks to terrible and perhaps unfocused/undeveloped writing. It's insulting too. I wasted an hour of boredom just for *that?* Basically a cop out (no pun intended).

It's just not very interesting from a storyline perspective. I guess there are a few moments that save the film from disaster. One, we're never really sure which one of the boys committed the murder until later, and two, the action DOES pick up near the end (when the one female cop takes a beating for example). Other than that, nothing special about Meskada at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder Is Bad But Local Politics Are Deadly--An Effective, If Unremarkable, Entry In The Crime Genre, March 11, 2011
This review is from: Meskada (DVD)
On the surface, "Meskada" would seem to be a film that has everything going for it. With an attractive and appealing cast involved in a tale of class struggle, local politics, and murder--I was pretty excited to discover a genuine sleeper. But, despite many worthy elements, the film falls short of must-see entertainment for one reason. While at times the film veers into more far fetched territory (mostly in the realm of ruthless local politics), it is the utter familiarity that eventually undermines the better aspects of this tale. Nothing seemed particularly fresh. It's easy to watch this film, it may even be easy to like this film, but it lacks anything to really differentiate it in the overstuffed crime genre market. That's not to say it isn't worthy of a look--I just don't think I'll remember it at all in a few months.

With the murder of a Meskada County councilwoman's son, Nick Stahl (a local police man) is assigned to track down the culprits. Aided by a county cop (Rachel Nichols), the two stumble on a rather explicitly convenient bit of evidence that leads them to suspect the murderers live in a neighboring town. It happens to be where Stahl grew up, so the two use past connections to pinpoint town members who travel for work in this down-turned economy. This isn't a mystery, however, we know that this is a home invasion gone wrong perpetrated by n'er-do-wells Kellan Lutz and Jonathan Tucker. The film delivers the requisite small town moments--Tucker is assisting his ill nephew, Lutz is romancing a local waitress, Stahl hangs around for a rather uneventful fair. But we're just biding time until the eventual revelations are exposed.

Through it all, we see the influence of street justice and political manipulation. A employment opportunity and economic boon is threatened for the locals until this unseemly matter can be resolved to everyone's satisfaction. This results in short cuts and cover-ups. Stahl is good (I've always thought he should have been bigger), but never really developed into a full bodied character. His wife and child are barely seen--he is presented only in the context of this investigation. Nichols is even more of a cipher--willing to put her professional reputation on the line doing rogue policework with a virtual stranger. The culprits are rather unremarkable and the increasing mob mentality in several factions tends to be distracting and unbelievable. Still I liked the actors, even if their characters weren't particularly distinguished. The film is fairly solid--although it fails to capitalize on the morally ambiguous dilemmas it creates--and I was entertained, if unmoved. About 3 1/2 stars--I could easily go either way on rounding--but I'll move it up for the cast. KGHarris, 3/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALWAYS BLAME THE WORKING GUY, June 5, 2011
This review is from: Meskada (DVD)
Two small town guys (Kellan Lutz,Jonathan Tucker) burglarize a home. A 10 minute job, in and out. After an interesting set of connected credits (metaphor for connecting the dots in a case) we see a young dead boy in the same home, hit by a phone by a burglar. The woman who owns the house is a person of means and influence. Noah Cordin (Nick Stahl) becomes the lead investigator on the case, going through trash cans etc. His new partner is Leslie Spencer (Rachel Nichols) who, in this movie reminds me of Jodi Foster.

Noah finds a clue which takes him back to his own hometown, a small blue collar community. Most of the guys work construction on the road and he wants to talk to them all. And remember, in all Indie films, blue collar workers chew, chop, and slurp their food while they are trying to talk at the same time. Leslie stays in the background while Noah plays hometown boy to infiltrate the group. This works well until county politics gets involved in a way that hampers his investigation.

Good acting. Well scripted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meskada, March 22, 2011
This review is from: Meskada (DVD)
Good movie, great cast! Easy to watch, very enjoyable. If you are a fan of any of the cast members in this movie then it is a definite must see. Also, this is one of Grace Gummer's, Meryl Streep's daughter, first movies and I am sure we will be seeing many more films from her in years to come. Add in Norman Reedus "Boondock Saints", Rachel Nichols "G.I. Joe" "Criminal Minds", Kellan Lutz "Twilight", Nick Stahl "Terminator 3", and James McCaffrey "Rescue Me" and you have a movie that you will want in your collection for a long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved the movie, not crazy about the ending!, March 12, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meskada (Amazon Instant Video)
This was a good movie. there was a few bad actors, Not Norman Reedus of course. I was expecting a better ending....not sure how, but felt it was unfinished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but kind of slow, February 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meskada (DVD)
I watched Meskada because I am a huge Norman Reedus fan. He is not a huge character in this flick but is as amazing as ever. The other actors were very good also, given the slow-moving plot. Overall I am glad I watched but. probably wouldn't seek it out to watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very surprising ending shows how some towns can keep a secret, December 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meskada (DVD)
I got this for Norman Reedus wish he had more of a part in this movie but it was good but the ending surprised me shows who will stick with who in a small town and some people don't want to know the truth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good cast!, June 25, 2013
By 
Megan Huston (HIGHTSTOWN, NJ, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meskada (Amazon Instant Video)
I have to admit i purchased the movie cuz im a huge norman reedus fan. Thought the movie was good had decent b list ensemble cast. The plot was good and i was surprised by the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Meskada
Meskada by Josh Sternfeld (DVD - 2011)
$9.98 $8.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.