Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc A. Sinclair Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick The Baby Store Shop now Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation SnS

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$9.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 19, 2013
Being a long time MGS fan, my hopes were not particularly high with this game. The absurd title, the ludicrous box art (which looks like something from the 90s), the temporary cancellation of the project, and the departure from the MGS tradition, all led me to believe that this was a disaster in the making (despite Platinum's fine track record). Fortunately, I've been pleasantly surprised by the quality of this game... "Rising" is a blast to play for anybody who enjoys action games (whether you're an MGS fan or not).

Foremost, the game does manage to retain the feeling that it's actually occurring inside the MGS universe, despite its over-the-top nature (and in terms of physics, anything our protagonist does in "Rising" is not far from what Vamp achieved in MGS2 and 4). Longtime fans will be pleased by the inclusion of familiar sights, sounds, and themes, even if the gameplay is radically different. Raiden, of course, returns, and his inclusion as the protagonist is bound to please any MGS fan who has wanted to step into the shoes of a ninja on the level of the legendary Gray Fox.

The heart of this game, like any action title, is its combat mechanics, and here "Rising" shines. Raiden moves with an effortless grace, and when he strikes, it carries a convincing "weight" that exceeds even the likes of "God of War" and "Bayonetta". His "ninja run" while goofy in name, is a blast to execute, as are his assortment of magnificent combos.

When it comes to Japanese wackiness, I've pretty much seen it all at this point in my life. Giant robots, ninjas, and cyborgs generally come off as tired and cliched to me, but somehow, "Rising" makes these concepts seem fresh and EXCITING. What's the secret? The game uses a beautiful style of presentation that is incredibly slick, resulting in an artistic, vibrant mode of visual storytelling that is a pleasure to behold. Despite the ludicrous dialogue, mediocre voice acting, and marginal plot, the game's visual flair picks up the slack, and makes this somewhat-cheesy story work. It takes cyborg-ninjas (the "Winds of Destruction" are on par with finest of MGS bosses), and makes them viable, turning them into showmen that are simply a blast to watch and engage with. The gameplay is nicely balanced with expertly rendered cut scenes that always impress, and are kept to lengths that are actually appropriate (another breaking from MGS tradition). This game is so visually impressive, it actually made me want a bigger TV, to better digest the spectacle!

The limitations of this game are as follows: The camera will fight against you a bit too often, particularly during blade mode, when it will inexplicably perform a 180 and send you facing the wrong way (while you're using your limited energy to pull off this special move). I hope this is corrected with a future patch. Another weak spot is that the mechanics, while largely intuitive, could have been explained much better during the game. I must have missed the part where they tell you how to parry (a skill you need in order to even get past the first boss, much less complete the game), and I actually had to go online to figure out how to do it. There is no explanation of parrying anywhere in the menus. Hint: Press "square" (X on the 360) and flick the analog stick at the incoming attack at just the right moment, in order to parry.

The greatest weakness, however, is an ill-fitting soundtrack that simply does not fit with the world of MGS. Fortunately, you can go into the options from the menu and turn the music level down, while leaving the sound effects at their normal level. The soundtrack was a point of contention where Platinum butted heads with Konami. I feel that Platinum should have yielded to the judgement of Kojima and Konami on this subject, and once more retained the superb services of composer Harry Gregson-Williams.

I rate "Rising" at 4, possibly 4.5 stars. Depending on the enjoyment that can be gleaned from additional play-throughs and the acquisition of unlockables, I may bump that rating up to 5 stars. This is by no means the best Metal Gear game, but it's a fantastic, thrilling ride by any measure.
55 comments|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2013
Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is best not thought of as another entry into the Metal Gear series, but as another Platinum action game. Platinum has emerged this generation as one of the absolute finest developers of frantic, crazy, yet wonderfully crafted action games. Their previous 2 releases, Bayonetta and Vanquish, are among the absolute best in their respective genres, and while Metal Gear Rising doesn't quite reach the heights of those games, it's still a must-play for any fan of action games of this type.

In Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance, you take control of the cyborg ninja Raiden, star of Metal Gear Solid 2, and the scene-stealer from Metal Gear Solid 4. The plot in this game, like in all of Platinum's games, is pretty absurd and and the developers seem to know it. There are some Metal Gear-esque moments in the plot here, but don't expect anything remotely close to the brilliance on display in Hideo Kojima's Metal Gear Solid games. This game is all about the gameplay, and in that regard MGR delivers.

Metal Gear Rising's combat reminded me of Bayonetta's to a degree. While it doesn't quite nail that silky smoothness that Bayonetta did, Metal Gear Rising's combat is still incredibly fast, deep, and exciting. Raiden is an extremely capable fighter in the hands of a gamer who takes the time to learn how Raiden works. There's a learning curve here, but once you get past it, Raiden will feel like an extension of the player, slicing and dicing enemies to shreds. One thing that will take some getting used to is the Parry command, which takes the place of the traditional dodge move that most action games of this type utilize. It's rough at first, but once you learn how it works, you'll appreciate how it leaves enemies vulnerable to counterattacks. You'll be scored after each battle on how well you performed, encouraging replayability. The core battle mechanic centers around a "blade mode" where everything moves into slow motion and Raiden can use the right analog stick to slice enemies into pieces from any angle, including the ability to hit vital organs which refuel Raiden's energy. It's a brilliant mechanic that never gets old throughout the entire campaign.

The game performs extremely well, too. The game runs at a smooth 60 frames per second, which makes all the combat and crazy happenings all around Raiden look even better. Aside from some really bad music during certain battles, the game sounds great as well. The game's major weakness is the camera, which seems to sit a bit too close behind Raiden, and can get really wonky at times.

Overall, Metal Gear Rising is an easy recommendation to action gamers who like depth to their combat and are willing to put in some time to learn how the game works. Like Bayonetta and Vanquish, this is a game that rewards patient gamers who work to build their skill and aren't expecting a game with pick-up-and-play combat like Darksiders or God of War. Very fun and fast-paced game! I had a great time with it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2015
Metal Gear Solid is easily my favorite video games series, when Rising was announced I was skeptical to say the least, after nearly a year of radio silence on the game Hideo Kojima announced that they were cancelling the project and handing it over to Platinum Games with the new subtitle of Revengence. Now THAT perked my interest, Platinum was responsible for some of the most over the top, action packed, crazy ass situation games of this generation, I couldn't imagine a more perfect developer for an action based Metal Gear game. All of my hopes and prayers were answered with this game, the game runs perfectly smooth and the gameplay is so over the top and crazy that you can't help but smile, everything works perfectly to make a balanced experience that at times truly tests your skills. While the story is much,much MUCH more simple than the ones found in the main series, I still found it fun and it's still full of MGS campy fun, and if this is your first Metal Gear game, don't worry, you truely don't need to know much of the past games to figure out what's going on and who's who. My main complaint with this game is it's length, my first play through took me just over five hours to beat, but there was no filler and I honestly would rather have a short but extremely polished game than a RPG with 20 hours of added padding. If you're a fan of Devil May Cry, Bayonetta, Onimusha or Ninja Gaiden, you owe yourself to play this game, it'll easily be the best 10 dollars you'll ever spend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2015
Your a cyborg ninja,could leave it at that, but it is one of the most fluid, fast paced hack and slash games I've ever seen that dosn't get old very easily. Make God of War seem slow. Some of the same concepts but no stop and press square circle triangle to perform a standard attack, it is always unique in that the strikes come from your stance-very realistic in the way of the high guard or how ever you choose to hold your sword with the sticks and then pressing a variety of buttons. Very challenging imo but fun. And you protect humans and destroy cyborgs so no regrets going all out on killing sprees. Big bosses are also cyborgs. Really cant say enough about how fun the game is, It is like UFC undisputed except your free to roam and slick through bout everything. I'd give it 6 stars if I could.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2015
WARNING: This review contains spoilers for those who have not played the game.

Metal Gear is by far one of the most celebrated franchises in all of video game history. Personally speaking, it is my all time favorite game series and I have replayed most of the main series time and time again (still need to play Peace Walker and the original pre-MGS MG titles).

When I first heard of a hack-and-slash spin-off of the series, I was a bit skeptical like many fans were. While I thought Raiden redeemed himself as a character during the events of MGS4, I was unsure how the Metal Gear verse would transition into a fast paced hack and slash action game. However, these doubts were put to rest when I learned the game was being developed by Platinum Games, who previously released one of the most celebrated games in the hack and slash genre, Bayonetta.

What can I say about the result? It's some of the most fun I've ever had playing a game.

Story wise, MGRR takes place 4 years after the events of MGS4, where cyborgs have become the standard for warfare. The Prime Minister has been kidnapped by cyborgs, and Raiden decides he's a bad enough dude to rescue the PM (bonus points if you get the reference).

After only a few minutes of tutorials, you're then thrown into an incredibly fun boss fight, which will be covered in a later part of this review.

Afterwards, Raiden was unsuccessful in his attempt to save the PM and is humiliated by antagonist Jetstream Sam, nearly dying after their battle. Raiden ends up being saved, repaired, powered up, and is now sent to take out terrorists that were in bed with a major corporation. Story wise, it is not nearly as important to this game as the previous titles were. For the context of the game, it works out as this is an action-oriented game as opposed to story-oriented.

So how is the game play? Let's find out!

The game play for MGRR eschews the traditional Metal Gear stealth for fast paced sword combat, similar to Devil May Cry or Ninja Gaiden. You'll be fighting your way through mobs of grunt enemies and elite soldiers to the end of each stage, which usually has a boss fight. A central mechanic is the "Zandatsu," meaning "cut and take." Upon entering Blade Mode, you'll be in a bullet-time state where you can make precision slashes on your enemies' bodies, and cutting along a certain marker will result in Raiden ripping out their electrolyte spine and absorbing it to restore life and your Blade Mode energy meter.

Now time to talk about the best part of the combat: the boss fights.

MGRR has some of the best boss fights I have played against in a video game. The opening boss, a modified Metal Gear RAY is an introduction to how Platinum covers boss fight, usually in a cinematic, larger than life feel. Even better is the boss music. When you pass certain phases in a fight, you'll be treated to a shift in music where the theme gets a vocal remix for the rest of the boss' phase. And believe me, it gets you PUMPED and ready for more.

And replay value? This game has loads of replay value as well. You have 5 difficulties, many titles to unlock, new weapons, new costumes, items that let you have infinite blade mode, replaying the levels to get that S-rank, etc. I have put in nearly 140 hours of time into this game and still have stuff to unlock. To say I got my money's worth is an understatement.

Verdict:
If you're a long time Metal Gear fan expecting another game in the traditional play style, you'll be disappointed and not likely to play this. If you're a fan of action games, fast-paced combat, killer boss fights, games you can replay over and over without getting bored, and generally like having fun in a game, you won't be disappointed one bit. And with the current Amazon Prime price at a mere $8, it's a steal for all this content!

9/10
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2015
Metal Gear Rising is a great title for any action game or Metal Gear fan, with a good deal of interesting setpieces and crazy boss fights. The fast-paced combat offers a good deal of challenge without becoming impossible, although some of the game's flaws will cause you to take a few cheap hits. Every character action / spectacle fighter has some form of combo system, and Revengeance is no different. The two things that separate MGR from the rest of the pack are its Parry and Blade Mode systems. Parry allows the player (assuming they're quick enough and can see the red glint on the screen) to deflect attacks by tilting the left stick towards the incoming attack and pressing the light attack button. This knocks the attacker off-balance, allowing you to kick their butt in retaliation. Combine this with Blade Mode, and you can clear a room of enemies in no time at all. Blade Mode lets you slow down time and carefully control the angle of your next flurry of slices. It is a bit of a gimmick, but is still satisfying to pull off (especially when dispatching a boss.)

Unfortunately, the camera holds close to Raiden, especially in tight areas, which aren't really conducive to the way the game plays. The combat works best when you have room to breathe, which some areas lack.

Overall, it's worth a play, especially if you can find it for cheap. It's also worth mentioning that the Bladewolf and Sam chapters are free on PSN if you're in North America.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2014
After Metal Gear 4 setting the bar so high, this version was a weak installment. While I did enjoy the swordplay and fighting techniques, the novelty became old, and I ended up button-mashing to beat every enemy. Most of the bosses just came out of left field, with some never being introduced, so I ended up not caring about any of them. There were a few villains that appears throughout the game, but their fights felt anti-climactic.

I almost want to give this 4 stars, only because I paid $10 for it, and it did give me enough entertainment to want to play it to the end.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2014
Going into it, you know it's a Platinum game. And Platinum is known for balls-out action games. Boy does Rising fit right in there. The combat system works extremely well, the graphics are quite nice, and everything runs at an excellent framerate. The story might come off as trivial and dumb, but you have to go into it viewing it as a parody and deconstruction of the Metal Gear Solid mythos. It takes itself extremely seriously but it jokes about it the whole way through, chuckling and nudging you with its elbow, whispering, "You see this s***?" The music is a perfect match to it, blaring cheesy vocal speed metal (think Dragonforce) at you that I normally wouldn't be really into. But in the context of the game it is SO excellent. I plan to buy the soundtrack sometime and blast it in the car and get every speeding ticket there is. The cut scenes are quite mild in length for a Metal Gear game. I honestly loved every minute of every MGS cut scene, but can see how they might not appeal to some. Here they never over-stay their welcome. The voice acting is well done and campy, and animated actors on-screen really have a lot of personality despite their thin backstories. The game is a bit short, being around 6 hours long, but here's the thing: if you beat it, you're going to want to play it again. Probably on a higher difficulty. The combat system is so fluid and fun and it's framed so well in the silly story that you just can't get enough. If you go into it for a Metal Gear Solid game, it might not be your thing. But if you want an A+ action game within the MGS universe, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2014
So for a gamer who has played quite a few games with swords in them, I can tell you this is one of the few that has pretty good swordplay. There is only one series (or 2 games) that seemed better, and that series was the Jedi Knight franchise (Jedi Knight: Jedi Outcast, and Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy). This game beats them in graphics but the sword play could possibly have been slightly better though I know its hard since very few game companies have been able to do sword play that well in the past.

I will admit iv NEVER been interested in the Metal Gear franchise. The only reasons this game got my attention was cause the main character always seemed cool and bad ass (as well as funny in some cases) and also the sword play looked really good.

He mainly only uses a sword for everything. He also has an ability to where you can slow down the perception of time in a way and be able to pin point which directions you want to slice. Then it speeds up and he does it quite fast. You even fight giant robot things which can be quite fun. It took a little time getting used to how to do some stuff but once I figured it out the game because quite fun.

Pros:
1. Good swordplay
2. Cool graphics
3. Some bits of humor thrown in
4. Metal Gear type stuff (if your into that stuff)
5. A cool character you play as

Cons:
1.Metal Gear type stuff (if your not into that stuff)
2. Cut scenes can get in the way sometimes, or having to slow down and walk while your on a call with someone between missions.
3. Can be a bit difficult at first until you figure out how everything works.
4. The final boss battle can be difficult until you figure it out.
5. Doesn't look like we will get a sequel anytime soon. :(

So for a game it might not be the best out there. But as a sword game its pretty darn good. Even if your not a fan of the metal gear franchise if your looking for a great sword fighting game you might want to pick this game up. There aren't many out there that have done a better job with sword fighting unfortunately. Well that's my review hope it helped.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2015
Just got it. I wanted to get this when it first came out. After trying the demo, I liked the blade mode. You can combine it with the regular repetitive attacks which gives you the freedom to be more creative. The acting so far is like watching a good anime. The controls are intuitive. Just know what you can do and know when to use it. I'm just trying to get better at parrying for now. It looks really cool when it's executed correctly. This game is fun so far and got it under $10 new. This one is a keeper/collector's item. I haven't had this much fun since Devil May Cry 3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 18 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.