Customer Reviews


182 Reviews
5 star:
 (138)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars as a collectors item, just about there
As far as value goes, this is superb. These games are really worth so much more than other games on the market as far as production value and depth go. They are absolutely timeless. Content-wise, this is certainly five stars.

You may be interested to know about this set however...

The games are not individually shrink wrapped. In fact, the shrink...
Published on March 21, 2008 by W. Herrmann

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Depends On Gaming Preferences
MGS1 and MGS2 aren't missing anything from previous releases. As mentioned by other reviews, the main downside to this collection is the exclusion of Disc 2 from MGS3.

Whether or not you should buy this set depends on the type of consumer you are:

This set is great if you are a casual gamer (someone that doesn't care about 100% completing a game) or...
Published 7 months ago by Joshua


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars as a collectors item, just about there, March 21, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Essential Collection (Video Game)
As far as value goes, this is superb. These games are really worth so much more than other games on the market as far as production value and depth go. They are absolutely timeless. Content-wise, this is certainly five stars.

You may be interested to know about this set however...

The games are not individually shrink wrapped. In fact, the shrink wrap didn't even cover the whole box set and there's an opening on the side which the games "bindings" are. I could almost slip out the games without messing with the shrink wrap at all.

Also, the first game is on a ps1 disc and you need a ps1 memory card or ps3 to save like A. Pintor said. "Metal Gear Solid" is still on 2 discs so the set is 4 discs total.

All the discs are black with white font. So they match as a set but look different than the original released version discs.

Each game has a pretty meaty manual as well that match the front and back of their respective game case.

yup, if you're missing just one game in this series, its worth picking up the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essentially Awesome, May 16, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Essential Collection (Video Game)
The Metal Gear Solid Essential Collection is a great way to play all that has come before the highly anticipated Metal Gear Solid 4 is released.

I have heard alot of griping because the second disc from Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence is NOT included. Though I was a bit peeved about this at first, I do own an original copy of Subsistence which included the original versions of Metal Gear 1 and 2 from the Japanese MSX and I can understand Konami's decision in this regard.

The main draw of the 2nd disc of Persistence was Metal Gear Online. The serves have long been shut down and it would be pointless to release a game you can't even play any longer.

I've also heard much griping about Metal Gear Solid (1) being on two CD-ROM discs instead of a DVD-ROM. Use some logic here folks: Konami is giving you Three games for under $30. The original Metal Gear Solid is quite expensive and/or hard to find anymore. Metal Gear Solid 2 Substance is rather pricey for the PS2 version (the inferior Xbox version is fairly easy to find cheap). And even though the Persistence disc (disc 2) of Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence is not included, all the changes made to the game (camera angles, etc.) ARE included on the disc.

For those new to the series or wanting to pick up the games again since they no longer have them, $10 a piece is pretty damn cheap! For those collector's out there like me, you are getting all three games with beautiful new artwork, Metal Gear Solid in a very nice DVD amaray-style case (yes!) and a cool slipcase to house it all.

If you are playing Metal Gear Solid (one) on a PS2, you will need a PSOne memory card as per usual with all PSOne games. It works just fine on a PS3 (any model) and you can set up a virtual memory card.

If you are playing Metal Gear Solid 2 on a PS2, you are good to go. If you are planning on playing it on a PS3, make sure you have either the 20, 60 or 80-gig models as the 40-gig model isn't backwards compatible.

If you are playing Metal Gear Solid 3 on a PS2, you are good to go as well. Again, you have to have a 20, 60 or 80-gig PS3 model (backwards compatible with PS2 software) to play it on the PS3.

I highly recommend this series to anyone. At $30, it's a bargain price. I would also recommend the Devil May Cry collection for $30 and the Grand Theft Auto Trilogy for $30. Tremendous deals, you are getting NINE games that originally cost over $450 for less than $90 now. That's an 80% discount folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deal of the Century!, March 24, 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Essential Collection (Video Game)
I have been a fan of the MGS series since I bought a Playstation 2 seven years ago. I applaud Konami for releasing this box set. This presents newbies the chance to catch up with the story just in time for the PS3 release of Metal Gear Solid 4. For $30 this is a steal. All 3 games are well worth the price of admission. You simply can't go wrong with this deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect if you don't already have these..., July 7, 2008
By 
Good King Garion (Houston, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Essential Collection (Video Game)
What can I say? This is a collection of three of the finest video games ever created. If you've never played them, this is a great and inexpensive way to start. I guarantee, by the time you're halfway done with Metal Gear Solid 2, you'll be hooked like nothing you've ever experienced!

My only qualm with this box set is the decision to leave out disc 2 of the Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence set. This second disc contains the original Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake for the MSX system. You'd think that by "Essential Collection", that would include the two games that started it all!

However, the other games are presented in their original state and they are incredible. Well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential collection at an unbeatable price., March 20, 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Essential Collection (Video Game)
I recently acquired this collection a few hours ago at Gamestop, and as a long time MGS fan I've played and beaten all the games in the Metal Gear Solid franchise, including "Twin Snakes" on the GC. With that said, after beating the games I sold them. But never bought the later releases such as "MGS2:Substance" and "MGS3:Subsistence", so just finding out that this collection was coming out by Konami has made me ecstatic to play these great games again and I was guaranteed that I'd get my money's worth.

I haven't played MGS3 in 3 years, since the day it was released in '04, and same with MGS1 and 2 which was a long time ago. They're still the great games I've remembered them to be. If you've kept up in the gaming world, you've heard critical acclaim of these 3 stellar games, and if this is your first time playing MGS and want to backtrack from MGS1 to keep up with the story to follow the upcoming MGS4 installment, then this is a no-brainer to BUY THIS!

There are a few things I dislike about this package and didn't know why in the heck Konami couldn't include. Like another reviewer has said, the MGS3: Subsistence is an incomplete package without the second disc and why couldn't they fix the memory card issue on MGS1? Not only can't we save games if we don't have a original PS1 memory card, but you literally can't find these in stores anymore! Unless you go on eBay. But if you own a PS3 or have a PS1 Memory Card already this just proves you're lucky. With that said, this makes this Essential Collection a bit flawed.

Pros:
- All three MGS's in one package at a great price.
- Two of them being the "Director's Cut"
- The original MGS on original 'black disc' PSone discs. A rarity to see since they haven't made these in a while.

Cons:
- MGS1 not save compatible with a PS2 Memory Card.
- The second disc for MGS3:Subsistence is missing.

All in all though, this collection is a must have if you don't own any of the MGS games in your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Collection for the MGS Fan, April 19, 2008
By 
J. Rioseco (Tallahassee, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Essential Collection (Video Game)
Like the description says, this is a collection of three Metal Gear Solid games. It contains the original Playstation version of Metal Gear Solid, as well as the two director's cut versions of the Playstation 2 installments of the series - Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance and Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence.

When I say the collection contains the original Playstation version of Metal Gear Solid, I really mean the original Playstation. This is surprising considering the age of that system and the fact it's on two discs. A PS2 port would have allowed players to rely on a PS2 memory card and allowed the game to fit on one disc. If you don't have a PS1 memory card, you're out of luck. Fortunately, the game is playable on the PS3 using the system's built-in memory card feature.

All three games are, as the boxes say, "tactical espionage action" games. You can try to blast your way through the enemies, but that really isn't very bright. If you're seen by an enemy, they'll call for help, and from that point on, an endless stream of enemies will come to find you. If you're able to successfully hide long enough, however, the enemies will return to their posts.

MGS is the simplest of the games, relying primarily on an overhead view to essentially make the gameplay 2D. You can't shoot in first-person, but Snake does automatically track his targets. In addition to the main game, MGS also has a VR Training mode, where you not only learn a few basics, but can also challenge yourself to obtain better times in each of the ten courses.

MGS2: Substance, greatly improves on the gameplay by adding the abilities to shoot in first-person, climb small boxes, dive, shoot from cover, and hang from ledges. Soldiers can also be shot in different parts of the body for different effects. A head shot will kill an enemy in one hit, but aiming for the body will require you to use more ammo. Substance also has a great deal of bonuses. There's a VR training mode, greatly improved from MGS. Initially, you can play as either Snake or Raiden, and as you complete more courses, new characters are unlocked. While the course layouts remain the same for each character, enemy placement changes to provide varying levels of difficulty. In addition to a Stealth and Eliminate All Enemies mode, the VR training also provides weapon training courses where you use the games many weapons to destroy targets. Another of Substance's game play modes is Snake Tales, where you play through the Big Shell, one of the game's areas, as Snake instead of Raiden. Finally, an amusing skateboarding mode turns the Big Shell into a sort of Tony Hawk Pro Skater course allowing you to skate through with Snake or Raiden in an attempt to complete various tasks and earn points for performing various skating tricks.

Finally, MGS3: Subsistence takes you back in time to the 1960's where you play as Snake's father, Naked Snake. In the Soviet jungles, Naked Snake has to use camouflage and his survival techniques to infiltrate enemy bases. The game requires that you treat your injuries and keep your stamina up by eating food. This means you have to hunt for food and raid enemy storage houses for medical supplies. Naked Snake also knows a fighting style known as close-quarter combat (CQC). This allows Snake to grab enemies and perform a variety of moves from there, including interrogation, using the enemy as a shield while you fire on his comrades, or just plain slamming him into the ground and knocking him unconscious. The abilities granted by CQC add a new dimension to the game that makes fighting your way through enemy bases much more feasible.

The games are fun to play once you're accustomed to the controls. Substance and Subsistence have so many controls, that they are overwhelming to new MGS players. If you take the time to learn them, though, you'll find deep games with an endless amount of possibilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Collection, June 12, 2008
By 
Ravenskya "Princess of Horror" (WESTERVILLE, OH, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Essential Collection (Video Game)
I ordered this for my hubby for Fathers Day, he has never played any of the Metal Gear games before. I had previously owned the first and second in the series, but they had long since been "borrowed" and not returned. Since we ordered the PS3 Metal Gear Solid Pack I decided this would be a good buy.

First of all, the games come in a small cardboard case to hold the 3 ps2 game cases. Even though MS1 is a PS1 game, it is in a PS2 style case so that they can all stay together in the box. This means that the artwork is different than on the originals of each of these games. I personally don't care but just in case you do - now you've been told.

Each game comes with it's own manual as well as the ingame help we are all used to for the first couple of scenes. This is an excellent collection for the price, and I would highly advise the purchase if you like this type of game.

The only negatives I have are
1) the game controls take a while to get used to
2) The PS1 game of MGS1 will NOT play in either of our PS2's. Our PS3 should arrive soon so hopefully it will play in that since that was my favorite of the games anyway. I am told that this is a fairly common problem, however my PS2's will play all of our other PS1 games without incident. I am told that this can be fixed by placing "Tape" on the top of the CD however I have yet to attempt this experiment.

**UPDATE**
We just received our PS3 and it WILL play Metal Gear Solid 1 quite happily. Apparently it just didn't want to play in the PS2s that we have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All You Need - Almost, September 19, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Essential Collection (Video Game)
It is what it advertises: Metal Gear Solid 1, 2, and 3.

There is nothing to complain about for Metal Gear Solid 1 or 2.

However, as many others have noted, Metal Gear Solid 3 is missing something. The original full game of Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater is there, with improvements (primarily in the controllable camera) from its second incarnation as Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence. However, what the Essential Collection lacks is the second bonus disc that comes with Metal Gear solid 3: Subsistence. Buying Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence outside of this Essential Collection, you get to play the original Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2 (2D games starring Solid Snake in his youth, providing you further insights into the world of Metal Gear) a bonus game called Snake VS Monkey, a few other less notable bonuses.

Not being able to play Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2 was a let down, however, the three main games of Metal Gear Solid 1, 2, and 3 are in there. All three games are fun if you are looking for a stealth-heavy, cinematic video game experience.

If it isn't too much trouble, you should definitely buy all three separately for all the bonus features: Metal Gear Solid, Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance, and Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence. Do not pick up Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty or Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater by mistake--those are the unimproved versions that lack the bonus features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what you need!!, June 30, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Essential Collection (Video Game)
About the product:
I played MGS, MGS2 a couple of years ago but never got the chance to play MGS3. And when I saw its reviews recently I decided I'll give it a go. But unfortunately all the copies I found offline of (MGS3: Subsistence) were somewhat expensive for a PS2 game! So finally I found this product and it was just what I needed. The improved MGS2 & MGS3 Plus I didnt have a copy of my own of MGS and now I have all three in my collection. Excellent and for an Excellent price.

About the Game:
The games are so much fun (if your into stealth-action). Especially MGS3. That game totally RULED!! Story is just amazing! And game play is also great.

I totally recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Itsa SNAKE!!!, April 1, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Essential Collection (Video Game)
This has to be one of the funnest Shooter Game/Strategy that I have ever played. ALL the games are fun, even the first Metal Gear (which looks like PS1 graphics). This is recommended for anyone who never played Metal Gear and would like to own it. Get this collection now, don't buy them individually, it's a better value for the buck. Especially the 3rd game, which cost as much as this entire package.

If your someone that is timid about shooters I'd recommend this as well. This game is so fun that you'll forget about the shooting(depending on which version) and instead wonder how to sneak around that enemy near that left wall, or perhaps lure that other enemy into a trap? This game is focused on stealth, and although you can fight enemies (which at points you have to) it's better to avoid detection.

The characters are also "realistic", even in the PS1 version. From Snake's "quirky" comments and attitude, you'll enjoy the variety of personalities within each character and how they react to each-other as well. If Snake dies in the game, the characters will scream his name in desperation. Which can be a little sad.

My only con is the memory card. The game did not "read" the memory card on the PS2 (This is the original PS2 memory card) and therefore I could not save. I turned the system off, back on, same result. I then cleaned the slot and card. Same. So then I had to reset the machine and pull the memory card out, then put it back in without the CD. Funny thing is that the system read the card itself. So I'm not sure if it was the game's fault itself, but I was finally able to save after deleting some free space and having to go up against another "no memory" lapse even after deleting some space before I was finally able to save.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Metal Gear Solid: The Essential Collection
$69.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.