Customer Reviews


296 Reviews
5 star:
 (240)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


231 of 241 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At 50 bucks, this is a steal
I'm a long time Metal Gear fan. I've played every single title, and I've loved every single one. Chances are, if you find yourself here, you are probably a Metal Gear fan, and don't need to be told anything about the superb story. Metal Gear Solid is one of the most interesting and engrossing collection of games spanning across many generations.

Disc Two of...
Published 17 months ago by E. Luna

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning: MSG 1 is only compatible with US PSN accounts
Metal Gear Solid (ps1 game) is not physically included in this box, but rather, a download voucher for the game is included in this package. Now, the problem here is that, this voucher will NEVER work unless you log into PSN from your PS3 using a US account. For a region free console, I never expected that buying a US region game will cause issues on my European PS3...
Published 2 months ago by Amr Taiyeb


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

231 of 241 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At 50 bucks, this is a steal, July 9, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection (Video Game)
I'm a long time Metal Gear fan. I've played every single title, and I've loved every single one. Chances are, if you find yourself here, you are probably a Metal Gear fan, and don't need to be told anything about the superb story. Metal Gear Solid is one of the most interesting and engrossing collection of games spanning across many generations.

Disc Two of this collection is the HD Collection (MGS 2, MGS 3, and Peace Walker), plus the two Digital Graphic Novels in movie form. This marks the first time that the Digital Graphic Novels are released in the States. Once you input the disc into your PS3, you will find the Digital Graphic Novels under the videos section of the XMB. This, for me, is worth the price of admission alone. I own a physical copy of the graphic novels, but it's so much better to see them in action with full voice overs.

Disc One is Metal Gear Solid IV. No frills, no extras.

The voucher was not working earlier today, but this was a mess up on Sony's part. The scheduled PlayStation Store update came much later than usual. The voucher nets you Metal Gear Solid, and Metal Gear Solid: VR Missions. This also marks the debut of the VR Missions on the PS3 and PSN. I'm not sure if it'll be sold as a stand-alone, but it might happen.

The 100 page art book is the size of a blu-ray case. It has a neat collection of promotional materials for all games of the Metal Gear Solid series. It's not hardcover, but it does have a neat embossed cover. All in all it's pretty great.

If you're not all that interested in the Digital Graphic Novels, then you could pass this collection up. Essentially, what you are getting here is a repackaged HD Collection, and a repackaged Metal Gear Solid IV. It's really awesome to have almost every single game in one box, but I can understand why some people would not be eager to double-triple, or maybe even quadruple dip.

I, for one, am very happy with my purchase. 50 bucks is cheap for 8 games and 2 Digital Graphic Novels.

The entire list of games is as follows:

Metal Gear (Accessed through the Metal Gear Solid 3 menu)

Metal Gear 2 (Accessed through the Metal Gear Solid 3 menu)

Metal Gear Solid (Digital only)

Metal Gear Solid: VR Missions (Digital Only)

Metal Gear Solid 2: HD Edition

Metal Gear Solid 3: HD Edition

Metal Gear Solid 4

Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker

as well as:

Metal Gear Solid: Bande Dessinee (Digital Graphic Novel)

Metal Gear Solid 2: Bande Dessinee (Digital Graphic Novel)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's almost like all MGS games in one!, July 17, 2013
By 
B. Scott "Gamer" (Indianapolis, Indiana USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection (Video Game)
I don't own every Metal Gear Solid game, but I've played them (except Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2). This is the perfect bundle of joy for me. I'm also glad I waited and didn't get the HD collection :) Anyways let's get started:

Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection comes with 8 games!

1. The original Metal Gear*
2. The original Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake*
*Can be found on the main menu of MGS3: Subsistence

3. Metal Gear Solid**
4. Metal Gear Solid: VR Missions**
**Downloadable from Playstation Store as PSone Classics via online vouchers included inside the game box.

5. Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty (Substance version)
6. Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (Subsistence version)
7. Metal Gear Solid: Peacewalker
8. Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots

MGS 2, 3, and Peacewalker have all been remade in HD and are PS3 remakes.
The Legacy Collection comes with 2 discs:

Disc 1: Metal Gear Solid 4. That's it.

Disc 2: Comes with MGS2, MGS3, MGS Peacewalker, and the two digital graphic novels - MGS Bande Desinee/MGS2 Bande Desinee. These graphic novels are accessible under the 'Video' section of the XMB menu with Disc 2 in the PS3.

You also get this 100 page artbook which features loads of promotional artwork from all the games in this collection and extra promotional artwork from the HD collection and the 25 year anniversary. It's just about the same size as the game case. Some people complained about the artwork, but it's SUPPOSED to be promotional. All the artwork in this book will either be advertisements promoting the game or some type of promotional poster. I liked it.

I also see people complaining that we're only getting downloadable copies of MGS1 and MGS: VR Missions and not the original disc copy. The main two reasons people are upset over this are because
1. This means they can't play it and then resell it.
2. It'd be nice to have the original disc copy for collection purposes.

I don't really care that we're only getting downloadable versions. I wasn't ever planning on selling them anyways, and I'm not a collector. As long as I can play it I'm happy.

Some people were confused about the two graphic novels so I'll explain. There was originally a game on PSP called Metal Gear Solid: Digital Graphic Novel. In some MGS DVD thing that was only released in Japan, they remade the PSP game, but took out the interactivity of the game and basically made it a graphic novel movie thing. It was released as Metal Gear Solid: Bande Desinee, and it's basically a comic-graphic novel-esque representation of the events that occurred in MGS1. They also made a second one called Metal Gear Solid 2: Bande Desinee, which has the same comic-graphic novel-esque style, but it's a representation of the events that occurred in MGS2: SoL. This 2nd one was only on DVD though, there wasn't an interactive game version of it. Anyways, these two movies, remade in HD and once exclusive to Japan are what you're getting with this collection.

One last thing. I know some people wanted there to also be an HD remake of MGS: The Twin Snakes, the gamecube remake of MGS1 for PS1. I'm one of those people too, and it would've been a great addition to this collection, but I won't let that detract from my rating of the review, so this stays at 5 stars.

For the hardcore MGS fan, it's not EVERY Metal Gear Solid game that's ever been released, but it's definitely a collection worth picking up. You're getting way more than $50 here.
For the casual gamer or someone new to the MGS franchise, this is an excellent collection to start out with. All the games that you'll need to understand the main story are here in this collection, so it's a great collection to pick up for newcomers as well.

There's lots of content to enjoy here, and many hours of playtime collectively. Get it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Detailed Overlook on Contents, July 9, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection (Video Game)
Not really much that you can say about this collection that hasn't been already said about these games. These games earned their praise as one of the greatest games for their respective consoles, all in one neat package for a low price. There is not really much to say about the games, as each game has been well known and there are more detailed reviews out there for each game. But there are some details that some out there would find useful.

First off, we will go over the artbook. It's going to be a 100 page artbook with an embossed cover. The artbook is not hardcover, if that matters to you. For those who own the MGS HD Collection artbook or the 25th anniversary artbook from KonamiStyle, you will be slightly pleased to know that the contents are completely different. The artbook is filled with promotional images for every game. There are postcard images, poster images, and magazine ads from all over the world.

Disc one of the collection contains Metal Gear Solid 4. Nothing else. I am unsure if it is the MGS4 Vanilla or the MGS4 Trophy edition, because I already updated my MGS4, but saves from the old game are compatible with this disc because they are exactly the same. That also means you won't get a new trophy set if you already own MGS4..

Disc two contains the rest of the games. What is interesting to note about this disc is it is a hybrid disc, meaning it is a PS3 game and a Blu-Ray Movie Disc. Meaning those who don't have a PS3 but still want to enjoy the Digital Graphic Novel can watch these with a regular Blu-Ray player! The game side of the disc is an exact copy of the MGS HD Collection. Metal Gear 1 and 2 are still included within MGS3, for those who didn't know. Because the disc is the same, you can still share files you used to have as well as the cloud saves from your Vita. Like MGS4, you won't get any new trophy set if you already own the HD collection.

Metal Gear Solid 1 and VR Missions are downloadable PSone Classics. And while they do not state they are Vita compatible, they actually are.
EDIT: MGS1 can not be downloaded directly to a Vita. You must transfer it onto a Vita using content manager.

For the price, this collection is a great start for those who always wanted to get into the Metal Gear series. They contain all the games that contain important events to the series (Portable Ops is missing from the collection), so it's perfect for new players to the series. There are still some things in here that can lure in people that already have the game, such as digital copies of VR Missions and MGS1, as well as the Digital Graphic Novels, especially since the second one was never released outside of Japan.

Despite already owning these games in various versions, this collection gets my 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It never gets old!, July 10, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection (Video Game)
What can go wrong with so many Metal Gear Solid games in one box?

This is an awesome collection with the best games of all time!

Everything works for me, discs and codes, I don't understand why so many people are complaining.
I could play all games stated in this collection without any problems.

Metal Gear Solid 1 has to be downloaded and it takes around 700 mbs.
The VR Missions also has to be downloaded and it takes around 300 mbs.
Metal Gear 1 and 2 can be found inside Metal Gear Solid 3.

I would recommend this for all of you who didn't buy the previous HD collection or if you are new into this set of games..
If you did buy the HD collection, this would be good if you are a Metal Gear Solid collector.

I'm happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The gaming equivalent to Star Wars: The Complete Saga on Blu-Ray, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection (Video Game)
Like Star Wars, Metal Gear is an epic saga about a father and a son. Spanning 8 chapters and 50 years of history, the Metal Gear Saga is the story of the rise and fall of Big Boss, and the legend of Solid Snake, and how their influence effected the lives of others.

MGS: The Legacy Collection contains all 7 main chapters* released up to 2012. From the 8-bit MSX era to the power of the PS3, Metal Gear has evolved for over 25 years, changing and adapting to new hardware and levels of realism, while maintaining the same core gameplay principles that defined the series; "Infiltrate behind enemy lines and stay out of sight! Fighting is a last resort!"

*MPO and Rising don't really count as "main chapters." In an interview on Twitch, series creator Hideo Kojima said he divides games between "A Hideo Kojima Games" and games he wasn't deeply involved with. Think of them as Star Wars Expanded Universe material, except worse.
youtube(DOT)com/watch?v=ufKS1gdnIGU#t=45m12s
konami(DOT)jp/mgs5/
^This timeline shows all of the games that are considered part of the main Saga.

METAL GEAR (1987 - MSX): The game that started it all. Inspired by "The Great Escape", young game designer Hideo Kojima wanted to make a different kind of game from the Rambo-like shoot-em-ups that were common in the era. While somewhat frustrating to play (it's probably best to play with a guide for some parts), it's still interesting to see where the series began. The story is very paper thin, but it does show the Outer Heaven Uprising, a very significant event in the Saga, and the roots of Solid Snake and Big Boss' complicated relationship.

METAL GEAR 2: SOLID SNAKE (1990 - MSX): To me, this is where Metal Gear started to become the Metal Gear the series is today. The story is much more fleshed out, dealing with Cold War politics, nuclear disarmament, and even war orphans. Big Boss is given proper motivations (and the roots of those motivations are explored in MGS3, PW, and soon, GZ/TPP), and Solid Snake is fleshed out as someone suffering from PTSD after his heroics in Outer Heaven are challenged by old friends turned foes. Many improvements to the core stealth gameplay were made, such as enemy cone vision, a radar displaying guard positions, and the ability to knock on walls.

While these chapters are very important to the overall Saga, and MG2 especially is worth playing, people who don't have the patience to play these games can read detailed "Previous Operations" summaries in MGS1's "Special" menu.

METAL GEAR SOLID (1998 - PS1): The series jumps to 3D! Even though Big Boss is dead, his legacy still lingers, in the form of a new villain; Liquid Snake, a man who looks identical to protagonist Solid Snake. The complex relationship between Snake and Big Boss is fleshed out even more in this game, and Snake, while tough on the outside and more reserved with his feelings, shows his softer side as the game progresses.
Taking advantage of the new 3D engine, items like the Scope and Sniper Rifle are introduced, as well as a huge boost in visual presentation. The game now has real-time, in-engine cutscenes. While the graphics are very dated by today's near-photorealistic standards, the charm of the well designed polygonal models still holds up for those willing to adjust their standards. It's actually quite fascinating how Kojima is able to portray personality with his characters with body movement, hand gestures, and voice-acting, all while everyone's face is static and low-res.

Even though I didn't play it until 12 years after release, long after its gameplay and graphics have been surpassed by other games, MGS1 remains my favorite game of all time. Although I've replayed each game many, many times, I have the most fun replaying MGS1, and re-experiencing this amazing game.

Sadly, The Legacy Collection only contains this game as a download voucher, so some of the fun nuances are lost in this version (like looking on the back of the CD case for a Codec frequency. It's still in the digital manual, but it's not the same. Still not a deal breaker, though.)

Remember to 1.) not give into the torture (otherwise you'll get the non-canon ending. Use a spoon or similar object to rub the O button really fast), and 2.) stay after the credits (not just for this game, but every game)! You'll be given a mindblowing plot-twist that made me fall in love with Snake even more.

METAL GEAR SOLID 2: SONS OF LIBERTY (2001 - PS2): Kojima takes his cinema-quality ambitions to new heights! Sons of Liberty was a major step forward in delivering a more movie-like experience, with improved lighting and weather effects, more life-like character models and motion capture, and refined gameplay that builds on the foundations of the previous games. MGS2 also takes several big risks, the most famous of which was replacing Solid Snake with a more effemine protagonist, named Raiden, who aspires to be like the legendary Solid Snake of the Shadow Moses Incident. Many of the themes in the game (about the impact of the digital age, information control, "context creating" social engineering etc.) were ahead of its time. in fact, many of the things people praised about Spec Ops: The Line and BioShock Infinite (deconstructing action game narratives and their relationship with the sadistic nature of the gameplay) were done in this MGS2 first, a decade before those games were released (except the pretentious messages of those games are counter-balanced with yet another inspiring speech from Solid Snake, about the true nature of "reality.") This game is often misunderstood and ridiculed by fans, but I hope this great video ( youtube(DOT)com/watch?v=Zx2dgVKYWWU ) helps people gain a new appreciation for the game.

While it's not my favorite game in the series, MGS2 is still a fantastic game, and one of the best examples of games being used as a relevant artistic medium.

METAL GEAR SOLID 3: SNAKE EATER (2004 - PS2): After the mind-**** that was Sons of Liberty, Kojima took a deep breath, relaxed, and went back to basics with the story. After the backlash of playing as Raiden, Kojima made "Snake" the playable protagonist again, but not the Snake from MG1, 2, and MGS1. This Snake would later become Big Boss, the father (and antagonist) of Solid Snake. Taking place during the Cold War, in a Russian tropical jungle, Snake Eater shows us a time when Big Boss was a young, naive, patriotic soldier who believed in his country and its government. However, as the game progresses, his perception of the world is challenged, as he is duty-bound to kill his master and mother-figure, The Boss, who defected to the USSR. Like how MGS2 is often misunderstood as "pretentious", MGS3 is often misunderstood as "simplistic." It's true that the game isn't as in-your-face with its message, but that's what makes it great; you get to *feel* the game's message. Your own perception of the world is changed along with Big Boss. It tricks you into thinking this is just a fun, James Bond-esque spy thriller game, only to turn that perception on its head by the end.
This is also the first game in the series that doesn't have too many set-pieces for the second half of the game; there are still a few, but for the most part the game sticks to its core sneaking gameplay for the entire game. Which is good, because MGS3 overhauls the core mechanics to fit the more natural, down-and-dirty, "survivalist" nature of the game. Areas are much more open and more beautiful, guards can now see farther and hear footsteps, and your visibility is determined by the Camo Index (you can change camos at any point in the game, but I found this to be a cheap way to complete the game. These days, I just use the default camo and only change either when the mission required it, or when I'm sneaking in the mountain area.)

MGS3 was my first game in the series, and I feel it's a great start for everyone. In fact, since the game's theme is about SCENE (the times), and how the past can influence the future, playing MGS3 and MGS1 back-to-back creates an interesting perception of the latter game; MGS3 takes place in a natural jungle, filled with all sorts of life. MGS1 takes place in a facility of concrete and advanced technology. MGS3 takes place during the height of the Cold War between the US and USSR. MGS1 takes place after the Cold War, as the world deals with its after-effects (like surplus nuclear weapons and scientists.) And yet, despite these differences, you can see that there are still many similarities between what both Snake's experienced (the convo with Snake and Naomi, after the second round of torture, best illustrates this point.) The times may have changed, but war remains the same.

METAL GEAR SOLID 4: GUNS OF THE PATRIOTS (2008 - PS3): War has changed, and so has Metal Gear. Fearing that fans still didn't understand the message he tried to convey in MGS2, Kojima came out of retirement to direct what he intended to be the final chapter in the Saga. Solid Snake returns, now as an old man who feels out of place in the world of the dehumanizing War Economy (where war is a business, backed by Private-Military Contractors), which can be analogous to Kojima himself. With MGS4, Kojima tried to balance answering fan questions while trying to get fans to "get" his message. ( konami(DOT)jp/mgs4/uk/interview/03.html ) This results in a game that tries to do way too much and struggles to make it all coherent.
The gameplay builds on MGS3's new gameplay system with more refined sneaking and shooting mechanics (like crouch-waling/TPV aiming), but sadly the level design for parts of the game aren't as open or free as MGS3, and like MGS1 and 2, the second half of the game has too many set-pieces and areas with no enemies at all. But there are still plenty of good sneaking sections; the Crying Wolf battle is one of my favorite bosses in the series.
MGS3 finally struck the right balance between gameplay and cutscenes, but MGS4 goes way overboard with over nine hours worth of cutscenes, making the gameplay sections far too chopped up and interrupted.
This is probably my least favorite game in the series (besides MG1), but ultimately, MGS4 manages to do more right than wrong, and I feel that it did its job of concluding this massive Saga very well. If the series ended here, I would have been happy.

Side-Note: I highly recommend that people read Project Itoh's MGS4 novel. It's both an adaptation of MGS4 (told from the perspective of Otacon, Solid Snake's geeky best bro) and a character/story analysis of the Saga as a whole. I especially love how Itoh portrays and analyzes Solid Snake. Too many fans seem to write off Snake as "emotionless." Many of the thoughts and feelings I had of the character for years were eloquently put into text by Itoh-san. Recommended for both new fans and long time fans, to give better perspective of the saga.
Even Kojima recommends the book. ( twitter(DOT)com/HIDEO_KOJIMA_EN/status/350077034615144449 )

METAL GEAR SOLID: PEACE WALKER (2010 - PSP): Kojima was determined to make MGS4 his last game in the series. But when he tried to hand over the next chapter of Big Boss' story to his younger team, he felt that his younger team would have a difficult time understanding the nature of the Cold War, due to generational differences. gamercenteronline(DOT)net/2009/06/12/kojima-wants-to-teach-youth-about-the-cold-war-and-the-love-box/ So, once again, Kojima takes the lead in charge of another Metal Gear game.
While theoretically taking place after Portable Ops (not included in this collection), PW is more of a sequel to MGS3*, dealing with Big Boss' memories of killing his mentor, while starting up a private-mercenary company to give soldiers a place to live (the roots of Outer Heaven, seen in the very first Metal Gear.) Despite his villainous future, the Big Boss in PW is still very much a hero. He's grown so much since MGS3, just as Solid Snake grew as a character after MGS1. He's no longer a "Cold War tool." He's disillusioned from the idea of nations or ideologies. He is his own man, fighting for himself. Sadly, the roots of his future are planted in the game's *first* ending (to unlock the second ending, follow these instructions; justpushstart(DOT)com/2010/06/real-ending-of-metal-gear-solid-peace-walker/ )

*In fact, in the Afterward of the MGS4 novel, Kojima said that "on the timeline, PW takes place after MGS3." The only reference to MPO in PW is a single, derogatory line from Master Miller; "finally, we can leave all that crap in San Heironymo behind." Remember that Twitch interview I mentioned earlier.

The gameplay adapts MGS4's control scheme to the PSP, using the face buttons to move the camera and the D-Pad to select weapons/items or go prone. The HD version uses the right-analogue stick and makes the game control even more like MGS4 (although you still can't crawl.) New to the main series is the ability to recruit soldiers from your missions and use them to build up Mother Base, where you can develop weapons and items. This creates a meta-game within the game, where you use the Analyzer on enemies to see their various skills, knock out the ones you want to recruit, and then use the Fulton Recovery balloon to bring them back to Mother Base, where they will eventually pledge their loyalty to you. Over time, you see Mother Base grow from a small plant to this huge off-shore structure, which parallels Big Boss' growth into a military leader.
To accommodate the limited PSP hardware, PW use comic book style cutscenes drawn by Yoji Shinkawa and Ashley Wood, bringing back some of the charm of the polygonal models of MGS1. The length of the cutscenes have also been greatly reduced, although many of the plot details and real-world inspired history can be found in the game's Briefing Files, which flesh out the story and various characters.

Sadly, replaying the game without starting over using a new save dilutes the experience somewhat, because you have these advanced weapons that can easily take down enemy mechs in a few shots. And without difficulty options, the game becomes way too easy. There's also confusion as to the proper order of Briefing Tapes the player should listen to, along with things that only happen in New Game saves (like the meta-narrative of Mother Base growing and expanding, that runs parallel to Big Boss' personal adventure.) And starting the game with a new save can be frustrating toward the end, as you try to unlock all of Chapter 5 and get the true ending.

Personally, I feel Peace Walker is best played on a portable device, either on the PSP or the Vita (via PSN.) The game was designed to be enjoyed without the borders of home consoles. Listening to Briefing Tapes while on a bus or while driving is a much better experience than sitting on your couch listening to them. And while the second analog stick in the HD version is nice, the AI wasn't re-optimized with that in mind, making an already easy game even easier. But for people without a PSP or Vita, it's still nice to have the game playable on the same system as the other main games, especially since "MGSV:Ground Zeroes/The Phantom Pain" is a direct sequel to the events of PW.

Ultimately, PW remains one of my favorite games in the series. While MPO used the PSP's limitations as a crutch, PW used those limitations as a challenge. Kojima made the impossible possible yet again, by making a game worthy of being a full console Metal Gear game for a portable system.

Edit: I would also like to mention that Peace Walker is David Hayter's last game as Snake. While Hayter did have his ups and downs, like any actor, he was always very passionate about his work and the character he portrays. I felt Hayter's performance in this game was especially great, perfectly conveying Big Boss' emotions as he faces his past. Although I really do like Kiefer Sutherland's take on Big Boss, Hayter will always be Snake (both of them) to me.

Also included with The Legacy Collection is The Legacy Book, which briefly explains the history of the Saga, displays a variety of promotional material, and explains the theme of each game (GENE, MEME, SCENE, SENSE, and PEACE.) There's also the Digital Graphic Novel adaptations of MGS1 and 2, for players who can't get used to the older gameplay style, but I implore people to play those games at least once. Nothing can ever replace playing those games for yourself.

Sadly, The Legacy Collection is missing one important piece to make this a complete collection; Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain (and the recently released Ground Zeroes), which represents the "Revenge of the Sith" chapter in the Saga (where the father becomes a "demon"), is still a year away, if not more. But for anyone who is interested in that game, this is the best place to start (wait for the price of GZ to drop, unless you really love these games and want an appetizer for TPP, like me.) I'm glad that The Legacy Collection seems to be back in stock. When TPP is released, I hope Kojima Productions makes a version of this collection for PS4 and XBox One (and PC.) Everyone should be able to play this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mgs enough said, July 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection (Video Game)
Received on release day (@7pm- but still same day) new and sealed with everything described but when u ship could u pack a little better its a legacy collection with a 100 page artbook that they won't sell indv. Just because of the extremely light packaging I had ruff marks and edges on my limited edition book, that's a little discouraging. But all and all ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning: MSG 1 is only compatible with US PSN accounts, October 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection (Video Game)
Metal Gear Solid (ps1 game) is not physically included in this box, but rather, a download voucher for the game is included in this package. Now, the problem here is that, this voucher will NEVER work unless you log into PSN from your PS3 using a US account. For a region free console, I never expected that buying a US region game will cause issues on my European PS3 (Linked to a European PSN account), but it did.

Luckily, you can bypass this issue by creating a fake US account (no credit info needed), and entering the voucher from there. You can still play the game even after you log back in from your original account. Sadly, I couldn't make use of this on my PS Vita, as it is only limited to 1 account per device :( ....

The included art book isn't something to look forward to, to be honest.

This still deserves at least 3 stars because the games are still solid and awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An almost perfect MGS collection., July 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection (Video Game)
Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection wraps up the most essential games of the MGS universe, leaving spinoffs like the "Acid" series behind. However, despite being a mandatory day-one purchase for any fan of Solid Snake and the legendary Big Boss, I still feel that they shouldn't have forgotten once again of the great "Portable Ops" game (for PSP). Canon or not, it's a very damn entertaining and insightful game at the same time.

Nevertheless, besides PO not being included, I have no complaints. I absolutely loved what I received in my hands a few days ago. The packaging looked bigger in the pictures, but it still took my breath away. As many reviewers have already stated, the collection includes the 2 original Metal Gear games, MGS 1 (Digital download), MGS2, MGS3, MGS Peacewalker, the 300 VR Missions for the MGS 1 (Digital download), and obviously MGS 4: Guns of the Patriots (In a separate disc). There's not a single game in this collection that I would recommend to avoid playing or that it doesn't deserve to be included. Each game marked a huge paradigm shift when it came to videogame engines, rich characters, graphics, level details and storylines. Each game offers a satisfying, unique experience. Each game deserves to be played from beginning to end. Each game breathes its own life.

In addition, you'll also receive a fantastic art book with 100 pages of MGS related stuff. It features a badass cover that you will love to death since day 1. Finally, the graphic novels with the stories of the first two 3D MGS games are another powerful reason to place the disc on your Blu Ray player (Or PS3) and enjoy of a finely executed digital graphic work with more insight on those amazing games.

If you've played any of the MGS that exist and liked it, then what are you waiting for? This is the ultimate chance of getting your dirty little hands on "Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection", which basically encapsulates the MGS mythos into one single, accesible package for you to enjoy from here to eternity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A neat package, but nothing new., July 12, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection (Video Game)
If you're reading this, you're probably already a MGS fan. And if you're a MGS fan then you probably already have most of the content included in this collection. Still, that doesn't completely devalue this collection. I give it 4 stars because of the convenience of having all the games in one box. But I can't give it 5 stars because this is just an enhanced version of the HD Collection that came out just a few years ago. Konami is double dipping and abusing fan loyalty by offering us the Legacy Collection. The included extras are neat, but if you're not a die-hard collector then you probably won't care for them. The art book is small and simply includes photos of Playstation box art. They're all pictures we've seen a thousand times before lining the shelves of Gamestop. A major disappointment.

I haven't viewed the digital graphic novels yet, but if you're a Metal Gear Solid fan then you already know the story. Another thing is that MGS1 is not included on disc. The game comes with a download code, completely eliminating the collection factor of this bundle (and if you already own MGS on PSN then the code is useless).

With all that said, the Legacy Collection may still interest some people. If you were planning on getting the HD Collection then the Legacy Collection might (but probably won't) be a better choice for you. And if you're new to MGS then this collection is perfect, but odds are you'll probably just stick to Uncharted or COD or whatever you're playing. MGS is not a game you just pick up and play, so it's doubtful newcomers will find the Legacy Collection appealing. The only people who REALLY benefit from this collection are die hard collectors and those who haven't touched a Metal Gear Solid game since MGS3 on PS2 (I fall into the latter category).

At the end of the day the Legacy Collection is just a repackaged HD Collection with some superfluous extras. Still, it includes almost every Metal Gear game to date and is still loads of fun. I'm happy with it, but others might not be.

EDIT: After viewing the first Digital Graphic Novel I have to say that this Collection actually may have some worth. The DGN is basically a comic book with voice acting. Again, if you've played the MGS games then the DGN won't add anything new for you in regards to the story, but as a fan I really enjoyed this cinematic representation of MGS. This alone doesn't make the Legacy Collection a smart purchase, but it does add some value and fun to the collection. (Although Grey Fox's new voice actor is terrible)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars metal gear freaking solid, December 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection (Video Game)
this is the best game ever
i remeber a friend came to my home on ps1 times and he bring this game (mgs1) and now i still have it but i dont have the case
this was the first game that i didnt skip cinematics
im from ecuador and i dont know if im writing this ok but i dont care
i love this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection by Konami (PlayStation 3)
$74.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.