Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Adele Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$18.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 3, 2008
I will start with the obvious, the game looks beautiful. The graphical
quality does not change between cutscenes and gameplay. Kojima and his team pulled out all the stops on the beauty of this game, as they have always striven to do.

SPOILER ALERT
Then there is the story. A lot of people harp on the Metal Gear Series because the story is full of twists. One person even said that the plot was twists and only twists. That person missed the point completely. Especially by the end of this game, it becomes apparent what Kojima had been pushing for. The message about humanity is clear... the MGS series has always been anti-war, anti-genetic determinism, anti-environmental determinism, every mistake that humanity has ever made with regards to war and control of the populous has been addressed in some way. Consider the history through which Kojima derives his inspiration. His home country of Japan experienced an apocalypse during WWII while causing an apocalypse in mainland Asia at the same time.

In all situations of war no matter who begins the fight or where it starts or ends, the young will repeat the mistakes of the old, and the old will let the knowledge gained from their mistakes slip away with death. Even the most heinous actions, deception, murder, are a means to an end, and the end is all that really matters.
SPOILERS OVER

Gameplay was spectacular. The MGS franchise is one of very few that has made significant gameplay improvements with every subsequent release. Control of Snake feels much more fluid, yet at the same time you can feel his age in the way he performs. Though he is more agile and powerful than the average human could ever be, he isn't quite the same old Snake. He is THE Old Snake.

Old Snake gets a lot of neat toys in this game, too. Most notably is his chameleon suit. If he lays flat, his suit will automatically adopt the pattern of the materials that are on the floor. By pressing the "triangle" button while up against a wall, he will adopt those coverings as well.

The second great toy is Drebin's shop. Drebin is a weapons launderer who gives Old Snake full access to replacement ammo and other supplies. ID Locked weapons can be converted to old-world weapons that do not require nanomachine permissions. There are A LOT of weapons in this game. First time through you probably won't get to experience all of them, and that is okay. Just check them out on your next run. The game is only about 10-15 hours long depending on how you choose to play. Also, through Drebin's shop Old Snake can modify his weapon. The first weapon, the M4 Custom is a good all-purpose weapon. It packs a decent punch and holds 30 rounds. It can be modded with a shotgun attachment, grenade launcher, or foregrip for stability. Laser sights and scopes can also be added to the M4 and other select weapons. So play around and have fun.

Toy #3 is the Metal Gear Mark II, Hal's minature Metal Gear Rex that is mostly harmless...mostly. When you need a buddy to turn the corner and remain unseen for you, Mark II can cast an invisibility cloak and make sure the coast is clear. If things get sticky, it has a shock wire function to incapacitate unsuspecting foes. The same tool can be used to knock on surfaces to distract your enemies and guide them away from Old Snake's true position. It is a neat little gadget that you may or may not find to be useful.

Next up, the enemies. In this game, it is impossible to hate the enemies you fight (except for Vamp) because they are amazing, flat-out. Whether they are GECKOS (bipedal beast machines), FROGS (all-female supersoldiers), or Private Military Company militia-men (remnants of their humanity will keep you grounded), or the Beauty and the Beast Corps (best enemies in of all time in videogames?), enemies are not just targets. Kojima and his crew made the enemies in this game characters to be admired. They neither have names nor faces, but they will f*** your day up very quickly if you do not respect their power. From the top down, they are all capable killers.

The humanity of this game lies within Snake's allies. Meryl, Eva, Hal, the Colonel, Mae Ling, Raiden, Rosemary, Naomi, and especially Sunny represent the other side of life. Old Snake is a manufactured product of war, the only life he has ever known. No machine can imitate or destroy the compassion that these individuals shared. This is passion. I won't go on, can't explain much else without major spoilers.

Gameplay, people, visuals, this game is stunning. Metal Gear Sold 4 exemplifies why videogames deserve to be celebrated as art. It has the story worthy of novel publishing, breath-taking visuals, engrossing music, and an all-around realism that we celebrate in paintings such as the Mona Lisa. If only more videogame producers put this much time and effort into a game. Production for perfection... long hours, perspiration, and inspiration to produce the culmination of one's efforts... that is art... this is art.

If you are a casual gamer, this is not for you. If you have never played the other MGS games, this is probably not for you. Play through MGS1-3 in order to get the story and gameplay straight, and then play MGS4.

For everyone who has been trying to compare this game to COD and HALO...come on. MGS4 is not a pure shooter. They put it nice and bold on the cover, "Tactical Espionage Action". That means be sneaky and use force only as needed. Play a "shooter" and judge other shooters with it. MGS4 is NOT, I repeat, is NOT a shooter.

Could this go down as one of the best games of all time? Absolutely. Game of the Year? For sure. It is in a league of its own. Nothing else plays like it. Few other games are as engrossed in the mystique of political/sci-fi conspiracy. Too few have such dedicated stories. In most games, the producer's passion is not as apparent. MGS4 had a 105 degree fever with Kojima's ardor for gaming perfection. The game feels like he and his team cared.

Gameplay 5
Video 5 - Cutscenes are long but not at all boring
Audio 5
Story 5
1212 comments|148 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2008
Before I start... I do my fair share of gaming, but I'am by no means a very obsessive gamer. So I never really knew about Metal Gear Solid until I bought this game. I'm a huge fan of first person shooter games like COD, Resistance, etc. So I saw the ads and thought it was another military type shooting game so I went out and spent the $59.99 and got the game. I put the game into the PS3 and after about an 8 minute wait (becasue the game is so amazing that it needs time to load some stuff on to the PS, but you still need the disk to play the game!) the game started and I was completely blown away. I have played some really good games in my time and on many systems, but this has, by far, been THE best game that I have palyed on ANY system before. The quick down low on this game... the graphics... I give a 10/10. The detailing of the all the characters, the details on the machinery and the surroundings, it was awesome. The thing that made is so spectacular was the fact that the developers did put so much attention to the details that they did a very good job of simulating real life as best as possible. Another big pet peeve of mine is the acting of the characters in the game. I feel like it plays a big part in the gaming experience and people don't give it much credit. So for the acting another 10/10: the character voices fit the characters, and the voice acting was done superbly. The animation was also done extremely well, my only fuss about the animation is that you can't really read how the character is feeling by looking at thier face: the pretty much always put on the same face... but no game has ever done that really well either so I looked over that fact. Finally for game play I give 9/10. I give it such a "low" rating because quite frankly this game is a bit tough to get accustomed to (all though once you do... you're pretty much ready to kick some MAJOR BUTT). I guess a more crazy gamer would have managed to get all the controls down quickly... but for me it took me a while to figure out how to use all the controls. At first the menu that shows all your items, weapons, and an array of other things was very difficult to figure out. Once you got past that you had to actaully figure out how to use the items, weapons, etc. It took me the longest time to figure out how to use Med-packs... but that could also be due to my inabilities :-p. So basically thats why the gameplay is 9/10... overall its just a confusing interface to get used to, but once you do it gets very fun. Also the interactions in the game is awesome. Like the bad guys can figure out when you are there just by bascially seeing you (obviously), hearing you (also obvious), and smelling you (Yea... thats a new one on me too). So its really fun trying to sneak around all the levels w/o getting spotted... but fear not my first person shooter fans... there are thrills here for you too... if the baddies spot you, you're gonna' be pulling out some very nifty guns to shoot them: my fav. is the p90. Just before I end here, if you don't know about the Metal Gear Series (like myself) you won't really know what's going on in the game. In that sense it really sucks because you're just shooting and sneaking around w/o really knowing what's happening. The developers just assumed that you played previous versions so they just build on the stories of the last one's so you miss out a lot of the stories and things like that. But, I went on Wiki and basically read the story like a book so I was all set! And lastly (I promise this time) the game does feel like its more of a movie with some player interaction becasue the cut scenes are ridiculously long... so if you are'nt a cut scene type of person... you might not like this game. As for me.... I loved it!!!So basically this game is wicked fun and if you haven't bought it yet... you HAVE TO!!!!!
11 comment|88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2008
Hideo Kojima has done it again. MGS4 is the most detailed, convincing, and well-researched game I have ever played. It offers a compelling and imaginative glimpse into the future of high-tech warfare, a nuanced, intelligent storyline, vastly improved gameplay, and incredible graphics.

The metal gear franchise has always pushed the boundaries of what a game could be, and challenged the preconceptions of the audience. MGS4 starts out with, of all things, a short live action film about marine fauna. The in-game store discounts weapons (in real time) on wednesdays and sundays. These are just a few examples, but there are many more. The story has both the philosophical and political musings as well as the bizarre humor and one of a kind characters that fans expect.

The gameplay is more open and the action is more intense than in prior games. The environments seem much bigger and are bustling with npcs engaged in building to building warfare. Snake can join either side in the conflict or ignore them and sneak by. He has a ton of new weapons and gadgets as well.
The graphics are among the most impressive I have seen in a game. The characters are solid physical presences with subtle, lifelike facial expressions. The mechs move with an animal grace and hunt with a keen intelligence that belies their artificial construction.

Overall, the game is an experience that should not be missed by anyone with a PS3. If you don't already own a PS3, this game alone would justify its purchase. It is by far the most creative, original, and technically polished game to appear on the system to date.
66 comments|126 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2008
Without blowing any story details, I'm just going to get this out of the way: Metal Gear Solid 4 - Guns of the Patriots is the conclusion to the Solid Snake era of the series and it has been done right, and better than what I had in mind. Simply, there's no way I could have asked for a better ending than this. I've always been a fan of the MGS story lines, and this is my favorite part of the story. I understand Hideo Kojima has talked about the series continuing but without him being directly involved anymore as well as the absence of the long-time protagonist Solid Snake, but after this game fans would be left to question where would the series go when MGS5 comes out? Well, we won't know until then so let's enjoy MGS4.

MGS4's gameplay shouldn't be a stranger to fans of the older titles, however there are some noticeable differences. The CQC (Close Quarters Combat) system button is now "R1" instead of the "O" from MGS3, you fire weapons with (at least) two buttons (one to aim then another to fire), scope and camera zoom-ins are use the D-pad to magnify, the D-pad during the control of Snake does not move him, and the system of acquiring weapons is a bit different and the process is rather unusual for MGS games (you do more than just picking up guns off the floor). There are additions to holding-up such as patting enemies down to steal items, there are TONS of weapons in this game, a great variety but you'll never need some of them, and there is a "psyche meter" (similar to the Stamina from MGS3) and a stress meter which all take effect in Snake's performance. Aside from that the game is still no stranger to MGS fans as it still has the same feel after you get used to the new control system (I do have to say firing the gun easily took some practice and patience because it was so frustrating at times, but auto-aim eases it up). If you were disappointed in the lack of radar in MGS3, then the "Solid-Eye" is a nice welcome similar to a radar. Camera angles are totally free and can be controlled with the R-analog stick. After you get used to the controls, like I said, it's a breeze playing through like the old titles in the series.

Metal Gear Solid 4's playthrough is similar to the old MGS games - self-explanatory. Cut-scenes are one of the beauties of this game along with it's graphics despite the lengths of them. Be prepared for long cut-scenes and if you plan to watch them all, get ready for many (and I mean MANY) hours of gameplay. But in my opinion the scenes move the story along, and it's very engaging. I hardly noticed the lengths of them until I got my total play time at the end of the game, I was very engaged in everything going on in the game to every action and emotion, and I love the addition of flash-back images in the game that give me memories of playing the older titles and seeing how the story of MGS4 came about because of the previous events. So MGS4, like the other titles, is very cinematic and the most cinematic taking advantage of the PS3 technology, but fans of the series shouldn't be burdened by this if they are intrigued by the storyline and the continuity.

In a way I would consider this game mostly for people who are already fans of the series. The storyline wouldn't make as much sense if you hadn't played the previous titles and understand what happened and all. If you just played through without getting the stories on the older titles you'd enjoy the gameplay here as well.

In conclusion, MGS4 is an amazing game taking advantage of being on the PS3, the gameplay and gripping storyline should appeal to the fans of the series, and it's worth it to check out the conclusion of Snake's era in the series. 5 Stars, highly recommended!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2008
well picked this up earlier today, and have not being able to put it down!! i am a huge MGS fan so i know alot about these games and you can trust me when i say this one is by FAR! the best!!
everything from the game play, wicked baddies, the sound effects and graphics (amazing at 720p - not 1080p)! breath taking, heart pumping cut scenes that REALLY make you think that you are inside a movie! MGS has always been very theatrical , but with how advanced this game is visually you almost can believe you are directing your own action movie! Hideo and his bois at Konami have out done themselves again!
Same voice cast holds up fantastic again, MGS has always had a great english voice cast (i dont care what anyone says)! David Hayter adds a few years to his voice which suits Old Snake very well!! Didnt have to wait very long for Snake to say my fav MGS line thats in all games, "Metal Gear..?"
All the new gadets in this game are fantastic, Drebin's shop is a handy welcome to the series, taking a leaf outta Resi4 with collecting weapons and other pieces of gear to buy new imp weapons and ammo!! Great touch!
will not spoil plot details or anything coz if your like me and you play this for the story side too you will no doubt be on the edge of your seat with a great story! action packed cut scenes to get the blood pumpin as you get thrust into the heat of some very big Skirmishes!
i dont see or can beilieve this game can have any haters!! it is a must for both old time fans to one of the greatest games ever made! and for new fans lookin to get into the series!!
No doubt, 'Metal Gear Solid: Guns of the Patriots' is, the Game of the Year!!! so do yourself a favour and buy MGS4 NOW!!! ( back to the game for me XD )
1212 comments|109 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2008
What a great time for this game to come out, because I was just getting bored of Grand Theft Auto IV. Metal Gear Solid 4 is the best exclusive PS3 game bar none. I only played the other Metal Gear games a couple of times years ago, but it didn't take me any time at all to get into this one. Sure you watch the game as much as you play it, but it's so nice to look at I didn't mind one bit. By the way, the graphics are probably the best I have ever seen. Ignore all the XBOX 360 reviewers on here who are just mad they can't play the game of the year.
55 comments|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 12, 2008
Pros:

+Very satisfying story
+Incredible voice work
+Incredible cinematics
+Eagle eye attention to detail
+A lot of gameplay elements
+Memorable Music Soundtrack

Cons:

-Long cutscenes. To the point where you feel more like you're watching than playing. This goes a long way as you'll play for five seconds to be treated to cutscenes several minutes long
-Some load times are really annoying
-The Camera can sometimes be a pain

After three and a half long years of waiting, Metal Gear Solid 4 finally drops down on the Playstation 3. With a lot of questions to answer and some mighty big shoes to fill, Metal Gear Solid 4 is easily one of the most anticipated video games ever made. For the Metal Gear fan, the game is absolutely fantastic. Continuing an already mesmerizing story, Metal Gear Solid 4 proves to be one of this generations greatest games.

Metal Gear Solid 4 is the conclusion to Snake's story. The story is told through several cinematics. There are a lot of long ones. In some ways it's to be expected. Metal Gear Solid has never really been a simple story. There's a lot of ground to cover in terms of making sure everyone is caught up to speed. Early on this becomes a problem for Metal Gear Solid 4. Not because the cutscenes are too long, but because a lot of them spend time explaining more things to you than showing. Several cutscenes consists of story elements from past Metal Gear exploits being explained. Even if you didn't play the previous games, this one will pretty much explain everything. But none of it is done in a quick and timely fashion. These are moments that last for a long time. Thankfully you can pause the game during cutscenes.

Metal Gear Solid has always been about stealth. The same is true of Guns of the Patriots. Though you can play it pretty much any way you want. As the game begins you are part of a war. You can help fight against Liquid's PMCs and gain allies if you want to, but you'll also be able to turn them against you if you begin attacking them.

There have been some improvements to sneaking around, though. The camouflage system has returned but it's much better. Rather than having to go into the menu constantly, Snake's camo will change automatically to blend in with the environment and help him evade enemies. You can also hold up enemies just like before, only this time you can perform body searches while holding them up rather than having to shake them down. You can also restrain them to the ground to knock them out. If you really need to get by an enemy and you're running out of options, you can always play dead. This also works when you get spotted and knocked down by an enemy. The way sneaking and playing dead works makes Metal Gear Solid 4 among the easiest, however. Even on the highest difficulty settings there were no real problems getting through the game. Healing items are plentiful and the regenerating health often means that if you hold your position for a bit you'll be good to go. Until you begin going after some of the higher completion ranks there's no need to worry. Expert players who have mastered previous games might only want to start on normal because it's so different from what you experienced before gameplay wise, but once you get it down it's an easy game. Likewise, the camo index favors crawling, and as long as you can keep it above 80% (sometimes even just 60%) there's nothing you really have to worry about.

There's also the implementation of the Solid Eye. This is more vital to sneaking around than anything. It shows where your enemies are, and if they're in your field of visibility (which alters based on your camo index) your enemies can see you. Also new to here is the threat ring. The threat ring surrounds Snake at all times and will begin to act up depending on how close an enemy is to him. All of these things can make Metal Gear Solid 4 a disturbingly easy game. I suppose much of it was done because there were many moments in Snake Eater in which people must've been spotted without knowing where they were spotted from. Metal Gear Solid 4 makes sure you have more than enough tools at your disposal to have the stealthiest run through the game.

Lastly, Snake has a psyche gauge. This is very similar to the stamina gauge in Metal Gear Solid 3. The gauge depletes depending on how stressed or exhausted Snake is. You can refill this by eating certain snacks like Calorie Mate's, but more often than not the best way to refill is to stop engaging in combat. The psyche can also be influenced by the environment. For example, if Snake is in the sun too long he might start to get higher stress levels. If he's spotted by the enemy his stress levels can skyrocket in an instance. Low psyche and high stress cause Snake to be less effective in combat.

There will be times when you have to fight, and the shooting mechanic works much better in Metal Gear Solid 4 than any game before it. When you're thrust into combat, the game plays very similar to a third person shooter. Allowing for more precise aiming and no longer forcing you to go into first person view to land a well placed shot. There's also a weapon shop where you can purchase, upgrade or customize weapons to your liking, another element that works to your liking and gives Metal Gear a lot of customization.

All this variation in gameplay means that Metal Gear Solid 4 has several different ways to approach it. Combine it's various gameplay elements with a selection of difficulty levels to up the challenge, and Metal Gear Solid 4, like the three before it, becomes a game you'll want to replay again and again. Sometimes it's just fun to mess around with your enemies or just to see how else you can go about a certain area. More than that, there are so many different ways to go through an area. At least at the beginning. As the game progresses it gets more linear and suddenly the playground that you had in the first half becomes a more straightforward path. Though there is still a lot to do, you'll definitely find more ways to experiment in the first half of the game.

Visually, Metal Gear Solid 4 is incredible to look at. Mostly due to the high attention to detail. The game runs smoothly, but doesn't suffer from a lot of belmishes or muddy textures. That's saying a lot considering how much brown is in it. There is a ton of attention being given to environments and a lot of careful details. In particular, those who remember the first Metal Gear Solid will be in for a surprise when they reach Act IV and see one of the series most classic backdrops reimagined on the Playstation 3.

Music wise, there's a memorable score to Metal Gear Solid 4. There's a lot of voice work as well. Much of it is great, although at times you will get the feeling that some of the voice actors and over-acting. This is in part due to the writing which is still, at times, very melodramatic.

Metal Gear Solid 4 is a great game. It's fun to play and has a great story. More than that, the game can be replayed over and over again with a lot to discover on each playthrough. The cutscenes can be lengthy and at times it explains more than it shows, but on a replay you can skip all that and get to the good stuff, which is its exciting gameplay.
1515 comments|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2008
This is the first truly next-gen game to grace either console (PS3/360, the Wii is different). The sheer detail and feature sets are amazing. It's a singleplayer game with the benefit of multiplayer, unlike many games which are the reverse. This is crucial, as many modern games trend toward the opposite. The graphics are, to put it less than eloquently, "HAWT." Controls are fluid and very deep (the sheer volume of actions/interactions is staggering). This is a STORY-DRIVEN game, someting that this generation of games is often lacking imo. I haven't seen this much emphasis on this all-too crucial aspect since Lost Odyssey. The soundtrack is at times haunting and always appropriate, really accentuating the experience. The campaign is lengthy and rich. Warning, if you're not a fan of excessive cutscenes, you may be put off by MGS4 (although you CAN skip them). I for one love the game for this reason. There are so many little details that cater to the player's enjoyment, such as the ability to play music in-game on your virtual ipod, the songs and extras scattered here and there, and the inside humor. Even if you're unfamiliar with the series (I have experience only with the first Metal Gear Solid game) it's definitely worth a purchase. This is a system-seller plain and simple. Every gamer who calls themself as such should own it. The first truly next-gen does not disappoint. Snakes last dance must be experienced.
33 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2010
I suppose it's obvious I am not a big fan of the series, considering how long I waited to purchase this game. But I figure anyone sitting on the fence at this point is pretty much like me, so this review is for you. MGS4 is simultaneously the most amazing and underwhelming game I have played on the PS3. It paradoxically sucks and rules, but let's go beyond that and break down what (for me) worked and what didn't. This game is incredible visually...the color pallette is a bit muted (as one would expect from this type of game), and had too many "Final Fantasy" type player models in the supporting cast for my taste, but overall oustanding graphics. The gameplay is at times interesting and varied; I particularly enjoyed the "on rails" sections. But...it does get more than a bit repetitive. Without spoiling anything, certain boss fights follow a similar pattern, and some just plain disappoint completely. Getting a load screen about every 300 feet of game area at times is more than a slight annoyance (why all PS3 devs don't just go ahead and ask Naughty Dog for lessons on how to avoid large installs and lengthy load times is beyond me). And then there are the cut scenes...holy crap, the cut scenes. Don't get me wrong, some are well done, and a few characters turn in decent performances. But mostly the scenes are overlong, overly indulgent, and just plain boring. I found the sporadic attempts at high drama and humor to be mostly just silly. The majority of reviews indicate many people really like this game, but I wonder what kind of scores it would have gotten had it not come with the Metal Gear label. I would highly recommend renting this game and playing for a few hours to decide if this one is for you!
66 comments|64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2008
This game made me cry. No I didn't finish it yet, and there are no spoilers in this small review.It made me cry because of the fantastic visuals, gameplay, story (atleast the 7 hours I've been playing it since I got it on midnight release). This game is just too epic. I am not even a true Metal Gear fan, and this game blows me away.

A definite must buy if you own a PS3, regardless of the fact that you are a Metal Gear fan or not. Even if you haven't played any of the previous Metal Gear games, you will still end up loving it, and you will truly enjoy this game.

If you don't own a PS3, I would definitely recommend picking one up just for this game, if you have the money, or at least wait until future price drop.

Final words:
Stunning! Epic! Legendary! Majestic!
11 comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.