Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can This Franchise Get Any Better?
Ever since the first "Metal Gear Solid" brought stealth-gaming, cinematic storytelling, and the franchise to a new level back in 1999, this series has gotten nothing but better. This latest entry is an expanded version of "Snake Eater" (first released Nov. 2004). To all new gamers, do not let this series' long-standing reputation intimidate you. Believe me, this newest...
Published on April 24, 2006 by R.A. McKenzie

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's worth a purchase if you've never played MGS3 or are a die-hard fan.
If you missed out on the excellent MGS3 when it was first released, then here's your next chance to give the game a go-through. At only $30, this game is a deal.

The main new features Subsistence has are a new 3rd-person camera which is completely controllable with the right joystick, some added Snake Vs. Monkey missions, MSX ports of Metal Gear and Metal Gear...
Published on March 23, 2006 by Mitchell Smith


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can This Franchise Get Any Better?, April 24, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence (Video Game)
Ever since the first "Metal Gear Solid" brought stealth-gaming, cinematic storytelling, and the franchise to a new level back in 1999, this series has gotten nothing but better. This latest entry is an expanded version of "Snake Eater" (first released Nov. 2004). To all new gamers, do not let this series' long-standing reputation intimidate you. Believe me, this newest entry in the acclaimed series is one for everybody. To anybody who plays video games, this is one to check out.

For the newcomers, the "Metal Gear" games require the player to avoid enemy conflict and reach their objectives through stealth and covert tactics. The previous games took place in more industrial settings like warehouses and weapons factories. This time, lead protagonist Snake must survive the jungle using camoflouge and the utmost caution. But to as much of a stealth game as this is, it also a fierce yet poetic one. From a tense sniper battle in the jungle, to a gruesome and sadistic torture scene. From a deadly escort mission with plenty of carnage, to a one-on-one confrontation amidst white-flowered fields. It's also a pretty damn funny game sometimes. The sexual tension in this game is both alluring and shamelessly exploitve...I'll leave it at that. I must admit that I find the prologue chapter (which will take a new player about an hour to finish) to be kind of dull until its closing cutscene. But be patient, and you will be rewarded.

Playing through the other two "Metal Gear Solid" games makes the story clearer and more meaningful. However, I say with confidence that because "Metal Gear Solid 3" features a more direct plot than the cryptic second title, newcomers should get into this one fairly easily. Honestly, you need not to have played any "Metal Gear" game for this gripping story to make sense. Will you get more out of it as an experienced player: Definitely! Can you still appreciate this exciting, suspenseful, character-driven, and intelligent tale without the background: Definitely!

For those who've already played through "Snake Eater" (the original PS2 version), there is more additional content that is well worth checking out. The most popular addition is a new camera system that allows players to avoid the top-down perspective, and better see their surroundings as if it were a jungle version of "Splinter Cell". Although this makes the game a lot easier to play, some of the presentation is lost. Hideo Kojima created some of these levels with a cinematic flair, and you don't get as much suspense when you can see everything. The good news, which somehow wasn't advertised very well, is that you can pick either camera view whenever you want. You, the player, are in complete control of how you want to play this game at ALL times.

Disc 2 features some excellent content. A new Theater lets you watch some outlandish parodies of some of the "Snake Eater" cutscenes. The CIA Director's revenge on Snake, Snake's HALO dive going terribly wrong, and my personal favorite---Raiden's desperate need for the spotlight and the resulting "time paradoxes" he causes. These alternate reality scenes are hilarious! The complete library of the original cutscense is available on the first Disc from the get-go. There is some Online versus modes that deathmatch fans will love. And for the true "Metal Gear" fanboy - the MSX versions of the first two "Metal Gear" games, which were terribly butchered on the NES (sorry, Nintendo).

So, should those who own the original "Snake Eater" pick up the expanded version of "Metal Gear Solid 3"? My answer is absolutely! Trade in your old copy, and pick up this version immediately. It's very fair-priced for 30 bucks or less, and the Extra content is excellent. I love all of the "Metal Gear Solid" games, in all of their iterations. What's special about this game is that for the third time running, Hideo Kojima's beloved "Metal Gear Solid" franchise surpasses all expectations that I have no doubt that "Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots" on the PS3 is going to be amazing - such faith in a video game series is rare!

FOR THE NEW PLAYERS

Original versions

"Metal Gear Solid" (PSone, 1999) and (PC, 2001)

"Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty" (PS2, 2001)

"Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater" (PS2, 2004)

New versions of the old titles

"Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes" (Cube, 2004)

"Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance" (PS2/X-Box/PC, 2002)

"Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence" (PS2, 2006)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best games in recent years..., May 24, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence (Video Game)
The first hour or so i played this game i was very disappointed. It starts off extremely slow with a boat load of boring on screen text. Heck, your 'boss' will remind you about 15x that you should use stealth to complete your mission. Yawn...

But when the prologue ends and the meat of the game begins... you are in for a treat.

Everything single part of this game is practically flawless. From the graphics, to the weapons, to the enemy design, to the voice acting, and especially the in game cut scenes.

Some of the cut scenes are so friggin entertaining that its scary. They are so good that they made a special dvd that compilies every cut scene into a feature length film!

Plus, with this special 'Subsistence' edition you will get a whole lot more than the original game. You will get two super old school Metal Gear games for the MSX console which are over 15 years old, bonus 'blopper' movies which are a joy, a light hearted monkey catching game, and more. Getting all of this bonus content for 'free' is beyond awesome.

If youre looking for an action packed, mature, brilliantly executed game than look no further. This game is all you need for pure gaming pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow. The best game in the series, and a great game besides., July 24, 2006
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence (Video Game)
Metal Gear Solid 3 is the 5th game in the official Metal Gear canon , and is by far the best of them all.

This is a prequel to the series, set in 1964 and sets up a lot of the history behind the game (Big Boss's origin, formation of FOXHOUND, and why Revolver Ocelet got the name Revolver).

First off, the game is graphically beautiful. I didn't think that PS2 graphics could get much better than MGS2, but this game surpasses that by a noticeable amount. The sound is equally impressive, and the voice acting is, as usual, quite good.

The gameplay much more difficult this time through though. There's no soliton radar. No more warning when enemies are coming around the corner, from the side, etc . There are some other tools you can use, but they aren't as good, and use battery power (a limited resource that recharges when not in use). As you probably already know, camoflague is a big part of this game, but you're not the only one who uses it; your enemies are camoflagued and difficult to spot sometimes too.

This took a bit of getting used to, but adds to the feeling of the game; being cautious and stealthful instead of running full tilt until you see an enemy on the radar like in previous games.

The story, the best part of the Metal Gear series, is superb here. MGS2 got a little cheesy at the end, but this story works great. The pacing, the emotions, and almost all of the characters are done perfectly. The Cobra unit is a little over the top (though I did like The End), and Volgin borders on cartoonishly villainous, but everyone else turns out a superb performance (especially The Boss).

There were a few obnoxious parts in the game that kept the "fun" down to 4 stars (like automatic alarms when a scientist realizes you're there even though enemy soldiers have to call it over the radio first), but overall this game hits 5 stars easily.

===========

THE EXTRAS

This game comes loaded with extras that are suprisingly worthwhile. It comes with the first 2 games in the series (not the Metal Gear Solid titles, but the originals for the MSX). Both games are worth playing (as long as you can get past the graphics).

In addition, it comes with Snake vs Monkey, a fun and humerous side game where you have to hunt monkeys in the jungle.

I think my favorite was the secret Demo theater, which is a bunch of "outtakes" from the game with hilarious consequences (mostly Snake getting blown up, shot, or run over).

All in all, this has been probably the best PS2 game I've ever played, and definitely one of the best video games I've played ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for stealth fans, April 29, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence (Video Game)
The Metal Gear series has brought ever-improving fun of stealth combat and intricate plot lines. With Subsistence, you've pretty much maxed out your PS2!

You don't have to have played the previous Metal Gear entries to enjoy this game. It's a stealth shooter much like Splinter Cell. You have a vast array of weapons, are sneaking through jungle scenery and taking out your enemies as stealthily as you can.

The graphics are really quite impressive for the PS2 - perhaps the best they could be. The sun dapples down across the jungle floor. Beams of light shine down through gaps in the trees. Waterfalls splash, leaves wave as you sneak through the canopy.

The character movements are of equal quality. When your character runs, crawls, presses against walls and performs other movements, it really is uncannily like there's an actual person following your directions.

The sound is very immersive. There aren't blaring rock music soundtracks in the background. When you creep through the jungle, listening intently to figure out where the sniper is hiding, you haer your footsteps, the stream gurgling near you, the birds occasionally singing overhead. The smallest sounds can really help you track down your enemy.

It's cool how the game tries to keep things "real". When you find forest animals, you can kill them for their meat. If you get injured, you have to patch it up properly - use serum if there's a poison, dig out any darts, bandage the wound, and so on.

That being said, I do find it really funny that your enemies sit around and patiently wait for you to do these things. I realize why they have to do that for gameplay reasons. Still, when you're facing an arch enemy who is about to pounce on you, it's vastly amusing for you to sit down for 5 minutes and do intricate surgery on yourself - and then use your radio to call in to your friends and chat about strategy options. When you're done, there your enemy is, being a gentleman and letting you get prepared before the assault.

There is a SUPER funny sequence in here when you are talking to a scientist, and he explains the concept of a "metal gear". It is completely nonsensical, which of course makes it so funny. It's one of those classic dialogue sequences that you record to your computer and forward around on the web.

The game really shines in many ways. You have a lot of cool technology at your disposal so you have numerous ways to achieve each goal. You can use your heat sensors ... or motion sensors ... or just watch very carefully with your naked eyes. You can experiment with a variety of camo and paint options to see what helps you best blend into your environment. You can go for a frontal assault or sneak around the back way. You always know what your objective is - but how you choose to achieve it is completely up to you.

As if this wasn't all great enough, there are a TON of extras in this set. There are hilarious extra videos. There are a bunch of online games as well as additional mini-games and older games included for free in the set.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Online Mode, New Extras, and a $30 Price Tag - What Else Can You Ask For?, March 29, 2006
By 
S. Stefaniuk (Parma, OH United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence (Video Game)
When I heard this game was about to be released, I sold my MGS3:Snake Eater here on Amazon and immediately pre-ordered this game. After playing Subsistence, I can honestly say that it was well worth the money.

The initial main draw for me was the new addition of the Online Mode which has some nice variety in mode selection and a lot of replay value once you get the hang of it. At first I was concerned with the quality of online play mechanics and potential lag, but haven't encountered any serious problems yet! Once in a while you will run across the occasional cheater, but it's not typical of the online experience and you can set the game to boot them automatically. Also, it's very easy to set-up for online play and is free of charge.

But the fun doesn't stop there. The new Boss Battle mode is another great addition. I didn't expect this to be much fun when I first heard about it, but after playing it I can honestly say that I was pleasantly surprised. In some ways, the Boss Battle mode can be even more addictive than the Online mode.

Overall, this is a great purchase and has a lot to offer, especially at the price tag of $30.00. I can't imagine anyone would be disappointed with this update to MGS3:SE. And if you're looking for something more, you might want to check out MGS3:Subsitence LE, Metal Gear Saga Vol. 1 DVD, and the MGS3:SE soundtrack - all easily acquired on eBay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying a PS2 for., July 28, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence (Video Game)
I've been a fan of the MGS series ever since I played the first game on my friend's Playstation. I could never afford one until recently, so with my last paycheck I set out to the ol' EB Games and picked up a used PS2 along with Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence.

Two weeks, a Maui vacation, and 20 hours of gameplay later, I beat it.

And I am simply stunned.

The gameplay is just amazing. There are so many open ended ways to tackle an objective, and I already want to play through again just to see what I can do differently. Director Hideo Kojima has an obsessive attention to detail, and it shows. Everything in this game looks right, shoots right, sounds right, feels right. The motion-captured cinema scenes are breathtaking. The characters are memorable. The plot is gripping, entertaining, and the ending to this game is one of the most incredible endings I've ever witnessed, be it movie, video game, or novel. Kojima also has a real nack for creating a fun story that pulls off a serious, emotionally compelling message, while injecting it with a good dose of humor. And you've just gotta love the Bond-esque "Snake Eater" theme song. It even starts playing during a few very pivotal sequences in the game, and it just adds to the experience. Must be played to beleived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Excellent, March 2, 2007
By 
Richard Wong "Wolf" (Ewing, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence (Video Game)
This is an improved version of the original Metal Gear Solid 3. Now you have the option of playing the game in the orignal top-down view or the third-person view. The third-person view is easier to control and is more realisitic. The biggest improvement is that you can play this game online now, which literally changes the game dynamic. Online games are alot more action/shooting than the single player story mode. Still, its online mode is more tactical than most first-person shooting games on the market. In case, you do not know this game at all. This is a stealth game, and the graphic, voice, action is great. This version has everything the orignal has and more. It also has two very ancient metal gear game from the nintendo era, I mean the original nintendo era.

*Update* Most unfortunately, the online server in North America is closed. We may no longer play this game online. Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence, October 12, 2006
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence (Video Game)
MGS3 Subsistence is the updated version of the 2004 gem MGS3 Snake Eater.Everything that was in "Snake Eater" is in this game plus loads of extras let me sum them out for you:

*Metal Gear Online-The MGS series go fully online in Subsistence allowing you to play multiplayer and still download those camos

*New low angle 3rd person camera-now we no longer have the crappy 2D BEV camera from Snake Eater and beyond

*More Snake vs Monkey missions-additions to the minigame from Snake Eater

*Secret Theater-parodies of the cutscenes from the main game.quite funny some of them are.

*Theater Mode-watch all the cutscenes from the main game here.Get them all and you have a peep show with EVA

*EVEYTHING from the main game("Snake Eater") but with the new camera and some graphical fixups such as glitches have been fixed

*The very first Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2 Solid Snake from the '80s fun to play, even now 20 years later.

If you have never played MGS3 i urge you to buy this, its completely worth the 30 bucks it has a great story,graphics,music etc combined with these new features.If you've never played MGS, its a sneaking game where you have to try sneak past soldiers to complete your objective.GS3 has the best gameplay by far as you use camouflage to disguise yourself and eat jungle animals to keep your strength up aswell as an advanced combat system called CQC based on real US Army fighting techniques.

The Online play is great even though I've seen better but it stands out as one of the best PS2 onliners.But cheaters and glitchers exist but I still have an occasional blast on the game.

Now I shall rate this game:

Story 9/10

gameplay 8.8/10

graphics 9.6/10

music 9/10

sound fx 8.5/10

camera 8.5/10

Online 8/10

secret theater 8/10

speacial theater 8/10

MG1 and MG2SS 9/10

overall:9.2/10

so add this to your PS2 collection ASAP you won't regret it if you like this kind of game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EPIC!, March 27, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence (Video Game)
This is one of the greatest video game titles of all time. This is only one person's point of view, but the only games that are on par with the production values of this title are GTA: San Andreas, God of War, and Ninja Gaiden Black for the XBOX.

I played the orginal Snake Eater before this and was torn between both loving and hating the game and for only one reason: The adjustable 3rd person camera, or lack there of, was a horror that ruined the experience. Subsistence now brings the 3rd person fully adjustable camera into play, as others have mentioned, and changes gameplay entirely for the extreme better. Splinter Cell Chaos Theory (SC:CT) was an incredible achievement in gameplay and was always one step ahead of Metal Gear for this reason as well as on-line play. Subsistence is now truly the king of stealth in every way possible. That says a lot because SC:CT is pretty awesome in its own right.

Graphics - Simply put: Breathtaking. I was in constant amazement throughout the entire experience. There is also virtually no frame speed loss; even on-line. These graphics are on par with Ninja Gaiden Black on XBOX, maybe even better in some areas. They are certainly comparable to SC:CT on XBOX. Again, that is saying a lot because XBOX is a more powerful platform.

Gameplay/Control- As tight as, if not tighter than, SC:CT. There is a learning curve, but once you are over the curve, the controls fit like a glove. The game is a stealth game, and excels like no other in that genre. If you decide to take on enemies in head-on action sequences, the controls do faulter a little, especially in on-line play. I do agree with some concerns below about on-line. However, utilizing the Scorpion gun with lazer beam bead will help you blast live opponents away. I hardly ever play any on-line games getting my a$$ handed to me by 8 year olds in Halo 2. With Subsistence I didn't have too much trouble being competitive on-line. One thing that SC:CT does have over Subsistence is the ability to save at any point in the game. Subsistence has a weird transition/save point system that is decent, but can not compare to the "save at any point" functionality that SC:CT utilizes.

Sound - Voice-acting was excellent, though cheesy at times. Weapon and environment sounds are life-like.

Story - Again, only from one person's point of view, but to me, God of War had the all time best video game story. Subsistence comes in second. It was a great story with excellent visuals for cut-scenes. Some of it is a little cheesy, but the twists and turns learned at the end of the game were clever.

Extras: The Dual Mode, Theater Mode, Secret Theater, Snake vs. Monkey, On-Line, and original MG1 & 2 games justifies this title being one of the greatest of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best games EVER!!!, March 28, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence (Video Game)
Metal Gear Solid is my favorite video game saga so I might give the game a little bit more credit than others. But even if you are not a very big MGS fan you will find this game to be amazing. To me, and to MANY other, this is one of the best games ever. I can't even describe how great this game is. I'll make the review short and sweet.

Graphics- 10 out of 10(this game definitely pushes the PS2 to

its limits)

Gameplay- 9.9 out of 10(there might be one or two places where

you get stuck and get very angry.)

Story- 10 out of 10(MGS has THE best storyline in the

history of video games)

Sound- 10 out of 10(very clear and THE best video game

soundtrack)

Online- 9.9 out of 10(would be better if there were more

people)

I don't know what else there is. Overall 10 out of 10.

I definitely recommend Metal Gear Solid, and Metal Gear Solid 2:Sons of Liberty if you play this game.

I saw that someone earlier wrote in their review that this game has a bad saving system unlike Splinter Cell where you can save anywhere, anytime. That is UNTRUE. In MGS you can, and always have been able to, save at any point in the game. All you have to do is press SELECT to bring up the radio, press down on the d-pad to open the memory, and choose SAVE. You will call Para-medic(a character in the game) and she will ask you if you want to save). You can bring the radio up anytime in the game, which lets you also save at any time in the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence
Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence by Konami (PlayStation2)
$39.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.