Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The rise and fall of Quiet Riot in a single album
THE BAND: Kevin Dubrow (vocals... R.I.P.), Carlos Cavazo (guitars), Rudy Sarzo (bass, synthesizer), Frankie Banali (drums & percussion).

THE DISC: (1983) Originally 10 songs clocking in at approximately 41 minutes, this remastered version gives you 2 bonus tracks and almost 52 minutes worth. The bonus tracks: "Danger Zone" (unreleased studio cut), and a live...
Published on September 19, 2006 by R. Gorham

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair
This is not as great as I had remembered it. Carlos was not really much of a guitarist. Not the best of LA metal.
Published 9 months ago by Craig Barker


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The rise and fall of Quiet Riot in a single album, September 19, 2006
This review is from: Metal Health (Audio CD)
THE BAND: Kevin Dubrow (vocals... R.I.P.), Carlos Cavazo (guitars), Rudy Sarzo (bass, synthesizer), Frankie Banali (drums & percussion).

THE DISC: (1983) Originally 10 songs clocking in at approximately 41 minutes, this remastered version gives you 2 bonus tracks and almost 52 minutes worth. The bonus tracks: "Danger Zone" (unreleased studio cut), and a live version of "Slick Black Cadillac". Included with the disc is a 10-page booklet containing song titles/credits/times, original artwork and additional black & white photos, a brief 3-page intro, and thank you's. Recorded at The Pasha Music House in Hollywood, CA. Originally released on Pasha's label, this digitally remastered version is on Sony/Portrait/Epic.

COMMENTS: Disco was officially out a few years prior. The early 80's introduced us to the next popular fad - New Wave. Hard rock was trying to make a come back. To many listeners, American metal was still a question mark at the start of the 1980's. The British/European invasion of heavy metal was in full force (Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Scorpions, etc). In 1983 the biggest seller was Quiet Riot's "Metal Health" - bigger than Def Leppard's "Pyromania", Motley Crue's "Shout At The Devil", or Iron Maiden's "Piece Of Mind". 6+ million units sold and growing. As quickly as "Metal Health" rose (the first metal record ever to hit #1 on the Billboard album charts), the band fell from grace. DuBrow's antics were fairly well documented (#1 reason being difficult to get along with)... with other bands as well as his own. "Metal Health" was a solid album, and it's still a classic... but, it hasn't stood the test of time as well as any of the other albums mentioned above. For me, Quiet Riot was the definition of "pop" hair metal. "Metal Health" created the standard formula that all successful pop/hair metal bands seemed to follow... 1. Some aggressive hard rocking songs (""Breathless", "Run For Cover", "Love's A Bitch"); a couple of hits ("Metal Health", "Cum On Feel The Noise"), and a power ballad ("Thunderbird"). Quiet Riot's cover version of Slade's "Cum On Feel The Noise" hit #20 on the Billboard charts (#5 on the pop charts), as the title track hit #31. "Slick Black Cadillac" had minor success on the radio as well. Cavazo's "Battle Axe" is a short guitar solo - in the same vein as Eddie Van Halen's "Eruption". A brief history of the players is documented in the disc booklet - Quiet Riot being formed by guitar-god Randy Rhoads and singer DuBrow in the mid 1970's without much success; Rhoads and bassist Sarzo leaving QR to play with now solo Ozzy; Rhoads killed in a plane crash; Sarzo returns with Banali joining on drums and Cavazo on lead guitar. Some truly great songs here - my favorites are the title track, "Don't Want To Let You Go", and "Breathless". The ballad "Thunderbird" (though an ode to Rhoads) is musically weak. The bonus tracks - "Danger Zone" fits right in with the rest of the album (good stuff), but the live "Slick Black Cadillac" is absolutely horrible (sounds like an out-of-breath high school band doing a cover tune). The potential was there to continue (and more albums being released), but Quiet Riot never again achieved the success it had in '83. "Metal Health" is a classic in the "pop" arena of metal (4.5 stars).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album kicked Thriller off the charts!, November 29, 1999
By 
Bryan S. Sampsel (Colorado Springs, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mental Health (Audio CD)
I was only a kid when this album came out...but it was one of the first metal albums I ever listened to. The music was fun and fast...it energized my moody teenage nights.
Now, as a 24 year old adult, it bring a smile to my face...saw 'em live this last summer...rocked the house!
Metal Health is dated now...mostly due to the mixes being so bass-light...but the vocals, drums, and guitar really rocked the world for the times...still do.
This band was always under-rated. I don't know much about DuBrow shooting off his mouth...but which metal band didn't? Motley, Guns-n-Roses...who did mouth off?
remember boys and girls...some of us have been listening to this stuff for years, it's not just a nice cool "let's get back into the 80's thing" for us. When most of you are trying to convince us you never rocked out to this album...I will still be cranking it up!
Rock 'em on the Flip Side DuBrow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a shame that it will only be remembered for one song, February 4, 2009
By 
This review is from: Metal Health (Audio CD)
What's the 4-1-1?
Any 80s heavy metal fan already knows the story of Quiet Riot's third album. I mean, they played that damn Behind the Music special on VH1 a million times. Basically, the group was virtually unknown until the release of this album. The album became legendary (and I use that term loosely) because it was the first metal album to reach #1 on the pop chart. I'm sure the band would have preferred to set that record with a song of their own, but it was with their cover of Slade's "Cum on Feel the Noize" that sent the band into the mainstream.

You know the song I'm talking about. It was the party anthem of the decade. It's loud, bombastic, and undeniably catchy. However, the band's first single was "Metal Health (Bang Your Head);" a track loaded with heavy guitars and string bending guitar solos. The song also has the dubious distinction of appearing in the movie Footloose. The band takes a chance on the ballad-like "Don't Want to Let You Go," but fails because vocalist Kevin Dubrow's voice is just to rough. Killer riffs and driving rhythms make "Slick Black Cadillac" a fun ride, but after hearing the description of the actual car, who would want it?

"Love's a Bitch" works more as a ballad because hard rockers are always pissed off about relationships. "Breathless" has all the makings of a pop-rock hit. "run for Cover" actually justifies the album as a heavy metal one. "Let's Get Crazy" is loaded with hooks as it tries to undo a few in the backseat. "Thunderbird" has always been a live favorite for the band as it pays tribute to their former guitarist Randy Rhodes.

The Verdict
I certainly wouldn't rank Metal Health as one of the greatest albums of all time, but for the time period, it was a solid rock album. It's a shame that it will only be remembered for one song, because there are a few others that are on the same level. Success was short lived for the group, as they used the same formula for their follow-up album Condition Critical. They even tried a second Slade cover. The band continued to release albums (with a different vocalist at one time), and toured the club circuit keeping Metal Health alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The First Metal Album To Go #1!, December 4, 2005
This review is from: Metal Health (Audio CD)
I got this album after seeing the kick ass video for the song Metal Health. I couldn't get enough of it! I still enjoy cranking that metal anthem. Ironically Quiet Riot would achieve great success a few years after guitar legend Randy Rhoads left the band to join Ozzy. New guitarist Carlos Cavazo was no Randy but he could play a good riff or a wailing solo. The big hit off the album was the cover of Slade's Cum On Feel The Noize. It seemed you couldn't turn on MTV without seeing that video. But the album has other good songs like the emotional Love's A Bitch and the Cavazo guitar showcase Battle Axe! Then there is the ballad Thunderbird, apparently written about Randy who died in a plane crash in 1982, and the smooth rocker Breathless. The track Slick Black Cadillac is a decent song from the Randy years and Let's Get Crazy is simple but fun headbanger. The only song I never got into was Don't Wanna Let You Go. Quiet Riot's career would go downhill after the next album but Metal Health is still a good album despite some of the ridicule heaped on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet Riot - "Metal Health", September 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Metal Health (Audio CD)
I purchased my first copy of this in the fall of 1983 (I was in 11th grade) and listened to it about 30 times in a row as I sat on the floor of my bedroom making the mask on the cover from sheet metal for a Halloween party the next week. I worked really hard on the mask, making all the little bends, holes, and stains. My mask was about a 99% perfect copy. I went to the party and found out it was not a costume party and later forgot the mask at the party. Listening to this again after decades reminds me of a great time in my life and the most remarkable thing about this record is that it STILL sounds as fresh as it did in 1983. Seriously. Every single song on this album is great and it flows really, really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Campy Fun, November 7, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Mental Health (Audio CD)
I remeber hearing this in school and I loved it. I could escape into mindless metal. These are some of the best driving songs ever made!!! You can "bang your head" all you want. Battle axe is worth a look. (great intrumental) If you want some great campy mindless fun, get this albumn and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was heavy metal, now known as classic rock!, May 18, 2002
By 
This review is from: Metal Health (Audio CD)
I had always hesitated to buy this album in previous years, probably because it had such a stigma of a "cheesy, 80's hair-band" to quote a few critics. After listening to this album, I am ashamed that I did not buy it sooner. What is so amazing is that this album was revolutionary in the rock music industry, yet many music critics fail to acknowledge this fact. Once you listen to the songs on this CD, you'll realize that no other album like this had ever been created before. The music is brash, the style is flamboyant, and the passion is overwhelming. It paved the way for not only other 80's hard rock bands, but also for grunge, heavy metal, and alternative bands that are doing well today.
Most of the songs here are exceptional. The classics are "Cum On Feel The Noise" and "Metal Health", of course. A surprisingly creative anthem is "Don't Wanna Let You Go". Other rockers consist of songs like "Slick, Black Cadillac" and "Thunderbird". The bonus track is somewhat of a letdown with a live version of "Cadillac". There are definitely a few flaws with the live track such as production and sound engineering. One flaw is that there is too much treble input in the music and crowd noise which diminishes the energy of that performance and actually makes the music sound fuzzy and distorted.
Quiet Riot is what I call a two-hit pioneer. They came out with a few exceptional songs, but more importantly, provided hard rock an entrance to a mainstream audience and market, thus entrenching them into a classic-rock-band status. This band wasn't legendary, but it was the catalyst for the explosion of hard rock bands that have been created and evolving ever since. Get this album for your classic rock collection!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HEALTHY DOSE OF METAL, January 19, 2011
By 
14JRNY (San Fernando Valley, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Metal Health (Audio CD)
I purchased this album in 1983, mostly because I loved the lead singer's voice. "Cum On Feel The NoiZe" was different than anything I had ever heard. I just had to get the album. Due to the fact that "Cum On Feel The Noize" and "Metal Health (Bang Your Head)" were incredibly stellar tunes, I barely played the rest of the album. It is common for an album with a couple gargantuan tunes to be dismissed as not being a very good album overall. Those one or two or three "incredible" songs seem to overshadow and "weaken" the other songs by comparison. But if you skip the ultra-amazing songs and only listen to the "other" songs, you may find that the "other" songs aren't so bad after all.

I personally think that all the songs are good. "Let's Get Crazy" and "Slick Black Cadillac" have lyrics that are little juevenile, but the music is still good. I REALLY like the two ballads on the album ("Love's A Bitch" and "Thunderbird").

I think this is a classic metal album and should be judged as is, without listening to the people who love to bash it because the lead singer said some ridiculous things and made a fool out of himself back in the day. Give it a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great early album from the party boys of metal!, November 13, 2003
By 
"kaluahjeff" (Los Angeles, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Metal Health (Audio CD)
Metal Health is a fantastic album. Featuring some of their best songs including their all time most popular hit "Come on Feel the Noise". In the 80's there was only one band that delivered Rock-em', Sock-em' heavy metal punch, and that was Quiet Riot. Who cares what's going on in the world, forget your troubles, and crank up Metal Health all the way to the party. The live cuts of bonus material also does the trick as it adds to the flare of digital remastering. Their follow up album 'Condition Critical' is another awesome album to have as it is also one of Quiet Riot's best including no shortage of the same On-the-floor, Out-the-door beats. Quiet Riot will not dissapoint, get this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The "other" songs are good too, March 10, 2000
By 
Darren X (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mental Health (Audio CD)
I picked this up on CD recently (it was the first tape I ever bought back in Grade 8!), and it has aged pretty well, actually! Cadillac, Crazy, Breathless, and especially Run for Cover are good solid 80's metal fare, and of course the two big hits are classics, even if it's not cool to admit it. A great guilty pleasure when you're in the mood for a band with big hair!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Metal Health
Metal Health by Quiet Riot (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.