Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 22, 2008
At first I really had my doubts about the quality of this game because SNK Playmore chose not to make an arcade version first. Arcades are great quality-assurance mechanisms because machines are expensive and they need to be fun enough that people will continue to put money in them.

I'm pleasantly surprised to find that not only is this game great, but I would say it is the best Metal Slug since 3. This takes the refreshing mechanics of Metal Slug 6 and adds excellent, always fun level design and fantastic bosses.

Naysayers will be quick to point out that the graphics are grainy because of down scaling and the backgrounds are uninspired. Personally, I stopped noticing or caring about the graininess 10 minutes into the game. They're certainly not bad enough to impact how fun it is.

SNK Playmore has restored my faith in them with this game. I would even go as far to say that it's my favorite game of the year.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 19, 2008
Pros:

+Seven stages of addictive gameplay
+Unique art style
+In spite of doing the same thing over and over, it still manages to hold its own in the genre of run and gun
+A good challenge
+Replay value

Cons:

-It's over in a flash with only 7 stages and yet there aren't a whole lot of extras
-There's no multiplayer, which is something that every Metal Slug game ought to have

The Metal Slug series is one of the kings of the run and gun. It's got fantastic and addictive gameplay and an art style that can't be beat. Metal Slug 7, the exclusive DS offering, is the latest in the series. While it isn't the best, it holds true to what has made Metal Slug such a good game series over the years.

Metal Slug 7 has you trumping through seven levels in classic run and gun fashion. In each level you'll find vehicles you can pilot (called Slugs) that can help you out. You'll also rescue hostages who will grant you weapons like Rocket Launchers or other special kinds of guns. Metal Slug 7 plays no different than the other games in the series. One of the strengths of the series has been its accessibility. If you've played any of the other Metal Slug games, you'll be right at home. If you've never played a Metal Slug game, you're still in good hands. It is not a difficult game to learn by any means. That doesn't mean Metal Slug 7 is not a challenge. It's a big challenge, as most games in the run and gun genre are. At the very least, Metal Slug 7 isn't quite as challenging as say... the Contra series. It's actually not too hard after a while and you'll have plenty of credits to help you out.

There are a couple of hitches with Metal Slug 7, however. There's no multiplayer which is the ultimate sin of any run and gun game. Part of the fun of previous Metal Slug offerings was the multiplayer. It's kind of a downer not to be able to go through the game with a friend. This would be a much bigger problem were it on a console. The other problem with the game is simply that there isn't much of a game. There's not a whole lot of extra content. The replay value is really high, at least. And while there are seven levels you're left wanting a bit more when all is said and done. The game also doesn't make use of the touch screen controls but I doubt that will really upset anyone. The important thing is that the game plays very well and it continues to be addictive.

Metal Slug 7 is great for the Metal Slug fan. The only unfortunate issue (aside from the lack of multiplayer) is that it's a brutally short game that doesn't offer a whole lot of extras. There's a good haul of replay value but it's hard not to expect just a little bit more from a series as good as Metal Slug 7.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2016
A bit short, but the length of most metal slug games. Wonderful to have on the go, and since I don't think this is available in other compilations you'd best grab this now while it's still affordable! All your favorite run and gun right in your pocket. Even if you're terrible at these games you can beat it, since it makes a checkpoint at every chapter! Includes a very detailed tutorial too, which will help you get better at the other slug games!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICEon November 24, 2008
I have never been able to say no to Metal Slug, and I never will either. That's why I was nothing but excited when I heard that Metal Slug would be making its debut on the DS with Metal Slug 7, and needless to say, if you're a fan of the series and own a DS, you know that you need to own this. The run and gun experience of the arcade smash has managed to be perfectly shrunken down for the DS, and there's virtually no slowdown with all the action happening. It's a sheer blast to play through, which is what one would expect from a Metal Slug game, and it offers everything that has made the series so fun to begin with, as well as a few new Slugs to boot. That being said, Metal Slug 7 isn't without it's flaws. Namely the fact that it won't take you too long to blast through the game, and other than the standard Arcade Mode and the Combat School Mode, that's pretty much it. There's no online or co-op (one of the true pleasures of Metal Slug is playing with a pal), and no use of the touch-screen, or any of the DS' other capabilities either. Still, hardcore Metal Slug fans will find much to admire here, and if you are and you own a DS, Metal Slug 7 is a must own.
44 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2015
awesome handheld side-scrolling shooter. if you played Contra then this should be familiar, just add a knife for close encounters. may seem cartoon-ish and has a hint of humor, but it is a serious shooter. Every time I play this I do often wonder when will they bring back 2D sprite pixilated shooters? or at least update them with a new coat of paint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2013
I have been a huge fan of the Metal Slug series since it's debut in the arcade since the '90's. Metal Slug 7 is kinda different from the arcade smash, but decent for a portable.
Same known one hit you're dead gameplay, a bit on the difficult side though.Graphics are similar, but not as big and vibrant or with the silky smooth touches as the bigger brethren, arcade or big console. It's still big on the bosses, and action does not slow down with multiple enemies on the screen.
Control was easy enough, up/down/ left /right A/ B/ C config not rocket science here, a thoroughly enjoyable portable shoot 'em up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2013
This is the first Metal Slug game I have ever played. I've always seen gameplay videos of previous installments from this series and they all looked fun. From the smooth and humerous animations to the fast run and gun gaemplay I decided to give it a try and I am happy to say that this is so far the best DS game I have ever purchased. Although there are only 7 stages, don't let that fool you into thinking that this is a short game. There is tons of replay value to be had.
You choose from characters all with their own special characterisitcs. For example, Marco is exceptional with the handgun while Eri is an expert with explosives and can throw them in different directions unlike her other allies. All of them are animated beautifully which gives them lots of charm and personality. Part of the fun is figuring out which character suits your play style and playing to that characters strenghts to get higher scores. The game is simple to play and highly addictive only requiring you to reach the end of a stage by running and gunning. The difficulty (especially on later levels and on higher difficulty settings) are quite challenging, but its never so hard to where you want to give up playing which is a rare balancing act to achieve in most games these days. Speaking of higher scores, the addictive gameplay is geared toward just that.
You'll notice that the game encourages you to defeat enemies quickly through utilizing the Blast Rush Meter. The more enemies you kill in quick succession the faster the gauge builds. Once the meter is at max, defeated enemies release coins that you can get to increase your score further. Individually they're not worth much, but collect a large amount in quick succession and they gradually increase in value significantly. The gauge is only at maximum for a limited time so you have to kill as many enemies as fast as possible. Score is also heightened by collecting point items and POWs. Specifically point items are hidden throughout the stage but POWs can be seen in plain sight as well as be hidden from you. POWs, once resuced, can give you either point items or weapons and collecting as many as you can without losing a life at the end of a stage nets you a massive score bonus.
The weapons are a lot of fun to use. They range from your standard fare of firearms like heavy machineguns and shotguns to more interesting weapons such as a laser gun and even a sword that dispels enemy projectiles! You always have your handgun, but you can only have two special weapons at a time and can switch between them with the tap of the R button. Devastation can also be handed out through the use of Slugs which are your armored vehicles. All operate differently and range from tanks both wheeled and bipedal to an aircraft. Decimating large groups of enemies with such weaponry is incredibly satisfying but you will certainly have your favorites.
The Combat School is where you will spend most of your time. There are a variety challenges to complete for each stage ranging from eliminating enemy bases, to collecting items,and bouncing balls towards a goal. Choose your character carefully as some are better for certain missions than others and since you are being evaluated with a letter grade, it can mean the difference between an A or an S rank.
All of your attention will be on the top screen since the bottom screen is negligable. It only shows your position in the stage and stage layout. Items and POWS are only shown once they have been acquired which may be useful for memorization or in some other capacity if you're trying to make a skillful run of them game but not much else. To look at the map requires you to stop what you are doing by using the stylus which is not a good idea since it breaks the flow of the game which emphasises fast gameplay.
With the irrelevant bottom screen aside, overall I can't find much to complain about with this game. It's visually appealing amd incredibly fun to play, especially on the go. I can garauntee this will be in your permanent collection for years to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2011
I'm very pleased with this Metal Slug. It runs as crisp and clear as the arcade/console versions. It's a blast to have so many characters who actually have differences; it makes for great re-playability and strategy on various missions. I can't call this a bad game by a long shot. If you like Metal Slug, and have a DS, this is a great fix.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2014
If you've played Metal Slug before, don't expect anything radically different. This is almost the same game you've played eight other times --that's what makes it one of the DS's best arcade games. There is a plot; I have no idea what is is, and still don't after six playthroughs. But it's not important enough to pay attention to, so don't bother. The action taking place on the top screen is reminiscent of the arcade game. Though the DS's small screens force the sprites to feel squished down, and takes away some of the sharpness. Thankfully the animations are smooth and the framerate hold up even when there are ten enemies on the screen. Like most Metal Slugs, the game can be beaten in a matter of an hour, so SNK included an in-game leaderboard that shows best times for game completion and individual levels. There's also an objective based mode, though I didn't play it that often. It's there, though. If you enjoy Metal Slug in general, pick this up. More of the same isn't always a bad thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2011
The game metal slug 7 was epic and from what I expected it to be. In all levels there were vehicles for the missions. This was the best metal slug series ever (At least to me. But I think 1,2, & 3 are still awsome!)
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Customers also viewed these items

$38.94-$139.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.