Start reading Metamind on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

Metamind [Kindle Edition]

Wayne Wightman
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $2.99

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

In the tradition of Brave New World, Metamind shows an artificial world that is peaceful as long as it is entertained. Then the Ultimate Entertainment device, the Metamind Me-2, is given to a waiting world, with side-effects no one had imagined.

Jack Land, the media face of Metamind Enterprises, looked at the row of gleaming white pods.
"I don't know what I'm looking at, sir."
"You're looking at the end of the world as we know it."
"Will it be with a bang or a whimper?"
"Both. We're gonna bang 'em and they're gonna whimper."

--Did the eccentric billionaire Theron Hibbing return from space with fabulous alien technology? Or did he just steal it from the Chinese?
--And then Clara Nolan found those incriminating memdots. She just wanted to do the right thing--and dropped herself and Jack Land in the middle of Kafka's best nightmare, where nothing was what it seemed.
--Now, while half the world prepares for an alien invasion, Metamind wants you to remember,

"Meta. . . Meta. . . Metamind. . . . We're so good we must be illegal!"


WHAT OTHERS HAVE SAID

Orson Scott Card, Hugo and Nebula winner: "[Wayne Wightman is] ...one of the names I['ve] learned to look for.... He...is a romantic whose stories confess his belief that individuals can be larger than life, that their decisions can change the world around them."

John Brunner, the legend himself: "Wayne Wightman is agreeable company, both in person and via the printed page. As to the former, I'm afraid you will have to wait the chance to make his acquaintance.... As to the latter, however, now's your chance."

Richard Paul Russo, Philip K. Dick Award winner: "One of Wightman's great strengths is his willingness to go to the edge. He pulls no punches, whether the story is serious or violent or manic. You can count on him to take you places other writers shy away from."

Elinor Mavor, editor of Amazing Stories, says of Metamind: "The concept of the impossibly complex and bizarre consequences... is delightfully evil. I'm sure lots of our... 'rulers' in Washington would snap up Hibbing's nasty invention in a heartbeat... and I would imagine they, too, would then have their minds even further scrambled."

Best Story of the Year 2011 awarded to Wayne Wightman's "Brutal Interlude" by Orson Scott Card's online magazine The Intergalactic Medicine Show.


Product Details

  • File Size: 440 KB
  • Print Length: 267 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005PC5O18
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #821,019 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
(7)
4.1 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Premise April 2, 2014
By Melinda
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Technology from aliens that creates a new reality including confabulation. A machine where humans can literally create their own realities with alien tech. The possibilities are endless when you are dealing with a situation where reality and memory can both be artificial. How many layers of plot can you craft to create an amazingly intricate tale of action, betrayal, conspiracies, murder and skullduggery?

While this book is very entertaining, it doesn't do much with the premise - doesn't exercise it in a full and exciting way. The big outlines were fairly predictable, while the small details remained a surprise. There were only really two levels of story arcs actively playing against each other, with the opportunity for so many more. In addition to this the book kind of tapers off at the end into a kind of numbness.

The characterization was very uneven, the 'talking head' hero gets all the attention, but nobody gets any backstory in the book, with the exception of two characters who had a couple of sentences. The characters were definitely flawed, but not necessarily cuddly or warm. There were a lot of agendas here among these characters. The dialogue was good and credible.

Overall: It was a good start but it could be so much more. Entertaining!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A way to enjoy life while not changing it. June 3, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Interesting story of a possible future. Like a video game that does and shows anything you can imagine. Very enjoyable. I would recommend it for an enjoyable read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fast paced, someone needs to save bewildered Jack March 17, 2012
By Kelli
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Theron Hibbing has returned from deep space with a device that could make anyone's dreams come true. It appears to be a gift from aliens. Clara Nolan accidentally discovers evidence that makes her question the truth about Theron and the device. Clara contacts Theron's mouthpiece and son-in-law, Jack Land. Clara pushes Jack to find out the truth about the device and what is really going on.

Initially I gave this book 5 stars, but I dropped it down to 4 while I wrote the review. It was well written and very well done, but it answered zero questions. It starts out with the premise that this device has fallen into someone elses hands. It ends on the same premise. It actually ends with more questions than you began the book with.

Who actually controls the device? Where did it come from? What does it really do? We still don't know. The book is good enough for me to buy the sequel, but I hope it answers at least one of these questions.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars a quick, fun thriller October 27, 2014
By Anna K.
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Wightman is the sort of author whose books could be truly great, after one more edit and rewrite.

The bones of this story are solid and imaginative, though the characters could use some more fleshing out, and the copy has quite a few typos, missing words, etc. Metamind has good, quick pacing, and is a fun thriller for a lazy weekend.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

More About the Author

I began growing up in Missouri, near El Dorado Springs. My family moved to central California and I finished growing up there. I was in San Francisco, in the Haight-Ashbury, during the hippie Sixties, got some degrees, and began teaching literature, critical thinking, and creative writing.

Over the years, I've published 40+ stories in Fantasy & Science Fiction, Amazing Stories, Asimov's, other magazines, and original anthologies. Now it's time to write the novels.

Photos:

Wayne Wightman.
Watson, my friend.
Diaz, on his Indian, 1968.


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category