Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Early Solar System In The Palm of Your Hand
The simply titled 'Meteorites' proves itself a wonderful book. It presents the whole field of "rocks from space" in a comprehensive yet easily digested manner.

The information herein is for the most part straight-forward. Pages overflow with interesting data about the various aspects of the world of meteorites:
The history of their domain (the solar...
Published on September 29, 2009 by dream factory

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars great for those just starting to learn about
Basic book, great for those just starting to learn about meteorites
Published 4 months ago by Laverne Moak


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Early Solar System In The Palm of Your Hand, September 29, 2009
By 
dream factory (Triangulum, M33) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Meteorites (Hardcover)
The simply titled 'Meteorites' proves itself a wonderful book. It presents the whole field of "rocks from space" in a comprehensive yet easily digested manner.

The information herein is for the most part straight-forward. Pages overflow with interesting data about the various aspects of the world of meteorites:
The history of their domain (the solar system).
The atmposphere of their dwelling places.
Their inherent nature and composition.
The history of their earthly existance and contact with humanity.
Every aspect of meteorite information is expounded upon by this well versed author. Her love for the subject is evident.

The layout of this book is well thought out and adds to the informative text. The spread on each subject is well planned. The photographs of rocks are simply gorgeous.

Both to the weathered meteorite hound or the curious novice it is a mysterious and amazing field. And in this field full of so many books this book immediately sits at the top of the list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful introduction to meteorites, October 28, 2009
By 
A. Caldwell (Castle Rock, CO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meteorites (Hardcover)
"Meteorites" is a great introduction to the entire science surrounding these enigmatic little rocks from space. It is written at an accessible level that would be ideal as a reference for high school students or for someone just developing an interest in the field of meteorites. What I liked best was the contemporary information contained within and in addition to the main text. The science of asteroids, comets, impacts, astrobiology, and meteorites changes so quickly that it's hard to find a text with such accurate, current information. I recommend this book to anyone who has even a passing interest in meteorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting Book, August 15, 2012
By 
Al Price "Socalal" (Caliente, (nearLake Isabella,) CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meteorites (Hardcover)
I retired a few years ago but that doesn't mean that I've stopped learning. I was watching a story on TV about meteorites, so I decided to learn more about them. This is a very good book on the subject AND it has a lot of color photos (as opposed to several other books that I bought on the subject that only have B&W photos)! Buy it, I think you'll enjoy it. Also, it's written in Layman's language, so they aren't talking over our heads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brief yet adequately detailed look at our cosmic visitors, January 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meteorites (Paperback)
I'm a non scientist with an interest in meteoritics.
This short book does a very nice job of explaining the formation and classification of meteorites without bogging one down in details more relevant to a PhD. Diagrams and pictures are clear and understandable.
A nice intro for someone with an interest in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meteorites and their relevance to the formation of our Solar System, November 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meteorites (Paperback)
Great information on meteorites, what they are made from, their relevance to the formation of our solar system, a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, April 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meteorites (Hardcover)
I got this for my son who is a geologist at heart. He has been studying rocks and minerals for years. He loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book on the subject, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meteorites (Paperback)
Well written with a lot of information on meteorites.Includes some good photography of different specimens.A good compliment to the book Rocks from space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, October 30, 2014
By 
Lesleigh (Jasper, FL, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meteorites (Paperback)
Purchased this book, with some meteorite samples, for my scientifically minded 9 year old grandson....he has an inquiring mind and will find the info packed book and sample an interesting study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Begin Here, July 25, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meteorites (Paperback)
Very nicely written and presented.
A great beginner book for the new meteorite enthusiast. Excellent overall background in a short read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars great for those just starting to learn about, August 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meteorites (Paperback)
Basic book, great for those just starting to learn about meteorites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Meteorites
Meteorites by Sara S. Russell (Hardcover - August 28, 2009)
Used & New from: $16.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.