Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recent and Comprehensive: a great guide to meteorites
I think Norton and Chitwood have done a great piece of work with this guide. It is very readable, but also up-to-date and comprehensive. As a collector, I find it covers the bases thoroughly. The parts describing hunting for meteorites, the tools and techniques used for determining meteorite authenticity, and the anecdotal information on hunters and various finds are a...
Published on July 16, 2008 by Taylor J. Barton

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive but not what I had hoped for!
If you require info that will explain absolutely everything you want to know about Meteors and Meteorites then this is the book to buy.
However, I was really hoping to get at least a list of known strewn fields and maps with this book- unfortunately that was not the case.-disappointed because of that. :-(
Published 21 months ago by Uwe Naeger


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recent and Comprehensive: a great guide to meteorites, July 16, 2008
This review is from: Field Guide to Meteors and Meteorites (The Patrick Moore Practical Astronomy Series) (Paperback)
I think Norton and Chitwood have done a great piece of work with this guide. It is very readable, but also up-to-date and comprehensive. As a collector, I find it covers the bases thoroughly. The parts describing hunting for meteorites, the tools and techniques used for determining meteorite authenticity, and the anecdotal information on hunters and various finds are a pleasant bonus I was not expecting.

But, for me personally, the biggest surprise was the information in the chapter on thin sections: From Hand Lens to Microscope. This is excellent information for anyone who wants to learn about actually analyzing meteorites. If you want to go beyond basic hunting or collecting, this is the section for you. Furthermore, the authors have representative thin section photographs of the major meteorite classes throughout the other chapters.

I like Springer as a publisher, and I think the Patrick Moore series on Practical Astronomy has been a good thing for amateur astronomy. I have about a dozen of the series titles, but this one -- in my opinion -- is a more thorough treatment of its subject than any of the others.

I also have about a dozen other books on meteorites -- some of them highly specialized (like the Color Atlas of Meteorites in Thin Section). As I'm learning more about meteoritics, I would find it hard to part with any of my books. But if I were forced to keep just one of them, this would be the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding overview of meteors and meteorites, November 2, 2008
This review is from: Field Guide to Meteors and Meteorites (The Patrick Moore Practical Astronomy Series) (Paperback)
This is a magnificent book and a must for anyone who is interested in our solar system and its formation. How do you study something that took place 4.6 billion years ago? You look at the unaltered debris that is left over from that period and fortunately for science that debris can be found on Earth in the form of meteorites. Once they are cut open, their extraterrestrial origins are betrayed and they become a history lesson to the scientists who study them. That's why this book is so important - it tells you what to look for, as most meteorites are found by amateurs - and it may as well be you. This is one of the very few areas where a non-scientist can make a real contribution to the scientific understanding of our planet's origins.

The book itself is divided into three parts. The first part is devoted to all the debris floating around the solar system, from interplanetary dust particles (IDPs), to asteroids, to meteoroids which become meteorites once they land on Earth. Meteors are the luminous phenomenon we have all witnessed in the night sky. Next comes the second and main part of the book with its description of the different classes and subclasses of meteorites, replete with color photos of whole specimens, slices, and thin sections. Every category of meteorites tells a different story that relates to the particulars of its formation. While most meteorites are of asteroidal origin, some have come from the Moon and Mars. These latter can send the heart racing if you are lucky enough to stumble upon one.

The final part of the book is about how to find meteorites and `what next?' if you think you have indeed stumbled upon one. Firstly, don't worry as they are neither hot to the touch nor are they radioactive. A gallery of `meteorwrongs' is included to show that a rock can look like a meteorite in some respects and yet sadly be terrestrial. A wonderful segment is included on what meteorites look like in thin section and it is a glorious world indeed. This is where former ugly-ducklings become superstars of science.

Not everyone knows this, but you can actually buy these extraterrestrial rocks from space (just Google `meteorites for sale'). If you do, or if you wish to find you own, or if you just wish to learn more about the environment our Earth inhabits, you will want a copy of this outstanding book. The reader should be warned though - meteorites have been found to be highly addictive. Good hunting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Guide ro Meteors and Meteorites, August 26, 2008
By 
This review is from: Field Guide to Meteors and Meteorites (The Patrick Moore Practical Astronomy Series) (Paperback)
Field Guide to Meteors and Meteorites (Patrick Moore's Practical Astronomy Series) This book should be on every meteorite lovers bookshelf. The photos are detailed and of excellent quality.The text is understandable by professionals and amateurs alike. I unhesitatingly recommend this book to anyone interested in these visitors from outer space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars meterorites, November 27, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to Meteors and Meteorites (The Patrick Moore Practical Astronomy Series) (Paperback)
This is a comprehensve guide of the origin and classification of meterorites. As a collector, it's an invaluable resource to assess finds and purchased meterorites. Outstanding resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide., December 21, 2013
By 
Coy Burnett (Jacksonville, Illinois) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to Meteors and Meteorites (The Patrick Moore Practical Astronomy Series) (Paperback)
Best technical guide I've seen up until now. The photos are sharp and clear. Only drawback is it may be a little too advanced for a novice meteorite hunter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guidebook!, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to Meteors and Meteorites (The Patrick Moore Practical Astronomy Series) (Paperback)
I gave this book a five star rating because it answered all the technical questions I
had concerning meteorite identification and MORE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Heads Up Guys, February 22, 2013
This review is from: Field Guide to Meteors and Meteorites (The Patrick Moore Practical Astronomy Series) (Paperback)
Great book! Integral to the book are the color photos. As of 2/2013 the Kindle edition has B&W photos even on your color devices, so if you want the full benefit, you'll need to order the hard copy. Ask me how I know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great overall look at meteorites, January 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to Meteors and Meteorites (The Patrick Moore Practical Astronomy Series) (Paperback)
i bought this as a gift to go along with a meteorite and the person has really enjoyed it. it is written well with some good humor among the plethora of information about meteorites...it really covers all the bases and if you are going to only buy one book on this subject, this is probably it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with information on Meteorites, April 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to Meteors and Meteorites (The Patrick Moore Practical Astronomy Series) (Paperback)
This is a must have book for the armature and experienced Meteorite Hunter it is wonderful reference material for the field in and at home....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Geologists Opinion, December 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to Meteors and Meteorites (The Patrick Moore Practical Astronomy Series) (Paperback)
This is an excellent guide for the meteorite enthusiast with a geology or other technical background. The authors delve deeply into the origins, types, elemental compositions, mineralogy assemblages, and advanced techniques for the identification of meteorites. I found this book to be more helpful and complete than other meteorite books that I've read. As a geologist, I found the chapter on optical mineralogy to be particularly interesting and unique. The appendices are full of interesting information. Each chapter has a list of good references. High quality color photos are included throughout. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Field Guide to Meteors and Meteorites (The Patrick Moore Practical Astronomy Series)
$39.95 $27.22
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.