Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


115 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metroid + DS = NONSTOP FUN
I bought this game a couple days ago, and after getting familiar with it, I can finally write a review.

Graphics - Let's face it, the ds isn't known for it's graphical quality, especially when it comes to 3D. But these graphics are great. They aren't as good as todays standard consoles, but I don't recall any N64 or Playstation game looking this good.Best out...
Published on March 24, 2006 by SS

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A step lower than the console games, but it is still somewhat decent.
A classic Nintendo favorite brought on it's latest adventure to the DS is just what everybody needed. This game features multiplayer with bots and Wi-Fi, but the single player won't keep you at bay for long. Controls: The control setups are decent. You can choose left handed touch screen controls, right handed touch screen controls, left hand button controls, and right...
Published on December 28, 2006


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

115 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metroid + DS = NONSTOP FUN, March 24, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid Prime Hunters (Video Game)
I bought this game a couple days ago, and after getting familiar with it, I can finally write a review.

Graphics - Let's face it, the ds isn't known for it's graphical quality, especially when it comes to 3D. But these graphics are great. They aren't as good as todays standard consoles, but I don't recall any N64 or Playstation game looking this good.Best out there right now for the DS so I give it a 5/5.

Control - Control with the stylus takes a while to get used to, but once you get the hang of it it's a lot like using the mouse for a computer. If your left handed don't worry because they have a special setting made special for you guys. If you still can't get use to the stylus then you can use the buttons for aiming. 4.5/5

Sound - If you've heard the music from the original metroid prime then you've heard the music to this game. Sometimes can be very intense to build up suspense of what's going to happen. 4/5

Replay Value - Just like the other metroid prime games, you have a log book. Playing through the first time, you can ignore this, but filling it up to 100% can be a challenge. You also have energy and missle expansions. Single Player mode is pretty short though.

As for the Online, this is an excellent feature. There's a battle mode and you can chose from any of the character's you have beaten. This can provide for hours of fun. You can also create friends and rivals who you can compete with in 7 different forms of battle. You can also text and voice chat with your friends which was unbelievably clear. I could understand every word when I tried this. (with Online) 5/5

Fun Quality - I personally got bored with the previous metroid prime games with the gamecube, but for some reason this one is different. Maybe it's the online maybe it's the two screens and touch screen, I don't know, but i think what it is is that it's more action orientated and I love action. 5/5

Buy or Not - I haven't always liked shooter games like this, but I really enjoyed this one. I would reccomend to BUY.

Overall Score 4.7 / 5 (9.4/10)

Rounds up to 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Samus and the Shooting Stars, April 8, 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid Prime Hunters (Video Game)
A good First-Person Shooter on the Nintendo DS may sound like an April's Fool joke, but Metroid Prime: Hunters is definitely more than just that. The game is one of the very few in the DS' library that can rival Nintendo's competitor (namely, Sony) when it comes to graphical presentations on a handheld. Add in an ass-kicking multiplayer mode, and the potential to appeal to mainstream gamers ensues.

Butt-kicking Bounty Hunter Samus Aran returns to star in this action-packed adventure. This time round, Samus is in an area called the Alimbic Cluster, and she's on a quest to locate eight "octolyths" (whatever that is) scattered across various planets in the cluster itself. The purpose? A powerful energy source is hidden in the Alimbic Cluster, and it's believed that the octolyths will hold to the key in unlocking it. Here begins a journey for Samus to unearth the mystery.

The DS works neither like a computer keyboard nor a console controller with analog sticks, so it's understandable for potential players of Metroid Prime: Hunters to be concerned about how the game actually plays. Seasoned First-Person Shooter players may want to know that traditional FPS controls do not apply for this particular game. Replacing the norm is the default stylus method of controlling the game. You'll get to aim by touching the (duh) touch screen, move around by using either the D-Pad or the four alphabetical buttons (depending on whether you're left or right-handed), and shoot using the shoulder buttons (again, depending on your written orientation). Awkward while this may sound, it actually works out pretty well, especially when you get used to it. The only downfall of this system is that you can't exactly time your jumps to perfection, since you'd have to utilize the touch screen (by double-tapping) to do so.

You can always switch to a more conventional mode of controlling if you prefer, which uses the D-pad and buttons for common actions like moving, aiming and shooting (depending once again on whether you're left or right-handed), and the shoulder buttons for jumping. Aiming is, however, greatly discounted with this form of control. As a result, you may find yourself switching back to the stylus-based controls over time, since they offer better fluidity. Regardless of which method you favour, however, be prepared to get your fingers cramped, since the learning process is rather steep.

In the single player mode, Metroid Prime: Hunters is a relatively short and linear adventure. Unlike the classic Metroid games that involve plenty of exploration and platforming, this one basically runs you through four areas and a handful of levels along the way. There're some puzzles to solve, some back-tracking to do, and yes, some bosses to fight even with the limited number of levels. But some of these battles are painfully repetitive, since they're basically recycled from earlier bosses. Don't be surprised if you find yourself taking on the same old buggers over and over again, just because the developer got lazy. Thankfully, you'll still have to take on rival Bounty Hunters in some levels, which at least spice things up a bit. Beating rival hunters also allows you to unlock them in the multiplayer mode - you'll begin with three hunters in your roster (including Samus), but the more is obviously the merrier when you attempt to take on the world.

On the topic of multiplayer mode, this is where the game really shines. You can host a game for up to four players with a single cartridge, although your options will be rather limited - you can only play the standard battle mode, and all four players can only play as Samus. When you play with others who have their own cartridge, the situation becomes more exciting. You can play as any of the rival hunters that you've defeated in your single player mode, and with this, utilize their weapons and execute their specific moves as well. This applies also for the online play via Wi-Fi, but the usual need for Friends' Codes slows down the searching process a little. When you play a multi-cartridge or an online game, the number of options greatly increases. In fact, you'll find yourself battling in no less than seven game modes, ensuring that the action are more varied and exciting. The game also does well in providing your usual online stats like number of games played, number of opponents killed and the likes. This is standard fare, but seeing the body count increasing by the day is motivation enough for you to spend hours on the game.

Metroid Prime: Hunters' presentation provides a high level of involvement for the player, which is always welcomed in a video game. I mentioned earlier, the graphics in Hunters are among the best that you can find on the DS. You'll get to access various locales over the course of the game, and the details on these places are all pretty outstanding. The game throws in a fair amount of cut-scenes, and the animations are great to look at. In some of these cut-scenes, the action could even span both screens on the DS (and at times, show you different angels of the area on both screens). These create a rather picturesque experience, and add more brownies points for the game's presentation. The audios are also top-notch well, incorporating the action with some solid music and great special effects.

On the whole, Metroid Prime: Hunters deliver an immersive FPS experience for its players. The controls may take some getting used to, but the fun really begins once you find yourself acquainted. The single player mode is rather poor though, and remains its major weakness despite its excellent multiplayer and online modes. For players who seldom, or couldn't go online, the value of the game greatly decreases. Still, as Metroid Prime's first venture onto the DS, the game scores brilliantly, and will no doubt be a classic on its own in time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am 10, May 6, 2006
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid Prime Hunters (Video Game)
Metroid Prime Hunters

Over all I give this game a 9/10 this is a must play and you will be playing it years from now.

Graphics:10/10 They are the best of any DS game to date. At time they may look polygonal but they are sweet.

Music:8/10 The sound in this game is amazing it is almost never repetitive and always keeps you on your feet. I would give it a 9 or ten but when searching for a wi-fi match you hear the same stupid music every time

Controls:10/10 or 0/10 First off the DS is a great place for FPS because of the touch screen ,it offers easy control over the GCN version. Many people complain about how bad the control is due to playing the game cube one so much but lucky for them they have a non-touch screen control! A,B,X,Y are like the c-stick. Morph ball and weapons are controled from the touch screen.

Gameplay: 9/10 The gameplay is short compaired to the GCN one but it will still take about 15 hr. to beat. The enemys are awsome and the other hunters are sweet but except Gorea the final boss there are just 2 bosses just getting harder every time you face them. As for wi-fi you can fight four random people after the match you have a chanch to add them to your rivals. Friends and rivals can play other modes with you aside from battle. Friends must give you a friend code to do so. Friends can also voice chat befor a match.

Story:8/10 Your average Metroid story some evil guy comes down in a comet and you kill it. End of story.

Diffuculty 9/10: This game will be very hard for anyone who has'nt played MP1 or MP2 but for a Metroid vereran it is a walk in the park.

Replay value:10/10 The story mode in this game is great but has ABSOLUTLY NO REPLAY VALUE! The part where this gets 10/10 is Wi-fi it will keep you busy for months!

Graphics:10/10

Music:9/10

Controls: 10/10

Gameplay:9/10

Story:8/10

Diffuculty:9/10

Replay value: 10/10

Over all 9/10 GREAT BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People who like halo will like this, October 23, 2007
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid Prime Hunters (Video Game)
Okay, this is a review from a ten year old. Now before you go to the next review read this. This is a great game for halo people because of the first person shooter. Now the story goes like this: you get a message to go and find "this ultimate power". And your not the only one to look for it. There are other bounty hunters that look for it and of course you have to battle them. You have to find these big diamonds called octoliths to unlock the secret world oubliette. There you battle Gorea who was locked there by this group of aliens. Now if you do this curtain thing while battling him who obtain the secret power and battle him again with it. Unfortunatly, this is the only time you can use this power. Well then you beat the game. So, in conclusion, I highly reccomend this game. I hope I helped!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., March 21, 2006
By 
Alex "47" (Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid Prime Hunters (Video Game)
Metroid Prime Hunters. I've been waiting. I got my DS in January of '05 and I got a "First Hunt" demo that came with it. I can say that I wasn't impressed simply because there was no depth, but I knew that the game certainly could be a great one. Metroid Prime for the Gamecube, to me, was not a very good game. Hard-to-use controls, single player only, a lot of backtracking... and so on. This game has backtracking, but it has easy controls and great multiplayer. Here is my review:

PROs: Great singleplayer and multiplayer, best DS graphics ever, little lag suprisingly, cool characters, WiFi, stat counting... so on.

CONs: Have to unlock the hunters ( not too hard, just play single player ) , occasional lag, grainy sound sometimes, repetitious adventure mode.

Graphics: 10/10. Byfar the best graphics ever shoved into a DS game. They are unbelievable. It's pretty amazing that the whole game was packed into this, let alone the great looking graphics. Very, very nice.

Sound: 9.5/10. Very good on surround sound. The only real problem for sound (for me) is that it's grainy; but it could be my DS. You hear footsteps, the creature's noises... everything works nicely.

Control: 9/10. Good controls, but it could be some quick corpal tunnel syndrome. I play with the stylus and my hands kind of get cramped up using this tiny little DS. It's not too bad, but I sometimes have to take breaks.

Fun: 9.5/10. Excellent WiFi, great graphics, and basically the Halo of handhelds, this game has everything any FPS fan would want. Even though the adventure mode is tedious, the multiplayer is great and anyone can hop in and have a great time with this game. Hell, if you have no one to play with, practice with bots. This game is the best on the DS, and I have no intentions of putting this game down any time soon; and I don't think you will either once you pick it up. Go buy MPH now. NOW NOW NOW!!

Here are some hints on how to get through the game:

If you're on a long fall to the ground, jump right before you're about to hit the ground; no health lost.

To get all the hunters, play single player and get 22% through the game. ( I believe. ) You will have 50% of the Octaliths by this time as well.

Special attacks:

Samus: Guided missle
Kanden: Electric balls; dissorient enemy
Trace: Invisability + Sniper
Noxus: Freeze
Spire: Ball of fire grenade launcher
Weavel: Grenade-Launcher like green bomb
Sylux: Electrical weapon

I.M.O, the best Hunters in order:
1.) Noxus
2.) Kanden
3.) Spire
4.) Trace
5.) Weavel
6.) Samus
7.) Sylux
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Join the Hunt!! A Metroid Prime Hunters Review by Pirate..., June 5, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid Prime Hunters (Video Game)
Join the Hunt!!

A Metroid Prime Hunters Review by Pirate

Release Date: March 22, 2006

Genre: Action, Adventure, First Person Shooter

Rating: Teen, Animated Blood, Violence

System: Nintendo Ds

Players: 1-4

Wifi Capabilities: Yes

Publisher: Nintendo

Screech!! Bam!! Zap!! Headshot!! Victory is Imminent!! Weavel is the victor!!

Welcome to the world of Metroid Prime Hunters.

Deep in the bowels of the Tetra Galaxy a message is being sent out. "The quest to ultimate power lies within the Octoliths. Samus now must find out what's behind the power of the Octoliths, and why the other Hunters are after it.

The Metroid Series has always been a great one. Fans loved the feel and control of these amazing adventure games. They started out as side scrolling games, and now they have been transferred to 3-D first person shooters through the Metroid Prime Series, not including Metroid Prime Pinball.

This time Samus is joined by 6 other bounty hunters, Kanden, Spire, Trace, Noxus, Sylux, and Weavel. They each have their own special weapons, abilities, and alt forms. Samus has always had her Morphball, but now we have Kanden's Stinglarva, Spire's Dialanche, Trace's Triskelion, Noxus's Vhoscythe, Sylux's Lockjaw, and Weavel's Half Turret. They each have their own Affinity Weapons. They are Battlehammer, Volt Driver, Magmaul, Imperialist, Judicator, and Shock Coil. These hunters are a force to be reckoned with.

In Single Player mode, you play as Samus and have to uncover the secret of Ultimate Power hidden in the Tetra Galaxy. You will fight many creatures and hunters along the way. It is repetitive as you do play many bosses that are nearly the same multiple times, and you fight the hunters too many times, while they are easy to beat. There is some challenge, but not a whole lot of it. Single Player mode is also very short, and even with 100% of scans you will beat the game pretty quickly.

Multiplayer mode is where the best part of the game is. This game was obviously meant to be a multiplayer game, and not a single player one. This is where you can play as any hunter you want. There are many maps to choose from, and many weapons to use. You can play through Ds Download play, Wireless Ds to Ds, and Nintendo Wifi Connection. There are many maps to unlock and hunters to unlock too. You can unlock these by doing certain things in single player, and multiplayer. You get a hunters license which keeps track of your scores in multiplayer and it can be viewed by other people when they are your friend or rival on the game, or a different version of it can be viewed at nintendowifi.com. You will probably play the majority of this game in multiplayer mode, probably on wifi.

Overall this is a great game, and I would recommend it to anyone with a Nintendo Ds, or any fan of First Person Shooter games. On a scale of 1-10 I would give this game an 8, on a scale of 1-5 I would give this a 4.

Thank you for reading my review on Metroid Prime Hunters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Fully Metroid, Not Fully FPS: But, Should It Matter?, March 28, 2006
A Kid's Review
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid Prime Hunters (Video Game)
There are quite a few things to be said about this game, but I'll try to keep it very short.

The first thing that must be taken into account is the controls, as it is what you use all game. On the DS, the control will take some getting used to. The standard controls should work fine, and mimick the modern Halo thumbstick control. The D-pad is actually easier to use than I expected, and the touch screen isn't all that difficult either. I did, however, switch from the stylus to the "slide control"

(included with every DS, the little rounded piece of plastic that slips over your thumb) after about thirty minutes; but after that, everything did pretty well concerning the controls. As for those of you complaining about the stylus, either use the "slide control" (which will make life MUCH easier) or switch to the secondary control set which allows you to aim with the A,B,X, and Y buttons.

The single player took an entirely different form than I expected. When I first played the single player, I was expecting a more expansive, adventure-field oriented play style, similar to that found in MP1 and MP2. What I concluded, however, was that the game is actually eight separate levels contained in four areas, plus a final boss area (think of the Impact Crater in MP1).

The gameplay itself is more FPS-like as well. Gone is the lock-on system that guided you through the other Prime games; aiming is no one's problem but your own. Also, many people will be disappointed to learn that there are no Morph Ball upgrades (you already come pre-equipped with Morph Ball Bombs), Suit Expansions, or new Suits (i.e. Dark Suit, Gravity Suit.) Instead, you are treated to a much larger array of weapons, which range from fire mortars to sniper rifles, in addition to the classic Power Beam and Missiles. Overall, there are eight possible weapons which can be fired out of your Arm Cannon, as oppposed to the 5 of the previous Prime games. However, you pay for it with the loss of your Power Bombs, Space Jump Boots, and other items that the players would be accustomed to having. However, since the gameplay doesn't require any of these items, players should not feel as if they were "missing" them. Also gone is the hint system; some people will like this, other will not.

The extra hunters do add an extra level of complexity to the game, and thusly do work in the game's favor.

Effectively, the game has 16 bosses. However, this is where my major complaint for this game lies; 4 bosses are continual remakes of the same boss, and another four are continual remakes of a different boss! There are situations when boss repitition makes sense (for example, a rival situation), but here, it does not, and it was annoying to keep fighting the same bosses. However, the other bosses {which are all 6 hunters (the first time you fight them) and the final} are very satisfying, especially when compared to the repitition of the other bosses. I don't quite understand why this was done, but I do hope that it doesn't happen again.

The ending is very Metroid-like, and the return to a "proper super-weapon" at the final boss is very refreshing. But, alas, the game is short.

Unfortunately, I have no access to any source of Wi-Fi, so I am currently unable to test the online multiplayer. I have, however, been able to test the LAN system, which did work well at a distance about ten feet from the other system, and found it to be rather satisfying. Also, the game comes with bots, so that if you have none to play, you can frag the computer to your heart's content. I found the bots rather "interesting"; a level 1 bot will be quite capable at close range; but if 3 level 1 bots are on the map with you and you happen to be sniping, there is a good chance you will not be discovered for the duration of the match. The multiplayer has been much improved since MP2.

The multiplayer was the focus, as you can tell; there are 21 separate multiplayer maps, and several unique options.

This game breaks away from the traditional Metroid Prime style into a more FPS-like gameplay. However, some fans will object, while new fans will be gained.

PROS

-GORGEOUS cut scenes (the game is almost worth it for the opening cut scene alone)

-Much improved multiplayer with both single and multi-card LAN ability, plus Wi-Fi

-New, interesting weapons

-Checkpoints: if you die, you will be able to go the last checkpoint, rather than back to the last place you saved (which is your ship at the VERY BEGINNING of the level)

-Decent in-game graphics

CONS

-Repetitive bosses

-Controls will take a few minutes to learn, but become natural quickly

-Short Single-player (but all FPS's tend to be that way)

Overall, it's a good game with a few flaws that could be corrected. However, I recommend Metroid Prime 2 over this game by far; but if you want a handheld FPS, this is the way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A step lower than the console games, but it is still somewhat decent., December 28, 2006
A Kid's Review
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid Prime Hunters (Video Game)
A classic Nintendo favorite brought on it's latest adventure to the DS is just what everybody needed. This game features multiplayer with bots and Wi-Fi, but the single player won't keep you at bay for long. Controls: The control setups are decent. You can choose left handed touch screen controls, right handed touch screen controls, left hand button controls, and right hand button controls. The controls are good as I see no other way to put them concerning the Nintendo DS build.

Graphics: The graphics are amazing. Everything with texture and close detail. But the graphics are grainy and can get the player to go dizzy. Opening menu has a good red space theme and the box has a nice shiny space theme. Sound: The sound corresponds with the levels and actions well, but nothing to go bragging about.

Multiplayer: The multiplayer is absolutely amazing. It features download play which is good. You can multiplay with other people who have the game in many different modes, maps, and characters with different abilities. Wi-Fi is an excellent addition to this, so you can play online with people. You can add bots in multiplayer and customize their levels which is good for alone multiplay.

Single-player: Single player is nice, but not the main reason to get the game. More of a side reason to get the game. The save points are bad. You will havew to play this game for a long time before you can save it. The single play is well done, but the whole process of shooting enemies, scanning objects, and activating triggers can get repetetive. If you are stuck in the single player campaign, that wouldn't be pleasant. But there is always the multiplaying/Wi-Fi capabilities. All in all, the reason to get this.

This game is a vast improvement from Metroid Prime 2 because there is a better multiplayer, there is Wi-Fi, and you can take it with you on the go. 40 dollars is a high price for this game, but it's going down and it's worth picking up a copy.

Pros: Wi-Fi connection ; Bot settings ; Decent multiplayer.

Cons: Bad controls ; Graphics are bound to give you a headache.

- Derek S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best DS Game Out There, April 17, 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid Prime Hunters (Video Game)
When I saw that MP:H had finally come out, to get it came staight to the top of my "to do" list. I had heard great reviews, and I thought it would be fun to get.

Controls: When I started playing I felt like bashing my head into the wall, I couldn't control it. But after playing for about 10 minutes I realized how great the controls really were. The stylus gives great control once you get used to it. So, 4.5/5

Graphics: These are the best graphics out on the DS right now. Fantastic 4.5/5

Main Game: Much different than preavious MP games, this game kind of has levels. Great storyline and amazing cutscenes. Though kind of short, it is a great amount of fun to play. 4/5

Multiplayer: If you dont have WiFi or anyone to play with, you can play with bots which to me was pretty fun. Many types of game types, all of which almost exactly like Halo's. You can play as the other hunters you beat in the main game. The bot game was hard to find though, so here is how you get there:

Go to multiplayer, go to multi-card play. Make your game and choose your character. Then there will be a thing at the bottom of the screen to add bot.

WiFi: I have spent most of my time on Metroid playing this. If you have WiFi, you HAVE to play this. Though you will get, well, demolished at first by more experienced players (I reccommend using "match my rank" though it will still be tough). A lot of fun 5/5

Overall: 5/5 great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nintendo's Halo, January 20, 2007
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid Prime Hunters (Video Game)
I bought this game off of amazon and ended up saving some money because it is cheaper than buying in stores. first of all, this game is awesome. I don't exagerate when i say that it is a halo 4 nintendo i mean i have never had this much fun with a metroid yet. on the the review

Grafix- They are just amazing. i was a bit skeptical that it would be all choppy and what not, but i was extremely surprised at the fluency of the grafix, ofcoarse you'll get the occasional black line flashing through the screen, but that happens for all the games I own and it is only there 4 an instant.

Single player Mode- sry to you metroid lovers who think that the stradegy and complexness is just the coolest thing about metroid, there really is none of that. the story mode is pretty much just Samus trying to go around 4 planets finding the octolaths and gaining weapons as you go along, the main reason i even bothered completing story mode 100% was so that i could unlock all the characters and levels, but i've heard you can do this by winning wifi matches also.

Multi Player Mode- For the sake of conveniance i have divided this part into three sections.

SIngle Card download play- I have to say that this is pretty cool if you don't have the game because it will give you a feel for playing it, the downsides are that 1)You can only be samus, and 2) it takes FOREVER to load a single card download play match. my suggestion is if you are ever playing single card download play it will defiently give you the edge to be the host of the game. If you are host you can both choose your character and arena which gives you a major advantage over other players

MULTI CARD DOWNLOAD PLAY- Multi card download play is the best way to play if you and your buddies own a copy of the game. all of you can choose your characters and you can choose wut kind of gameplay you want. these modes include battle, survival, bounty, defender, prime hunter, capture, and nodes. you can also play with teams on which i enjoy because the game is more fun that way.

WIFI- Wifi is just pure amazingment (haha new word) it is one of the main reasons i bought the game, so if you do not have wireless internet i highly suggest that you buy a nintendo wireless router. how wifi starts is that you firs must configure your wifi so that your DS can find a Wifi Spot when you connect. then you choose either find game or friends and rivals. IN find game you specify if you want opponents from world wide or local reagion and then whether you want your opponents your rank or not. With friends and rivals you can play people who you have played from previous games or people whose friend code you have. in general Wifi is just like multi card play only against people world or nation wide.

CONTROLS- the contols can be found in the start up menu underneath the multiplayer button. there are four different kinds of control Stylus mode right, Stylus mode left, Duel mode right, and duel mode left. personally the best modes to use are the stylus modes because they are much easier to target with, and if you use duel mode it's just like an FPS without a joy stick. personally for the most control, the stylus's which strap onto your thumb are the best.

CHARACTERS- there are seven different Characters, Samus, Kanden, Spire, Trace, Noxus, Stylux, and Weavel.

SAMUS

PRIMARY WEAPON-Missle Launcher

ALT. FORM-Morph ball

Samus is the character i use the least but quite a few people will use her during Wifi battles, her Primary weapon is her missle launcher and doesn't really give you and edge except for the fact that if you Fully charge her missles and shoot in the general direction of an enemy the missle will follow that character, the morph ball is nifty for moving fast and the bombs can pack a punch if set in the right spots. but all and all she's pretty much your basic character. Watch out, samus's large head makes her prone to head shots.

KANDEN

PRIMARY WEAPON-volt driver

ALT. FORM-stinglarva

Kanden is pretty sweet. if you fully charge the volt driver and hit and enemy it will temporaraly scramble their vision and will do quite a bit of damage. the stinglarva is a nice weapon and kanden will move pretty fast with it, his bombs seem to be mini versions of himself that will shoot towards enemies and explode on contact.

SPIRE

PRIMARY WEAPON-magmaul

ALT. FORM-Dialanche

Spire is a cool character. fully charging his magmaul and hitting the enemy will cause them to light on fire for a breif period of time, but dont fire it too close or you'll light on fire too. the dialanche looks like a spiky morph ball, and instead of bombs, it has 2 rocks which will revolve around and do quite a bit of damage. spire can also roll up walls when he is in morph ball mode, and he can walk through lava with no damage.

TRACE

PRIMARY WEAPON-imperialist

ALT. FORM-triskelion

trace is the sniper in the game, if you obtain the imperialist and stand still he will turn invisible, only becoming visible again if he moves or fires his weapon. unless he is in the triskelion he is not the best one for close range combat, the triskelion is like a three legged spider and when you attack with it it will lunge in the direction it is pointing at. if you stand still while in alt form you will also become invisible.

NOXUS

PRIMARY WEAPON-judicator

ALT. FORM-vhoscythe

noxus is kinda worthless actually, his weapon is good and if you hit some one with it when it is fully charged they will be frozen and you can hit them repeatedly without them attacking back (go for the head) but the vhoscythe is hard to handle and not very good, you spin like a top and when you attack a small blade (i really think it's his foot) comes out and chops at anything nearby.

STYLUX

PRIMARY WEAPON-shock coil

ALT. FORM-lockjaw.

stylux is personally my favorite character. he is powerful with his shockcoil (which will transfer your enemies life you you) and his alt form is just amazing. when using the shock coil try to keep the beam on as long as possible because the longer it's hitting the target, the faster it drains life. the lock jaw bombs are unique, when you lay two out within an adequite range they make a sort of trip wire which is very useful, you can also lay out 3 forming a triangle which, when an enemy is inside, will suck all the bombs to the center pretty much killing your enemy.

WEAVEL

PRIMARY WEAPON-battle hammer

ALT. FORM-halfturret

Weavel is an ok character, the war hammer is a tad strange and fires lots of bullets fast. the halfturret is cool though because it divides weavel into 2 things, a stationary turret, and a robot with spinning blades, but ur health is also cut in half to so it is difficult to stay in alt form for long periods of time.

k, well hope this helped, if you ever want to play me my friend code is 193362067431 and my name is hellraizer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Metroid Prime Hunters
Metroid Prime Hunters by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)
$87.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.