Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon August 25, 2009
This is possibly one of the nicest game collections I've ever purchased. Everything, from the packaging down to the game content itself is top notch, obviously intended to make the fan boys drool. I personally don't care about the collector's aspect of the game. It's nice, but I am more interested in the upgraded controls. I was not disappointed in the least. Much like the Pikmin remake, the upgraded controls rejuvenate the experience.

Most of this review focuses on this product as a collector's pack or compilation since there is an abundance of good reviews on each of the individual games. For anyone who hasn't played any of the Metroid Prime series of games, here's a really quick summary. You play as Samus Aran, a bounty-hunter in a power suit that must save the galaxy from immense and epic danger. THREE TIMES! The game is played from a first-person perspective, and althought you kill a lot of Space Pirates with a variety of weapons, it is quite different from many FPS titles out there. Exploration of the environment and discovery of clues, countless upgrades, intense platforming sections, and backtracking to find new paths are the name of the game. In my opinion, the Metroid Prime series is possibly the only FPS title out there that really manages to get platforming right. Almost never do the jumps feel cheap or impossible, even when they are challenging. Combat controls are tight and responsive and I never found myself struggling with flaws in the controls. Each of the three games play essentially the same, but the story is slightly different in each with some different weapons and item upgrades found throughout the title.

WHAT'S NEW IN THIS?
- Wii pointer controls for aiming and some limited motion controls.
- Achievement/Medal system has been added to the first two titles
- Widescreen support for the first two titles
- Minor graphical upgrades
- Metal collector's set box
- Collector's artwork
- One of the nicest and heftiest instruction manuals I've ever seen in a console game. They don't make them like this anymore.

THE GOOD:
+++ Amazingly tight and precise controls, but more customization options would have been nice.
+++ Split-screen multi-player in Metroid Prime 2.
+++ Three of the best and most critically acclaimed Nintendo games ever made all on one disc.
+++ Amazing graphics which... well, they're really old and show their age but the artwork is stunning.
+++ At least 60+ hours of game play.

THE BAD... SORT OF
--- No online multi-player. It really feels like the only thing missing from the game.
--- Lots of back-tracking. It's not really that bad, but some people can't stand it. Be warned.
--- You may have already paid for this and beat it at least once before.
--- This set proves that most developers are lazy on the Wii because the graphics on some games produced last generation mop the floor.

IS IT WORTH THE PURCHASE?
That depends on who you are.

* If you have never played any of the Metroid Prime titles and are looking for a good adventure game or a FPS title and you don't mind lots of exploration, pick this up.
* If you tried either Metroid Prime or Metroid Prime 3 - Corruption and didn't like it, I doubt you'll like it this time either.
* If you tried Metroid Prime 2 - Echoes and didn't like it or got frustrated, I recommend at least renting this one because Prime and Corruption are much more approachable than Echoes was.
* If you beat all three Metroids before and you never play through a game a second time, you may want to stay away from this title. For those who rarely replay games after beating them, the new additions are nice, but nothing except the controls are earth-shatteringly new.
* If you enjoy replaying some of your favorite games over again from time to time and you consider Metroid to be one of your favorites, the control upgrades alone are reason enough to justify the purchase. Much like Resident Evil 4, the remake for the Wii makes this the definitive version to own.
* If you enjoyed Metroid Prime - Corruption and never played Metroid Prime 1 & 2, this game is a must buy.
* If you're a Metroid fan boy/girl, yes. This game was made just for you. I'd tell you to buy it, but you probably already had a copy pre-ordered months ago. In fact, go buy two copies, keeping one sealed in the original shrink wrap inside a sealed vault. I also recommend getting some therapy.
77 comments| 204 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2009
Metroid Prime 3: Corruption is, without a doubt, one of the best games I have ever played. It is almost 3 years old now as it was one of the near-launch titles for the Wii, but it is still one of the prettiest titles available in the entire catalog of Wii games. So, if you have never owned/played Metroid Prime 3, then this purchase is a no-brainer: In addition to Metroid Prime 3, one of the best titles available on the Wii... you get it's pre-Wii predessors: Metroid Prime and Metroid Prime 2, both of which, despite being ports of Gamecube game, still look incredible, and have the added benefit of the new Wii controls.

For the price of one Wii game, you get 3 of the best games available on Gamecube/Wii. It is estimated by Ign.com that the entire trilogy amounts to over 80 hours of gameplay... and this doesnt even take into account the fact that Metroid Prime 2 also has 4-player splitscreen multiplayer (LOCAL ONLY unfortunately!). Also, for those of you that are like me and like a real challenge, once you beat the game on "Veteran" difficulty, you unlock "Hypermode" difficulty. I never did beat Metroid Prime 3 on Hypermode difficulty... it is that hardcore.

Here are some features that make this trilogy an epic must-have for the Wii:

1) 3 GREAT games for the price of 1... no brainer. All 3 games look great and are a blast to play. When you start up Trilogy, you can select to play any of the 3 games, or to play Prime 2's multiplayer (which is available from the start). Each game has it's own progress tracking/save, as well as achievements.

2) Improved controls, visuals, and gameplay for Metroid Prime 1 and 2: The visuals on both games got a bit of an update, and some of the bosses and enemies are more balanced. Basically, MP 1 and 2 play almost exactly like Metroid Prime 3.

3) Achievements: Each game includes a pretty robust set of unlockable achievements (a new addition to MP 1 and 2). When I originally played MP 3, this was one of my favorite features (maybe I am borderline OCD?)... I really enjoyed scanning each and every enemy and item, gaining various trophies, etc. This feature is a welcome addition to the first 2 games.

4) Metroid Prime 2 multiplayer - This was a welcome addition to Metroid Prime 2, and I am glad they preserved it in the Trilogy collection. It is fairly basic, but an absolute blast. I really enjoy local multiplayer personally... I prefer it to online only games because frequently with Wii games, you can either play online, or you can play with your friends locally... almost never both for some reason. I love having friends over for a good old fashioned frag-fest... and this game will deliver. It's just a shame they didnt add an online multiplayer component. This was a real missed opportunity... but not a deal breaker. 4-player splitscreen versus mode is a welcome addition, and works very nicely. Granted... it's no Call of Duty.... but it is a blast to play through. Me and my friends will have a blast with this, especially since The Conduit only has online multiplayer (what a shame!)... part of the draw of owning a Wii is having your friends over to play local multiplayer games.

5) Hardcore Difficulty: "Hypermode Difficulty" mode is a BEAST. It will make you want to pull your hair out. It is not for the faint of heart! =) I loved every second of it... Metroid Prime 3's Hypermode Difficulty was REALLY punishing... enemies are hard to kill and plentiful. I LOVE a challenge, and hate when games end too early or are too easy... and these games do neither. Over 80hrs of hardcore gameplay? Yes please...

In short, this Trilogy belongs in EVERY Wii-owner's collection. Not to mention it comes in a "Collector's Edition" tin case with a poster and cool concept art... I even got a free MP Trilogy T-shirt. GO BUY THIS GAME! NOW.. seriously... I'll wait.. GO!

Here are my rating scores for the Trilogy (all 3 games as 1):

Presentation: 9/10 (menus are updated with pointer functionality, and you can select your game (MP1,2,3 or multiplayer) from the start screen. My only gripe is that your gamesaves from the original Metroid Prime 3: Corruption CANNOT be used for this game... so I have to start from scratch. No worries, though... I played through that game 2 years ago, so I am about due for a replay.

Graphics: 10/10 - this is one of the pretties games on the Wii. Enemies and environments are colorful and lively.

Gameplay: 10/10 - These are 3 of the best games available on ANY Nintendo console. 'Nuff said.

Lasting Appeal: 9/10 - 3 hardcore games with unlockable "Hypermode" difficulty, plus robust achievements. Local only multiplayer. I would rate it 10/10 if they had included online multiplayer... but I prefer local-only multiplayer to online-only multiplayer.

Overall: 9.5/10 - Absolutely incredible set of games. A must-have for all Wii owners!
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 26, 2009
In 2002, Metroid pretty much returned from the dead with Metroid Prime. The game was amazing, with some of the best visuals of the time and intoxicating gameplay. The series had gone to a first person perspective. Nintendo defined as a First Person Adventure, and not a shooter. Yet it worked for Metroid perfectly. Metroid Prime 2: Echoes came out in 2004, and while it didn't match the flair of the first one, it was still a pretty good game in and of itself. In 2007, however, the Metroid Prime Trilogy got an overhaul in controls. The motion sensor controls actually worked really well with Metroid Prime 3. Even then some of us were probably thinking, "Wouldn't it be great to play the first two games like this?" And now Nintendo is letting us do just that. You can now plow through all three Metroid Prime titles. The entire trilogy is on one disc and they've got those added controls for those who enjoyed them in Metroid Prime 3. It might bring into question as to whether or not it's worth it for those who played the previous two games. That depends on if you want a different experience. It's worth considering, though, because you're getting three games for the price of one.

If you've never played Metroid Prime before--any of them, then this is a good way to introduce yourself to the games. There isn't a whole lot to discuss with Metroid Prime. They're beautiful games that put a huge emphasis on exploring and adventure. All three games do this while telling a story. Story isn't really a strong point with Metroid, however. Not nearly as much as exploring corridors, collecting upgrades, fighting colossal bosses and backtracking.

The Wii remote lets you play the first two games in the same manner you played the third. Giving you the Wii Remote as your gun. You'll move around using the analog stick and point, shoot and turn using the Wii Remote. Metroid Prime works with these controls because there aren't exactly a million things to do, or a million different weapons to switch between. Since just about everything stacks it can work well enough. If you didn't like the controls of Metroid Prime 3, however, then you're probably not going to here. It's essentially the same thing for every game now. The controls on the Gamecube weren't clunky, but there is something smoother about using the Wii remote for certain tasks.

There are more than just controls added to the experience, though. Metroid Prime 1 and 2 now have the same rewards system as Metroid Prime 3 had. When you perform certain tasks or meet certain objectives, you'll get a credit which can be used to exchange for unlockable content. More than that, the games also get a slight improvement in graphics, including a wide screen presentation and improving on some graphical textures. The Metroid Prime games were beautiful enough on the Gamecube. Essentially the games look just like their Gamecube counterparts, they just have a few smoother textures and a widescreen presentation.

The big question is whether or not to get this package if you already own the games. That depends on whether or not you think playing with the motion sensor controls is worthwhile or not. The control scheme in and of itself is actually quite good, but you're not getting a different game. They're the same games you've played before. Metroid Prime 3 is unchanged from what you originally got before. This also means you might suffer from similar problems. The motion sensor controls are good, but can sometimes be a bit sensitive. Most people might have already experienced these controls before if they played Metroid Prime 3. If you liked what you got, then yes, it's worth investing in this to use those controls with Metroid Prime 1 and 2. In part because it's a good deal. If you weren't a fan of Metroid Prime 3's control scheme, I can't imagine why you'd want to pick up this collection. Even if you don't buy the collection, it might be worth checking out for those who are curious to experience Metroid Prime 1 and 2 in a new light.

In other ways it feels like a more definitive way to play Metroid Prime because the controls do work rather well. It might not be a brand new experience for those who mastered the Gamecube titles, but it will certainly be different. And getting three games for the price of one isn't so bad at all, either.
11 comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2009
The Metroid series is one of the most frustrating series to be a fan of. The one Nintendo series that attracts essentially the hardcore crowd only, Nintendo never has seemed sure of how to market these games. Are they action/adventures? Run 'n guns? Although consistently of high quality, the Metroid games have seen relatively few entries for precisely this reason, and when it was announced in the early part of this decade that Nintendo had trusted this franchise with a rabid fanbase to an unknown developer from Texas AND that the new games would take on a first person perspective, it was enough to make Metroid fans prepare torches and pitchforks.

Flash forward nine years, and the consensus is clear. The Metroid Prime series is perhaps one of the most radical reinventions of a franchise ever attempted, with the developers having everything to lose. The result has been nothing but astonishing. Enough has been written about the quality of the Metroid Prime series over the years, so I will spare you a review of the games themselves. This review will be focused solely on the compilation packaging provided in this new release for the Wii.

In this reviewer's opinion, this collection is by far the greatest compilation of any game series ever released. Period. Not only does one receive three AMAZING games on one disc for the price of one game, the package includes a unique metal game case (I have never before seen Nintendo use any special packaging to this extent-kudos for them!), a copious instruction manual, and a unique collection of rarely seen concept art. Then, there are the games themselves. Prime 3: Corruption is presented in its original form for the Wii, with only slight alterations. Prime and Echoes, however, have received an absolutely fantastic upgrade.

All 3 games are now presented in 480p, with 16:9 widescreen enhancement. The Wii controls used for Corruption have been transferred to Prime and Echoes with astonishing results. I find it difficult to believe that one would ever want to play these two games on a traditional controller once they have experienced the Wii controls. The controls are so intuitive and responsive, with instanteous reaction to one's input. Where in the original releases the player had to lock onto enemies to get accurate shots, seriously limiting the player's range of motion, Trilogy gives the player the option to use the lock on to strafe around the enemy, but move the arm cannon wherever one pleases.

Graphically, it is almost impossible to tell that the first two games were not created for the Wii. Colors are phenomenal, and detail is rich and clear. (In some instances, I almost forgot that the Wii is incapable of producing HD output.) The 16:9 widescreen presentation allows for greater resolution, especially in the cutscenes, which look fantastic.

In summary, if you own a Wii, there is no excuse for not taking advantage of this remarkable package. If you have never played these games before, order it NOW! If you have played Prime and Echoes on the GameCube, still order it NOW! It is most certainly worth the upgrade, and considering all the swag you will receive for the price of a single game, I find it hard to believe one could say "no" to this fantastic compilation.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2010
My review consists of two parts: one for those who have played either MP or MP II, and one for those trying to decide whether to buy it or borrow it.

PART ONE: I played Metroid Prime for the first time a few years after its release on GameCube. I had played Metroid Fusion (GBA) and had Prime lying around so I figured I would give it a shot. The controls took some time getting used to, Prime being the first FPS-game I ever played, but I quickly picked it up and really enjoyed it. Then I met the final boss, with much frustration, I might add. I retired my controller and gave up...

When I heard of the Trilogy's upcoming release and the new motion controls for MP I&II, I knew I had to give it another try. Sure enough, I was able to complete the adventure I had started so long before. IT. WAS. AMAZING. I figured that I must have just been a better gamer than I was before. When I went back to play the original GameCube release, however, it was like a foreign language to me, no joke. The motion controls make this game a must-play, if not a must-BUY, for anyone who got stuck on either Prime or Echoes and wants to complete their experience.

PART TWO: If you are a fan of Metroid and enjoyed any of the Prime games, BUY IT. It comes with a double-sided poster, as well as a booklet containing concept art and a brief explanation of the story and background of Samus Aran.

If you only played the GC releases and haven't gotten around to buying Corruption yet, BUY IT. Buying the Trilogy is just like buying Corruption brand-new, except the Trilogy comes with two bonus games! The motion controls make I&II worth playing all over again.

If you have only played one of the Prime games, consider this: buying the Trilogy is like a two-for-one deal!

Finally, if you have had an interest in the Metroid Prime series, but haven't played ANY of them, you're looking at a pretty sweet deal. 3-for-1. Go for it.

If none of the above statements apply to you, sorry. You're on your own with this one.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2009
Most people that read this will already know that Metroid Prime Trilogy includes 3 of the very best games released in the last 10 years. For those of you that aren't aware of the quality, ill brief you; Metroid is one of Nintendo's classic franchises, right up there with Mario and Zelda. The Metroid Prime sub-series is a recreation of the classic 2D games into the 3rd dimension.

Now, MP3 Corruption revolutionized first person controls, offering smooth, quick, and responsive aiming. You point, and you shoot, its that simple. That control scheme has been introduced to Prime and Echoes, and their all the better for it.

Now that everyone knows that these games are some of the best EVER made, ill get to the bulk of my review, which is more of a comparison. Ill compare the original games vs the version included in MPT.

---------------Game Content

Prime - Im comparing the MPT version with the 2nd Edition GC, or Players Choice version.
--Widescreen - First of all, MPT offers all 3 games in a widescreen display. The method to achieve this, however, isn't that respectable. The developers zoomed in and cropped the image to be presented in widescreen 16:9 . During game play you'll hardly notice it (in fact you probably wont), but some cut scenes (maybe 20% of them) looks oddly choreographed, with half of Samus's helmet being cut off.

--Graphics - MPT offers Prime in 480p and some graphical and technical refinements. You get bloom lighting covering ever light source, a subtle and nary noticeable touch. It creates a sort of blur around lights, as well as some better depth effects. 480p makes everything a tad sharper and more colorful. Lines and sharp details are more obvious and theres deeper colors. The best update is probably the locked 60fps. The game is VERY fluid, and no matter how much stuff is going on on-screen, the game never hiccups. Also, Retro has replaces some textures with higher resolution models. It basically means that the games textures look much better and more modern.
The is NO dynamic water effects however. That means that instead of liquids reacting realistically to movement, its all static. The beam effects are also removed.

--Other - All of the games Lore is now that of the European release (PAL). Lore in the Prime games are small notes presented in the view of the author of said note (usually a group of individual of significant importance to the overall story). The original release had to different versions of Lore, varying with the region release. Also, when activating the pause menu, the percent of collected and lore scanned will show up. Load times do NOT exist in this game. You will NEVER be waiting for a door to open. Its a huge difference from that of the GC release, which had 2-3 load period between each door.
----------------
Echoes - Echoes has no region different version, unlike Prime.
--Widescreen - Just like Prime, its an odd widescreen mode. However, unlike Prime, none of the cut scenes appear cropped, and the games looks better and more polished because of it. The multilayer portion of the game is now in the main menu, and its only available in widescreen if 3 or more players are playing. The game produces black and green bars to recreate a 4:3 mode if only 2 players are involved.

--Graphics - Echoes has no bloom or replaced textures, but it still looks better than Prime. The graphical difference aren't all that noticeable when comparing screen shots, but if you play the games sequentially, its a visible difference. The game already had higher resolution textures in the GC version, and a sort of lighting effect that is similar to bloom. Character models are also much more detailed. The game is perfectly replicated on Wii, with no graphical improvements. New to Echoes is a 480p mode, which offers all the same benefits as that of Primes 480p. Echoes does stutter and drop from 60fps more often than Prime though. Where as Prime would drop frames once every 2-3 hours, Echoes stutters 3 times more often. The average player will never notice it, so I'm just nitpicking :P

--Other - Like Prime, when activating the pause menu, your given the amount of items collected and lore scanned. Load times are also shorter, but not to the extent of Prime, as you will find yourself waiting on the occasional door.
-----------------
Corruption - The only game originally released on Wii, is also a single version, like Echoes.
--Widescreen - Corruption is the only game in MPT that has a real widescreen mode, no cropping used.

--Graphics - Easily the most impressive looking game on the disc, Corruption has the best detail and effects of all the games. Being designed on the Wii exclusively really shows. Larger areas, more enemies, more detail, better effects, etc. While the graphical leap from Prime to Echoes was nice, Corruption is the only title in which the naked eye will see major differences. The frame-rate dips about as much as Echoes.

NOTE - I had Corruption prior to MPT, and i played in 480i on a 4:3 CRT TV. The game never once hiccuped, staying at a solid 60fps. If your playing MPT in 480i, chances are you will never see any of the games drop from 60fps.

Miscellaneous changes (not limited to MP3) - MPT has a new menu system, a "new" token system (its taken from Corruption and half-heartedly implemented into Prime and Echoes), and unlock able content is bought using said tokens, instead of scanning X% of items/lore/creatures. Prime and Echoes both have a new difficultly mode, "Hypermode". Previous versions had Normal and Hard difficulties, those are now replaced with Normal and Veteran respectively. Hypermode is the 3rd and hardest mode. Changes to visor and helmet opacity are now only available in game, and cannot be adjusted in the main menu. Boost Ball aiming is not included in any games, MP3 included.

------------------Packaging
MPT comes in an awesome steel book casing. Its a metallic tin instead of a simple white plastic as in most Wii games. It also includes a slip cover and a fold out booklet, highlighting the Prime sub-series storyline and including some concept art.

As is obvious, Metroid Prime Trilogy is an amazing deal for $50. You get 3 of the best games of the last decade, all on one disc and packaged in an awesome steel book case. While i thoroughly enjoyed each games twice over, i couldn't help but feel that so much more could have been done in this re-release. Why wasn't the superior HUD and Map design of MP3 be implemented into Prime and Echoes? Why was there no new content included? No new modes, galleries, or bonus material. Regardless of the missed opportunity, MPT is one amazing deal that every Wii owner should have in there collection.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2013
I loved the first game so much on GameCube that I had to get this trilogy as soon as I heard about it. I am slightly disappointed that the first two installments in the trilogy appear to have been formatted for widescreen by cutting off the top and bottom areas of the screen, rather than adding more view to the left and right. Regardless of this, I still found it thoroughly enjoyable.

Regarding the games themselves:
Metroid Prime: A classic and the one game that I wouldn't mind playing through a dozen or more times before I die.
Metroid Prime 2: Echoes: A worthwhile follow-up to the original that manages to improve in some areas and even introduce new weapons so it doesn't feel like just a re-hash.
Metroid Prime 3: Corruption: Not as big a fan of this one, as it seems artificially drawn out by having you re-visit planets many times. In addition, the feel of the game deviated by not having you be alone on a single planet throughout the game, as in so many of the classic Metroid games. And I have to say it--despite the fact that the entire video game market is going in this direction, I do NOT like all of the mini-games and achievements in this third installment, since it makes getting 100% all the more difficult.

That's my opinion, take it or leave it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2013
Get 3 Metroid Prime games on 1 disc! Metroid Prime and Metroid Prime 2 now have been upgraded with Wii controls for a new player experience! The Wii controls can take some getting used to because the first 2 games were originally on the Gamecube, but once you adjust, you will get a different experience in using the Wii-mote. This collection has added bonus content not featured on the separate games. This is a great addition to any newcomer to Metroid Prime or fans of the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2013
This is my first time playing any Metroid game, so far I am having lots of fun :)

It's definitely different from previous FPS I've played. I like how Nintendo is (or was since this game is a lil old) trying to incorporate different methods of playing in games, such as the conversion into a sphere throughout the game. I haven't gotten too far but the lil puzzles and hidden artifacts have me exploring everything and anything. I understand that most games have the fetch quests, I am not too crazy about it in this case just because it seems like that's what you're always doing, looking for the next upgrade constantly, but maybe that's in the Metroid formula, which is the same in every game now a days but I think a bit more improved upon (i.e. Arkham City). You could tell Nintendo was ahead of it's time when it came out with this game back for the Game Cube I think it was, so I give it much kudos for that. Overall I am having a great time and look forward to finishing the first game and moving on to the next two, which will probably
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2014
For quite some time I hated these games without even playing them.
Like many, I was upset to learn that the new Metroid game was going to be a first person shooter. As was the next. And the one after that. The thing is, I stink at FPS games, just foul up the screen, and I saw no point in buying a game that I had no chance of finishing. So here were these three Metroid games, completely inaccesable to me. Dang.
But after reading reviews from other non-FPSers praising the games controls, I decided to give Prime 3 a try. It didn't hurt that I found it for six bucks preplayed. And so, armed with only a Wii remote and a guidbook I played through and eventually beat the game. And loved it.
The Wii controls are perfect for these games, pointing and blasting feel natural and switching visors/weapons is smoother than I feared. I had to play the first two games, but could I master them without the Wii controls? Reviews (especially of Prime 2) left me sceptical, would my less than stellar skills be up for the challange? So I plucked down the extra money for the Trilogy. It has been worth every penny.
For those of you like me who don't do so good at this kind of game, the Normal mode is actually a bit easier than the original release. If you prefer a challange, the Veteran mode is equal to the original Normal, with an unlockable Hard mode as well. And while the price is rather high, the amount of content makes up for it. I spent about 17 hours in the first game alone before beating it. I recomend getting a guid book for each game, as every enegy tank counts, but using it as little as possible. The exploration in each game is unbelievably fun, and the way the story unfolds little by little with each new item or lore scan really puts you into the game better than any narration could.
My copy is one of the newer ones, without the steel cover or extra art booklet, but it's the content of the disk that matters. If you have any interest in Metroid at all, give this game a shot, or at least try the far cheaper third entry to see if it's your cup of tea.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.