Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT just for kids at all!
This book can be wonderful for anyone who does embroidery, quilting, or even tattooing! I wish I'd had it when I was making my art quilt with a Dias de los Muertos theme!
Published on March 2, 2006 by MondoBooks

versus
27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book is ok, but very much a childrens coloring book
This book is ok, but very much a childrens coloring book. As that it is good. But if you want more detailed drawings then look for Maya Designs (Coloring Book) by Wilson G. Turner. Excellent art and lots of it.
Published on January 21, 2005 by Paul Roder


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book is ok, but very much a childrens coloring book, January 21, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mexican Folk Art Coloring Book (Dover Design Coloring Books) (Paperback)
This book is ok, but very much a childrens coloring book. As that it is good. But if you want more detailed drawings then look for Maya Designs (Coloring Book) by Wilson G. Turner. Excellent art and lots of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT just for kids at all!, March 2, 2006
By 
MondoBooks "jeangi" (Northern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mexican Folk Art Coloring Book (Dover Design Coloring Books) (Paperback)
This book can be wonderful for anyone who does embroidery, quilting, or even tattooing! I wish I'd had it when I was making my art quilt with a Dias de los Muertos theme!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive & beautiful., October 22, 2004
By 
M "dvlwmn" (Rancho Cucamonga, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mexican Folk Art Coloring Book (Dover Design Coloring Books) (Paperback)
I bought this coloring book at a local shop. It is so beautiful i'm hesitant to begin coloring it. It doesn't need color. These illustrations are intricate and the samples in color are really great for inspiration of the actual full size illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay..., January 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mexican Folk Art Coloring Book (Dover Design Coloring Books) (Paperback)
The book contains several good images, but I was expecting more Day of the Dead type styles like on the cover instead of the armadillo and bird designs....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mexican Folk Art, April 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mexican Folk Art Coloring Book (Dover Design Coloring Books) (Paperback)
I bought this book because of the design on the cover, it was the first one I did! There is alot of detail in this book and the designs are great. Many of them require tedious work as the space to color is very small. Probobly not so much for children as the description says "ages 4-8" this is definately more for adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book and can't wait to play with it., February 15, 2009
By 
Nancy Johnston (Lansing, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mexican Folk Art Coloring Book (Dover Design Coloring Books) (Paperback)
Great book for Day of the Dead patterns. Can't wait to get out my
pens and colors and play with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Color me thrilled, December 18, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mexican Folk Art Coloring Book (Dover Design Coloring Books) (Paperback)
If you enjoy coloring and are looking for a good method of relaxation check out this supremely cool coloring book for adults. Amazon offers a plethora of great coloring books for the advanced colorer, and I personally purchased four books. This being a favorite because I find the semi-creepiness of Mexican folk art appealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Original, June 30, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mexican Folk Art Coloring Book (Dover Design Coloring Books) (Paperback)
This is a beautifully adapted coloring book of Mexican Folk art from various regions in Mexico: Guerrero, Jalisco, Puebla, Guadalajara, San Antonio de la Isla, Oaxaca, Metepec and Michoacan. There are 30 black and white illustrations adapted from authentic native art.

This book is so beautiful in its black and white illustrations that I am nervous to begin my coloring adventure, but I just purchased a new set of watercolor pencils and I can't wait to try them out. Maybe it's because I love to color, but I think more people should take a moment to remember when they were kids and coloring was just FUN-no work required!

My 4 favorite illustrations are the cover: a skull design of popote (little straws) and papel picado (cut paper), A yarn painting of a Huichol Indian ceremony, Paper-cut made for the Festival of the Dead from Puebla and Seed Spirits from the Otomi village of San Pablito, Puebla.

Stay inside the lines or don't. The 10 color designs on the cover could perhaps inspire the creativity in you or in someone you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars coloring for adults, December 14, 2007
This review is from: Mexican Folk Art Coloring Book (Dover Design Coloring Books) (Paperback)
"Get out your crayons and your pencils" This is mommy's coloring book-something every mom should have. The intricate line drawings offer hours of coloring that produce very framable finished works. This is great for plane trips, hospital visits, or just plain procrastination. Next time your boss calls say your are coloring and mean it. I recommend fine tip markers or quality colored pencils.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mexican Folk Art, August 14, 2007
By 
B. Rackley "Sierras Creative World" (Look for me in a library Any library All ...) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mexican Folk Art Coloring Book (Dover Design Coloring Books) (Paperback)
I am an embroidery arts digitizer. This coloring book is a great source for my designs.
Love all Dover Books and Love the Amazon Prime Membership
Sierra
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mexican Folk Art Coloring Book (Dover Design Coloring Books)
Mexican Folk Art Coloring Book (Dover Design Coloring Books) by Marty Noble (Paperback - January 17, 2003)
Used & New from: $7.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.